Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Progressive Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Ayreon Transitus album cover
3.37 | 87 ratings | 4 reviews | 15% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

Buy AYREON Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (38:57)
1. Fatum Horrificum (10:23) :
- a) Graveyard (1:20)
- b) 1884 (2:17)
- c) Daniel and Abby (1:32)
- d) Fatum (1:30)
- e) Why?! (1:08)
- f) Guilty (2:35)
2. Daniel's Descent into Transitus (2:40)
3. Listen to My Story (4:03)
4. Two Worlds Now One (4:06)
5. Talk of the Town (5:22)
6. Old Friend (1:41)
7. Dumb Piece of Rock (4:13)
8. Get Out! Now! (5:03)
9. Seven Days, Seven Nights (1:26)

CD 2 (41:51)
10. Condemned Without a Trial (3:50)
11. Daniel's Funeral (4:58)
12. Hopelessly Slipping Away (4:28)
13. This Human Equation (4:19)
14. Henry's Plot (2:19)
15. Message from Beyond (5:21)
16. Daniel's Vision (1:45)
17. She Is Innocent (2:09)
18. Lavinia's Confession (1:53)
19. Inferno (2:17)
20. Your Story Is Over! (2:42)
21. Abby in Transitus (3:02)
22. The Great Beyond (2:48)

Total Time 80:48

Bonus CD 3 :
- Instrumental Versions

Bonus CD 4 :
- Guide Vocal Versions

Bonus DVD :
- The entire Transitus album in 5.1 surround and 24bit stereo audio.
- Behind the scenes
- Daniel Descends Into Transitus (Video)
- Trailer
- Hellscore Choir Session

Line-up / Musicians

- Arjen Lucassen

- Tom Baker (Doctor Who)
- Tommy Karevik (Kamelot)
- Cammie Gilbert (Oceans of Slumber)
- Simone Simons (Epica)
- Dee Snider (Twisted Sister)
- Joe Satriani
- Marty Friedman
- Johanne James (Threshold)
- Noa Gruman (Scardust)
- Marcela Bovio (MaYan)
- Caroline Westendorp (The Charm The Fury)
- Paul Manzi (Arena)
- Micheal Mills (Toehider)
- Amanda Somerville (Avantasia, Trillium)
- and more!

- Instrumentation could not be verified at this time. If you have information, please contact the site.

Releases information

2CD Digipak
2LP (Red Transparent)
2LP (Gold, limited to 500)
2LP (Yellow Marble, limited to 500)
48 Page Earbook including the comic (4CD+DVD)

Label: Music Theories Recordings
Release date: September 25, 2020

Thanks to projeKct for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy AYREON Transitus Music

AYREON Transitus ratings distribution

(87 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(15%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(31%)
Good, but non-essential (31%)
Collectors/fans only (15%)
Poor. Only for completionists (7%)

AYREON Transitus reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

2 stars Rather odd CD in the repertoire of Ayreon. Whereas usually firmly rooted in progressive metal, this album is more a cross-over between "musical" and '80's hard rock. And it's a big disappointment. The story-telling by Tom Baker takes up way too much space, often destroying the pace of the album. ... (read more)

Report this review (#2629961) | Posted by Zuidema | Tuesday, November 2, 2021 | Review Permanlink

4 stars AYREON released his last album at the start of the 2020 school year: An album divided into LP, CD and DVD, a BD booklet to explain the musical background a little, in short a lot of things to say that we are not dealing with a simple CD. "Transitus" is the strange dimension between heaven and he ... (read more)

Report this review (#2525858) | Posted by alainPP | Wednesday, March 17, 2021 | Review Permanlink

4 stars If there was an end-of-year list for "the most difficult albums to rate and review", then Transitus, Ayreon's 10th full-length release, would easily top the 2020 edition. This is because Transitus is so much more than just a music record that, depending on what aspect of the release one focuses on, ... (read more)

Report this review (#2489720) | Posted by lukretio | Saturday, January 2, 2021 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Review # 109. Transitus is the new Rock opera by Ayreon, which, I pre-ordered a few months ago, in the red vinyl version, which also includes a comic book with the story, signed by Arjen. I guess because of that, a few days ago, I received an e-mail with a code for the digital version of the ... (read more)

Report this review (#2449577) | Posted by The Jester | Monday, September 21, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of AYREON "Transitus"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.