Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Soft Machine

Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Soft Machine The Story of Soft Machine album cover
1.46 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2005

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. I Should've Known [Version 1]
2. We Know What You Mean [Version 1]
3. I'm So Low
4. Clarence in Wonderland [Version 1]
5. Hope for Happiness [Version 1]
6. I Should've Known [Version 2]
7. We Know What You Mean [Version 2]
8. She's Gone
9. Save Yourself
10. Lullaby Letter
11. I Should've Known [Version 3]
12. Certain Kind
13. Clarence in Wonderland [Version 2]
14. May I?
15. We Know What You Mean [Version 3]
16. Hope for Happiness [Version 2]

Disc 2
1. Short Break - Robert Wyatt
2. Tubab - Robert Wyatt
3. Kutcha - Robert Wyatt
4. Fohat Digs Holes in Space - Daevid Allen
5. Who's Afraid? - Daevid Allen
6. Flowers Gone - Daevid Allen
7. Hope for Happiness - Daevid Allen
8. As I Turn - Hugh Hopper
9. Visitors - Hugh Hopper
10. Still - Hugh Hopper

Line-up / Musicians

- Daevid Allen / guitar, vocals
- Kevin Ayers / bass, vocals
- Robert Wyatt / drums, vocals
- Mike Ratledge / keyboards

Releases information

2CD Retro Records R2CD4301
Outtakes and what from 60's psychedelic Machine.

Thanks to dick heath for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy THE SOFT MACHINE The Story of Soft Machine Music

More places to buy THE SOFT MACHINE music online

THE SOFT MACHINE The Story of Soft Machine ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (25%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (50%)

THE SOFT MACHINE The Story of Soft Machine reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

1 stars What can I say....apart from....pretty dreadful. And less of the pretty. I am fairly new to Soft Machine and maybe I bought a bad compilation, but this is predominantly painful. I normally love painful: the worst bits of Van Der Graaf I can handle(their best bits are heaven), and Dream Theater ... (read more)

Report this review (#483955) | Posted by jsmidg | Saturday, July 16, 2011 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of THE SOFT MACHINE "The Story of Soft Machine"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.