Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Moongarden - Songs from the Lighthouse CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

3.55 | 98 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

erik neuteboom
Prog Reviewer
4 stars

A few years ago I witnessed this Italian five-piece band during a Dutch progrock festival (along Riverside and Knight Area), I am sure they made many fans during that night, I was delighted about the strong stage performance by the singer and the pleasant and original sounding compositions. The new album Songs From The Lighthouse (great fold out cover) is their fifth effort, it sounds great:

1. My Darkside (7.26): After a spacey intro Moongarden delivers a fluent rhythm with delicate guitarwork, soaring keyboards and emotional English vocals, followed by several shifting moods, from dreamy with violins and melancholical vocals to powerful accellarations with Hammond organ, propulsive drums and howling guitar and a splendid final part featuring the ubiquitous Mellotron (violin- section), I love it!

2. It's You (7.04): It starts dreamy with mellow piano and vocals and then turns into very compelling with wonderful vocals, Mellotron and intense guitar, it sounds like a 'symphonic Radiohead'.

3. Solaris (13.00): This is an alternating composition, the highlight is the final part with an excellent build-up, Floydian inspired guitar solo, supported by first a heavy Hammond and then the majestic Mellotron, this is Progheaven!

4. Emotionaut (3.55): In this short piece we can enjoy propulsive and bombastic parts with heavy Mellotron work.

5. That Child (5.52): The first part contains sensitive piano and warm vocals, then the band succeeds to translate the emotional subject (parents neglecting their child) into music in a very impressive way, from compelling with violin-Mellotron to bombastic with fat and propulsive guitar, choir- Mellotron and cynical vocals (use of over-dubs), goose bumps!

6. Flesh (2.49): This is an instrumental track with cello and Grand piano, supported by mellow Mellotron waves.

7. Dreamlord (11.30): It begins with a Fender piano sound and violin-Mellotron and then it turns from dreamy into bombastic with fiery guitar and lush choir-Mellotron, again this is Progheaven!

8. Southampton Railroad (4.11): In this short song we can enjoy acosutic rhythm guitar and the sound of tablas (Indian percussion), it sounds pleasant and a bit exotic.

9. Sonya In Search Of The Moon (5.47): A very alternating composition with first a slow rhythm featuring flashy synthesizer flights, then bombastic with sensitive guitar, bass pedals and choir- Mellotron, very tastefully arranged.

10. The Lighthouse Song (9.32): The titletrack is also very tastefully arranged: first dreamy (with acoustic rhythm guitar, piano and warm vocals) and compelling (like the Radiohead atmosphere in the second track) and finally howling guitar, strong vocals and majestic choir-Mellotron waves, this CD is ... ....


erik neuteboom | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this MOONGARDEN review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.