Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Symphony X - V - The New Mythology Suite CD (album) cover


Symphony X


Progressive Metal

4.13 | 718 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars Their best album, a more symphonic affair with a concept dealing with the myths of Atlantis and Egypt, bassist Thomas Miller quitted the band right before this one but got replaced with Mike LePond who does a great job here, though his style is less creative than Miller's. Drummer Jason Rullo returned for this album and does a faultless performance here. Musically, this is perhaps their most adventurous and atmospheric to date, featuring some of their strongest material ever. Notably the title track is a masterpiece and the rest of the album stand up to it well. "Absense of Light" is the only track here which I could consider "weak" overall. Otherwise, this is a great symphonic prog-metal album! 5/5
Bj-1 | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this SYMPHONY X review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives