Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Yes - Tormato CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

3.00 | 1648 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars Much people says that 'Tormato' is a bad Album, a wall in Yes career. Obviously this album si not a masterpiece in YES discography, but is an addaption of YES sound to following 80s one. Tormato is an irregular and inconsistent album, not a conceptual one. But Highlights eclipse shadow moments.

1. Future Times/Rejoice (6:45) Circus, ludic and party style -specially on Keyboards- With classic stop&go 'Yes' changes.

2. Don't Kill The Whale (4:56) with 'release, release' they are the first YES direct radio songs. In my opionion is YES effort to win some other fans... For me, great songs for the highlights of live performances. Steve Howe's guitar sounds like future ASIA's performances

3. Madrigal (2:23) Great moment by Howe's acoustic guitar... but the track is too short, I think it could be a great start of an epic one, not a prolog of 'Release, Release'

4. Release, Release (5:47) Without arena effects, it could be a good direct song. I stand up the different chorus style, instead of early YES albums ones

5. Arriving UFO (6:03) Ridicolous and strident space effects. Failed song project in my opinion. Supertramp or ELO could have done better.

6. Circus of Heaven (4:30) Return to circus, ludic and party sounds. Another failed experiment. The end of the song sounds like a lullaby, with children words...

7. Onward (4:02) Great ballad. In the same line of 'Turn of the Century' and 'Wonderour Stories'. Jon Anderson highlights of the album. Good work of Howe`s guitar + Wakeman`s piano.

8. On The Silent Wings of Freedom (7:47) The highlight of this album. Bass work is excellent, superb! (note. For me 'Tormato' and the following 'Drama' are the best moments of Squire Bass work) . In my opinion this song is one of the bests song in YES history. Many sound changes with a modern and evolutioned style. Nice work of Alan White at percussion.

Finally, for me is a 7/10, 4 stars.

Popovych | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this YES review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.