Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Erik Norlander - Hommage Symphonique CD (album) cover


Erik Norlander



3.06 | 24 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars Well this is my first contact with Erik Norlander, although already I had listened to his work in Ayreon and Star One. So here is my attempt to make a review.

1. Conquistador: This song begins with violins and a trumpet doing a classical "spanish lead", the song has a 60's vibe througout, even the hammond included!!!

2. Sir Lancelot and the Black Knight: This one begins with typical medieval feel, the voice sometimes reminds classic Deep Purple?, has a sweet chorus, then one synth/hammond/synth/hammond/ solo. Later in the song there is a section with "military feel" snare that turns into a spacey synth solo. Then the sweet chorus again and the song fades with medieval feel.

3. Turn of the Century: Here the voice reminds The Police, with a very calm piano, then there is a piano and woodwind interlude. Then the drums enter for awhile but keeping the mood of the song.

4. Pirates: This begins with strange keyboard sounds and effects, creating a "dramatic" intro, then a marching snare is accompanied with keys. The voice enters with a very "mocking" tone and the mood is circus-like throughout the song. Then there is break that turns into a keyboard solo. Towards the end of the song is a mood change to a classic rock' n roll. This song is funny but had to be much shorter.

5. Clasp: This song begins with medieval feel, then turns to 80's pop rock, this mood shifting keeps throughout the song.

6. King Of The Universe: Begins like The Phantom Of The Opera (the musical), then when the voice enters, the song becomes into a very 60's "hippie" feel which stays throughout the song. Except for the outro which is equal to intro.

7. Children of Sanchez Overture: Starts very strip down, with only voice and subtle keyboard, accompanied by occasional acoustic guitar. Later is interrupted by a very percussive section which turns into a latino section with trumpet and hammond which stays until the end of the song.

8. Starless: This begins very calm with sax and stays thus by awhile.Then the mood becomes dark and jazzy, giving entered to a dark guitar solo. Then the song turns into a jazz with a very rapid sax solo which interrupted by a flute and the sax solo is taken again until the end of the song.

Conclusion: The album is very varied but some times the songs become very long

EliasMisael | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this ERIK NORLANDER review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives