Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Genesis - Genesis CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

2.78 | 1179 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars #6 Review

The album that should be called "Shapes" or "Mama" like the tour, but no, they chose to call it just "Genesis" and they recognized that as with the name, they were almost out of ideas for this album, yet they managed to get more popular than what they were before, wich shouldn't be a surprise, popular things are usually the ones with the less creative ideas, and what would you expect after the horrible album that they made before with a song like "Who Dunnit?", they changed too much, like they got brainwashed by the producer, and then for Invisible Touch they tried to get back, but instead they ultimately cutted a lot of content to make it the most popular album that they ever made.

So, after that harsh introduction, i want to clarify that i'm reviewing the less conflicting albums to review, the ones that should need less wording and as always, i review by every song and give my own score.

1.- Mama 7/10 Too much score for this song? It is actually impresive to see what they accomplished technically with this song at the time, this song showed another great thing that Genesis is known for, by the sound technology, they not only know how to play like gods, have incredible presence on stage (also including the tech stuff that they pioneered in this matter), etc, they also know how to remix music in order to get a better sound out of it (not counting the 2007 remasters, they lost some of their "invisible" touch there). tl:dr, i like how this song sounds, and it's a great start for someone like me to start practicing with 2 electric pianos... and the video is good also.

2.- That's All 6/10 This feels like christmas with me giving these scores, but this song is catchy, it's well done, it doesn't get repetitive in one listen, but at the second it gets tired, it'd be a 5 if it where too repetitive in just one listen. This song also sports 2 little solos, that's nice i guess.

3.- Home By The Sea 9/10 This is a really nice song, with nice lyrics and vocal range. As always, the sound is very good, a great part of this song comes more from the sound than the technical way of the melody itself. I always ignored this song until this site recommended me this song for some reason, and i'm glad they did, this song is prog because of the feel of it, and let's not forget about the next part...

4.- Second Home By The Sea 10/10 This song is mostly instrumental and the most prog you can get out of this album, it's a song that i have been practicing, it's really fun to play. This song it's much better in the 1987 concert so i'll give it a 10 for that, it shows much technicality in that version and i wish that were the version used in this album, those minor tweaks sure do a lot. And as always, it sounds great, you can imagine a cursed house with lots of ghosts messing up the rooms in weird ways.

5.- Illegal Alien 4/10 This really comes like a low blow after the last song, it is the joke song of the album, but the song feels too repetitive and it comes across as ugly, there are a little redeamable qualities here and there but it's just not good.

6.- Taking It All Too Hard 5/10 Repetitive song, it's average and boring, but despite all of that it's well done and it's not a hard listen, it's enjoyable for like a minute, or maybe i'm taking it all too hard.

7.- Just a Job To Do 7/10 The guitar and bass riff in this song reminds me of a certain Rush song, idk, it just gives me that Rush feel, but induced with pop, it comes as a little average and a little repetitive, but it's a good song with good lyrics and some good techniques.

8.- Silver Rainbow 7/10 This reminds me a little of some japanese prog bands, and also to a game called Sonic CD (Japanese Soundtrack tho), it sounds good as you may expect, this is the other highlight of this album after the "Home By The Sea" songs because of how they play, but it doesn't score better than the song before this one because of some repetitive parts.

9.- It's Gonna Get Better 6/10 And sure they did! But this song is not that much better than the rest, this is another one with a rich sound and great intro, but soon as the lyrics kick on, this song gets absolutely average. The highlight in this last song is just Tony Banks, it sounds great, like a soundtrack, as he knows how to do it.

All in all, it gets a 68/100, and i think that it barely deserves 3 stars, but it has those songs that should be listened by prog fans.

FalconBleck | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this GENESIS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives