Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Procession - Frontiera CD (album) cover




Rock Progressivo Italiano

3.98 | 73 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars A full-on rock album more in the vein of Classic Rock bands LED ZEPPELIN, CREAM, and THIN LIZZY; I hear very little progressive rock music here.

1. "Ancora Una Notte" (5:24) blues rock of the CREAM kind with a powerful singer. Unfortunately, the guitar play and riffs and the vocal melody line get old real fast and never really develop or shift. (7.5/10)

2. "Uomini E Illusioni" (2:42) a full-on rock anthem in the YARDBIRDS, DEREK AND THE DOMINOES, and THIN LIZZY tradition. The highly touted drummer is not as impressive to me as the twin guitars are. Nor is the powerful but almost monochromatic voice of Gianfranco Gaza. (8.5/10)

3. "Citta Grande" (5:15) gently played acoustic guitar over which Gianfranco sings--this time with some nice emotional nuance (reminding me a bit of JAQUES BREL). The song bursts into a "la-la'la" sing along with some more dynamic full-band instrumentation (though the acoustic guitars continue) but then settles back down for Gianfranco's second verse. The drummer's fills to transition are rather sloppy and over-filled. The first good song though it still has a fairly straightforward blues rock chord structure (very much like CREAM's "White Room" or ZEPPELIN's "Rambler" or even THE EAGLES' "Hotel California"). The twin electric guitar passages again remind me of Thin Lizzy--though these guys precede TL by a couple of years. The song's final two minutes are purely a classical guitar solo. Odd. (9/10)

4. "Incontro" (2:43) mandolin and acoustic guitars with Gianfranco singing. Kind of nice Woodstock music. Electric guitar and flute in the final jam section. Love the acoustic instruments strumming together throughout the final jam! (8.5/10)

5. "Anche Io Sono Un Uomo" (3:59) thick chunky bass and two guitars being picked in the side channels are sung over by Gianfranco. Man this guy's voice is monotonous! Drums kick in at 1:30 with Mellotron and single electric guitar and gently picked steel string guitar in opposite ears. Gentle two-guitar motif returns for Gianfranco's next verse. Robert Plant-like vocal section is then paired up with Zepp-like bass, drums, and lead guitar to the fin. (8/10)

6. "Un Mondo Di Liberta" (8:41) slightly complex rhythm section supporting the screaming guitar shredding of a single electric guitar over the first two and a half minutes. Things shift into a little "Frankenstein"-like passage at the end of the third minute--which is interesting--before falling back into the misleading melodic chorus-pedaled electric guitar picking of the opening seconds. Then, poof! we're in an entirely different song! I don't know how people are expected to tolerate this--there isn't even any connection or bleeding from one section to the next; totally different, isolated songs spliced together for whatever reason. And then there are the "la-la-las" for the chorus/bridge into next full-band section. I'm sorry, this just doesn't work for me. (15/20)

7. "Solo 1" (3:29) raw and raunchy electric rhythm guitar starts things off before straight-time rock rhythm section and blistering Robert Plant-like lead guitar starts ripping it up. Even Gianfranco's vocal sounds like something straight out of one of LED ZEPPELIN's first two albums. Then there is a "la-la-la" vocal section to fade followed by a second song: acoustic guitars in the CSN&Y vein with a volume pedal experimented lead electric soloing in the middle. I like this stuff but it's kind of like pushing the record button while the band members aren't looking-- catching them jamming mindlessly in the studio. Not fair. (7/10)

8. "Un'Ombra Che Vaga" (5:09) yet another song with more than one entirely separate song within the song. A heavy guitar-centered intro followed by an acoustic supported vocal section (with yet more "la-la-las"!). Sounds very mainstream poppy. Just a weird splicing. Can't imagine this being played live. (7/10)

9. "Solo 2" (2:10) more blues rock as if straight off of an early LED ZEPPELIN album. Good by highly unoriginal. (3.5/5)

Total time 39:32

Three stars; a fair but dismissive representative of Rock Progressivo Italiano; better suited as a classic rock / blues- rock album.

BrufordFreak | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this PROCESSION review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.