Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Genesis - Wind & Wuthering CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

4.10 | 1930 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars This, by far, is my favorite Genesis album. IMO, their best. And look, they did it WITHOUT Peter Gabriel!

After the stunning brilliance of "A Trick of the Tail", we come to this, which was sadly the last studio album with Steve Hackett, but this brief era of Genesis certainly goes out with a bang. (And despite what most prog elitists think, this was not the last progressive album Genesis made, but it was the last full-fledged prog rock album) Not only is it the pinnacle of Genesis musicianship, but the lyrics are quite strong as well (although to me, this has always been the case with Genesis, but it shows more here).

I will do this track by track:

1. Eleventh Earl of Mar: is a terrific opener. Great synthesizers from Tony Banks, and the entire band pulls off a great start.

2. One for the Vine: perhaps the best song on the album. And it's only the second track. Superbly crafted piece by Tony, wonderful, soulful vocals by Phil, especially towards the middle. Like the first track, everyone does a terrific job.

3. Your Own Special Way: a beautiful ballad written by Mike Rutherford, with equally beautiful vocals from Phil.

4. Wot Gorilla?: a decent instrumental, although this is the song that led to Steve Hackett leaving the band. (He wanted more of his compositions on the album, and when they were about to place one on the record, they decided to replace it with Wot Gorilla?, which ended up being the final straw for Steve)

5. All in a Mouse's Night: awesome song that is reminiscent of the Peter Gabriel-era of Genesis, with lyrics that tell a story, complete with characters. It tells the story of a mouse who is attempting to navigate a couple's home to find some food and to just go for a walk. He encounters various nuisances along the way such as the couple themselves (referred to as "Loving Couple" in the lyrics where their lines appear), and a cat. Kind of cute and, as usual for Genesis, brilliant.

6. Blood on the Rooftops: another great song with potent lyrics that reference Batman, Tarzan (ha...ha ha...prophecy, anyone?), and...television?

7. "Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers... ...In That Quiet Earth": a powerful instrumental, the best of the two on this album. Definitely in the vein of Los Endos. Steve once again showcases his mad skillz.

8. Afterglow: once again, beautiful. It is, after all, a song by Tony Banks, the master of beautiful songs. Again, potent lyrics. A Genesis classic. Perfect finish to what I view as a perfect album.

All in all, I highly recommend this album.

Teh_Slippermenz | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this GENESIS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives