Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel 1 [Aka: Car] CD (album) cover


Peter Gabriel


Crossover Prog

3.57 | 660 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars Peter Gabriel First album after leaving is great career at one of prog greatest bands. He got himself pretty great musicans to help him here the names include: Tony Levin on bass, Larry Fast on Keyboards and synth, and the god of progressive rock Robert Fripp. Don't expect it to be a lost genesis album(Like Steve Hackett's Voyage of the Acolyte"), This is something completely different from anything Peter have done before, and afterward. There are totaly nine tracks here:

1. Moribund The Burgermeister 4/5 great opener with some bizarre vocals.

2. Solsbury Hill 5/5 one of Peter's most well-known songs Acoustic-driven pop songs, amazingly done and never gets old.

3. Modern Love - 5/5 my favorite track from this album - very hard rocking with funny yet touching lyrics.

4. Excuse Me 4/5 another bizarre song, funny with an A Capella intro.

5. Humdrum 3/5 - moderate song with nice ideas inside.

6. Slowburn 4/5 great song with amazing vocals from pete and great solo.

7. Waiting For The Big One 5/5 the longest song in the album, very jazzy and cool.

8. Down The Dolce Vita 4/5 another hard rocking and well driven song, just love it with great intro.

9. Here Comes The Flood 5/5 one of peter's most beautiful songs ever made with fripp amazing guitar, great lyrics.

The first album by Peter Gabriel shows how big and talented he is and he can do very well without his fellow genesis friends. Love this album.

BlindGuard | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this PETER GABRIEL review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives