Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Queensr˙che - American Soldier CD (album) cover




Progressive Metal

2.81 | 176 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars When I heard that Queensyrche was making new album (and a concept album), I was a wee bit sceptical, because I had heard not so joyous praise for their last conceptual outburst, a not really needed sequel to Operation : Mindcrime.

But the concept seemed a wee bit interesting. When it comes to war with me, I think it is the most useless form of dealing with international problems and is the weakest and most futile stain from humanity.

But the concept of the album isn't that bad, being based around a soldier who pretends to not really be affected by any of the hardships of war, but slowly they creep on him, until he dies basically.

The songs are okay, but to be honest at times are quite bland, annoying or some of Geoff's vocals are a wee bit pitchy. Geoff still has quite a good voice, but he needs to accept the fact that he can't sings as well as he used to.

1. Sliver - This would be a great song if that annoying rap like bit wasn't in it. Now don't get me wrong, I like rap, but it should be kept within it's own boundaries. The vocals are pitchy at times.

2. Unafraid - The riff in this song does kick major ass. I love the use of audio samples.

3. Hundred Mile Stare - I like the alterative sound of this song, reminds me of Cog. Again the vocals are a wee bit pitchy.

4. At 30,000 Ft - Very dramatic with some nice twists and turns. The tonal shifts are quite cool.

5. A Dead Man's Words - In every bands career they will use an Arabic sounding riff. Good song. The lyrics are quite graphic.

6. The Killer - Pretty cool chorus. Quite catchy.

7. Middle Of Hell ? Quite calm for such an eccentric title. A wee bit bland to be honest.

8. If I Were King - The metaphor used confuses me. "If I Were King, I Would END THE WAR!!!" Quite cheesy but it's still good.

9. Man Down! - The use of another Arabic riff. The chorus is quite interesting. Love the line, "Never thought I'd bring the war back home."

10. Remember Me - Good chorus. Very calm & quite sad.

11. Home Again - A nice ballad. I know that the reason Geoff's daughter is in this song is to mirror a father/daughter relationship, but she's not the greatest singer to be honest.

12. The Voice - Okay ending. Pretty ambiguous.

CONCLUSION: It's an okay album; it at times is a wee bit bland. For Queensyrche fans only, really.

arcane-beautiful | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this QUEENSRYCHE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives