Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Pink Floyd - The Division Bell CD (album) cover


Pink Floyd


Psychedelic/Space Rock

3.74 | 1908 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Prog Reviewer
3 stars This is an improvement of the last pink Floyd Album. This album has the sound of Pink Floyd, and has plenty of guitar solos and keyboard work. Another thing to note is that the album is a tribute to Roger Waters.

1. Cluster one : This sounds like Shine on You Crazy Diamond. Very Atmospheric sound with mellow lead guitar and lots of piano. A perfect way to start the album.

2. What do you want from me: A good pop song with female vocalists. Nothing too special, but it is solid.

3. Poles apart : A very good song starting as a normal soft rocker with good melodies, but impressing the listener with a highly atmospheric instrumental break that is a highlight of the album.

4. Marooned: This is a great instrumental that gave Pink Floyd a Grammy. It is as always atmospheric with lead guitars, with nice piano embellishments.

5. A great day for freedom: This is Dave at his most melodic. The piano melodies are also outstanding. The instrumental break is highly symphonic and contains a good and long guitar solo.

6. Wearing the inside out : A not too memorable Spacey song that really sounds generic for Pink Floyd. Not bad though, but it is overlong, and lacks strong melodies.

7. Take it back : A song that sounds really like U2, but it still is played in the Floyd way. This is the most poppy song of the album.

8. Coming back to life: A good and simple rock/pop song wiht the 'wish you were here' feel.

9. Keep talking: this is a memorable song, and it has an interesting arrangement. It is a rocker with plenty of solo and a Stephen Hawkin-like electronic voice giving the theme of the song 'it doesn't have to be like this, We have to make sure we keep talking'. Some guitar sounds in the solos can make you feel like you heard them before though (especially one in which Dave uses the pig sounding guitar pedal)

10. Lost for words: A 'Wish You Were Here' Clone! It starts with a guitar riff, then is later accompained by a short acoustic solo, and then the verses/choruses begin which reminds me of that old classic.

11. High hopes: This is a classic Pink Floyd song. It has that classic piano riff, the amazing lyrics and singing .. the melodies! ... the military march drumming + acoustic solo, and of course the great guitar solo at the end (which is played even better in PULSE). This is a song that can represent excellently 'symphonic rock'.

I recommend this album to any Pink Floyd fan or anyone who likes the 70s pre-wall Pink Floyd sound. It is very solid.

My Grade : C+

Zitro | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this PINK FLOYD review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives