Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Coheed And Cambria - The Second Stage Turbine Blade CD (album) cover


Coheed And Cambria


Crossover Prog

3.32 | 104 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars This is album doesn't seem like much, but when you look at's alot: it's a debut; the start of a concept saga; a massive risk; an experiment that can explode at any time...and it all works. And thats the beauty of Coheed...everything they!]

Being a big progression from their Shabutie days, Coheed decided to evolve thei career around...a concept. Yes, this will always be the bane of these guys existence! Concepts...and ones which are quite hard to follow and understand, mainly cause all the detail is in the comics that Claudio writes...oh yes, their's literature supporting these classic songs.

Now as a debut, this is incredibly impressive. This album is alot like Keeping Secrets I think, where its the consistency thoughout which enables you to listen further, and not really get bored of the same sound, because how they are able to keep it consistent, yet keep u fascinated at the same time.

The album maintains that post hardcore and emo (really hate to use that word, because I remember liking the earlier bands, before the style came into fashion and the word got changed...pejoration at its best really) sound, yet incorporating a maturer prog stance than what was heard from Shabutie.

The production also has a similar sound to Shabutie, and its what gives the album a very domestic charm. The songs are also a bit different, in that verse's and chorus' arent a big must do on the album, so stuff can happen that will suprise you...key changes, odd riffs, added vocal parts, contrapuntal vocal parts, its a whole artistic freedom really at the end of the day, yet they can still keep every thing contemporay (well contemporary for the Coheed fan)

Theirs more screaming vocals on this album, and I think Claudio's vocals really are amazing, even at times where he'll go off pitch, or he'll make a vocal squeek, I love. It's a very raw album, and it really adds to the concept as well (being the most action packed album really). As usual the songs are very catchy, but even at times, some songs have dark undertones, or are in themselves quite dark songs, and its interesting for Coheed to be dark now and then.

The Neverender version is also pretty cool too, cause the songs were messed around with and made more "modern".

1. Second Stage Turbine Blade - A decent enough intro, although, the whole intro is progressed to new heights, especially in their newer albums. 8/10

2. Time Consumer - The almost jazzy intro really is an amazing start to this album and song. After that its an amazing song, with some nice proggy moments, cool use of synths, an amazing guiatr solo from Dr. Know (Bad Brains), and an epic cathcy chorus. 10/10

3. Devil In Jersey City - It's funny, this song is so poppy and joyfull...yet its about murder and rape. Yea, didn't expect that did you. 10/10

4. Everything Evil - A very tense and atmopsheric intro. The song itself is just amazing, and back in my band days, I used to love playing this song...and singing it is a massive challenge. Great lyrics and the drama within the song itself is very exciting. And the ending is very epic too. 10/10

5. Delirum Trigger - One of my personal favourites from these guys. A quite dark turn for the band, but it's played off so well. Great chorus and great chaotic vocals from Claudio. The arrangement again is amazingly put together, with some nice dramatic moments. I love the lyrics too. 10/10

6. Hearshot Kid Disaster - Love the intro, and how its stopped by an ear shattering scream. A very poppy song, even though alot of it deals with murder. Although I think its one of the weakest songs on the album, still great though. 9/10

7. 33 - A very underlooked song from this album, and its odd, because I think it's the catchiest song on the album. Again, another very poppy song...that has alot of death and murder in it. 10/10

8. Junesong Provision - Another one of my personal favourites. I don't know what it is about this song, I think it's all the different parts and sections that it goes through, it's just a very interesting song, and on the special edition of the album, theirs an acoustic version of the song, which I prefer actually. 10/10

9. Neverender - Everyone adores this song, and to be honest, I've never really been much of a fan of it. It's a good song and all, but it doesn't compare to the rest of the songs on this album. It has a nice wee chorus though. 9/10

10. God Send Conspirator - Great ending to the album. I love the song's jazzy arrangement. Great chorus too, and the song plays out amazingly. 10/10

CONCLUSION: This really is a classic album, and it may be a bit too post hardcore for some people, but I think it's one of the best debut albums every made in my opinion.

arcane-beautiful | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this COHEED AND CAMBRIA review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives