Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Camel - Rain Dances CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

3.60 | 874 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars This album marked the first change in line up for Camel. Richard Sinclair (formerly of Caravan & Hatfield and the North) had replaced Doug Ferguson on bass and took the lead on vocals - having been described as the only rock musician who can sing. Moving away from the long, complex compositions of their preceding classicwork 'Moonmadness', the band have produced a lighter, more jazz-oriented sound.

1. First light 4/5

2. Metrognome 3/5

3. Tell me - A smooth, romantic ballad. " Tell me everything Don't be afraid to give yourself away " 4/5

4. Highways of the Sun - A commercial-sounding.The weakest track on the album. 2/5

5. Unevensong 4/5

6. One of these Days I'll get an early night - the full-blown jazz-rock.Superb! 5/5

7. Elke - Brian Eno make a memorable track, makes me feel like I am traveling through universe. 5/5

8. Skylines 4/5

9. Rain Dances - 4/5

Final Note : 'Rain Dances' does lack some of the emotional power of their earlier releases, and is the first Camel album to feature "shorter" songs, with some pop/rock tendency.

4+3+4+2+4+5+5+4+4 = 35

35 : 9 = 3,8

Excellent addition to any prog music collection

Curiosity : Producer Rhett Davies had been working with Brian Eno, so he brought him to give his personal touch to Elke. In those days synthesizers were still uncapable of producing multiple sounds, so the notes had to be recorded seperately, weaving together the unique sonic result.

Marquês_Prög | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this CAMEL review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives