Header
Zenit - Surrender CD (album) cover

SURRENDER

Zenit

Neo-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
scandosch@fre
4 stars Five long years have gone by...And ZENIT come back with a real nice stike! The band around ex Clepsydra bassist Andy Thommen and keyboards wizard Ivo Bernasconi added a new guitar player, and the difference is awsome. A real prog aproach. Impressive performance of singer Lorenzo Sonognini, with his voice sounding sometimes like Derek Shulman, sometimes like Greg Lake . Enhanced performance of all musicians, more room for experiments, solos, melodies. The production from Etienne Bron, of Clepsydra fame, gives the music the right weight. From the right sounds to subtile structures, everything is in place and a real prog jewel has come out. To give you a taste of what's ZENIT like in 2006: sounds like GENTLE GIANT revisited by THE FLOWER KINGS, but with a touch of italian prog... So, let's say it's really worth a listen. You won't be disappointed.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#62025)
Posted Wednesday, December 28, 2005 | Review Permalink
w.woorher@hot
4 stars I got Surrender one week ago, and it is still running in my cd player. The vocals are outstanding, not the usual neo-prog melancholic pudding! Tracks like "I Ching" or "The Cathedral" simply have something that is really new, never heard before. The recording/production quality is AAA-grade. Every time i listen to it, I discover some new detail. Drums are crystal clear, guitars are straight and heart touching, the keyboard sound are so modern but still *real* progressive rock sounds. The Long tracks ("Surrender", "New1c" and Yin & Yang") are very close being masterpieces of contemporary progressive rock. They slip from jazzy ambiances to very 80's IQ-ish prog. Sure the guitar player must be a Spock's Beard lover, but still he always finds something original from his own to play! The variety of moods and sounds make this album also suitable to non-prog' listeners. "The City" and "Devil's Siesta" are simply good rock songs. The sounds are not classic, but still it IS pure progressive rock.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#72473)
Posted Tuesday, March 21, 2006 | Review Permalink
akira@osaka-u
4 stars Surrender is very full of changes in moods sounds and ambiances. I have to listen many times to discover every detail, and there are a lot. Devil' Siesta is a very beautiful song, the violin in the beginning is wonderful and the song becomes very emotional. Surrender (the track) is also a very beautiful song (Flowerkings-Genesis like); the main theme is coming from the heart, and the final with children singing you wish it never ends. The Cathedral is Marillion like but more power and fast. All a very sensible record, very timeless. I hope to see Zenit live in Japan. Akira

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#77291)
Posted Saturday, May 06, 2006 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This is a Swiss five piece band with additional musicians on flute, saxophone, cello and even a child-choir. The bass player was in Clepsydra

1. Promenade (Part I - Om) (1:28) : A short opener that sounds very atmospheric.

2. Yin And Yang (10:47) : Lots of varietation in this long composition, from dreamy with piano and warm vocals and a piece that sounds like a sound-collage (including ticking Swiss clocks) to swinging with expressive vocals, a slow rhythm with a buzzing bass and a sumptuous final part with biting wah-wah guitar and floods of Hammond organ. It all sounds very elaboborate and flowing and there is lot of tension and dynamics.

3. The City (4:25) : Again lots of varietation, from catchy piano work to a fluent rhythm with fiery guitar and the cynical sounding vocals, really an extra dimension on this CD!

4. Devil' Siesta (3:59) : First a wailing cello sound, then a dreamy atmosphere with Peter Gabriel-like vocals and tasteful keyboards.

5. The Cathedral (4:18) : This song rocks: a catchy rhythm, a lush Hammond sound, fat synthesizer flights and a fine break and bombastic grand finale.

6. New1c (12:43) : It starts with a slow rhythm that contains dreamy saxophone, then an accelllaration with organ and fiery wah-wah guitar, followed by an intricate piece with violin-Mellotron and propulsive guitar riffs, very captivating! The final part delivers a dreamy climate with flute, saxophne and twanging guitars.

7. Promenade (Part II - On Stage) (4:30) : An instrumental song with a tight beat, base dupon tasteful interplay between guitar and keyboards.

8. I Ching (6:31) : First a Chinese inspired atmosphere with swinging bass and modern sounding keyboards, then an ominous climate with theatrical vocals, followed by bombastic guitar and keyboards, great interplay! Finally we can enjoy a lush bombastic grand finale with sparkling keyboards,propulsive guitar riffs and inspired vocals.

9. Promenade (Part III - Underground) (1:14) : A short instrumental with the sound of streaming water and fragile work on the slide- guitar.

10. Surrender (14:08) : The final composition is the longest and layered with strong musical ideas and varietion. I am delighted about the middle part that sounds like a tribute to the middle-part of Supper's Ready by Genesis: a dynamic organ solo, in an exciting way blended with sensational synthesizer flights, sensitive guitar and warm vocals, very compelling!

Zenit their sound is between 'classical symphonic progressive rock' like Genesis and Art-rock with bands that blend rock with surprising musical ideas and several styles. Highly recommended!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to erik neuteboom (BETA) | Report this review (#88885)
Posted Sunday, September 03, 2006 | Review Permalink
tszirmay
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
4 stars There must be something in the water in Southern Switzerland (the Italian speaking part) , home to prog stalwarts Clepsydra, Shakary and Zenit, the last 2 offshoots of the first. Headquartered out of Ascona (a lovely little town on the lake) , Locarno (even lovelier) and Lugano (the loveliest), the scenic alpine/palm tree panoramas are conducive to some great prog. Musicianship was never an issue, as Clepsydra's Lele Hoffmann and replacement Marco Cerulli are first rate guitarists, only the vocals were a tad troublesome , Italians just can't sing in English, the accent is too heavy, so stick to the native tongue or Latin (like Alberto Piras of Deus Ex Machina). Ivo Bernasconi (not to be confused with Silvio Berlusconi, the ex-PM/Duce of Italy) knows how to "Banks" , as his style is very reminiscent of the Genesis master. The guitar parts are also worthy of mention, slippery, effect-laden and expressive. Andy Thommen, leader, bassist and ex-Clepsydra, is a dexterous 4 string manipulator who keeps things alert and interesting. Most neo drummers are rather dull time keepers but this one is slicker than most. The vocals are way better than most because the singer outgabriels Peter Gabriel , a bit like a less frantic Simone Rossetti of the Watch. Where there is room for criticism is the disproportion of quality between the epic, 10 minute plus tracks that are first-rate and the rather sipid shorter tracks. Now, size and length don't matter (we are talking compositions, ladies!!!) because prog can deliver the goods in short or extended form with often stupendous results. The title track, the exuberent "Yin & Yang" and "news1c" are three top notch prog roller coaster rides of the finest caliber, with all the usual ingredients: twists & turns, passion and expectation , led by the inventive bass lines of our head cheese. This is a band worthy of keeping tabs on because their next opus mat contain 6 x 10 minute compositions which just may elevate them to the prog Zenith. Definitely worth recommending. 4.5 alpine sunsets

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to tszirmay (BETA) | Report this review (#94724)
Posted Monday, October 16, 2006 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars What would you do if you listen to the music from the band that you never heard before? Expect that they're gonna sound like the bands you have been familiar before - and use them as reference to compare with the new band the music you are listening to? Or expect new experience that you never heard before - and try to explore your listening horizon to accept that new sound that might be weird? Or just listen to the music openly - let it flow naturally and then you associate the music in new reference? Well, I guess each individual has their own style on "reacting" on new band and penning some words of opinion.

Initially, it was tough to digest ...

As for my case with Zenit "Surrender" I have combined all of the above together at the same time. The reason is pretty simple: I just want to give my fair opinion without having to know what the net say about this album. I even did not know that the band was featured at this site. I don't know the band at all - in fact, I thought that the name of the band was Surrender and the album was Zenit. I did not really care at first spin, I just put the CD at my player and I did not even want to take a closer look of the sleeve notes and credits (the who's and who the band members). I did not want to be influenced by any sleeve note of the "strange" band to my knowledge (hmm .. How can I be classified as "Special Collaborator" if I cannot differentiate band name from album title? It's a pity, isn't it? That's fact man .). I let my mind accept whatever sounds the CD produced for my ears.

At first spin, I did not find any interesting pieces that I can easily memorize as a song - say the power of melody. I did not even think that the music flow naturally. In fact, I thought that the music was like "being forced" to sound like this. There are variations but I don't think they give enough enjoyment as a song. My first reaction was the lead vocalist who sounds like Cyrus of Citizen Cain - or Peter Gabriel of Genesis (was). Nevermind, I had to move on with this strange band. I removed all preconceived ideas about "the kind of music of .." thing and really digest the music "as-is". Having done so, it helped me release some blockages I had. I kept spinning the CD and by the time I write this review, I have listened to this album for at least three (3) times in its entirety.

The strong point about this album is its composition and richness of textures. On composition, the band put extra efforts to compose such a good album. On textures, I can only say that this album uses many types of instruments from standard guitar-bass-drum-keyboard-vocal. On non-musical thing, I have to put two thumbs up for the sonic quality of the CD - awesome! While on weakness point, I think this album is a bit less in musical density where in some parts sound a bit empty - e.g. they only contain dry sound of bass guitar augmented with soft guitar fills. The other point is in handling transition pieces - most of them don't sound quite natural to my ears. This might become okay with repeated spins of the CD as people will get used to it. I remember vividly the first time I enjoyed YES "The Ancient" of Tales From Topographic Ocean when I was a child - it was a nightmare as it did not sound naturally for my ears. But now the song has become legendary and I always enjoy it when I spin the CD. This is just a matter of comparison on "the way I feel" (like the title of Cuby + Blizzard's song, do you know? Well, sometime you need blues music man, I tell you .) about a song.

I don't want to write long review on track by track basis. But I think it's worth to mention some tracks as reference. "Yin And Yang" (10:47) is a completely a neo prog composition with some parts with relatively low musical density and sounds a bit empty. Even though the composition is good, this track is not melodic as a song. "The City" (4:25) is pop music outfit with a bit of prog touches here and there. It reminds me to Kayak music. "Devil' Siesta" (3:59) - starts with excellent cello work backed with acoustic guitar. This song reminds me to Cyrus of Citizen Cain in terms of singing style. "The Cathedral" (4:18) has its style similar to ELP with Gabriel-like vocal.

Conclusion: You may need to connect the dots ...

If I can list down the influences to Zenit, they are coming from: Marillion (especially on music flow and style of neo prog), Genesis (especially on singing style), Citizen Cain (especially on singing style), ELP (some keyboard textures), IQ (on music flow and a bit of singing style), and YES (on music flow).

Overall - it's an excellent addition to any prog music collection. It's a quite difficult to digest this album at first spin but it will grow with number of spins. You might find the melody is difficult to digest - even though not as tough as YES "The Ancient" - and the music sound like disconnected. But, I am sure at the end that you would be able to "connect the dots". That's the challenge in progressive music . Happy listening. Keep on proggin' ..!

Peace on earth and mercy mild - GW

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#95289)
Posted Friday, October 20, 2006 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars There are a number of reasons why I just can't get into this record ( and trust me i've listened to this at least 8 painful times). It's partly the accent on the vocals, partly the lack of flow in this record, partly the lack of melody , and lastly there is something that is either missing or maybe it's a combination of the above complaints, but I just can't get into this album at all. So there i've said it, and believe me I don't say this often when it comes to prog.

The one song I do like is "Devil's Siesta" which opens with cello and features fragile vocals and keyboards, and has interesting lyrics.

I'm in the minority with these opinions and thoughts so take them with a grain of salt.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#95343)
Posted Saturday, October 21, 2006 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
3 stars Zenit spent the next few years on stage, playing live in several festivals, even if original guitarist Francesco Di Sessa left the band in 2003.He was replaced by Luigi Biamino.By mid-00's the time for a new album had come.Entering the Kotah Recording Studio in Tegna, Zenit created their sophomore effort ''Surrender'', released in 2006 on Shakary leader Paolo Scandella's SHK label.

This is propably the most GENESIS-sounding effort by the tightly connected trio of the related Shakary/Zenit/Clepsydra core.You shouldn't exactly forget about the Fusion touches and more intricate moments of Zenit's debut, but the new album is strongly rooted in the Neo Prog category with nostalgic MARILLION and even CLEPSYDRA influences, based on elaborate melodies, quirky instrumental parts and plenty of grandiose, semi-symphonic showering, as additionally all vocals are delivered in English.Especially the long tracks (three out the ten tracks are longer than 10 minutes) have a nice retro-feeding aura, despite the overly fresh approach of the group, with a kind of theatrical singing by Sonognini and different variations, connecting melodious textures with keyboard-based acrobatics.Synthesizers with vibes from organ and Mellotron is propably a good reason to link Zenit's sound with the 70's.The shorter pieces are more groovy and less intricate as expected, but far from boring or uninspired.Performed with energy and passion, these showcase Zenit's love for a more straightforward and catchy Neo Prog, where synth flashes and memorable lines are the basic elements.A couple of tracks contain echoes from sax, cello and flutes, still the sound remains quite GENESIS-influenced with impressive songwriting and well-executed instrumental parts.

While ''Pravritti'' was a more original work, the vintage Neo Prog style presented on ''Surrender'' is definitely what fits better to Zenit.Well-played, very enjoyable album with great arrangements and striking themes.Strongly recommended...3.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#1086575)
Posted Saturday, December 07, 2013 | Review Permalink

ZENIT Surrender ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ZENIT Surrender


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.17 seconds