Header
Red Sparowes - At The Soundless Dawn CD (album) cover

AT THE SOUNDLESS DAWN

Red Sparowes

Post Rock/Math rock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
chamberry
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Red Sparowes, finally here at PA. It was about time!

Red Sparowes is one of the post-rock bands of these recent years (2005) that aren't doing the same thing as Mogwai, EITS or Godspeed like other clones around. They managed to create a distinct sound on their own, something unique, something great.

The sound of Red Sparowes is very energetic and powerful like metal but without the heavy riffs or the vocals for that matter. Atmospheric like the trademark post-rock sound but with an edge and with alot of drones in the hard sounding places to make you feel what they want you to feel at the given song. Now this may sound like a description to Pelican, but believe me, they sound nothing like them. The guitars in Red Sparowes is the main source of emotion. While one is doing some heavy sounding rythims, the other is making some very emotional playing like in the third track wich is short but I found it the most emotional and accesible song in the album (I played it to some of my non prog friends and like it alot). The bass isn't left apart either delivering some really great lines like in the second track and it also helps with the atmosphere. Without it I think they couldn't make those very delicious melodies or thier unique sound. The drums also put their 2 cents making it very pleasant and not sounding forced in any way.

Once you hear the first song you'll be sucked into the sheer power of the music of Red Sparowes.You might notice by the titles of the song that the sound of the album isn't really happy either. Nothing in the album drags. The soft parts aren't too long and the hard parts aren't every wear. In other words, its well crafted and not a single note over or under. My only complaint is that the last song doesn't last that long. The song is an excellent closer and all, but the end of the song is what ruins it. The song really lasts 12 minutes the others are 3 minutes of silence and the last minutes of apocaliptic noise or something like that.

I woudn't call it a masterpiece of progressive rock,(It doesn't have to be a masterpiece to be excellent ya know) but it's one of the best albums I've heard in recent years and it's one of the most original and best sounding post-rock and prog rock albums in recent years also. Highly recommended. 4.5 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to chamberry (BETA) | Report this review (#79258)
Posted Wednesday, May 24, 2006 | Review Permalink
GoldenSpiral
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars This album is pure beauty from the second it starts. It is powerful and heavy, but never metallic. It is thickly instrumental, vast and dramatic, but never overblown. As soon as the first track starts, you'll know that Red Sparowes aren't like the other post-rock bands you've heard.

As a general description, I would call the music a pleasant mix of all the best parts of Pelican and Explosions in the Sky. The album is entirely guitar based, with an infusion of pedal steel, which while it sounds odd, actually works quite well with their sound. The guitar parts vary between EitS-like harmonies to somewhat heavier riffs, though no song could in fact be said to be riff-based. This is one of very few albums I know of where I could say that just about every song on the album is equally strong. My one complaint, however, is that most of the songs sound somewhat alike, but I think in the end this can be forgiven.

It is very clear from the sound of this record that the music comes naturally from the band, and each song flows seamlessly from beginning to end. In fact, the album flows pretty much the same way.

Let's give this album 4 stars for it's sheer emotion and great craftsmanship. It isn't a 5 star album, but Red Sparowes have plenty of potential to be a 5 star band. I hope to hear more from them soon!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to GoldenSpiral (BETA) | Report this review (#80790)
Posted Friday, June 09, 2006 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars This was my first ever Post-Rock record, so it does have special meaning to me. For me this was the perfect place to start.These guys are powerful yet they don't hit those explosive climaxes of say a GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR or YNDI HALDA. They also don't have those slow build ups either, this is just amazing guitar driven Post-Rock. The steel pedal sounds are unique and a nice touch as well. The titles of the songs are very long and actually make up a short apocalyptic story.

"Alone And Unaware, The Landscape Was Transformed In Front Of Our Eyes" opens with drums and guitar before those distinct steel pedal sounds arrive a minute in. A calm before 3 minutes is brief as the song comes back harder than before. Love the guitar 4 1/2 minutes in. The tempo continues to shift. Another calm 6 minutes in as it starts to get experimental with vocal samples. No melody. "Buildings Began To Stretch Wide Across The Sky, And The Air Filled With A Reddish Glow" sounds so amazing to open as drums pound and guitars fill the air with metal. It starts to settle down slowly until before 3 minutes to 4 minutes it's very quiet. Then it kicks back in powerfully. Nice.This continue until 6 minutes in when it becomes pastoral right to the end. "The Soundless Dawn Came Alive As Cities Began To Mark The Horizon" opens with beautiful sounding guitar melodies. Drums come in around 1 1/2 minutes. An excellent sound follows. It calms down again as the tempo continues to shift.The guitar gets heavy before 3 1/2 minutes.This sounds so good.

"Mechanical Sounds Cascaded Through The City Walls And Everyone Reveled In Their Ignorance" opens with these slowly pulsating mechanical sounds for 3 minutes when they are replaced by gentle guitar. Bass, synths and drums all join in as it builds. A full sound erupts 6 1/2 minutes in. It settles some a minute later, and steel pedal arrive 8 minutes in. From 9 minutes to the end it's spacey and haunting with no melody. "A Brief Moment Of Clarity Broke Through the deafening Hum, But It Was too Late" opens with bass, drums and steel pedal, guitar join quickly in this brighter section. It's silent before 4 minutes as faint vocal samples can be heard and an eerie sound.This sounds so hopeless. Too late. "Our Happiest Days Slowly Began To Turn Into Dust" is melancholic to open but it does get hopeful. More powerful 5 minutes in. "The Sixth Extinction Crept Up Slowly, Like Sunlight Through The Shutters, As We Looked Back In Regret..." is an almost 20 minute guitar led song that builds and receeds throughout. Some power in this one especially before 11 minutes. After that explosive outbreak it stays almost "soundless" until 16 1/2 minutes in when what sounds like a world ending sound continues to the end.

I am so impressed with this album. And the way the music expresses what we read in the song titles is brilliant.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#88921)
Posted Monday, September 04, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Excellent, excellent album. From the moment I heard this I fell in love with it. This is one of the heaviest post-rock albums I have heard, and I love it. This record is brimming with emotion and beauty, but its pure power just shines through. I can definitely hear some Explosions in the Sky influence on here, but it is still a very original album. I agree with the other reviewers that it is not a masterpiece, but it is still a must have album for anyone into post-rock, and IMO is one of post-rock's top ten offerings.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to lightbulb_son (BETA) | Report this review (#89525)
Posted Tuesday, September 12, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars One of the most extarordinary releases that I've heard the last years... Really...

Even when I just have the Neurot Records version (I didn't hear the song I Saw the Sky in the North Open to the Ground and Fire Poured Out, bonus track on Daymare edition) I still think that Red Sparowes debut album it's simply amazing and one of the best examples of what new misicians can do with old prog inffluences and new ideas.

More than Post Rock, this albums sounds a lot like Math or a new mixture between Prog Metal, Crimson/Forever Einstein/Anekdoten inffluences and a new kind of Post Metal or something like that (Isis could be a good example of what I'm talking about). So every song sounds really great with just few weak points

-Alone and Unaware, the Landscape was transformed in Front of Our Eyes: great intro to the album. Powerful, full of changes, melancholic, passional, raw. Sometimes guitars doesn't leave to hear your own thoughts!

-Buildings Began to Stretch Wide Across the Sky, and the Air Filled with a Reddish Glow: Another great song, in the same line of the Alone and Unaware... Powerful opening with a hard guitar riff. The songs transfroms slowly into a melancholic song with guitars crying very loud!

-The Soundless Dawn Came Alive as Cities Began to Mark the Horizon: Maybe I'm wrong but this sing reminds me immediatly some Forever Einstein/Charlie Vrtacek stuff. A slow entrance on guitar that leads to another powerful song even when the most "Metal" stuff of the two previuos songs doesn't exist here...

-Mechanical Sounds Cascaded Though the City Walls and Everyone Reveled in Their Ignorance: Wow! Just amazing. The first 4 minutes are totally minimalist (reminds me some Fripp/Eno 70's stuff) Slowly the song begin to transform into s sad epic piece with great guitar work! The best song of the album IMO...

-A Brief Moment of Clarity Broke Through the Deafening Hum, but it was too Late: My leats favourite even when sounds good...

-Our Happiest Days Slowly Began to Turn into Dust: The last minutes of this song are great, powerful and raw...

-The Sixth Extinction Crept Up Slowly, Like Sunlight Through the Shutters, as We Looked Back in Regret: Another song in the style of Mechanical Sounds... very powerful and raw with delicate moments of slow andalmost whispering guitars... The end of the song doesn't sounds good 'cos there's few minutes of silence before the end with some misterious drone... but it's a great song...

At last, an amazing album, refreshing, brilliant for some minutes, hard and melancholic... I'm sure this album gonna trascend and it will be one of the best pieces of this firts XXI century years...

4*!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to progadicto (BETA) | Report this review (#100713)
Posted Monday, November 27, 2006 | Review Permalink
cloud_23@hotm
5 stars After listening to Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Russian Circles and entering the world of post rock I ask my good buddy for a band that could be as melodic as these two but be in the middle sound. My point: Not be too heavy as Russian Circles but not to soft as Godspeed. And he came out with Red Sparrowes. This band just hit the spot. With very melodic songs in all aspects. And best of all very posty. I really don't know much about post but I must say out of all post I have heard this is definitely my favorite post rock band.

The album from the very beginning has a very astounding sound with great quality. The most peculiar thing I noticed about the album is the song names, which are extremely long. Besides that it comes now to the music.

Alone and unaware, the Landscape was transformed in Front of Our Eyes, it's good with great instrumentation and very peculiar but strange rhythm, but above all good. Buildings Began to Stretch Wide Across the Sky, and the Air Filled with a Reddish Glow, I didn't liked it very much only after it gets to 2:41. That part it's outstanding and when it gets all pumped it gets even better. The Soundless Dawn Came Alive as Cities Began to Mark the Horizon, it's like the commercial part of the album (though it's not that commercial) has a very easy to along with rhythm, and though it's short it's great. Mechanical Sounds Cascaded Though the City Walls and Everyone Reveled in Their Ignorance, it's my favorite even though the very slow intro noises are not cool, but when the guitar starts it gets all very emotional type kind of thingy. A Brief Moment of Clarity Broke Through the Deafening Hum, but it was too late. I don't know why but this song when it starts it's kind of funny and cheery and continues to maintain that mood and that's good. Our Happiest Days Slowly Began to Turn into Dust, just as it's name implies the rhythm of the song catches to the same. And the heavy ending it's kind of cool. Last but not least The Sixth Extinction Crept Up Slowly, Like Sunlight Through the Shutters, as We Looked Back in Regret could be the heaviest of the album with a great and incredibly tragic rhythm but great. The only downfall of the song is the last 7 minutes which are all in silent.

Overall the album is fantastic, a great addition to any post music fan. Amazingly breathtaking.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#111117)
Posted Thursday, February 08, 2007 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
3 stars Another group from the Bay Area, jumping on the train started by crosstown rivals Tarentel, Red Sparowes cannot escape the now-usual clichés that their forerunners had managed to avoid. Indeed, yet another band that can't resist the GYBE!/DSTM bandwagon and its mysterious soundscape. The weird thing is that those groups don't seem to bother that the horse's corpse they are flogging has been dead for a while and starts stinking like carrion. All cloning consideration aside, RS is hardly a bad band, quite the contrary, but they do seem to lack any kind of inventivity and their all-too-obvious inspirations, might hint at a lack of real personality.

Your typical GYBE!-inflicted disc, with lenghty instrumental tracks repetitive drawn-out, doomy, sombre but sober post rock where the guitars are as usual taking the lion's share of the limelight. You'll find every single cliché of a good post rock that the usual fans enjoy. And let's face it, there are no reasons that postheads should not appreciate it to the fullest. For the more casual listener, I doubt that this will be any essential and even no more than just filling the empty spaces in your shelves.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#124189)
Posted Friday, June 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
Prog-jester
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars There is a certain kind of music known as Post-Rock. You may love it or hate it, but you know what you’ll get after all. RED SPAROWES is a more “metal” side of the genre, but still they have this nature of music, hence related structures, themes and arrangements. Despite the excellence of their musical material, they sound too close to other bands of that kind (RUSSIAN CIRCLES etc), and if you’re not into this stuff, there’s a risk to lost your attention in further exploring. Nevertheless, recommended and highly recommended: it’s such a nice record to enjoy, that I couldn’t help but give it 4 stars as a whole. Turn it on and start the journey!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Prog-jester (BETA) | Report this review (#131823)
Posted Sunday, August 05, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars entirely unique would not be the first word i use to describe this album. They blend elements of what's been done brilliantly with new elements used in different contexts to create somethign new which i think is just as good. a very good album. recommended.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to shentile (BETA) | Report this review (#161906)
Posted Saturday, February 16, 2008 | Review Permalink
burritounit
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Red Sparowes At the Soundawn was one of my first post rock albums and a good one it still is. Clearly at that time I was looking for something more on the heavier side of post rock but not leaning towards metal and At the Soundawn was the answer. The most noticeable part of the album is the length of the song names, their just too long. Red Sparowes music is quite different from other post rock bands and it doesn't seem to follow the same sound that's been reused over time. Their music is refreshing and quite enjoyable with great melodies and soundscapes.

At the Soundawn starts at the right foot with Alone and Unaware, the Landscape Was Transformed In Front Of Our Eyes. The song just kicks right in with energy unlike other post rock songs that take time to start. In fact most of the songs in the album start like this. Buildings Began to Stretch Wide across the Sky, and the Air Filled with a Reddish Glow was good too, specially from 2:41 an on with explosive section. The Soundless Dawn Came Alive as Cities Began to Mark the Horizon it's kind of the happy song of the album and it goes right to point by lasting only 4 minutes. Another stand out song would be Our Happiest Days Slowly Began to Turn into Dust. This song sounds just like its name implies. It starts with a cheery crescendo, then it turns to a very melodic phase and in the end it gets kind of melancholic and evil. The last song: The Sixth Extinction Crept up Slowly, Like Sunlight through the Shutters, As We Looked Back in Regret could easily be described as your typical post but not in its entirety. After the first 2 minutes the song takes a long crescendo all to the end which is just at around the 11 minutes and not as the 19:32 suggest which kind of sucks in a way.

In overall At the Soundawn is a fantastic album and its highly recommended for fans of the genre.

A 4.3 for me.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to burritounit (BETA) | Report this review (#178710)
Posted Sunday, August 03, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars Red Sparowes is very recommended. It is very clear from the sound of this record that the music comes naturally from the band, and each song flows seamlessly from beginning to end. In fact, the album flows pretty much the same way. I woudn't call it a masterpiece of progressive rock,(It doesn't have to be a masterpiece to be excellent ya know) but it's one of the best albums I've heard in recent years and it's one of the most original and best sounding post-rock and prog rock albums in recent years also. Highly recommended. 4.1 stars, and I recommend the track 4. Mechanical Sounds Cascaded Though the City Walls and Everyone Reveled in Their Ignorance.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to TRIFIVE5000 (BETA) | Report this review (#183863)
Posted Saturday, September 27, 2008 | Review Permalink
Cesar Inca
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars It's only been less than a couple of months since I first became properly acquainted with Red Sparowes (that is, move beyond the Myspace samplers and the occasional Youtube fan vid) by acquiring their debut album "At The Soundless Dawn", and well, I've been fairly impressed. No wonder that this ensemble is one of the better regarded ones in the realm of post-rock ? their music is muscular yet consistently focused on textures, providing continuous melancholic vibrations without letting go of an inherent energy that is both compelling and cerebral. Red Sparowes was born as an Isis off-shoot, but right from the start it became evident that it was a proper band with its own road before it and enough maturity to elaborate that road in appealing ways. This concept album revolving around the subject of man-made apocalypse delivers a majestic combination of cosmic nuances, robust guitar inputs and dynamic rhythmic stances. The opener sets things clearly with its effective mixture of soaring textures and powerful walls-of-sound where the guitars almost function as painting tools. While not being too frenzy, the rhythmic scheme is tight and electrifying. Just before getting at the 3 minute mark, the dynamics shifts toward a more intense momentum for a while, only until things become fairly minimalistic toward the end, actually, this is a recurring trick throughout the album: almost every track ends with a specific eerie coda that prepares the stage for the following one. Track 2 is a wonderful continuation and reelaboration of the opener's prevalent moods. With a softer interlude settling in momentarily, the musicians manage to create release and mystery as efficient contrasts to the colorful tension that prevails in the main body and its subsequent reprise. Track 3 is apparently more joyous than the preceding two pieces, although the controlled melodies and dense riffs still portray an unmistakable aura of neurotic nostalgia. Track 4 goes for a 11 ½ minute span. It starts with ethereal layers that ultimately turn to amounting tension in a fluid amalgam that lasts 3 minutes. After this, a series of slow arpeggios begins to install the main body, which bears an overbearing contemplative sensibility. The unsettling coda is very reminiscent of early Tangerine Dream, and "Ummagumma"-era Floyd. A special asset for track 5 lies in its candid mood, which works as a source of variation against the recurring tension shown in the preceding tracks. Another asset is the use of pedal steel guitar as a provider of eerie mystic ripples of sound among the sober combination of dual guitar harmonies. This track's coda bears a somewhat cinematic mood, which makes track 6 emphasize its lyrical framework ? in many ways, it is a continuation of the preceding track's sensibility, only increasing the resulting tranquility in order to enhance the sensation that we are witnessing the aural manifestation of a spiritual manifestation. Last but not least, there is the magnificent closer, a powerful track that recapitulates and refurbishes the epic side of the band. The long crescendo that constructs the main body is a clever exercise on building up without losing control and without missing the focus ? the crescendo is craftily sustained in a sonic architecture of subtleties and atmospheres that almost seems to materialize. Once the final riffs are over, a few notes on electric piano state a momentary end followed by some minutes of silence and a cosmic minimalistic epilogue. Now that it's all over, it is time to wrap up this balance by recommending this album to every music collector that is curious to learn about and fully appreciate the new roads of current experimental rock. Purchasing a Red Sparowes album is a win-win situation, so to speak.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Cesar Inca (BETA) | Report this review (#276649)
Posted Tuesday, April 06, 2010 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Red Sparowes crank the Godspeed You Black Emperor/A Silver Mt. Zion style of post-rock up to 11, and aren't afraid to include sustained abrasive wails and shrieks in their music if that's what they think the composition calls for. On the whole, I don't think At the Soundless Dawn quite measures up to works by their post-rock peers; whilst Godspeet and Mt. Zion have also never been afraid to throw in the occasional dissonant or abrasive element into their music, they also show a keen judgement of exactly how long to sustain it for to achieve the right artistic effect without it becoming aggravating; Red Sparowes, to my ears at least, seem to lack that, often creating compositions which are just uncomfortable and uninteresting to listen to.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#668379)
Posted Monday, March 19, 2012 | Review Permalink

RED SPAROWES At The Soundless Dawn ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of RED SPAROWES At The Soundless Dawn


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.23 seconds