Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Angra - Aurora Consurgens CD (album) cover

AURORA CONSURGENS

Angra

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars I just got my copy from Amazon about a week ago. I've listened it I don't know how many times, but for sure, they were a lot.

This CD is just the perfect resume of Heavy + Power + Progressive Metal I've ever heard.

Let's start with the only thing I don't like: The absence of Brazilian rythms (they are, but they're not too much as for example in Holy Land or Temple of Shadows), The Artwork and some lyrics (I know they can do better lyrics than that).

I'm not going to talk about the theme history, but just a little resume: Every track is based on an image which you can find on the book "Aurora Consurgens" (Written by Saint Thomas Aquinas). This book is related with mental disturbes (such as madness). But let me tell you that the lyrics are well orientated, I feel a lack of "filosophy" or something missing that I can found in previous works like Temple of Shadows.

But, let's start with the review.

First of all, if you're looking for a new "Temple of Shadows" you may look in other direction, this is totally different, is less dynamic (talking about the track styles. We had a lot of changes on Temple of Shadows, Power Metal, Bossanova, Prog. Metal, Orchestal Track, etc..).

Another thing, the instrumental parts are just incredibles, in my opinion they're more complex than the previous works. Kiko Loureiro and Raffael Bittencourt are doing a really great job.

Aquiles Priester is really good, as always, he put a lot in every track, I really love the way he plays, but, I don't find a track to say "Hey, This is Aquiles." You have to hear the entire CD to appreciate him.

Felipe Andreoli is the revelation for me, he did a lot of work on the composing work (And I really like what he did), and, techincally talking, he is one of the best progressiva bassist out there today.

And Edu Falaschi...well..he had (and has) the worst work. Be a singer from a Band which had the famous Andre Matos. But, in my opinion, he is really better than him, but, again, this is just my personal opinion.

The CD starts with "The Course of Nature". Nice Brazilian introduction! The initial track is a Heavy Progressive track, with a good riff, but an excellent instrumental part, and a really good work from Edu!

After this, we will find "The Voice Commanding You". This is a very good Power Metal song. One thing that I admire from Angra is that they're changing their power metal songs in every album, but without lose that "touch". "Ego Painted Gray" is one of my favourites ones. Excellent introduction with Edu and a nice atmosphere, then the track take flight and it's just awesome.

"Salvation: Suicide" is another Power Metal track, but still, is very different from "The Voice Commanding You". More speed, more power, less prog. but really interesting indeed. "Breaking Ties" is the Edu Falaschi ballad that we found in previous works ("Heroes of Sand" and "Wishing Well"). I really enjoy this track, nice lyrics, and the guitar solo is just awesome (not too much technical, but still, I love it).

Now we find "Window To Nowhere". I didn't talked about Aquiles Priester (the drummer), but, now, you'll find what is to play progressive drums. This is another Power Prog. Song, but still sounds different, I must admit I didn't like it at the first moment but now it's a great song for me.

"So Near So Far" is just brilliant, it reminds me to "Holy Land" and "The Shadow Hunter". A nice orchestral introduction, and an excellent Brazillian track. The voices here are really awesomes, and the guitar works also are very good. "Passing By" is an excellent track, another "middle-tempo" track, but very different from the other ballad we found (Breaking Ties), it's like a Rock & Metal track with a nice instrumental part, thumbs up for Felipe Andreoli for make this one!

"Scream Your Heart Out" sounds like a progressive metal track. The intial riff is good, but the track gets better at the end. I like this track, but not too much as the others.

And, for the end, "Abandoned Fate". Angra in the most of their works, put a ballad at the end. This one is similar to "Lullaby For Lucifer". Just an achoustic guitar and Edu Falaschi. I simply love this track. And it's a nice way to end this, such a heavy CD!.

Well, my conclusion is: A really great CD from Angra, maybe this is not the best they recorded, but is one of the top. Angra still innovates in every CD, and they're becoming one of the best bands of Prog. Metal with every release they make.

Report this review (#96708)
Posted Wednesday, November 1, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Hmmm, most puzzling this album. It sounds like nothing Angra ever produced. Their musical strayed from the epic power sonority of "Temple of Shadows" into a heavier, moodier type of metal. First track brings DT to mind at once...but without the soul and heaviness. The remaining ones are more like old Angra but with this new more "in your face" approach. Edu's voice is a lot more harsh than previous efforts and he sounds very powerful. I would not describe this album as better than the other ones or worse. It's just a new take on the Angra formula and it is welcome. Only drawback : although they try to sound heavier, the mixing of the album somehow sounds too mellow and lacks a bit of punch. An excellent album overall, worthy of the Angra name.
Report this review (#97562)
Posted Tuesday, November 7, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars well when i got this ablumn at first i was diapointed about the singer and stlye change there style change kinda moved to more power metal heaveir and the singer change from Eduardo Falaschi to edu falaschi which at first i thought was bad but he kinda grew on me after a while well any way well if youve com looking for there origanal angra turn away you might not like it they kinda got rid of there brazilian beats theres still a trace but not nearly as much this album does a new moody feel to it which is a good thing in my opinion the only downside i had to this albumn was the lyrics were kinda well not bad not good in the middle they couldve done alought better on the lyrics
Report this review (#103556)
Posted Monday, December 18, 2006 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars This is Angra with new style .

When I got a copy of Classic Rock magazine of last year edition where there was supplementary CD that contains "Breaking Ties" of Angra new album, I thought Angra has changed their music style. This song did not attract me at all at first listen because by the time I listened to it my mind was preoccupied with determination of the kind of music Angra typically plays. Because I was not impressed with "breaking Ties" that for me was just mundane rock tune so I decided not to buy this album. But then, I found that our local label Aquarius dare to issue this album locally (of course with local price) so I finally bought the album for the sake of completing the collection: If I already got previous albums of Angra, why not this one?

When I tried to spin the CD, I was quite surprised that the music was not as mundane as I thought. Even from the opening track "The Course of Nature" (3:47) I can sense that the band's music has moved forward into another kind without sacrificing the roots of their music: power metal, characterized by speed and double pedal bass drum. As fan of the band with best album I like most is "Rebirth" I then expect that this album would sound something similar to "Rebirth". Too bad that it turns out the music is totally different. Of course I was struggling on how to best enjoy this album at first spins. Strange to me that I came to spin the CDs many times after the first spin. I find that the opening nuance of the first track is similar with "In Excelcis" of Rebirth album but the rest is completely different.

Why liking this album?

A Movement. I would say that the change of Angra music to this new style as a movement into other style (therefore this is "progressive" then) is a progress, musically. The band keeps searching their new style through experimenting with some formats in which their previous album "Temple of Shadows" can be considered as transition to this new level. For beginner of Angra music, I don't think this is a perfect album to start with because the compositions are not really straight forward. Traditionally, Angra was considered as metal band with high register notes vocal line performed by the band's previous singer Andre Matos. Through this album, Angra wants to wipe out that image and creating something different. The vocal of Edu Falaschi in this album is like a combination of Bernie Shaw (Uriah Heep) and DC Cooper (ex Royal Hunt).

Cohesive Whole. As far as I understand, this is NOT a concept album. But, listening to this album in its entirety sounds to me like enjoying the album with a storyline. Of course I talk musically here, not considering the lyrics per se. It sounds to my ears that the movement from one track to another has linking pin that connects them. Musically, this album is cohesive from start to end. If you enjoy this album only half-way through you might have lost the nuance. Put it another way, once you spin to this album you will be hooked into the rest of the track where the acoustic guitar accompanies vocal.

Excellent Performance (of the band). I want to emphasize here on the vocal capability of Edu Falaschi which has improved tremendously in this album. I say this commenting to his performance in this album's third track "Ego Painted Grey" where at the end of first verse (approx minute 1:12) when he screams "eeeaaaaaaaa" from moderate voice moves upward into high register notes. It's a great performance! Guitar works by two players Kiko and Rafael indicate excellent harmonies with different roles as riff maker and as melody. Aquiles also performs excellent and dynamic drumming especially during segment transitions. All of them provide neat music at the end result.

Excellent Tracks. For sure, there is no such thing as bad track from this album. I do not favor "Breaking Ties" but it does not mean it's a bad track. The rest are all excellent ones. From the opening track "The Course of Nature" into "The Voice Commanding You" and into "Ego Painted Grey" they all sound like a cohesive whole. The tracks also have strong and powerful lyrics. "So Near So Far" is a great track, in my view.

Why (you are) NOT liking this album?

Of course, if you do not favor heavy parts of progressive music, it's gonna be very difficult for you to accept this album. The other worry that I think you might find difficulties in enjoying this album is the melody. Of course for my ears I find OK with this album but I don't think this album is quite melodious for most of people. So, accepting this kind of music is really a challenge. Even if you get used to the band's music, you might not like this album because you might have strong preconception about the band's previous works.

I would put it really up to you to decide. For me personally, this is an excellent addition to any prog music collection. Keep on proggin' ..!

Peace on earth and mercy mild - GW

Report this review (#110652)
Posted Sunday, February 4, 2007 | Review Permalink
2 stars I'm not a huge fan of heavy metal bands, though am very keen on some like Dream Theater, UFO and Magnum. What I look for is either a bit of "progressive" tendency, as in Dream Theater's music and, to some extent, Magnum's or plenty of melody. This was my first taster of Angra and I thought they fell a bit short on both, though only just. I will probably give another album a try sometime. However, for those of you who do like your heavy metal with fewer conditions than me, you'll love this: good musicianship, good vocals, plenty of energy!
Report this review (#113125)
Posted Thursday, February 22, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Angra's latest effort, Aurora Consurgens, is a very direct and cohesive album, which leads the band to a more "prog metal" side of it's carreer, a fact that can dissapoint some of their fans. After the masterpiece "Temple of Shadows", Angra decided not to record another concept album, and built up an album not conceptual, but rounding around mental problems and psychological stuff. The music here is the most direct and dark music Angra ever made. You'll find a little amount of the power metal the band used to do, and will find more Dream Theater-like progressive metal, powerfully balanced with a very cohesive heavy metal.

Well, I am a strong fan of what the band made 'till now and really like they style, but, one thing i really dislike in heavy metal bands is the lack of innovation, bands that stands still in a formula and record albuns and albuns over it. I really appreciate the iniciative and the courage of the band of trying to inovate their own sounding and style without losing their own identity.

Not a masterpiece, but an excelent album, with a noble attitude of the band. An excelent addition to any prog music collection!

8/10

Report this review (#116309)
Posted Sunday, March 25, 2007 | Review Permalink
WaywardSon
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars On this album, Angra opted for a more stripped down sound and re-invented their overall sound, moving more to a traditional metal sound.

The album´s first four tracks are very good, and on first listen I thought that this would be a five star album all the way. The standout tracks being "Ego painted grey" (the beginning slow vocals which build up reminded me of Iron Maiden´s Hallowed be thy name) which is probably the best song on the album, and the great riff from "The voice commanding you" (which really works well in their live show)

But halfway into the album the band seems to run out of ideas and the sound in general seems quite uninspired. Maybe Kiko Loureiro was concentrating more on his second solo album at the time of this recording, because the last half of the album has songs which range from good to average.

Probably the weakest of the three albums featuring Edu Falaschi on vocals, although his voice sounds great, it´s the last compositions which make this release a three star album.

Report this review (#161124)
Posted Wednesday, February 6, 2008 | Review Permalink

ANGRA Aurora Consurgens ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ANGRA Aurora Consurgens


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.