Header
God Is An Astronaut - All is Violent, All is Bright CD (album) cover

ALL IS VIOLENT, ALL IS BRIGHT

God Is An Astronaut

Post Rock/Math rock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
chamberry
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars God is an Astronaut is a three man army that make "heavenly" instrumental post-rock witch consists of the usual guitar/ bass/ drums sound, but adding to it synth effects to their sound and I mean a lot of synth effects witch is the main attraction in their sound.

Their songs are very catchy and rather short (only two song pass the 5 minute mark) making their sound accessible and easy to digest for normal mainstream listeners and prog heads without the need of extra patience most bands of the genre require. Their sound is energetic and very melodic with the center of attention being shared with the guitar or the piano. Thanks to the synth effects and lovely piano work they make you feel like you're flying above the clouds and enjoying the view and feeling the breeze, but then all of the beauty stops and the energy in their sound start to show off with bombastic playing by the members of the band will still having that melodic edge and that's when you hit the ground hard, but instead of feeling painful it's really fun and enjoyable and you just want to do it again. Not all of the songs in the album follow the crescendo formula Godspeed uses and that's a good thing. Highlights of the album are "All is Violent, all is Bright" (great and fierce drumming near the end), the beautiful "Forever Lost" and the dynamic "Suicide by Star". The rest of the song follow closely behind this ones. So the album has a nice balance and there aren't bad songs.

This is a very accessible album and have a mainstream feel to it, but don't let that keep you from enjoying them. The drawback of the album is that the magic wears off after repeated listening. The effects won't sound as ear blowing as the first times and that's when the album settles. I don't think that it would be an excellent addition to any prog collection, but it is an excellent addition to any post-rock collection. So if you're into the genre or just starting out, go and get All is Violent, all is Bright. It'll win your heart from the first listen.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to chamberry (BETA) | Report this review (#99834)
Posted Tuesday, November 21, 2006 | Review Permalink
Tristan Mulders
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars God is an Astronaut - All is violent, all is bright

It was only fairly recent that I discovered this album. I read a lot of positive comments on them and decided to check upon them as soon as possible. This eventually meant that I obtained a copy of their 2005 studio album 'All is Violent, All is Bright', which is what this review will be all about.

This 48 minutes lasting, 10 tracks comprising album is a full-blown instrumental and all the songs included here are epic soundscapes, which on occasions share resemblances with Sigur Rňs and Godspeed! You black Emperor, whereas on other moments they distinctly remind me of the epic space rockers of British bands Oceansize and Amplifier.

If this album resembles their typical sound, then I cannot wait to get my hands on the other items included in their discography. Breathy synthesizers accompany the melodic guitar segments and the drummer creates a great foundation for the others to work on freely.

The link to Sigur Rňs wasn't made only because the compositions remind me of some of their work, but also because the vocals here are, just like those of Sigur Rňs vocalist Jónsi Birgission's, used as an important aspect of the composition. they are in fact an instrument for the band to use!

I find that time flies by when I listen to this album, the various melodies are not too complicated, for prog rock standards that is, but the overall combination of the various instruments, the spacey atmosphere, the variation in melodies, chords, pace etc. just make me really appreciate this album. What impressed me a lot was the use of drum computers on a couple of tracks, without losing the epic sound that they manage to create song upon song upon song. I cannot wait to replay the album when the closing track When everything dies has ended, indicating that the last 48 minutes, yet again, flew by without realising it was that long a time.

In short: you like heavy distorted walls of sound? You like spacey, breathy keyboards, you like intensive but laidback drumming? You like melodic as well as distorted guitars? --> Listen to this!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Tristan Mulders (BETA) | Report this review (#108241)
Posted Sunday, January 21, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars 5 stars. In the Experimental/Post Rock genre these guys are masters.

Explosions in the Sky is another excellent band working the same general area but their overall sound is less dynamic, more reserved and contemplative than God is an Astronaut's.

Now, to the album.

I like this album better than their first, "The End of the Beginning". Though there really isn't that noticeable of a difference between them, "All is Violent, All is Bright" just seems to have a more cohesive and accomplished feel.

The music is extremely lyrical but also extremely dynamic. It holds my attention effortlessly.

The vocals do not consist of words but sung feelings which can be equally, if not more, evocative.

There is no fat in this album. Each composition is well conceived, arranged and played. The sound/production is excellent as well.

Personal favorites are "Fire Flies and Empty Skies", "A Deafening Distance" and "Remembrance Day".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Schizoid Man (BETA) | Report this review (#109292)
Posted Monday, January 29, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars God is an astronaut is, for me, one of the most innovative and gifted bands. I don't know what it is exactly that make them stand out over the huge pile of generic, repetitive and boring post rock.

The album opens with Fragile, a beautiful song which draws you in completely with it's stunning atmosphere that builds up slowly and skilfully, until it blows up to a massive ending. I guess that right there is what makes GIaA so much better than other bands in this genre. The atmosphere, which is basically what a Post Rock song usually relies upon, is done here stunningly, and that's what makes the difference.

Anyway, the next song is named after the title of the album. Indeed a fine peace of music. Beautiful melody that's carried nicely throughout the track.

Other noted tracks on the album are: Forever Lost, sad and gloomy and very very touching. Again, the atmosphere and song structure are flawless. Remembrance day is another track that you should check out.

All in all GiaA is almost the only post rock band that i can listen to over and over again without getting bored. They just do it better then the rest of 'em.

Highly recommended!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to JNec (BETA) | Report this review (#140700)
Posted Wednesday, September 26, 2007 | Review Permalink
Fight Club
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars God is an Astronaut is a three-piece instrumental post-rock band reminiscent of artists such as Explosions in the Sky and Mono. The songs build up from tranquil ambiance to blistering intensity throughout the whole album. It's quite a beautiful piece of music I have to say and I've been addicted to it for about a week or two now. Everything is very catchy, but also has a lot of feeling. If you listen to Explosions in the Sky, whose music is also featured in Friday Night Lights, you'll know what I'm talking about.

For anyone not familiar with their sound, imagine taking some epic electronic movie soundtrack or something and adding some tasty guitar with lots of reverb. The music here is never complex, and sticks to just making some nice melodies. So if you want to relax and enjoy some nice thinking music, try this.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Fight Club (BETA) | Report this review (#142443)
Posted Saturday, October 06, 2007 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This Irish trio make some of the most beautiful Post-Rock music I have ever heard. Melodic soundscapes with synths washing over them constantly. The sound doesn't slowly build like many Post-Rock bands, rather the build ups happen quickly, usually in a couple of minutes. There isn't a bad song on this album.

"Fragile" builds quickly although it reaches another level after 2 1/2 minutes and calms down as it ends. "All Is Violent, All Is Bright" is another song that builds fairly fast. The drums are really active after 3 minutes as the sound again reaches another level. "Forever Lost" is one of my favourites. Just a beautiful sounding song with piano and synths leading the way. "Fire Flies And Empty Skies" opens with guitar as drums come pounding in. A fuller sound arrives before a minute before the song relaxes again. This contrast of soft and loud continues. "A Deafening Distance" is another one I like a lot. The first 2 1/2 minutes are very pleasant sounding and then it becomes much more powerful.

"Infinite Horizons" is another gorgeous song with the atmospheric guitar and synths. "Suicide By Star" features some upfront drumming as the sound becomes full 3 minutes in. It gets intense a minute later. "Remembrance Day" opens with what sounds like the wind as piano comes in. Synths 1 1/2 minutes in followed by drums, then a full sound 3 minutes in. "Dust And Echoes" is another favourite. Guitar, synths and drums as the song builds. It calms down a minute later to end it. "When Everything Dies" opens with reserved piano melodies and synths. More energy and sound before 3 minutes. Drums and piano lead the way a minute later.

A very enjoyable and positive experience. Not complex by any means, just great music that you can relax to.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#160087)
Posted Monday, January 28, 2008 | Review Permalink
Dim
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Forever lost...

How can one song be so simple, but at the same time be so emotive, beautiful, dark, happy, amazing, and incredible at the same time? If you want to check out this album, get it for just this song, this is the suppers ready for electronic post rock, IT'S THAT GOOD!

Anyways, on to my unbiased review, I really want to give this album three stars, but I'm having too much trouble doing that. Though some of the songs are kind of samey, and towards the end there is a bit of monotony, really this is a friggin' solid album. Filled with memorable melodies, riffs, beats, and everything else post rawk is supposed to be about, though I wont go far enough o say it's a masterpiece.

The based AROUND the guitar, not based on the guitar! The guitar will usually start a nice arpeggio, or chord progression, than the keyboards, and eerie My Bloody valentine-ish vocals will come in, followed by acoustic drums making a very solid electronic beat. These, unlike most post rock, go on through a more... erm... standardized song structure, where the songs will go Loud, soft, Loud, BRIDGE, Loud, Soft. I know scary, but I guess that's why they are among one of the most commercially successful post bands out there (next to Explosions in the sky, and Sigur ros) even with a hit from the album, the opener Fragile, which ironically does follow a more standard post rock song structure, with the huge ending climax.

This album is a great album for the people who have trouble with the more inaccessible greats such as Godspeed You! Black emperor, or some of the weirder experimental stuff like Tortoise. This is very easy listening catchy post rock, plain and simple, and a great starter for anyone into the genre. The music is slow and emotional, but isn't long, and drawn out, or overly experimental. At the same time though, I can understand why some super post rock fanboys wouldn't like theses guys for that, or why some hard core proggers would bash the group for these trends. Well, I guess you can put me in both of these factions, and I love the music, therefore I recommend anyone who's not afraid of simplicity, electronic, or instrumental music a go at this amazing collection of music. Four stars for God is an Astronauts All is violent, all is bright.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Dim (BETA) | Report this review (#173874)
Posted Friday, June 13, 2008 | Review Permalink
The T
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars I've never seen an album get so similar ratings by all members: all of them have given this record 4 stars. And, for once, I can't help to absolutely agree.

GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT has really surprised me. It's no secret that post-rock has serious problems with me: its too-long songs which consist of mostly one theme altered dynamically over time with crescendos that almost invariably end in a huge climax, all of this played in the same tempo, have never been my thing. I found a post-rock record I like a few months ago, and now I can say I've found another that even beats that one and becomes my favorite in this genre.

The great thing about "All is Violent, All is Bright" is that it plays to the strengths of the genre and not to the weaknesses (in my opinion of course). The songs (well, tracks, as none of them are actually sung) are very short, averaging about 4 and a half minutes each. In that short amount of time, it's much easier to accept that the idea of just one melody/theme being played repeatedly is enough to create a song. It helps and a lot that the melodies/themes that GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT comes up with are of the utmost beauty.

Another strong point of this record are the textures, the harmonies that can be found under the main melodic discourse. It has always been one of the good things about this genre, and in this recording the idea gets a perfect treatment. Layer after layer of guitars create a wonderful sonic world, populated by tons of colors that help magic emerge.

The tempos, also, are varied and never get repetitive. Next to slow tracks we have faster ones. The same can be said about the mood of the album. Such an atmospheric record as this never gets depressing, as many other albums in this genre do.

In general, "All is Violent, All is Bright" never sounds like it's trying too hard to be "modern" or "unique". The music, played with great skill by the excellent performers, is just what it needs to be. I thought of giving this album a perfect rating but I think that a little more thematic-melodic variation within tracks would have been welcome. Think of this rating as a 4.49.

Excellent record. One of the most atmospheric and magical I've heard in a long time.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to The T (BETA) | Report this review (#176116)
Posted Friday, July 04, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars 4.5 stars really. This is an excellent post-rock album. It is not experimental or groundbreaking. There are no 20 minute epics here. The album contains shorter dynamic tracks. It reminds me of Explosions in the Sky except that GIAA uses more keyboards and less guitars than EITS. The drums sound like they may be from a drum machine at times, but they go well with the music. It is a melodic and mellow and rather hypnotic a;bum, which in this case is a good thing! I am tempted to go to five stars but just can't do it. Highly recommended to all Post-Rock fans.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to digdug (BETA) | Report this review (#180801)
Posted Monday, August 25, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars God Is an Astronaut are an instrumental three piece hailing from the Glen of the Downs, Co. Wicklow, Ireland. They formed in 2002 and released their debut album The End of the Beginning (2002) on their own Revive Records label. Their two music videos for PlayThe End of the Beginning and PlayFrom Dust to the Beyond, received airplay on MTV UK and on other MTV European networks.

All Is Violent, All Is Bright (2005) is the band's second album. The album features their build ups from serene ambience to searing intensity and is a closer representation of their live sound. The single PlayFragile from the album has also received plays on MTV2 UK's 120 minute show and MTV's "The Comedown" show.

God Is an Astronaut released an EP called A Moment Of Stillness in 2006.

The rating for me is 4.9

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to TRIFIVE5000 (BETA) | Report this review (#183865)
Posted Saturday, September 27, 2008 | Review Permalink
5 stars God is an Astronaut are not a post-rock band in the vein of Explosions in the Sky or Godspeed You! Black Emperors. The latter have generally quite long tracks and no discernible tune of riff. That doesn't make them bad.

God is an Astronaut is a much more straightforward form of instrumental rock with shorter songs seldom going far beyond 5 minutes. There is a discernible theme or melody in each track, something which many post-rock bands intentionally avoid doing. They're not reinventing the wheel, but what they do they do very well. Definitely one of the more mainstream-sounding post-rock bands out there, but no worse off because of it.

Of all the post-rock albums I've listened to (a few), this one stands out as truly grabbing me after the first listen. Some of the tracks are quieter (such as Forever Lost), some are louder (such as my personal favourite, Remembrance Day), but they are all very well-written, well-performed tracks. Each track really shines.

Some very beautiful, relaxing, inspiring music. At the moment this is my favourite post-rock album. A highly accessible start to post-rock for the uninitiated, and highly recommended for the anyone else.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Una Laguna (BETA) | Report this review (#210113)
Posted Saturday, April 04, 2009 | Review Permalink
philippe
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Content Development & Krautrock Team
2 stars If Canada is the most notorious country in indie-post rockin instru bands, Ireland seems to have fund its own figure under the name God is an astronaut. All is Violent, All is Bright provides basic pop orientated pieces with some slow moving textures and delicate-subjective melodies into it. The atmospheres are supposed to be moody, plaintive and serene. However the result is rather cheap and amateurish, including common rules and pop-ish conventions. I must admit that those superficial sides are almost constant in the so called post (math) rock scene: bands are surfing on intimate, sleepy and intropective sound territories but they always fail to reach sonic-cinematic landscapes, probably because this music is functional and made by teenagers for teenagers. This is radio friendly music specialised in soporific reveries. The accent is put on easy-listening emotional rockin sequences. All is Violent, All is Bright is the perfect combination between pop-ambient and peaceful-generical background music for teenages' road movies. If you feel romantic, this is the album to play in order to seduce your teenage girl. God is an astronaut gives you the illusion to fly away but it remains a sterile escaping without comunion with anything that are beyond our understanding. Nevertheless a few marginal-post rock combos deserve a listen (Deaf Center, Machinefabriek, Jasper TX's a darkness. If I'm not wrong none of them is mentionned in the archives).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to philippe (BETA) | Report this review (#213752)
Posted Monday, May 04, 2009 | Review Permalink
5 stars Though I am a relatively new- and late-comer to the "Post Rock/Math Rock" and seemingly related "Experimental/Post Metal" Progressive Rock sub-genres, I am fascinated and enjoying these two areas immensely. IMO, here is where "progress" is truly being made in music--where boundaries are being challenged, the envelope being pushed. The work of Sigur Rós and Toby Driver alone lead the way in what I call the groundbreaking, mind-opening progress happening in music recently. The 60s saw The Beatles, Lou Reed, and King Crimson pushing the envelope. The 70s had Robert Fripp, Brian Eno, and Christian Vander exploring untested territories. The 80s saw the compositions and productions of the likes of David Byrne, Mickey Hart, Paul Simon and Peter Gabriel and others trying to bring attention to and appreciation for musics, instruments and musicians of the world. (The 80s also saw the advent of the computer age with things like 'midi,' 'sequencing,' 'sampling' and the Fairlight exerting considerable influence, while on the quiet artists like David Sylvian and Robert Fripp continued to test sound in the forms and structures that we call 'music.') In the 90s we saw Mark Hollis, Sigur Rós, and Radiohead pushing boundaries. Which brings us to the most recent decade, the first of the 21st Century, in which we were witnesses to the innovation, courage, and artistry of Toby Driver (an asterisk of mention to the members of Animal Collective.) While my diatribe admittedly reflects an Anglo-American-centricity, I hope you readers will accept the fact that, for good or not, most of the music made publicly accessible through commerce has been able to rise to the public eye (and ear) through Anglo-American corporate endorsement. With all of this in mind, my review of God Is An Astronaut's "All Is Violent, All Is Bright" constitute's my first in this sub-genre. The reason being, it is the first "Post Rock/Math Rock" album that I have heard that I absolutely love start to finish, every song in the collection. No album from Sigur Rós, Red Sparowes, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Russian Circles, Mogwai, Mono, Don Caballero, 65Daysof Static, Do Make Say Think, or Explosions in the Sky has captivated me so well as "All Is Violent, All Is Bright." ULVER's "Shadows of the Sun" is the only one yet I've heard that I like more, but it is a very different experience from the Post Rock/Math Rock experience I receive from the others mentioned. I would not even place "Shadows of the Sun" in this category, it is so different. Some are Post Rock/Math Rock album/artists are a bit too harsh/too metallic for me (Russian Circles, Godspeed come to mind), some too repetitive or formulaic in their patterns and structures (Mono, Explosions, even, at times, Sigur Ros). A few are less consistent with the high standard/quality (Mogwai, Do Make Say Think, and 65Days). For some reason I prefer Red Sparowes (especially "Every Red Heart Shines Toward the Red Sun"), much of Sigur Rós ("AB," "Takk," and "( )" [untitled]), and this God Is An Astronaut album. What I like so much about this album is its diversity. While Post Rock/Math Rock does seem to have its formulaic structures, the songs on this album each have their own identities, each have disparate styles and 'influences.' Plus, I have to admit, I rather like their relative brevity. The tendency within this subgenre is to go a bit long. Once or twice an album is great, but every song eight to twelve minutes? No thank you. Unfortunately, I just don't have time to listen to songs like that all day. I also quite enjoy GIAA's use of vocals. Like a fifth instrument--another keyboard or a violin or something.

1. "Fragile" is the album's introductory piece that reminds me very much of an older SIGUR RÓS song. Nice slow beat, building slowly, with a very SIGUR RÓS-like use of voices, even through the requisite slam of drums, cymbols, bass and synths which arrives at the 2:40 mark and then disengages a minute later for a very slow and peaceful fade. Short, sweet, and to the point.

2. "All Is Violent, All Is Bright" is right out of a CURE playbook: rolling bass, guitar effects, background keyboard effects, same drums, Cure cords and definitely a Cure pace. Beautiful song. Awesome finale beginning at the 3:15 mark. Go crazy, Robert! I mean, Kinsella brothers! This one could've bee a little longer. 8/10

3. "Forever Lost" is BUDD/ENO meets MASSIVE ATTACK. Great soundtrack music. Great atmospheric piano and synths. Typical build and climax. 8/10

4. "Fire Flies and Empty Skies" begins with more fast-tempo CURE-ish bass and guitar until the drums enter followed by the song's melody played on sliding up and down a guitar's fretboard. Something is so pleasantly familiar about this song and its melodies. The isolated distorted bass beginning at 3:15 mark and flowing to the end as the song's outro section is a great touch. Some OCEANSIZE feel here, too. 9/10

5. "A Deafening Distance" slows the pace down until the drums and guitar power chords double time at the 2:40 mark. Great synth melody eeking its presence out from behind the rhythm section. 7/10

6. "Infinite Horizons" slows it down to an almost ambient pace with a very ROBIN GUTHRIE-like feel and sound. Nice. 7/10

7. "Suicide by Star" Begins like an ominous yet intriguing soundtrack song. A Jason Bourne theme or something. Builds with the drums and lead guitar moving up to the foreground at the 1:30 mark. Great song, great feel, my favorite song on the album. Reminds me of U2's early experimental work with BRIAN ENO and DANIEL LANOIS--like "Boomerang" and others from the "Unforgettable Fire" period. Awesome. I love the end/climax where the bass drum is pumping frenetically while the ride cymbol paces calmly along at the same slow pace with which it started. 9/10

8. "Remembrance Day" begins with quite a different feel than the rest of the album--like a CHROMA KEY piece--with piano, bass keyboards and very treated/synthesized vocals. Then at the 1:48 mark the woofer-low synthetic bass, drums, and sliding guitar sounds enter. Wow! Space has never felt so cool! Then the 2:48 mark sees the song take a different turn into a more upbeat, uptempo, up-power level with a new melody line introduce on synths(?). The song finally decays back to the echoed piano. Cool and unusual! 9/10

9. "Dust and Echoes" again begins with such a different feel. Kind of pop-mainstream with weird synth washes flowing, floating behind the rhythm section. If you've ever heard the great music of PERPLEXA and/or WEST INDIAN GIRL, this has that same awesome, upbeat psychedelic feel. The song builds by the 2:40 point, vocals again serving a very cool and important role, before interestingly decaying early into an unusually long (for this genre) fadeaway. Great song. Another fave. 9/10

10. "When Everything Dies" is the album's only real long song (10:00 minutes). Beginning with another HAROLD BUDD-treated by BRIAN EMO piano, the main difference is the eerie and unsettling presence of a synth bass. A shift occurs at the 3:00 mark into a more pounding, speedy version of the intro piano them joined by a very treated, almost electronic MASSIVE ATTACK-like drum riff. Some FRIPP-like guitar arpeggios join at the 4:25 mark as the background rhytmitists build the intensity of their chords until 5:20 everybody drops out save the drums, bass and synth-wash, which then also drop out and fade until from 5:55 to 7:30 we are left without sound! Everything has apparently died! The first sounds to reenter our aural atmosphere are synthesized waves on a beach sound followed by a computer-robot sounding synth riff floating around the L-R aural screen. By 9:00 a piano, very distant drum beat, and new synth make their presences known before finally all fading away in the end. Weird, eerie and interesting. Not as heavy as ULVER's "Shadows of the Sun" LP and message, but interesting. 7/10

11. "Disturbance." Another ENO-BUDD sounding piece--as if from the "Apollo" album, or from the 2001: A Space Odyssey soundtrack--definitely presents as if we are in space or on a space journey. More of a concept finisher than a song with it's own interesting presence. 6/10

Great album; my favorite yet from this subgenre. 9 out of 10 becoming 5 stars for the sake of it's high consistency and for being "the standard" by which I will measure other albums from this sub-genre.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to BrufordFreak (BETA) | Report this review (#277034)
Posted Friday, April 09, 2010 | Review Permalink
2 stars This is the first album I listened to by God is An Astronaut, and I think I won't dig any deeper in their discography. The whole album (with the exception of the title track) sounds like they are trying to be very deep, but they are just using some spacey sounds and some repetitive (though sometimes nice) riffs. Of course it has all a nice sound, but if you don't strictly use it as a soundtrack you will just find if very boring. If you like this kind of post-rock give it a try, but it really isn't my cup of tea.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Turillazzo (BETA) | Report this review (#546773)
Posted Sunday, October 09, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars God Is an Astronaut's All Is Violent, All Is Bright combines the stark and emotionally devastated soundscapes of Godspeed You Black Emperor or Mogwai with delicate piano work reminiscent of Sigur Ros to create a post-rock sound which is very much rooted in what by 2005 had become fairly well-established traditions of the subgenre - but though their post-rock approach is slightly cliched, they pull it off so well that I can't bring myself to hold it against them. And truth be told, the band find enough new twists to add to the old formula that I think they get away with using it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#679714)
Posted Friday, March 23, 2012 | Review Permalink

GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT All is Violent, All is Bright ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT All is Violent, All is Bright


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.28 seconds