Header
Planet X - Live From Oz  CD (album) cover

LIVE FROM OZ

Planet X

Jazz Rock/Fusion


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Muzikman
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars I got a copy of this CD a few months ago from Derek SHERINIAN to check out before this final release. Derek responded to a review of his solo album "Inertia" I did with a nice e-mail, and then he asked me if I wanted a CDR copy of this recording, I gladly accepted of course.

I have listened to this four times now and have found it to be a highly entertaining disc regarding all aspects of the musical equation. I held off on writing about this until the official release came out to see if there were any differences in the sound. There are some differences, it got tweaked slightly in the studio during the final mix down, and it's noticeable to the discriminating ear. Simon Phillips, renowned percussionist, did the final mixing.

Derek's goal was to fine tune this band into a working machine, I think that he has succeeded in doing so. The tracks were recorded June 13, 2001 at The Corner Hotel in Richmond, Victoria, Australia. For three guys they certainly make a lot of noise. While SHERINIAN leads the group on keyboards, Tony Macalpine handles the guitar, and Virgil Donati mans the drum kit. Their sound is BIG, and you would never know that it was merely a trio. The absence of bass is simply not a factor, Derek more than makes up for that with his keyboard virtuosity. The three part "Atlantis" is their epic slice of prog-rock totaling more than 17 minutes. The subject matter is typical of the genre, and words are not necessary as the group does a fine job of making the story happen inside your head with the changing tides of the music. The crowd is very responsive and each member of the group gets their moment in the spotlight. Derek is very generous when it comes to sharing the stage, and he makes sure that the crowd appreciates all the solos by his band mates by urging the crowd to respond.

SHERINIAN is a powerful keyboard player with a real focus and sense of direction that he is going in musically. Keyboard players are notoriously free spirited and Derek is no exception. He was great in DREAM THEATER, but now he is really beginning to blossom following his own path. This is great live prog-rock. It's a must for any keyboard devotee's collection or prog-rock enthusiast.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Muzikman (BETA) | Report this review (#11126)
Posted Saturday, January 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars When great musician collaboration to found a band, wether the album will great too ? No guarantee. But when Tony Macalpine, Virgil Donati and Derek Sherinian collaborate to found a band call Planet X, off course great album is a fact. On this review, I will review live album from Planet X, Live from Oz.

One thing should not to forgotten, listener will catch nuance of live album if they hear interactive communication among musician and audience . My self can not hear those nuance on this album. True, all compositions are instrumental, but communication with the audience is a must to result a dynamic live album.

On this live album, expertise of three guys showing when solo done. Meanwhile when they plays composition, they've merge as unity. All composition on this album, dominated by jazz sounds join together with progressive rock. Seriously, a nice combination.

Finally, my opinion to this album: Live from Oz is exciting live album, and Planet X deserves FOUR STARS (****) for their performance. torro-karawang-indonesia.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to torro (BETA) | Report this review (#11127)
Posted Tuesday, March 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
perseensuti@h
2 stars A disappointing album. The setlist mostly consist of songs from Universe with the exception of Atlantis suite and a solo spot from each member. Keyboard sounds are quite [&*!#]ty and messy (not very expectable from such a great keyboardist like Sherinian). MacAlpines guitar work is very loose and he seems to improvise even some of the basic structures making the songs almost unrecognizable (just listen to the crappy version of Inside Black). Donatis messy bass drum work won't make it any better. Nothing works here, really. I find even the guesting bassist, Dave LaRue, a bad choice for the band. For example, the great fretless bass lines from Atlantis pt.2 and pt.3 are ruined by LaRue with his mechanical playing style (though Atlantis is ruined by the whole band completely anyway). I can't mention any song from this live album that would have been improved from the original version (or at least played similarily). Well anyway, I hope their next live CD/DVD will be better. At leat Tony MacAlpine won't be there messing around.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#62132)
Posted Thursday, December 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
memowakeman
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars This is one of the Dream Theater´s offshoots, as we know the great keyboardist ex member of Dream Theater Derek Sherinian formed this band. Planet X is a prog metal band, with a symphonic oriented sound with a bit of jazzy passages. I know is not correct to start listenig to a band with a Live album, in this case this was the first Planet X album i ever heard, then i listened to Moon Babies which is much more better than this., of course Moon Babies is a studio album. I have listened to this album 10 times for much, and i think it has great musicianship and good skills, this is another instrumental ban, and it is a good album, but to be honest i didnt enjoy it so much, because i found regular music and nothing new to show, i say that becuase i excpected more from this album, i can assure that it is borign, because it isnt, but of course is not a very good album, maybe i dont know the order of the songs makes it less enjoyable, i dont know, simply i think it is good , but not an excellent addition to any prog music collector.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to memowakeman (BETA) | Report this review (#74152)
Posted Wednesday, April 05, 2006 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars An Excellent Live album!

I have a unique story to share with you about this album. The first idea to consider buying this album was only one : Derek Sherenian - whom I knew from Dream Theater. I purchased the CD which was under "Sale" and it cost me USD 6 at local store in Jakarta. But due to continuous torture from many of my friends who told me that this album is not Planet X's best and they always recommended me with "Moonbabies". So what happened, I had still kept the CD "sealed" (unopened) for such a long time (close to two years!) because of that constant messages I received from my friends that this is just a "so and so" album which is nothing special to them. I never paid attention to this CD until roughly couple of weeks ago. The first spin after I opened the seal, I was impressed with one thing: the dynamics of the show! First off, I have countless told you that I am a true fan of rock live album, so is the case with this album by Planet X. When the opening track "Ignotus Per Ignotium" (7:16) blasts the music with its dynamic rhythm and aggressive guitar melody, my pulse was running faster. Since then I started to pay more attention to this album that I have long kept it under sealed condition, untouched.

This time I open all things related to this album from its simple CD sleeves with photos of the show and all credits by band members. The concert was recorded at The Corner Hotel in Richmond, Victoria Australia, June 13, 2001. There were four players involved: Derek on keyboard, Tony MacAlpine on guitar (I knew his name from my friend), and a drummer that I had never paind attention before: Virgil Donati. Through this concert the trio was backed by special guest Dave Larue on bass guitar. The result is an excellent live record with almost flawless performance. What surprises me is that this record can create dynamics throughout the duration of the show from start to finish. It's really an excellent album to have!

Right after wonderful and lively opening of fist track, it flows beautifully to "Inside Black" (5:16), "Dog Boots" (3:55) and "Atlantis" epic which comprises three parts : "Apocalypse 1470 BC" (6:24), "Sea of Antiquity" (4:20) and "Lost Island" (6:21). Derek then provides his stunning solo. It's quite surprising to me that majority of instrument used before Derek's solo is guitar which is played wonderfully by Tony MacAlphine. During "Warfinger" (4:36) Dave Larue provides his virtuosity in playing his bass guitar, continued with "Virgil Donati Solo" (4:00) and "Warfinger Reprise" (1:52). Even though Tony has in a way dominated the melody line through his guitar, he is also given a chance to deliver his "Tony MacAlpine Solo" (4:14).

In most of music exploration that I experience, I always wait for when the "interlude" is coming because it usually contains nice solo by guitar or keyboard. But this time with this instrumental album I can enjoy many interludes because there are melodies performed by guitar and / or keyboard. I do enjoy this live album. The sonic quality is really wonderful and I cannot believe that this is actually a live album. Mixing was done by Simon Phillips. The show has successfully demonstrated virtuosities of the band members. It also provides great live vibes knowing the fact that the music is all instrumental. I recommend this to those of you who enjoy G3, Satriani, Vai, or Liquid Tension Experiment. Yoy might enjoy this album as well. Keep on proggin' ..!

Peace on earth and mercy mild - GW

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#135805)
Posted Saturday, September 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
kev rowland
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
4 stars Live From Oz' is the second album from Planet X and contains material reaching back as far as Derek Sherinian's 1999 solo album (somewhat confusingly called 'Planet X') and forward to 'Moonbabies'. Recorded in Melbourne, on the final gig of the 2001 tour, the band were joined by Dave La Rue on bass (Dixie Dregs/Steve Morse). Planet X are an instrumental band comprising Derek Sherinian (keys, ex-Dream Theater, Alice Cooper etc), Virgil Donati (drums, Steve Vai etc) and Tony MacAlpine (guitar).

This is all about music played in very strange time signatures, that is extremely intricate and always at risk of falling over due to sheer note density. It is not easy to listen to and in many ways has more in common with jazz than it has with much of the progressive rock music that is around at present. That all of the band are masters of their instruments is never in doubt, but trying to follow the thread of the melody can be slightly more difficult.

The fact that three of the fourteen tracks are solos for each of the band does also lay them open to the claim of being somewhat narcissistic and self-indulgent, but what saves them each time is that they are just so good at what they do. They are so tight that one cannot help but be impressed. The trick is to listen to this in a darkened room and just let the music sweep over you, particularly on the "Atlantis" suite which is seventeen minutes long

originally appeared in Feedback #69, Aug 02

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to kev rowland (BETA) | Report this review (#978042)
Posted Friday, June 14, 2013 | Review Permalink

PLANET X Live From Oz ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of PLANET X Live From Oz


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.14 seconds