Header
Dream Theater - Chaos In Motion 2007/2008 CD (album) cover

CHAOS IN MOTION 2007/2008

Dream Theater

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
5 stars Unbelievable mix. Incredible extras. This is without question the ultimate DT experience. Get it now, as soon as u read this. Get it ASAP!!!! Standout tracks 1. Surrounded - Trust me, you've never heard a verison of surrounded like this b4. It's on par with the live version of Beyond This Life played at Budokan. 2. Dark Eternal Night - How they can play this song without passing out is beyond me. 3.Ministry of Lost Souls- Epic in every way, even better when u see it live. 4. ITPOE-26 mins of DT bliss. 5.Schmedly Wilcox-Best encore performance of any live act I've ever seen. Nuff said. This live album/dvd will blow you away!!! P.S- Get the deluxe version, 3 cd's included. Sickkkkk

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to nystripe96 (BETA) | Report this review (#184212)
Posted Tuesday, September 30, 2008 | Review Permalink
2 stars Hey, im about the biggest Dream Theater fan in Mexico, so this may come as a shock to all. This is probably only behind five years in a LIVE time as their worst live performances. There are so many things wrong with this dvd/cd compilation that its difficult to know where to start. First the obvious.

Image Quality: Its absolutely their worst effort. Considering the great image in SCORE and Budokan, i was at least expecting that kind of quality. Its worst than Metropolis 2000. Grainy, inconsistent and mostly blurry.

Sound: Brilliant in some points, horrible in others. I really thought their best live album is Metropolis in terms of sound quality and performance. This one fails in some songs and excels in others. Constant Motion is the first song, a very heavy balls and chunk kind of piece that deserves the best quality in sound, it fails miserably. Once you get to the last songs you will notice that the quality increases specially in the new albums songs, but mostly it seems like a bad effort.

Performance: Labrie sounds his worst since 5 years. Petrucci actually makes some mistakes, and songs don't sound as good as in other dvd's. The patch settings on Rudess' keys are actually a little bit off. In the song, The ministry of lost souls (which i love) the guitar sounds out of tune. I think this is their worst performance of the 5 live albums.

Extras: The documentaries and extras on disc two, are what save this package from the dreaded 1 star. The documentary is actually interesting and talks about things that their other documentaries don't which is actually appreciated. The videos and cartoons are also awesome, great for fans.

Overall: I am veryyyy dissapointed in this live album. I wasn't looking forward for it, since they seem to be releasing live shows everyday now, and with the Ytsejam bootlegs i think i already got enough of them. But still the extras make it worth for collectors and fans. All others, go for SCORE. Its a far better interpretation of what Dream Theater is all about.

** as an extra thought i think Mike is actually getting better in directing the videos, the quality of the editing and extras really is the best of the bunch**

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to juanvalverde (BETA) | Report this review (#184347)
Posted Wednesday, October 01, 2008 | Review Permalink
Nightfly
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Rock Progressivo Italiano Team
4 stars Whether we need yet another Dream Theater live DVD or not is open to debate but more than likely it will sell by the bucket load to the legions of die hard fans of the band who need to have everything they release. The cynical amongst you may just see this as a money making exercise, Dream Theater being well aware of the loyalty of their fans. To be fair though, this package does offer excellent value for money, consisting of 2 DVD's and also available as a 2 DVD/3 CD version which includes audio versions of the live material.

The first cd is the one that most fans will keep returning to, the live footage. Where this one differs to previous live DVD releases is that it's not one show but made up of recordings from half a dozen different shows around the world. The logistics to do this may have lead to shoddy results but in the main the picture and sound quality is very good and despite coming from different locations it all holds together pretty well. One minor annoyance is that at the end of some of the live sequences, it's broken by short pieces of chat by the band which is not needed as there's plenty of that on disc 2.

The total length of the live disc is 3 hours and the material is well chosen, in the main not re-treading ground covered by previously DVD's, in a large part down to the fact that it draws heavily from their most recent studio album, Systematic Chaos. The musicianship as expected is impeccable and the band put on dynamic performances throughout. Particularly pleasing is In The Presence Of Enemies which despite being split in 2 for the Systematic Chaos album is played as one piece here as it was originally intended.

Disc 2 is largely taken up with interview footage, as well as talking to band members the road crew and management also have an input and is full of facts and the logistics of keeping a band like Dream Theater on the road and running smoothly. There's also a stage and backstage tour from Mike Portnoy, going through each band members equipment and the set up backstage. Interesting, but not the stuff of repeated plays.

There's also Promo video's for Constant Motion, Forsaken and The Dark Eternal Night which are a welcome bonus and also a photo gallery, all in all offering a great and varied package.

If you haven't already been turned onto Dream Theater's brand of Prog Metal then this package is not going to change your mind but for any fans of the band, even if you already own all their previous DVD's, this one's well worth adding to your collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Nightfly (BETA) | Report this review (#187562)
Posted Saturday, November 01, 2008 | Review Permalink
3 stars I was very excited when this DVD came out, I even pre-ordered it so I could have it right away. But I'm disappointed, since this is not one of their best performances I've ever seen, and I've watched all their official DVD's. I don't know if it has something to do with the fact that it's recorded from different shows around the world, but that would be strange, because I was in the Mexico show on April 29th and I was really impressed on that day, even when it was the second time I saw them live.But when I listened to Petrucci and LaBrie performances on this video, I was shocked, I didn't remember them playing so bad, so I made an extensive search, and this week I was able to put my hands on a recording from the show I attended to, and believe it or not, their performance was soooo much better, specially LaBrie's (it's incredible, because this isn't a mastered recording) I can't understand why, since usually Mexican fans are underestimated and they play poorly, with less gear, etc. For example, when they were touring with the XX anniversary theme, Mike Portnoy had only 2 kick drums on his drum set, they didn't used their screens and Jordan didn't use his spinning stand, even when the stage was big enough... Anyway, I only wanted to share my experience and my confusion, don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan, but if this is directly produced by MP, I think it should have a better quality (I agree with a previous review by juanvalverde on everything he thinks about this DVD). Fans will enjoy it, specially for the bonus material, but this video just isn't what I expected.

I apologize for my very bad English use.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Arscek (BETA) | Report this review (#188267)
Posted Friday, November 07, 2008 | Review Permalink
Muzikman
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars With the latest set from Dream Theater Chaos In Motion 2007-2008 (deluxe collector's edition) the band gives their fans the ultimate gift by putting two DVDs and three CDs together for the most comprehensive overview of their music to date in a live setting.

I grabbed this gem the day it came out and later discovered the concert date I attended in Boston in 2007 makes a few appearances on the set, which makes this experience all that more personal and special for this listener. I was able to attend another concert early in 2008 and bring along my young son, a Petrucci disciple, and he thought seeing DT live was the most amazing thing he has ever seen. Thanks to the graciousness of Jordan Rudess and making these dreams come true, I continue to enjoy watching the development and legacy of DT grow with each passing year.

Chaos In Motion 2007-2008 is a lot to digest and after you are finished watching all the live footage, interviews and bonuses, then heard all three CDs, you certainly have the feeling you were just given the grand tour and history of a band. DT is at the point where a presentation such as this will be more commonplace because of their hard earned and well-deserved success. I recently spoke to their former manager Jim Putulski, and as we were discussing Jim's latest new label Blistering Records, the mention of the work ethic of DT came up and he intimated that if more bands held that belief closer to their heart that success would be unavoidable.

At the beginning of the first DVD, there are some questionable videos in reference to quality however, that is something that is more of an anomaly. Once you get past those rare instances, this is superb and it covers much of the output from this band. As the back of the box set says, "1 year & 1 day, 115 shows, 105 cities, 35 countries, 5 continents, hundreds of thousands of fans.1 Band" puts this entire event into proper perspective. The enormity of presence that DT commands finds a time capsule to fit into within this one sentence.

The promo videos and live screen projection films are also a highlight and very enjoyable. With "Behind The Chaos On The Road" segments, Mike Portnoy's tour of the stage prior to a show is an entirely different look from the band's eyes that we rarely get to see. As I mentioned previously, this set is all encompassing and I do not think very much is missing. The total DT experience is available here, including life on the road and all the people that make things happen along the way from the bus driver to the cooks, people that seldom get the recognition they deserve. This band is proud of its legacy and is always willing to give credit where it is due and that is why I respect them so much. Success has not changed their outlook, just made all of them more grateful for the current position they hold in music today.

It is hard to imagine how a DVD/CD box set could get much better than this although I have a feeling what is in the future will be yet another notch higher than this. DT is always looking to improve and this is a great way to see how this band has grown in every way by watching the DVDs. If you want to compare, contrast, and see how just how far they have come over the years, check out the double feature DVD Images and Words Live in Tokyo/5 Years in a Livetime, proceed to check out Chaos In Motion 2007-2008, and then watch the amazing progression of a band in one sitting. Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Muzikman (BETA) | Report this review (#197151)
Posted Sunday, January 04, 2009 | Review Permalink
1 stars Whoever wanted this to be released was out of their mind!!

First of all, the video is the poorest quality I've seen by Dream Theater. The sudden interviews and behind the scenes footage were annoying and should have been separated from the performances.

The worst part of the package was the sound mix. It was poor quality, it only focused on the drums and guitar playing. Myung and Rudess were ignored. I think they know who are the most popular and mainstream of the musicians and are just trying to keep audible as much as possible.

Once again John Myung is left out almost completely!!!!!!!

How do they expect fans to be paying top dollar for this poor quality nonsense (seriously it wasn't cheap)??

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ssmriphc (BETA) | Report this review (#204407)
Posted Thursday, February 26, 2009 | Review Permalink
jampa17
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars What do you do after reaching perfection...??? yes, a poor quality DVD...

After the incredibly high quality of the Score DVD, with a perfect presentation and arrangements, perfect rythum of shots and the best audio mix they have reached, as well as plenty worthy live material, Mike Portnoy decided to go the complete opposite wih this DVD... rather than a single and perfect presentation, he pick half dozen of sections of different footage in a way like a like documental with songs between interviews and backstage insides... the sound quality is low because is taken from the live mix, just as it sounds and not post-worked, as well as the footage, very improvised and with low quality... it's almost a raw version of presentations...

The quality of the music and the presentations are as good as they can be, the raw material is more old rock and it gives you a better idea of a real concert experience... the footage and interviews they decided to put in between songs it's very interesting and it gives you a lot more the idea of all they dynamics of their life in the road and it has a lot of funny passages... but if you enjoy with the good quality of the shots, ilumination and angles, this is not for you... it's for rockers who likes less make-up and more crude material... and it's a most have for DT fans... the song selection is quite great, plenty of the Systematic Chaos songs, I feel it more interesting than the studio versions, besides some oldies that they seem to forgot later, as Scarred and Surrounded (in a longer version) and other interesting stuff like Panic Attack and Lines in the Sand, the demo version... so there's a lot of rarities that brings a lot more material to the fans...

DVD #2 is great, the documental is long, over an hour of interviews and 50% of it is with the crew and not with DT... but is always interesting, especially for musicians and for the people who wonder how is the life in the road... there's musical videos included -good, but not essential- and the live projections they use on the road. The Cartoon used in The Dark Eternal Night is funny... really funny and entertaining... there's also a hidden material about a joke between the Drum tech and John Petrucci... I didn't get the joke, but it's funny... this DVD have a lot more material from behind the scenes than concerts footage... Some folks from Symphony X appear in some backstage material as well as Opeth and other bands...

Three stars for the good amount of inside jokes and life on the road, the plenty "new" material they included but the lack of quality is evident... Good, but not essential... well, for DT fans, if it exists, is essential... so I as a diehard fan, enjoy a lot this DVD... Hope they not bring a new DVD this time... really... I need to miss them a little while...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to jampa17 (BETA) | Report this review (#254730)
Posted Monday, December 07, 2009 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
4 stars Dream Theater's 'Chaos in Motion' is yet another CD package featuring a detailed doco and a live performance, this time by the masters of prog metal themselves. But does it have anything new to offer?

Thankfully it delivers thanks to an incredibly detailed documentary that is one of the best I have seen. The thing that sets it apart is you feel as though you have a backstage pass of access all areas as you are taken into the holy of holies; behind the stage and in the dressing rooms as the band prepare their touring. Portnoy is the main voice and becomes our best friend as he graciously takes us into his own private world and reveals many secrets such as how his personal stage hand works with him during a concert, spraying his hands in between drumming and moving the mike stand for his vocals among other things.

We see Portnoy indulge in his cantankerous tempers, tho that's probably set up, but we hear from each member what they think of other band members and it's candid enough to be compelling on each viewing. We will see what problems occur and how these obstacles are overcome.

We hear from roadies and stage crew and find out what goes into putting on a huge stadium show. More than you might think. It was nice to see Portnoy meet a Make a Wish client who is terminally ill and he gets to drum with his hero, play Rudess trademark keyboard devices and scores a cymbal and some sticks and custom arm bands for his trouble, nice touch.

There is a meet and greet session and the band are quite honest about how they feel about their cult status. The special features are up to standard featuring the cool animations from the show and some music promo clips mainly from 'Systematic Chaos'.

The second DVD is a great concert of the tour and is even better after watching the band preparing in the documentary which really psyches you up to the concert, you feel as though you know what went into the making of the show and then you are treated to the show itself.

The set list is based on the latest album at the time plus some treasures such as 'Lines in the Sand' and a wonderful medley of DT classics. But you can rediscover 'Systematic Chaos' on this DVD and at times these versions are better than the studio versions. Dream Theater blends symphonic prog with heavy guitar effectively.

The concert footage is well edited with the fans enjoying the music and it spans many different venues of the tour. The sound is high quality as usual but there is no booklet with this DVD. Some of the songs have clips with an amusing animation to complement it, similar to 'Octavarium' from the 'Score' DVD.

One of the highlights is the incredible solo from Rudess' showcasing his trademark continuum keyboard gadget. He has as much fun as anyone, but I think the real star on this is LaBrie whose vocals are second to none and he looks great with his new facial hair. The light show is incidental to the actual music but it is sufficient as a background to the show. As a special feature the photos show the band bowing at many venues and its interesting to see where the band toured. Overall, this is an excellent package with a lot to offer on this awesome band, from conception of ideas for the tour to the actual show, this is a great DVD to indulge in.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#265263)
Posted Wednesday, February 10, 2010 | Review Permalink
Andy Webb
FORUM & SITE ADMIN GROUP
Admin / Heavy Prog Team
3 stars Another live release, another average Dream Theater release.

*note* I'm reviewing the CD audio, I have not seen the full DVD movie. As I have said in previous reviews, Dream Theater are known for their live prowess, and also their prolific live releases. Here we see the live release for their tour for Systematic Chaos. A simple description of this album is simple: it's average. The performance of the band is fantastic, with all the music being played spot on and the production is good. However, LaBrie's performance, although I am usually never once to judge his amazing vocal capacity, it pretty awful. On some tracks he does fine, but the real killer for the album is Blind Faith's chorus. The vocal effort on this track is simply atrocious. It sounds he swallowed a sleeve of golf balls! Away from this rather major flaw in the band's performance, the experience is good, awarding the listener with a rather average live album. However, of what I've heard the DVD content is quite good, so I will elevate the rating to accommodate for such. 3+ stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Andy Webb (BETA) | Report this review (#357600)
Posted Sunday, December 19, 2010 | Review Permalink
Starhammer
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars "Light to dark, dark to light, light to dark, dark to light..."

In contrast to previous DVD releases, Chaos in Motion features a compilation of performances recorded throughout their world tour, with intermittent behind the scenes footage and interviews.

The Good: Really cool intro sampling songs from the Dream Theater back catalogue and finishing with an awesome rendition of Sprach Zarathustra. Other stand-out tracks include Take the Time, Lines in the Sand and an absolutely stunning version of Surrounded, where the standard guitar solo is replaced with a ten minute sonic deluge, including parts from Pink Floyd's Mother and Marillion's Sugar Mice. It's almost worth watching for this alone.

Although the individual parts of Schmedley Wilcox have a habit of cutting out just as they're getting to the 'good bit', I do love the high pitch vocals on Razors Edge which inject a bit of fun into what is ultimately just another pompous and overblown finale. It actually now makes me feel like something's missing when I listen to the studio version of Octavarium!

The Bad: As the clips are taken from a number of concerts it would be too costly to set up high level recording equipment at each venue. This format results in sub-webcam video quality and a highly imbalanced audio mix with some parts sounding like they were performed in an underwater food-blender.

Systematic Chaos is, in my opinion, their weakest studio album to date and a set-list weighted heavily towards these songs is never a good thing. However, the rest of the track selection is actually pretty cool and includes material not featured on their previous live releases. Whilst the instrumental performances are top notch as usual, the vocals range from nice (Surrounded) to tolerable (Panic Attack) to horrible (Blind Faith, Scarred, Trial of Tears and Forsaken to name but a few).

The Verdict: If you're a Dream Theater fan and can tolerate the crude production then I would still recommend checking this out.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Starhammer (BETA) | Report this review (#444787)
Posted Monday, May 09, 2011 | Review Permalink

DREAM THEATER Chaos In Motion 2007/2008 ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of DREAM THEATER Chaos In Motion 2007/2008


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.21 seconds