Header
Samla Mammas Manna - Måltid  CD (album) cover

MÅLTID

Samla Mammas Manna

RIO/Avant-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars 4.5 stars really!!!

Second album from one of Sweden's craziest yet most enduring and most important band, Maltid is their most stunning album ever, no matter under which name the band will record. Some three years after their debut, SMM lost percussionist Oberg, but gained guitarist Coaste Apetrea, but this didn't alter much their direction, even if there were obvious sonic changes. Unlike its predecessor's and its chicken shack, Maltid was recorded in a real studio during the fall 73 and received a strange third-age picnic artwork (I think Maltid is meal time), which doesn't seem to be related to the tracks, at least not at first glance.

Starting out on some very obtuse bowels sounds (well, sorta anyway ;o), the quartet attacks their second opus on the almost 11-mins Dundrets Frojder, a constantly evolving track with some crazy percussions, weird vocals astounding overall musicianship and a Zappa-esque mastery and humour, but SMM has their own distinct sound. There is no way you could mistake it for Francesco, but it is damn well inspired, but never copied, as SMM is really giving priority to the instruments, as opposed to Frank's often too wordy musical scheme. SMM's vocals are often weird but actually closer to Focus than Zappa. Further down the album we have some really superb tracks like Oforutsed Folossning, some more experimental or dissonant Aterupplivate Laten, the burlesque and wordy Svackorpoangen and the slightly ethnic sounding Minaretten (with some incredible drumming) etc.. The mood always remain positive, humorous, joyous, even festive, that Maltid is actually fairly accessible despite its complexity, and I dare say that more than one prog-refractive should actually like this album, despite its left hand oddness.

This album comes with three bonus tracks, two of them from this same 73 session, and Circus Apparatha from the chicken shack sessions and the debut album. One of the tracks Minaretten 2 is absolutely vocally bonkers and it may introduce a certain reject reaction, but manages to blend in enough with the album's overall mass of work. Blending much better in (although you can hear the major production difference between the shack and the studio) is Circus Apparatha, while unlike the Minaretten 2 track, the final Probably should've made the original cut.

Knowing that SMM is one of the six original groups that will found the RIO movement in 77, they are the second oldest group (Stormy Six started recording in 69 but ahead of Henry Cow) and that by then, they'll have 4 albums, including this fantastic baby and its upcoming little sister Klossa Kuapitatet as pure Chef D'Oeuvre under their belt. This album can only be taken as a salutary musical slap in the face, no less, and assuredly the most important album out of Scandinavia. Well don't stand there, run for it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#21587)
Posted Tuesday, February 03, 2004 | Review Permalink
The Hemulen
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars Samla Mammas Manna play a unique style of music. It's bursting with energy, invention and playfulness. Those who like their music to be SERIOUS - well, stay away. You'll hate this. For those of us who can giggle as we listen, this is an album you won't want to miss out on. Jazzy textures and touches of folk mingling with quirky melodies and bursts of care-free avant-garde madness, not to mention those idiosyncratic vocals that sound like a bunch of drunken gnomes burst into the studio. Yes, it's silly at times, but that silliness is underpinned by superb musicianship and a real sense of purpose. It's obvious that SMM knew exactly what they were up to when they recorded this album, and after a few listens you will too. I can't really do a breakdown of the songs in this instance, as it's such a cohesive album. Just take mine, and several others' word for it and check out this strange, fun, and hugely rewarding music.

Highlights: "Dundrets fröjder", "Syster system", "Minareten".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to The Hemulen (BETA) | Report this review (#36071)
Posted Saturday, June 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars I just found out this CD couple of days ago during ProgNite conducted by the Indonesian Progressive Society, Jakarta, Indonesia. As usual, there was a CD counter by Pram's CD that I always visit the counter before the gigs of Indonesian prog bands. And, this progarchives website has really helped broadening my knowledge of bands that I have never heard before including Samla. I remembered there was excellent review by colleague collaborator Trouserpress about this album. When I saw this album was displayed at that CD counter, I wanted to give it a try. My first question to some progmates who were there around me was: "what kind of music this band plays?". Most of them said that the music of Samla is excellent. So, I did purchase the CD. Eventhough, I hate the cover! It does not project any prog music at all if I'm judging the album by its cover.

You know what happened when I first spin the CD? Strange! Weird! It's not the kind of Banceuy coffee that I used to sip, I would say. What is this? Uugghhh ..!!!! But hey . hold on a second . the music is neatly arranged, the harmony is great, the musicianship is excellent as they can deliver this relatively complex music flawlessly. Yoohaaa . man . I started loving the music. I gave another spin and . it grew significantly from second spin onwards! This is truly progressive: the band offers different kind of prog music far away from what it was available at the time of release. Yes, there is mellotron - that would favor those who love classic prog rock - but that's not the soul of Smala music, I think. Samla's music (especially this album, of course, because this is the only one I have now) is a perfect blend of Canterbury, symphonic prog, and classic rock performed mostly in comedy style. Well, I guess . because I can sense the music sounds this way to my ears. The piano / keyboard sounds remind me sometimes like Dave Stewart (Khan) or Cuby's + Blizard (Dutch blues band) piano style. The guitar work is a marriage of classic rock style and Canterbury.

Overall, enjoying this music is truly rewarding. I have difficulty to find any comparison with the music of other bands as this kind of music is something new for me. And.. I do enjoy it. I consider this album as an excellent addition to any prog collection. Recommendation for you? I don't think I dare to do so as this one is different. Unless, you are open mind to prog music. This album may favor those who love Canterbury kind of music because there are elements of it blended in fusion style. Keep on proggin' ..!

Progressively yours,

GW - Review #340

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#38157)
Posted Friday, July 01, 2005 | Review Permalink
J_kink_brealo
5 stars I don't really want to put a rating to an album like this.... no rating can really be put to music, all ratings are just opinions.....

Personally I enjoy this music alot. It shows alot of originality and happiness to me, it displays influence from other bands which i relate to in a similar way, although it has gone off in completely it's own direction, which i believe is the most interesting, thought provoking and satisfying type of music.

Find your own music to help you through your way of life.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#40939)
Posted Saturday, July 30, 2005 | Review Permalink
matti_sillanm
4 stars SAMLA MAMMAS MANNA's 1973 album "Måltid" is a mixture of amazing virtuoso avant-garde prog rock by a bunch of really talented artists and crazy humorous vocal arrangements which only Swedish people are capable of doing. The music is a bit jazzy, but not quite fusion, it's avant-garde, but it's not quite RIO, and for the love of god, it sure isn't symphonic prog.

The musicians are very talented indeed. Guitarist Coste Apetrea can pull an impressive solo from his sleeve anytime and keyboardist Lasse Hollmer is on fire as his piano is all over this album. Lasse Kranius and Hasse Bruniusson back them up solidly on bass and drums respectively.

The music is quite hard to describe and also quite hard to grasp at times, but the epic 10-minute album opener "Dundrets Fröjder" is one you immediately fall in love with; full of wacky instrumental and vocal hooks. But one word of warning for everyone; try singing some of this stuff in the shower and you bloody well might drown in there. 4/5

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#48344)
Posted Sunday, September 25, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars I was born a man, I died a boy. This sentence was chosen by the brazilian writter Fernando Sabino to be added to his tablet when he dies. It's so simple and common, but perfect. Already some artists had before said similars brilliant sentences, for examplo, Pablo Picasso, and in such a way they tried mixed the unimaginable quality of their masterpieces with the infantile nature, in order to get the maximum of quality.

In the universal kingdom of music those that can be considered as children playing games are few, if consider boys playing to make art, Samla Mammas Manna is the most infantile protagonists of the progressive rock, a band full of wonderful geniuses like few others dozens born in each century. Maltid has all the taste of childhood, a flavour like a homage to an old country aunt, considering if like she is preparing cakes and pies while boys run around the yard playing games. The album is like a dream, a fantastic youthful world.

Maltid is one of the greaters and more complete masterpieces of progressive rock, and if you still have a little child inside you to play, you must get this album and live as boy again around the beautiful songs that capture the free spirit of childhood, without those kind of massive issues and problems of the day.

For adults and boys, for all, to hear and have fun, an essential masterpiece of progressive music

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Grobsch (BETA) | Report this review (#84064)
Posted Tuesday, July 18, 2006 | Review Permalink
Bj-1
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Samla Mammas Manna's second release, "Måltid", is a very fine output and a major improvement over their debut. It's definitely a grower for some people but it's incredibly rewarding nevertheless. The production could have been better (it's a bit thin and raw) and steadier but the entertaining, creative and convincingly original songs makes up for it. Like all other Samla albums "Måltid" shows it's styles well, including Jazz-Rock, RIO and Folk among others, and they manage to mix and balance them out without problems at all together with a nice touch of the eclectic and nearly flawless instrumentation of these crazy Swedes. Keyboardist Lars Hollmer in particular is a standout here with his entertaining yet serious playing on the tangents. The rest of the band does an impressive performance throughout the rest of the album, notably guitarist Coste Apetrea's floating but sharp guitar playing and Hasse Bruniusson's hectic but controlled drumming. The album have lot's of diversity and humoristic playfulness and is very addictive when you first get "into" it. The vocal parts are high-pitched and downright silly throughout most of the album and adds a very joyful mood to the music, although it might not appeal to everyone. There's rarely any actual lyrics on the album. The best track here is obviously the opener, "Dundrets Fröjder", a 10 minute masterful track combining everything that makes this band so great; jazzy textures with a good dose of wacky humor and great variation within minutes. It's quite possibly the most representative track from the band and an amazing achievement overall.

There's very few weak moments on this album, the last track "Værelseds Tilbud" is the only one I don't enjoy as much as I did with the other songs. Overall, I would say that this is an important addition to your prog-collection if you like either Jazz-Rock/Fusion or RIO (or both for that matter). SMM's "Måltid" is a entertaining and adventurous release that every open-minded person should try. Me personally think it could have been slightly better, especially the production, but I would still highly recommend it. 4.5/5. Not as good as "Familjesprickor", but up to pair with "Klossa Knapitatet".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Bj-1 (BETA) | Report this review (#86939)
Posted Saturday, August 12, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars Samla Mammas Manna's second album, "Måltid" is to me, and many others, the best SMM album. Samla Mammas Manna makes original and interesting music. It's complex-avant garde-jazz-rock with plain silly (mostly wordless) singing. Best songs on this brilliant CD is "Dundrets fröjder", "Tärningen", "Syster System" and the hilarious "Circus Apparatha". I would highy recomend this album to fans of Frank Zappa's wierder works and Nordic 70's prog-rock. Brilliant!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Abstrakt (BETA) | Report this review (#93597)
Posted Friday, October 06, 2006 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars 4.5 stars. At the end of the liner notes they wrote "Remember-joy is contagious !" Lets just say that this band has made a lot of people smile over the years. I laughed right out loud a couple of times while listening to the insane vocals. I'm sure they are singing some funny lines too, but it's all sung in Swedish. I had a hard time finding this cd but thankfully I finally got it and it was well worth the search. As a side note the Zeuhl band UPPSALA (great band) named their band after the city that guitarist Coste Apetrea is from. They met him and another Swedish guitarist while on vacation and were so affected by this meeting that they thus named their band UPPSALA and even named a song after the two guitarists. Like they said "Joy is contagious", they caught something special from that meeting anyway. Another side note is that the drummer (Hasse) has been the percussionist for the FLOWER KINGS for a long, long time.

The first song "Dundrets Frojder" really embodies what this band is all about.This is also my favourite song off of the album. It features a catchy, uptempo melody with keys and drums leading the way. The guitar is fantastic ! The tempo picks up as these crazy vocals come in. It gets heavy before 7 minutes with some excellent drumming followed by mellotron. Nice. Scorching guitar late, on this the longest track. "Oforutsedd Forlossning" features funny vocals and light drums. The sound gets louder as the guitar comes in.

"Den Aterupplivade Laten" opens with odd sounds before we get a melody. The piano reminds me of GENESIS as the soundscape does have a symphonic flavour. Nice piano to end it. "Folkvisa I Morse" is a short and catchy folk song. "Syster System" has these hilarious vocals with piano and drums. "Tarningen" is a great uptempo track with outstanding piano, drumming and guitar. "Svackorpoangen" is led by piano and theatrical vocals. "Minareten" is bright and uplifting for 2 minutes before settling down as we get some more lunatic vocals.There is a fantastic sound the rest of the way until the mood changes after 7 minutes. The final song "Vaerelseds Tilbud" is made up of mostly piano melodies.

This is like the polar opposite of UNIVERS ZERO, it's bright, fast and catchy, but most of all it will make you smile.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#146469)
Posted Monday, October 22, 2007 | Review Permalink
Ivan_Melgar_M
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Prog Specialist
5 stars I have to thank SAMLA MAMMAS MANNA, because they opened more my eyes, I had the preconception that all Avant bands where extremely weird, extremely technical and with a total lack of sense of humor. Well, this band has made me travel from the late 60's inspired debut to the incredibly strange "Dear Mamma" and now is the turn o review their second release "Måltid".

If SMM is almost Psyche and "Dear Mamma" is one of the most characteristic expressions of Avant Garde, "Måltid" is a beautiful fusion of different sounds and styles that go from Fusion top the most experimental forms of Electronic.

"Dundrets Fröjder" starts with a strange intro that leads immediately to a strong passage reminiscent of EMERSON LAKE & PALMER which without even noticing morphs into a guitar oriented Jazz section, without losing their sense of humor they continue exploring this trilogy of influences for the almost eleven minute's that the song lasts. Am incredible experience that broadens the horizons of melodic fans like me, but without scaring us with almost impossible to understand experimentations. The frantic ending when they go a step back towards some form of Acid Psychedelic Jazz is simply amazing.

In "Oförutsedd F¢rlossning" they start joking with their voices, but in contrast a very sober piano makes a fantastic melody, first in the background and then takes the lead, but the vocal jokes follow, this time with a powerful guitar supporting them, at the end all the band together play some sort of ultra elaborate fusion.

"Den Återupplivade Låten" starts weirder than ever but now a very dramatic and strong section irrupts out of nowhere, somehow Symphonic with Jazzy and Hard Rock leanings, this proves how versatile this guys are. The last section blows minds, is completely unexpected, but when you are used to this band, you should expect anything. When explained with poor words may sound confusing but when you listen it, everything is in it's place.

"Folkvisa I Morse" begins Medieval oriented with a troubadouresque tune that goes for a long period of time with soft humming in the background, by moments they enter into a delightful cacophony, but just for a few seconds before they return to the main tune.

"Syster System" is hilarious, I dare anybody to listen the vocals and not to laugh, but the take the music seriously, because the piano is fantastic, even when a bit repetitive, no radical changes until the end, just screams and the constant piano.

"Tärningen" is a mixture of Rock and ...anything, SMM seems to get more adventurous as the album advances, but this time reminds me a bit of the radical changes in some of the most elaborate FOCUS tracks. But the most interesting feature is how the song evolves through different sounds and moods with no effort, as if it was something easy and natural.

"Svackorpoängen" begins with a very Classical oriented piano intro that grows in intensity as it advances, again the voices join with their high pitched tones and conversations taking us a few centuries back to the late Medieval era, but radically change into some form of Modern classical, Lasse Hollmer does a brilliant work in the piano. Can't help feeling the strong FOCUS reminiscences in "Minareten" but of course much more complex, the melody is lead by the guitar in a perfect Jan Akkerman style. For the first time in the album, the song flows gently without surprises until almost the middle, when they start with a controlled experimentation and screams, you must listen this track, because words can't describe it.

The official release ends with "Værelseds Tilbud" which starts incredibly dramatic, with a mysterious Avant (the real Avant Garde) piano which takes the central role and makes all the changes and experiments almost alone, wonderful ending.

The album has three more bonus tracks, but as always I stay with the original song list, because that's the way the author released it and how IMO should be listened.

Even when more mature than the self titled debut, I feel they lost some of the beautiful naïve sound that was so pleasant, but instead we get a more solid musical expresion.

A fantastic album for people who are willing to take the risk with more adventurous musical forms, that I can't rate with less than 5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Ivan_Melgar_M (BETA) | Report this review (#185162)
Posted Thursday, October 09, 2008 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Måltid ( translates into Meal)is the second studio album from Swedish avant garde rock act Samla Mammas Manna. Their debut was a brilliant album and with this second album Samla Mammas Manna really shows that they have developed their unique sound even further. The biggest difference between Måltid and the debut is the addition of guitarist Coste Apetrea. As a consequence of his addition to Samla Mammas Manna Måltid sounds much more complete than the debut which had no guitars.

The music generally has a happy mood and besides the new addition of a guitar to the bands sound there are lots of enthusiastic piano parts and even more challenging drum and percussion parts from Hasse Bruniusson ( The Flower Kings). The music on Måltid is very rythmic. The music is generally instrumental but there are a few vocal parts which are mostly high pitched and hystarical. Just hilarious moments IMO. There are lots of jazz influences in the music, but thankfully it never evolves into ordinary jazz music.

The musicianship is one of the biggest assets on the album as every musician playing on the album are very accomplished.

The production is much better than the unpolished sound of the debut.

Måltid is a step forward for the band and a really excellent avant garde rock album. This is the kind of album you put on if you´re in a good mood or if you want to be in a good mood. That´s the impact it has on me anyway. A very deserved 4 star album IMO.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#185851)
Posted Wednesday, October 15, 2008 | Review Permalink
Rune2000
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
4 stars I just realized that it has been exactly a year since the death of Lars Hollmer who I consider to be the greatest progressive rock artist that has ever emerged from the Swedish music scene.

Måltid is probably the most accessible Samla Mammas Manna releases and my first experience of this bands unique sound. Although the band takes some elements from the Swedish Progg-movement (not to be confused with Progressive rock) this is far from the left-wing mambo jumbo that was played by bands like Blå Tåget, Hoola Bandoola Band and Nationalteatern. This is creative Avant-Prog at it's finest.

There are just so many real classics featured on this album that regardless of any personal opinions this release just has to be recommended to anyone interested in exploring this exciting band. Compositions like Dundrets Fröjder, Syster System and Tärningen are easily some of the most well recognized highlights that have become Samla Mammas Manna's definitely live classics for years to come.

My personal favorite instance here comes in the form of Den Återupplivade Låten. The composition does start slow but once it starts rolling there's just so much energy and excitement embedded into these six minutes that I always want to hit the replay button right after hearing it!

***** star songs: Dundrets Fröjder (10:43) Den Återupplivade Låten (5:53)

**** star songs: Oförutsedd Förlossning (3:10) Folkvisa I Morse (2:07) Syster System (2:27) Tärningen (3:33) Svackorpoängen (3:11) Værelseds Tilbud (2:26)

*** star songs: Minareten (8:21)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Rune2000 (BETA) | Report this review (#257714)
Posted Friday, December 25, 2009 | Review Permalink
Sinusoid
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars As my stockpile of music has kept expanding, it's been harder for music new to me to bowl me over. Pretty much that amounts to what it takes for me to hand out a masterpiece rating to some album now; it has to really blow me away or catch me off guard in a positive way, and that's exactly what MALTID did.

It's hard to really describe the overall sound on this album, but to call this ''serious music'' would be a big mistake. There's hardly a moment where SMM doesn't sound like they're having fun, even if pieces like ''Dundets Frojder'' and ''Tarningen'' sound like works of art. The vocals are the key component in their humour; very chirpy, high-pitched and annoying, they only add to the enjoyment, particularly on ''Sister System''.

The two longer songs are more likely to attract the typical proghead, and rightfully so as both are the best on the album. The two are loaded with precise lead guitar work, effective electric piano bits, crazy percussion and the occasional divergence into carnival music. The music is very likely to shift directions in both pieces, but themes are developed well enough to the point where any transition is natural. Hasse Bruniusson's percussion work is also of note because of the odd-sounding blocks used and his fluidity of using the kit as its own independent instrument.

However, there are plenty of joys in the shorter songs. ''Sister System'' and ''Svackorpoangen'' sound like they could be played in ballrooms to get the patrons to start dancing, but the vocals on top are pure hilarity. Songs like ''Folkvisa I Morse'' and the last one are nice quiet little things that don't demand too much from the listener. All of the songs are very melodic, so those that hate avant-garde stuff don't have to worry too much. MALTID has stuff that all sorts of progsters would like, so if you're looking to test out the RIO/Avant subgenre, try this one out. It's at least an interesting experience.

For bonus laughs, there's a bonus extension to ''Minareten'' called ''Minareten II'', and if you're not ready, the screams will scare the pants off you.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sinusoid (BETA) | Report this review (#263777)
Posted Monday, February 01, 2010 | Review Permalink
EatThatPhonebook
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars 8/10

'Maltid' is one of those unique and obscure sounding prog gems that sticks for quite a while.

Samla Mammas Manna are probably the most popular (or less unknown?) Avant Garde band from Sweden, and 'Maltid' is their most famous album, released in 1973. The album has been a little left in the shadow, and still is today. But when talking about Avant Prog bands and albums, and it's development over the years, it's hard to omit this strange sounding band and this even stranger sounding album.

Samla Mammas Manna have quite a few influences under their sleeves, and they aren't hard to find. The most noticeable influence is probably Frank Zappa, it almost feels like 'Maltid' is the Scandinavian response to the crazy American guitarist's work. But there's also a lot of progressive, from the more Symphonic side to the kind of prog some call 'Eclectic Prog'. Despite this, Samla Mammas Manna have a totally peculiar sound, that can be recognized immediately when listened. What musically makes the bulk of their style is the magical chemistry and duets between the electric piano and the electric guitar, both paced by an extremely and almost constantly dynamic rhythm section, that has an obvious crush for cowbells. A more schizotype version of traditional progressive rock. Not to forget the vocals, that are used like an instrument, coming along every now and then, and when they are present, they completely dominate the music; these vocals are of an amazingly intense falsetto, like you'll never hear.

Listening to 'Maltid' is like being in front and meeting a utterly strange and extravagant person; at first, you're not sure what to think, but then you can't help loving him, or at least being very fascinated. What makes this album sort of human is also the alternation of different moods; some songs sound extremely cheerful, quirky and playful. In some other songs, the atmosphere is a little more serious sounding, even though the instrumentation and the style of the music remains pretty much the same, except for the fact that these songs are always instrumentals(or almost), while the first type always have them.

The more cheerful songs are probably the ones I prefer most of the time; the opener 'Dundrets Fojder' is ten minutes of crazy time changing, showing a lot of free music influences, even though the second part of the track is a little more tense and controlled thanks to the mellotron entry. But usually the more wild songs are around two, maybe three minutes long; 'Outf'rsedd F'rlossning' is cheerful as well, but the hook sounds a little more dramatic and less playful, while 'Folkvise I Morse' is a folked-out, two minute absurdity, and 'Svackopoangen' sounds like an SMM arrangement to a traditional Swedish song. But even in the serious tracks the quality is just as good; 'Den Aterupplivade Laten' and 'Tarningen' sound like more crazy sounding versions of Symphonic Prog pieces, and the other mini epic of the album, the eight minute 'Minareten', is a more chilled out tune, that features in the middle of the song vocals, and still maintains it's miraculous chillness.

'Maltid' is one of those unique and obscure sounding prog gems that really impresses you and sticks with you for quite a while. A great album, to listen to with an open mind, and with a little bit of absurdity inside.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to EatThatPhonebook (BETA) | Report this review (#492874)
Posted Saturday, July 30, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Another enjoyable album from Samla Mammas Manna, Maltid generally attempts to refine the approach of their debut album - so expect circus music, Canterbury, and the first incarnation of the Mothers of Invention all tossed in a bowl and mixed together. This time around the band do a better job of melding these sounds into a seamless whole, the transitions between styles being handled with more finesse. Otherwise, if you enjoyed the first Samla album, there's more of the same here, and if you couldn't stand it you're not likely to be too enthused by this one. Four and a quarter stars, rounded down to four.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#512820)
Posted Thursday, September 01, 2011 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
4 stars Henrik "Bebben" Öberg left Samla Mammas Manna shortly after the release of their self-titled debut and in a clevef move the remaining trio hired guitarist Coste Apetrea the following year in his place.The next move for the fresh line-up was to enter the Decibel Studios and record a new album, produced by Anders Lind.This was again released on Silence Records in 1973 under the title ''Måltid''.

The new musical direction of Samla Mammas Manna was simply intricate, powerful and extremely cohesive all the way, offering a quirky, mostly instrumental Progressive Rock with influences from Classical, Jazz and Swedish Folk Music in equal portions.This fact can be recognized already from the long opener ''Dundrets froejder''.Groovy and frenetic Progressive Rock with shining guitar hooks by Apetrea, bombastic breaks and an impressive, rich sound with dominant keyboard (including organ, Mellotron and electric piano), bass and drums, only interrupted by humurous, wordless vocals.The rest of the tracks are also pretty outstanding, created by a band that now has found its own style and tight receipt.Crazy short- and mid-length instrumentals with a superb balance between loose moments and extremely tight interplays, characterized by rhythmic heaviness, jazzy improvisations, Classical melodies and folky soundscapes.A new star seems to shine on Apetrea, while Hollmer offers a mature and infallible performance.The words about the rhythm section are needless.Strong, solid and highly technical playing all the way in full collaboration with guitars and keyboards.

Simply awesome release.Every fan of Progressive Rock, who doesn't mind a fair dose of complexity, should own this classic.Highly recommended.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#912008)
Posted Sunday, February 10, 2013 | Review Permalink
4 stars Where people presumably uses to begin their Samla listening I almost end it. "Måltid" from 1973 is Samla mammas manna's second album featuring now a guitarist in Coste Apetrea. That what mostly what I missed on their first record, and with the guitar, also a hugher concentration on the melodies takes form. To give this four or five stars is totally a matter of personal taste. I directly hear we're talking about great music. What's progressive with Samla is especially its progression. Their music developed all the time and on this record it has become clever and brilliant melodical music with a feeling of controlled freedom, humour and youth. I prefer "Klossa knapitatet" before this because I think they on that record had polished away the worst sillyness and developed their symphonic approach, which even is noticeable here.

Måltid (Meal)'s brightest shining stars are three: "Dundrets fröjder", "Den återupplivade låten" and "Folkvisa i morse". "Dundrets fröjder" (The thunder's delight) is a solid compisition with some recurrent themes, flying on the glory wings of Apetrea's guitar, Hollmer's piano, Bruniusson's drums and Krants' bass. It's a perfect Samla song (of which you can here more of on their two next comming discs), proving masterwork instrumentation och crazy songwriting. "Den återupplivade låten" (The revived tune) begins slowly and explodes in cascades. A totally different Samla song. "Folkvisa i morse"(Folk song this morning) is a short "progg hit" I knew from my childhood, with an easy little joyful melody playing around a breakfast table.

The "Tärningen" (The Dice) is a very good composition and "Oförutsedd förlossning", "Svackorpoängen" and "Minareten" are also worth listening. I don't find "Syster System" or "Vaerelseds tillbud" as interesting as the others. The first of those is little annoying(deliberately) and in the other it doesn't happen som much.

A very interesting and good record but not as important as "Klossa knapitatet" which for me is their best. But please check out Samla mammas manna if you haven't done it(2nd, 3rd or 4th records). Four strong stars from me!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to DrömmarenAdrian (BETA) | Report this review (#985529)
Posted Tuesday, June 25, 2013 | Review Permalink

SAMLA MAMMAS MANNA Måltid ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of SAMLA MAMMAS MANNA Måltid


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.38 seconds