Header
Hawkwind - The Xenon Codex CD (album) cover

THE XENON CODEX

Hawkwind

Psychedelic/Space Rock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars Undervalued

Released in 1988 "The Xeon Codex", is somewhat undervalued.

The album starts inauspiciously enough, with a typical Hawkwind lead off track, "The war I survived", which pounds along in pretty much the usual fashion. While bearing the familiar Hawkwind trademarks, the track is rather prosaic.

The pace is soon slowed down though for "Wastelands of sleep", a haunting, ambient piece with a distant vocal. Skip past the nondescript "Neon skyline" and you arrive at "Lost chronicles", with its superb piano then guitar sections. These lead into an upping of the pace again for the "Lives of great men" ("Palace Springs") type conclusion.

Things drift a bit after that, although "Tides" is a pleasant ambient piece, until "Sword of the east". This is a soft centred piece of driving rock which raises the needle on the quality assessment meter once more. "Good evening" is an amusing piece of pop filler to close.

Three great tracks here, which in terms of length account for a fair bit of the album. This "The Xenon Codex" is one of Hawkwind's better offerings.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#25643)
Posted Wednesday, April 21, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars This recording ,is a little different to typical hawkwind,the songs are shorter but still retain that hawkwind element.i feel that most of the tracks are very well constructed,with really no weak link at all,its quite a very powerful recording .The last track is a liitle bizzare,i wish it was more heavy sounding,like the rest of the of the tracks.Anyway its a great recording and very easy to listen to, and turn it up loud, fans of heavy metal i know like it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Heidi (BETA) | Report this review (#25644)
Posted Monday, April 25, 2005 | Review Permalink
3 stars It was the second album which I found of Hawkwind and this is called Xenon Codex. It does not seem to have anything to make with the manuscripts or the ancient coins or nothing to make with inert gas of xenon. I think that they selected the title because the two words seemed ordered together or they filled their initializations of fossil cheese and cucumber sections.

With me, it is very different from what Hawkwind built in the old decade there is one moment. It is filled more keyboards and the noises of spacey and the guitar takes a light back bench with the remainder of the noises. In a general way, it always maintains the movement, the song of model of song of the Nile, and the sleeping bag of control of the space of yesterday, just in an improved feeling 1988.

It starts with the war which I survived. I do not know to which kind of war they refer, but my conjecture would be the war Free-Prussian of 1871. She seems as she is filled of unhappy fate of the nuclear prevoltages and the vertical rooms of laundry. Worried mats are carried in the room and the sqeaks out of the ears of my head. It is a good beginning with my thoughts on this creation by Hawkwind.

Nest we are outside in the uncultivated lands of the sleep. I feel pillows and more pillows here. It does not put to me to sleep, but the keyboards awake my muscles not account of the sheep and the dogs and the parents. My conjecture is that this has to make more with the former song. I survived, but maintaining my brain is wasted. I am dispatched bindings of regulation and squares of fountain.

The horizon with neon seems to emit us depths of the brains and to make the war and transport. I like the guitars in that and Langton emits my hairs of nose on fire. Neon is also an inert gas it of the lights of the lights brilliantly. Connection with xenon encourages me to think really hard, but my brain does not enter me my collection of pullover and basket of tubes.

The lost chronicles has to think me of the concept of manuscript which I eluded with earlier, perhaps by error with the pencils and my compass. It has that the same feeling of control and the low I feeling deeply and satisfied marks. The meat pie brass of meat will want that I run around me rings some but I do not have a tail to drive out like a dog, but the cats will not do this. I have these plans in a shirt.

Arrive after the tides and I am cooled by his environment, however I find in time when I am easily put to sleep and to be famished. I must eat tomatos. But it is a good song and I do not cry for babies and such of the moon. I am sparked upwards by Heads. This earlier brings back to that the low one of nice control of the moments which drew my attention with Hawkwind. Alan Davey is a low interesting player.

I wonder what could zone approximately change being. Perhaps I think the nuclear radiation, but they did not have the nuclear bombs in 1871, so much perhaps that war I however moreover earlier was not the war Free-Prussian, but in a certain war in the future. The percussive is very flat that it is on the major part of this album, but still I like to thank the low one and the guitar and the keyboards.

E.M.C. is an experiment to engulfing of spirit for me. Stripped I appeared out of what it makes my spirit think approximately and it does not have me the newspaper for some. My first conjecture entered cups of mooses, but I think that it must be idiotic to think me of that. This one made become vertiginous my boss as I was on a coaster or a tank of roller.

I think that the sword of the east is the most interesting song on the album. I like just the work of keyboard on this and the bottom and to feel it abundant to assemble the steppe with the really small horses seeking Genghis Khan. With me, it is one of the best songs than Hawkwind had made in a long time and which subsistence this narrowly to be of both holds the first role the release.

And in conclusion, we finish it with good evening. It is as we spent the day with Hawkwind on their voyage starting with a war and a major substance and changes and a moose and then we finish quietly with an evening. Generally, I can see the end the day with a wax, but it is probably a more pleasant end. I encourages me to want to wash with soap which does not feel like a wax.

In conclusion, it is not something which I would recommend to the average ventilator of the progressive rock. With the ventilators of Hawkwind, yes, should obtain this to you. With the remainder of us, if you find it at a cheap rate that why not obtain it, otherwise, there are more important albums of Hawkwind available should start to you. Thus, I must conclude with my train from meat pie from apple and not much from waxes and give you that the estimate of three holds the first role. It is good, but not essence. --JB

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to drain-o (BETA) | Report this review (#85585)
Posted Thursday, August 03, 2006 | Review Permalink
Modrigue
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars One of the best Hawkwind's records from the 80s' with Levitation ! Not often cited by the fans, the music displayed here is pretty energic and futuristic. The Xenon Codex shows the revival of the english space rockers since Chronicles of the Black Sword.

The album opens with the powerful The War I Survived. This track is a very good overture to the album, its pounding rythm and guitars make it rock. Wastelands is a more electronic and ambient oriented moment, with its vocals seeming to die far away in space. Back to life with the heavy riffs of Neon Skyline and the melancholy of Lost Chronicles. The first half of the disc is really inspired and truely proves that the band is still alive ! This side finishes with Tides, a short but pleasant ambient tune. Mysterious and science fiction music introduces the second side with the floating song Heads. the next track, Mutation Zone is maybe the oddest of the record with his strange vocals and bizarre sounds. Following this idea, reminiscence of good old days from Hawkwind's 70s' improvised pieces can be perceived on the freaked-out E.M.C. The magic heavy space song Sword of the East and the inegal Good Evening concludes well the disc.

The Xenon Codex is rather a good surprise from Hawkwind in the late 80s'. Rocking and spacey, this album should please all space metal fans !

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Modrigue (BETA) | Report this review (#117635)
Posted Sunday, April 08, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Ah, this is a fine Hawkwind album. It powers up immediately with The War I Survived, a truly top driving rock track. Next comes the beautifully melancholy Wastelands of Sleep. Neon Skyline, Lost Chronicles and Tides are excellent too. It fades a bit after that, apart from the mighty rocking Sword of the East which is Hawkwind at their absolute best. All in all, this should have been a 5-star album had the band not stuck in a couple of fillers. But no matter, it's still a strong effort from a great band.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to memark (BETA) | Report this review (#158280)
Posted Thursday, January 10, 2008 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars After the parenthesis of the dreadful "Out & Intake" which was an album made of some left over and live songs, this album was the true next studio album to "The Chronicle Of The Black Sword" released some three years ago.

The whole stuff is very much known by the time: hard-rockish tunes of which the opening track is a pretty good example, some heavy-spaced track like "Wastelands Of Sleep" to remind their splendor and we won't escape the punkish / psyche one either. "Neon Skyline" is pleasant (or not). Depending on what side you are positioning yourself.

So far, the true prog lover has very little to appreciate and most of you should have left the listening of this album by now. And it is a shame because "Lost Chronicles" is a great track. A wonderful instrumental introduction just brings you to another planet. Delicate and hypnotic for two minutes, and then. another FANTASTIC guitar solo.

The sort of passionate song that just leaves you breathless. One like only the masters can deliver. The finale is purely new wave oriented and reminds me the best moments of a band as "Devo". (Gut Feeling). A highlight with no doubt.

Weak moments appear with both "Tides" and "Heads" but this is more in line with their latest production since if you would except "The Chronicle", the band didn't produce great stuff in the meantime (and including) this album.

Some experimental and useless ones ("Mutation Zone") won't add any quality to this work which is kind of weak so far. The dual structure of "E.M.C." doesn't really thrilled me. I guess that the recurrent beat might please some of us, but I can't be overwhelmed by such thin inspiration.

This album is just on par with a work like "Zones". Lots of average (at best) tracks. The final part of this album holds another very good song ("Sword Of The East") which is maybe a kind of wink to their "Chronicle".

Anyway, this album is rather a deception. Hawkwind didn't release a lot of average albums so far although the eighties were not at all their best creative period.

Two stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#168712)
Posted Friday, April 25, 2008 | Review Permalink
Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
2 stars Xenon Codex is appreciated by many fans as a return to form. For me it's a "no, not really". It's a flat and dreary album. Being quite the Hawkfan, this would banish it to that one desolate star. But I think I'll reserve that one for the 1982/1983 albums if I ever get to review them.

The problem is not in the intention. I'm sure the band had the ambition to do a good space-rock album that stayed true to all spaceship commands. But they decided to make it sound up to date, and that wasn't a particularly good idea in 1988. Before the Pixies and Nirvana restored the rock sound and before thrash metal surfaced in the mainstream, a deteriorated plastic pastiche of the early 80's new wave sound was the flavour of the day. For a rock band like Hawkwind that is a let-down. The synthetic drums are so devoid of life, it's painful.

But also the songs aren't much to write home about, too much rock clichés with repetitive vocals that make each track sound like 20 other Hawkwind tunes. There are songs with some potential though. The War I Survived can surely be made into a lot of fun in a live setting. Wastelands of Sleep has a nice spacey guitar that washes over an electronic pulse. Also Heads resides in similar droning trances, but a much better version appears on Palace Springs.

That's all there is to it for me; the remainder pretty much passes me by completely unnoticed.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Bonnek (BETA) | Report this review (#264574)
Posted Saturday, February 06, 2010 | Review Permalink
5 stars One of the top few Hawkwind albums, The Xenon Codex is superb. Heavily psychedelic, if you like Hawkwind, this is a must get. Opens with 'The War I Survived', a heavy weird track, involved in a bizarre set of paranormal happening for me. 'Wastelands Of Sleep' is dreamy and features some lovely guitar from Dave and Huw. 'Neon Skyline' is a top class psychadelic rocker, leading into the exquisite 'Lost Chronicles', featuring amazing guitar from Huw. 'Tides' is a nice laid back affair in 5, featuring some nice strange sound like a bugle or something. 'Heads' is a cracker, hypnotic bass line, nice drum and great vocal. 'Mutation Zone' is fun. 'EMC' is absolutely wonderful if you are... 'Sword Of The East' is more commercial and a good track. 'Good Evening' is the most fun - 'Mummy and daddy said to me, "Get a job".' - with a great ending. All in all, an extremely good album which I strongly recommend. The engines are at full throtle.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to James Cameron (BETA) | Report this review (#278270)
Posted Saturday, April 17, 2010 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Having enjoyed a fairly stable lineup (by their standards) for a few years was clearly beneficial to Hawkwind when they went into the studio to record The Xenon Codex, because whilst it is still a long way from the standards of their top-rank albums it was their strongest studio effort since Levitation. With a particularly effective opening number - The War I Survived - the first few tracks on the album do an excellent job of combining the classic Hawkwind sound with a few of the metal-influenced riffs they'd been dabbling with in the 1980s as well as some influences from the electronic experiments of Church of Hawkwind. However, the standard of songwriting starts slipping partway through the album, and by the end of the album I usually find it ceases to hold my attention. A good effort, but not a Hawkwind album I revisit very often.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#589958)
Posted Saturday, December 17, 2011 | Review Permalink
3 stars Quite a mix of music styles is contained here. The usual Hawkwind space rock and grind rock such as the first song, along with ambient music, punk, techno drone, and even an ending Frank Zappa-type novelty rock song. However there are really only a couple of very good tunes-"Wastelands of Sleep" ( reminds me of Automatic Man), "Sword of the East", and "Neon Skyline". Nothing else really grabs me or is very memorable in the end. While better than much of Hawkwind's albums from the 1980's, this does not come close to their classic earlier work. XENON is not bad, just not great. An average release from Hawkwind. 3 stars. Or really 2 1/2 to be totally honest.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to mohaveman (BETA) | Report this review (#645719)
Posted Sunday, March 04, 2012 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
3 stars "The Xenon Codex" is one of the better 80s Hawkwind albums with very spacey atmospherics and some excellent compositions. The iconic album cover art is striking and overall this has great packaging. The musicianship is well executed here with Harvey Bainbridge's terrific synthesizers, Dave "Dr. Hasbeen" Brock's guitars and synts, Alan Davey's bass, Huw Lloyd Langton's fabulous lead guitar and Danny Thompson's percussion. As with all Hawkwind albums of the 80s the synth dominates but on this album never becomes as tiresome, in fact the lead guitar of Langton is incredible, some of his best work. Having said that, the album still has a lot of medicore moments marring an otherwise excellent album.

'The War I Survived' and 'Wastelands of the Deep' has a familiar sound with trademark echoes on Brock's vocals and very spacey textures and effects. The instrumentals on this album are actually very good such as the keyboard driven melodic 'Lost Chronicles'. The melody resonates well and is one of the better Hawkwind instrumentals especially when the guitar chimes in after the main melody is locked in. The rhythm is moderate tempo and quite relaxing.

'Tides' is an instrumental that begins with waves crashing and seagulls and is a slow paced vehicle for Langton's guitar work. The tranquillity of the piece is quite nice but one longs for the heavier side of Hawkwind.

'Heads' follows with thunder crashes, and meanders along steadily with some odd vocals. Brock sounds great on lines such as "needles are in their flesh" and the repeated "no use for you to weep". The spaciness is everpresent as always, building to an effective sonic crescendo. The distorted guitar sound is very good. 'Neon Skyline' is another highlight with Brock harmonies and a truck load of spacytronics.

'The Mutation Zone' is more hyper weirdness, voice overs, psychedelic textures and tons of sequenced synths. The phased vocals and odd percussion driven music is more like The Residents' style. It is really a techno filler with nothing much to offer becoming wearisome after a while, though the sound at the end is decidedly creepy.

Next is 'E. M.C', and it begins with strange effects, like switching through radio channels, until a synth and guitar riff locks in. This brings the pace back with some innovative riffing and typical layered vocals. One of the best tracks on the album it has the trademark chugging repetitive riffage, but the alien voices could have been replaced by Brock's vocals as they seem rather sparse on this album. The last few tracks in fact are too other worldy to be of interest to music listeners apart from the legion of Hawkwind freaks.

'Sword of the East' is definitely an album highlight with Brock sounding as good as ever, and the rhythm is strong with some innovative horse braying effects that have a creepy effect. The melody is simple but infectious and definitely this is the style that Hawkwind should focus on rather than all that ambiance in the instrumentals. So once again this is a mixed bag as far as Hawkwind go, another album with too much filler and not enough killer. Overall there is enough here to recommend to the Hawkwind space cadet, others may be quite disappointed.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#646059)
Posted Sunday, March 04, 2012 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
2 stars Bad evening?

The previous The Chronicles Of The Black Sword was a return to form for Hawkwind after a few weak albums following the excellent Levitation. The Xenon Codex is certainly a lesser album in comparison but with some good moments. This album is much better produced than anything the band did in the 70's and much of it is surprisingly subtle. Typical Hawkwind rockers rub shoulders with tasteful New Age-like soundscapes with superb lead guitars and also some misguided experimental tracks. As such, this is an uneven affair.

The actual songs of this album are based on hard rocking riffs and vocal melodies and as such it is similar to its immediate predecessor, but it is quite different from it in other respects. While on the previous album, the instrumental interludes contributed to make that album varied and diverse, on the present album they seem to take over. The closing track, Good Evening, is a total embarrassment and should have been left off the album altogether.

Uneven, but with some good moments

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#671182)
Posted Wednesday, March 21, 2012 | Review Permalink
GruvanDahlman
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars I honestly believe I started out in the wrong end of the Hawkwind legacy. I truly struggled with the classic 70's output, all the way through the first half (in particular) and all the way up to "Quark, strangeness and charm". The previously named album I kind of liked but I wasn't hooked. So, accordingly I put Hawkwind on hold and headed elsewhere. Until I found "Levitation", possibly one of the greatest albums ever made and I was hooked instantly. After that I have discovered Hawkwinds 80's output and finding it to suit my taste.

If "Levitation" was a stroke of genius, bordering on five stars, "The xenon codex" is a four star album. The songs are truly mesmerizing. Apart from "The war I survived" (a song I struggle with) the album is filled with atmospheric, harsh, delicate, moving, surreal, dreamy, spacey, groovy stuff. The opener is more of a 80's heavy metal, kind of song. Not bad, just not as great as the other tracks. "Wastelands of sleep", "Tides", "Sword of the east" and the rest of the songs (although those named being somewhat the highlights) are all amazing.

A part of me wonders if the ambiance of the album leads me to rate it as high as four stars. Is it really an album worthy such high praise as four stars? Well... Yes, i do think so. I do belive it is. It is such a great album, well crafted and well played I can't see anyreason not to rate it like I do. Great stuff!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to GruvanDahlman (BETA) | Report this review (#902521)
Posted Wednesday, January 30, 2013 | Review Permalink

HAWKWIND The Xenon Codex ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of HAWKWIND The Xenon Codex


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.24 seconds