Header
Galleon - Beyond Dreams CD (album) cover

BEYOND DREAMS

Galleon

Neo-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Greger
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Swedish band Galleon is on the same record label as Cross. Galleon was founded as Aragon back in 1985, and they have released six albums up to date. Their music could be described as melodic keyboard-based neo-progressive rock with reminiscences to Genesis, Marillion, Rush and IQ. Galleon compositions are top-quality, but I can't really get used to the vocals. I found them somewhat weak, but original at the same time. Galleon has become better for every album. And although this album doesn't differ that much from their previous album "Mind Over Matter", it's recommended to lovers of neo-progressive rock and Rush.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Greger (BETA) | Report this review (#2843)
Posted Tuesday, December 30, 2003 | Review Permalink
kev rowland
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
3 stars Of all European prog bands that I have been dealing with over the years, I must have had more contact with Galleon than with any other. They are no longer on their own label but have now signed to Progress Records for their most recent release. 'Beyond Dreams' seems a million miles removed from 'Lynx'; can it really be the same band? Well, actually guitarist Micke Värn has now left the fold, having been replaced by Sven Larsson, but the other three are all the same guys who were first in contact with me some eight years ago.

One of Galleon's major strengths has always been their lyric, and this album yet again shows their prowess in English, while Goran's vocals maintain enough of his Swedish accent to provide extra interest. Sven has slotted right in, and this is a very polished album, which has enough complexity to make it accessible for the progheads, but the main thrust is the songs, which are melodic and very enjoyable.

Galleon are to my ears one of the best prog bands to come out of Scandinavia, not a thing I say lightly. Give your ears a treat

Feedback #59, July 2000

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to kev rowland (BETA) | Report this review (#145886)
Posted Friday, October 19, 2007 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Superb band from Sweden delivering some of the best neo-prog i ever heared in last couple of years, with great musicianship and tight compositions. With begging of a new decade and a new century, Galleon was and is, at least for me, a big name and kinda known in prog circles, but not as they might be. This is their sixth album from 2000 named Beyond dreams. Well another goody in their catalogue with fine and smooth arrangements and excellent voice of Goran Fors. Everything is ok on this album, but as a whole something is a bit let down face the previous releases, maybe because to my ears the pieces sounds to much mid tempo, not a single faster tune or little more up tempo. Anyway the pieces are good all, specially the opening track Before The Sunrise (the best from here, and one of the best Galleon piece ever done, a really great and very special track to me), brilliant, the rest are ok. So, I will give 3 stars for this one, a good one, but nothing really special like on previous albums. I considered Galleon to be a very underrated band in neo prog field, always in the shadows of others, it's really a shame, they have all the arsenal for being a great and full of potential band in our days. They remain one of my fav band in prog zone and they desearve every push from you because they desearve it all the way.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#215269)
Posted Wednesday, May 13, 2009 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars 3.5 stars. This is GALLEON's seventh studio album called "Beyond Dreams" released in 2000. It's one of those albums that's a little inconsistant but it sure has some high points. I'm such a fan of these Swedes who play Neo-Prog with a dash of RUSH.

"Before The Sunrise" is my favourite.These guys usually lead off an album with a killer track and this is no exception. Lots of atmosphere to open before piano and a fuller sound arrives.Vocals before 1 1/2 minutes. It's so uplifting 2 minutes in followed by a tasteful guitar solo. Themes are repeated. A calm 6 minutes in with piano. Some nice soaring guitar late as it continues to be fairly calm. "Let Us Be Amazed" sounds so good to open, very modern sounding. Powerful synths follow and then it settles with piano and guitar. Vocals and a relaxing sound follow. This is great ! Some growly bass as the sound gets fuller. Check out the guitar and overall sound 5 minutes in. Nice. Those powerful synths are back. Another cool track.

"The Ballad Of Fortune" is mid-paced with the focus on the vocals and of course the lyrics. It's ok. "The Dream" is much better with those synths and atmosphere. Samples too and other sounds come and go. Cool tune. "Dreamland" is eventually dominated by keys. It settles when the vocals come in.The tempo does pick up again. Not a fan of this one really. "Parasite" is better and heavier too. Great sound when the tempo picks up. Vocals before 2 minutes. "Sailing On By" has a nice heavy intro with raw guitar melodies as synths join in. It becomes brighter when the vocals arrive. The raw guitar is back before 3 minutes. Some soaring guitar after 4 minutes. This song has it's moments just like the album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#226930)
Posted Wednesday, July 15, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars This is the second Galleon CD that I am Reviewing, after the excellent "From Land To Ocean". This CD is the release that preceded FLTO and it's an excellent CD, with all seven tracks very listenable and satisfying my progressive tastes. Perhaps the CD could have had one of the tracks extended to give it the "Epic", but thats posibly me just being length obsessive again! Anyway, each track has some lovely synth voices with some tight muscianship and nice guitar motifs throughout. I think that the vocals are possibly an aquired taste, but I do not dislike them so they do not detract from the music as far as I am concerned. I think each track has something to offer and If you like Rush like riffs with far more complex keyboards then this CD might be your bag! - I think this is another solid 4 star effort, well worth a lsten if you haven't heard Galleon yet - and don't want to buy the double CD that was released after this CD.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to M27Barney (BETA) | Report this review (#415755)
Posted Monday, March 14, 2011 | Review Permalink
progrules
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Ever since their third release it never ceases to amaze me how consistent this band is. The first two albums were there to mature and after that they grabbed their momentum to never let go anymore. And that's quite an achievement. Also with this first one in the new millenium they haven't done a stap back really. Another album full of winners and high quality music.

And the high quality goes for both execution as composition. These men are so good in writing songs of medium (prog)length (7-12 minutes) of which they made several dozens through the years. It suits them best obviously and it's incredible how they keep writing them on and on. Highlights are the two opening tracks Before the Sunrise and Let us be Amazed which are even slightly better than excellent in my opinion. The rest is slightly less but that's hardly surprising I would say.

In the end also this album is easily good enough for a four star reward, maybe somewhat rounded up from 3,8 or 3,9 but there is no doubt for me. My champions of consistency.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to progrules (BETA) | Report this review (#765856)
Posted Thursday, June 07, 2012 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
3 stars In April 99' comes the first strike in Galleon's history, when guitarist Micke Vaern decided to leave the band.His replacement was Sven Larsson, a friend of Ulf Petersson, who spent his time with the band Xinema.The dawn of the millenium marks also the beginning of a long collaboration between Galleon and the Prog label Progress Records.In early 2000 the first product of Galleon for the new label and their sixth full-length release overall sees the light under the title ''Beyond Dreams''.

With the new album the Swedish band returns to the form of their very early works, no epic tracks or suites, just seven mid-length compositions with symphonic and Neo Prog flavors, yet characterized by the great quality of Galleon's latest releases.Again the group offers intelligent, emotional and captivating compositions, where melody meets grandieur, based on excellent piano parts, MARILLION-esque synth lines and expressive vocals.The symphonic tendencies remain in the menu of the group, the great, elaborate guitar solos are still present and the more bombastic, atmospheric passages with the full-synth sound become a trademark of the group.The new album contains plenty of memorable themes, some tremendous keyboard solos and a crystal-clear production to make things even better.A long and epic composition would have made the whole work sound even more attractive, but still all of the new tracks are high in terms of quality with also a good dose of vintage 70's Prog influence, especially in some KING CRIMSON-inspired guitar moves or the GENESIS-flavored keyboard soundscapes.

Dissapointment and Galleon have nothing in common.Another great album by the band, not in the same level as the masterful ''Mind Over Matter'', but very rewarding to say the least.Fine music all the way, strongly recommended, especially to all Neo/Symphonic Prog buffs...3.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#943175)
Posted Saturday, April 13, 2013 | Review Permalink

GALLEON Beyond Dreams ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of GALLEON Beyond Dreams


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.14 seconds