Header
Anderson Bruford Wakeman  Howe - Evening of Yes Music Plus CD (album) cover

EVENING OF YES MUSIC PLUS

Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
erlingn@ntnu.
5 stars One of my absolute favourite live albums! After a relatively boring start of the album where each of the 4 ex-Yessers show off in their solo-spots, they really blow the roof off the concert arena with staggering versions of Yes and ABWH-material. The extra musicians (aside from Jeff Berlin on bass) don't really add anything to the music, but ABWH themselves sound as tight and inspired as ever. Some of their best work is included here, including a mind-blowing version of Close to the Edge. (In my opinion, the best live version released to date of their 1972 epic.) Any Yes- or ABWH fan (or remotely prog-interested person) should lend an ear to this album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#26616)
Posted Monday, February 09, 2004 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
3 stars Of course , like everyone else here, if I must own one album from ABWH , this will be the one. But since I chose not too own any but renting them from the library.

But where the heck was that towering bassist of theirs? Why is the best drummer in the world using electronic percussion ruining our pleasure. Why did they feel they had to release such a needless album? And then all a sudden, they will form this incredibly poor album called Union. Yes was in a rut, and such an album was not really making things anymore essential.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#26618)
Posted Monday, March 15, 2004 | Review Permalink
progmonster
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars God, have i earing problems ? The performance is maybe top knotch (well, let's be fair, not that much), but gosh, what an awfull sound... My beloved drummer, Bill Bruford, never sounded so close to a plastic trash can. And i can't conceive anyone being charmed by such horrible treatment on a masterpiece like "Heart of the Sunrise" ?

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to progmonster (BETA) | Report this review (#26620)
Posted Tuesday, June 29, 2004 | Review Permalink
wulf73@surfeu
4 stars I never liked live albums. This changed hearing this album. a very clear sound - I like much of the old stuff even better than the originals. Bruford is playing around with his new toy - the electronic drums. however - the solo drum part of 'long distance runaround' is awesome! what i don't like that much on the album is there is too much ABWH stuff played live - would have preferred more of the old stuff...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#26621)
Posted Wednesday, August 18, 2004 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars A young person's guide to Yes

With only Chris Squire missing from the "Close to the edge" Yes line up, it makes sense that ABWH chose to emphasise that this was a Yes tour in all but band name. Bass playing duties for this live album are undertaken by Jeff Berlin, although you'd be hard pressed to find him getting due credit on the sleeve notes.

The opening "Firebird suite" is replaced by "Benjamin Britten's Young persons guide to the orchestra", which links into the old Yes number "Time and a word". The opening segment is surprisingly mellow and acoustic, with an unplugged "Owner of a lonely heart" leading to an early acoustic guitar session from Howe. I suspect the track order here does not reflect the live performances, and has been put together with a view to creating a coherent album.

Many of the old favourites are played, including "Close to the edge", "And you and I" "Heart of the sunrise", and "Roundabout". They are excellent if faithful renditions, but with the large number of live Yes albums available, it is questionable whether these versions should be deemed "essential".

Steve Howe's solo spot includes the ubiquitous "Clap" (according to Howe not "THE clap" as it is commonly known!) and "Mood for a day", while Wakeman's is more diverse including "Merlin" from "King Arthur", and the moving "Gone but not forgotten".

There are of course several tracks from the sole ABWH studio album, including "Birthright", "Themes", and the excellent "Brother of mine". Whether the live performance adds anything to the studio versions is however doubtful.

In all, a very good but hardly essential live Yes album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#26622)
Posted Monday, August 23, 2004 | Review Permalink
Guillermo
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars It seems that there are several versions of this album in C.D., but the day I went to buy it, I found two: one European version released in late 1993, which doesn`t include "Starship Trooper", which has in the front cover the "Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe" names with the title of the album (as shown in the scan of the cover included in this page) and it seems that it doesn`t include the credits for the musicians, as I read in previous reviews; and another version, released by Herald Records in the U.S., in 1994, which includes "Starship Trooper", having the same front cover, except that this cover doesn`t have the "Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe" names and the name of the album. It has a purple sticker which says "an evening of YES MUSIC PLUS FEATURING Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Rick Wakeman, Steve Howe, 2 Gold CDs," etc. It only says in the the back cover "an evening of YES MUSIC PLUS", with the titles of the songs included in each C.D. I bought the Herald version, which also includes a booklet with credits and some notes (which have some mistakes, because the writer of these notes wrote that "the last time these four played together was in 1979 while touring in support the Tormato album", which is not true, because Bruford didn`t play in the "Tormato"album, because he left Yes in 1972, so he wasn`t on tour with in Yes in 1979; and also the notes say that this album was recorded "in the final date of the U.S. tour", and this is not true, because they played another concert the next day in Sacramento, California, and they did another tour in the U.S. in March 1990). This live album was recorded at the Shoreline Amphitheatre, in Mountain View, California, in September 9, 1989. It seems that it was recorded for a Radio Broadcast ("courtesy of DIR Broadcasting inc.", as credited in the booklet), and also filmed and broadcasted in T.V. in "pay-per-view", and also released in VHS video (which I have never seen) in 1994 or later with two additional songs: "The Meeting" and "I`ve Seen All Good People". Jeff Berlin appears in this album because days before this concert Tony Levin became ill with Hepatitis. After playing one concert feeling ill,Tony was taken to the hospital after the concert was finished (to read reviews of this concert and other concerts of the same tour and other Yes tours, visit the "Forgotten Yesterdays" website, www.forgottenyesterdays.com). After this happened, some dates were canceled, and Bruford suggested to the rest of the band to call Berlin, who had 3-4 days to learn the songs, writing the bass parts in scores after hearing the original versions in the albums, and later rehearsing with the whole band. So, after this short time of rehearsals, Berlin, in my opinion, did a very good job. Berlin played 6 or 7 concert dates with ABWH, finishing that part of the tour, and Levin re-joined the band for the next leg of the tour several weeks later.The first time I listened to these live recordings was in late 1990, when I recorded in a cassette a one hour broadcast of this concert in a FM Radio Station (in Stereo). So, years after this album appeared and I bought it, and it became one of my favourite live albums. The only thing that I don`t like from this album is the start of the concert with 3 solo medleys, each one by Anderson, Howe and Wakeman, respectively. Anderson included in his solo medley an acousitc version of "Owner of a lonely heart" which was played with Milton McDonald and Julian Colbeck (who also played on tour with GTR). Howe played his usual "Clap/Mood for a Day" medley, plus a musical piece not listed in the cover or in the booklet and played between "Clap" and "Mood...". My favourite solomedley from these 3 played in the start of the concert is Wakeman`s, one of the best solo medleys I`ve have listened from him, which also includes an instrumental version of "Madrigal" from the "Tormato" album, but also not listed in the booklet or in the cover. Bruford`s solo after "Long distance runaround" (not listed in the cover or in the label) is a very good combination of acoustic and electronic drums and percussion.The songs of the ABWH album are played with more energy, and are better in my opinion than the studio versions (with the exception of "Teakbois", which a part of it was played in Anderson`s acoustic solo medley).This live album also has the best live versions of "And You and I" and "Close to the Edge", despite not being played with Chris Squire in the bass guitar. It is also good to hear live versions of "Heart of the sunrise" and "Roundabout" with Bruford on drums, hearing his very good technique despite being played in a drum kit which was a combination of acoustic and electronic drums. "Starship Trooper" was played a bit differently to previous versions, including a keyboards introduction, and a part played with keyboards between the "Disillusion" and "Würm" parts of this song, which includes the first verse of "Nous Sommes du soleil" (from the "Topographic Oceans"`s album song "Ritual") and a "thank you" speech by Anderson to the audience."Starship Trooper", despite being played at the end of the concert, was added as a bonus track in C.D. no. 1. The rest of the musicians played very good, really assisting the ABWH members in playing the live versions more similar to the studio versions. For me, this album was a very good buy, despite the bass was mixed lower than the rest of the instruments, and despite being originally a recording made for Radio broadcasts. I hope someday to watch the VHS video or the DVD of this concert.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Guillermo (BETA) | Report this review (#26623)
Posted Sunday, September 26, 2004 | Review Permalink
3 stars A very nice concert, without a doubt played with majesty from all corners, also Jeff Berlin's role here is just at the level of the main artists. The sound and production is also at the top, so as a live album it may easily reach the 5 star rating (but then, why 3... 3.5 stars?). Well, what really let me down here was bruford's appearance, it's not that I don't like electric drums, but in Yes?? and in playing such classics like heart of the sunrise or close to edge?? it really doesn't match. What I liked of the album is the introduction of the concert, in which each of the members appear one by one doing what they do best. First appears Jon singing along with an acoustic guitar played by Milton McDonald, and they play what, when I first read the track list, was the worst medley ever (Owner of a lonely heart and Time and a Word, what the...???), but it wasn't! when those 3 (...and Teakbois, definitely not one of my favourite) songs were played together acoustically i never imagined how good it could sound with Jon's voice. Then comes Steve Howe and plays what all were expecting but this time with a classic guitar intro and longer versions of both Mood for a Day and The Clap, beautiful. After Howe's performance comes Mr. Wakeman, as always, sorrounded by all kind of keyboards and pedals, and also what he plays is, as always, out of match, incredible speed with very classical passages in his music with all source of changes from all keyboards, amazing. And while Rick plays appears Bruford and starts a slightly changed version of Long Distance Runaround, but now is Bruford's turn to show off, so he does an amazing solo in coordination with Rick's playing. After this introduction, the concert goes normally. I've always said that is much better to see a concert than to hear it (obviously!!) and that's why I hardly ever go and buy a live album of any band, but this one is one of a kind and that's why you shouldn't buy this album (¿?¿?¿) but go and buy the DVD..now THAT is a good thing to have and enjoy, and that's what desreves 5 stars. Also the DVD contains Starship Trooper and much more material... mainly Jon talking. In Conclusion: GO BUY THE DVD, which is, along with Yes' "The House of Blues DVD", their best concerts ever taken out on video (...DVD).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to eriksalkeld (BETA) | Report this review (#26624)
Posted Monday, November 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars Three years after the end of he ABWH tour and the project itself in favour of the Yes- Unnion lined up, this live album is officially released. The tracklisting is very good with an emphasis on the ABWH material and of course some favourites from the Yes back catalogue.

The performances on most of the songs are great specially on the ABWH numbers which are the highlights of this live album. About the Yes songs, the standout is without doubt Close to the Edge, this epic never had sounded so bombastic and powerful before, in addition the vocal performance of Jon Anderson is incredibly inspired, I think this is the definitive version of Close to the Edge. The rest of the Yes numbers are just OK. The backing band is formed by the very talented Jeff Berlin on bass, Julian Colbeck (later on the Steve Hackett band) on keys and the gifted Milton McDonald on guitar.

All in all, this is a very good document of a very high point of the Yes-related history.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prosciutto (BETA) | Report this review (#26626)
Posted Sunday, December 26, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars I reward this beautifull live album with the maximum I will give any non studio recording being 4 stars. A great live set, featuring most of Yes's classic songs in a good mix with songs from their then latest album (ABWH). Very good played from all involved musicians, with at the beginning of the set each get some time to showcase their ability. Good production and recording make it a more than decent record.

1. Benjamins Brittens Young persons guide to the orchestra, introduction of the band. 2. Time and a World-Teakbois-Owner of a lonely Heart. A very nice medley, containing songs from three different era's in a new arrangement, focussed on vocals, with accoustic guitar back-up and soft background symphonic keyboards. 3. The Clap-Mood for a day, Steve Howe solo, 10 minutes of great accoustic guitar play. 4. Gone but not Forgotten-Catherine Parr-Merlin The magician. Rick Wakeman solo, consisting of songs from his solo repertoire, I didn't know any of these songs prior to this disc, became very fond of these songs. Some of Rick's finest I think (from what I've heard at least)

5. Lond distance roundaround after the 20 minute opening, which was very much solo pieces, this is the first time all members play simultaniously. a well-known song with a good performance, ending in a drum solo from Bill Bruford, so all four members had their solo performance at the beginning of the set. Bill's solo is one on electronic drums, with nice effects and heavy pounding.

After this first half hour, where each member had their chance to showcase their ability, the rest of the set contsists of good versions of well known songs, complemented with some songs from their latest album. Good performing, Jon's voice is as crystal clear as ever, A great band, performes an amazing set. Favourite songs from this album are, Starship Trooper, Close To The Edge, Brother Of Mine, Order Of The Universe, And You And I, actually the entire set.

I never heard Yes play live prior to this album, and it blew me away. I've been listening to other live albums from Yes since then, but this one is still among my favourites. 4 stars without hesitation. Recommended for all fans of Yes's music

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to tuxon (BETA) | Report this review (#26628)
Posted Saturday, April 16, 2005 | Review Permalink
Eetu Pellonpää
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars I prefer this live from the series of the band's newer concerts. I disliked the Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman and Howe studio album mainly because of the new compositions, but here there are luckily only few of them performed here. Also those included, sound better when implemented among the older compositions. The performances of the classics go in my opinion quite weel, and there is positive energy dominating the concert document. My favorites are the player's solo medleys in the beginning of the album, and "Close to the edge" from their classic repertoire. There's also astonishing covers from Mr. Dean included on this double CD. Sadly Tony Levin didn't attend to this reunion concert however.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Eetu Pellonpää (BETA) | Report this review (#38754)
Posted Thursday, July 07, 2005 | Review Permalink
Cygnus X-2
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars This live album put out by Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe is essentially Yes without major bass presence. John Anderson never sounded greater, Steve Howe is at the top of his game, and Rick Wakeman is still giving great live performances. Bill Bruford did very well during the show, however, I'm not much for the sound of electronic drums, it sounded unfitting for Yes music. Jeff Berlin plays the Squire bass work as well as the Levin work on the ABWH studio album, but it is lost deep into the mix and in sometimes inaudible.

Now, to the show. Rather than the popular Firebird Suite intro, they open with Benjamins Brittens Young Persons Guide to the Orchestra, they go straight into an unplugged session beginning with a combination track of Time and a Word, Owner of a Lonely Heart, and Teakbois off of their new album. The transition from track to track is very fluid and almost unnoticeable. After that comes Steve Howe's guitar "solo" so to speak. A combination of both Clap and Mood For a Day, his acoustic work never ceases to amaze me. After Steve Howe, Rick Wakeman gets his solo spot, which includes Merlin off of King Arthur, and a top-notch performance of Gone but Never Forgotten. The next track is the first track that everyone plays together on. Long Distance Runaround is still played precisely and fluidly, and after comes Bill Bruford's electronic drum solo. To close out the first disc is And You and I and Starship Trooper, both played note to note perfect. I especially enjoy the section right before Wurm in Trooper where Anderson combines Soon and Ritual into the mix. And Steve Howe's solo on this track is off the wall, just as it always has been live.

Beginning the 2nd Cd is classic Yes staple Close to the Edge, played perfectly once again, except that Rick Wakeman's keyboards during I Get Up, I Get Down don't really have that synthy-organ feel they had on the album, more of a piano feel. After that is Themes, a rollicking track that goes through different themes (no pun intended) and has a very laid-back feel. Brother of Mine is played exactly as it is on the album, and it sounds great. Nothing more to say on that track. Heart of the Sunrise sounds great, however, Wakeman's keys in the intro sound a little dated, and the bass during that great jam part is very quiet (and sounds a bit distorted). Otherwise, the track is great. Concluding the album are two great versions of Order of the Universe and Roundabout, which end a great live show.

Overall, this is a very strong live effort from ABWH. However, if you have Yessongs, or any live Yes album, you won't really need to get this album. It still is good, but unnecessary. 2.5/5

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Cygnus X-2 (BETA) | Report this review (#38848)
Posted Friday, July 08, 2005 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars Honestly, this live set is underrated. This album is one of the finest even among other Yes live albums. Well, it's probably I'm biased towards the fact that I listened to this CD after I had watched the laser disc version of this show. The laser disc is definitely one of my favorite as I consider its quality is the same with Yes "Keys To Ascension" laserdisc as well. I could see how Jon Anderson entered the hall from the back doors and the crowd were not aware about his entrance to the hall. While he walked in he sung "Time and a World" continued seamlessly with "Teakbois-Owner of a lonely Heart" with Milton McDonald on acoustic guitar. It's a great show, really. He then introduced Steve Howe on stage to feature "The Clap-Mood for a day" followed with Wakeman entering the stage with "Gone but not Forgotten-Catherine Parr-Merlin The magician". Bruford enters with "Long distance roundaround" where his drum style I do really enjoy. "Birthright" which has powerful lyrics is also performed flawlessly.

Overall, I cannot deny the quality of this live set as a masterpiece live show because the band deserves it. Keep on proggin' ..!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#40795)
Posted Friday, July 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
federico2_bar
4 stars This "Live Album" is a true mine to you please. Here we find songs of the Yes, "80's Yes" and of this parallel project. Therefore every progster that you are respected should have it a copy. As for the music be is very warm, in the sense that seems to have the ABWh before the actual eyes, thing that not all the "Live Album" succeed to get. And this is what I want to trasmit.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#54134)
Posted Monday, October 31, 2005 | Review Permalink
NJprogfan
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars It's tough to be hard on the guys for trying especially with the older songs, but I can't get past the drumming by usual master drummer Bruford. The rapid-style staccato drum attack on the older songs just grate. I don't mind it on the new songs, which btw I like immensely, especially 'Themes/Brother Of Mine'. Just listen to the drumming on 'Heart Of The Sunrise' which is my absolute favorite live YES song. It's so deplorable! On top of the crummy 80's drumming, Berlin's bass is SO underplayed and I miss Squire's backing vocals. Wakemans playing is fine as is Howe's. So overall it's super for the AWBH songs, but heartbreaking for the older songs. 3 stars max!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to NJprogfan (BETA) | Report this review (#72479)
Posted Tuesday, March 21, 2006 | Review Permalink
Todd
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Rock Progressivo Italiano!
4 stars This album came as a surprise to me. Until recently I have generally shied away from live albums, preferring the better studio sound perhaps at the expense of some good improvisation. But I decided to give this a try, having (mostly) liked the ABWH compositions. I thought it would be interesting also to hear Bruford playing the old material. Unlike some of the reviewers, I really like his performance, even if he uses more coloring with the electronic drums. He brings an Earthworks v.1 feel to some of the songs, and it's really interesting. Like many of the reviewers, I do lament the missing bass. I think had they mixed Jeff Berlin's bass more loudly, it would have come off better, even if he's not as bombastic as Squire. The sound and energy are great--I wish I'd been there!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Todd (BETA) | Report this review (#165257)
Posted Friday, March 28, 2008 | Review Permalink
Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover & JazzRock/Fusion Teams
3 stars This album was taken from what was originally a cable TV pay per view performance (somewhere I have the VCR tape I made of it that night). The performance is very good, but on my CD, the Herald release, there are enough flaws in the sound that it must have been taken directly from the video mix.

First of all, Tony Levin fell ill a few days before the show, and Bill Bruford brought in his friend Jeff Berlin on short notice to fill in. And Berlin gets all but completely buried in the mix, leaving most songs missing the fabulous bass playing that Chris Squire had originally provided. Plus, I saw the band on this tour with Levin, and Bruford's solo, with Levin playing along, and joining him inside the ring of drums (they used to do this with King Crimson, too), was one of the highlights.

Many of the harmony vocals get lost as well, leaving Jon Anderson's voice sometimes hanging out there without the full sound that belongs there. And the whole band often sounds like they were playing in a bathroom, with a tinny sound.

On the plus side, the band played well. Rick Wakeman in particular sounds overjoyed to be playing the old Yes standards again. And standards there are. Along with the obligatory songs from the album they had just released, the classic Yes track selection is predictable. But how can you go wrong playing Close To The Edge?

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Evolver (BETA) | Report this review (#346493)
Posted Tuesday, December 07, 2010 | Review Permalink
4 stars "In dubio pro reo". In the doubt, for the accused.

The fact that there is not a bass player, that Bill Bruford's electronic drumming set sounds more than sometimes metallic, squeaking and out of time... gets the most of the time excellent music down to inferior levels it deserves. Anyway, there are, more than often, moments when you forget all this and the beauty imposes itself above all these irritating flaws. "Peccata minuta" (today it's Latin jargon day), you think to yourself and value the faultless rendition of Yes classics Roundabout, And You And I, Close to the Edge, Heart of the Sunrise and get ammazed but those new standards that are a totally new discovery for you: Birthright, Themes, Brother of Mine and Order of the Universe.

The three solo -so to say- meddleys by Jon Anderson, Steve Howe (both with Yes material) and Rick Wakeman (with own material from Henry VIII's Wives or Merlin albums) add to the interest of this double Cd.

Three stars because of the sound but, in the doubt... four stars for the music.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ibnacio (BETA) | Report this review (#618942)
Posted Wednesday, January 25, 2012 | Review Permalink

ANDERSON BRUFORD WAKEMAN HOWE Evening of Yes Music Plus ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ANDERSON BRUFORD WAKEMAN HOWE Evening of Yes Music Plus


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.33 seconds