Header
Savatage - Fight For The Rock CD (album) cover

FIGHT FOR THE ROCK

Savatage

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Marc Baum
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Savatage tries to go pop with this album. The album was quite poorly received by the fans, and did not break the band into the mainstream, as the record company hoped for.

The band themselves are ashamed of this album, and have not played anything off of it live since the 1980s.

The title track opens up the album, and starts off decent, but then falters right after that. "Out on the Streets" is a remake of the ballad at the end of the debut album, Sirens. I guess that because they were going commercial, they would re-record one of their more commercial songs from a previous album. The original is a great song, and the cover is a pale imitation. It's not cringe worthy, like much of this album is, but the original version of the song owns it.

"Crying for Love" is a rather crappy song. "Day After Day" is a cover of a song by some other band, and man, does it ever suck. I know it's a cover, but it's probably the worst song Savatage have ever recorded.

"The Edge of Midnight" actually had potential, and could have been a good song, easily, with a few tweaks. But it's got some rather lame parts, which bring it down. Some of the fills here are quite cool. One of the better tracks on the album.

"Hyde" is probably the heaviest song here, and is probably the best. Either way, it is easily the closest thing to a original Savatage song to be found on this album. "Lady in Disguise" -- here come the crap police, and they're here to invade our ears again. "She's Only Rock N Roll" has a somewhat catchy riff, but a horrendous chorus. "Wishing Well" is another dullfest. "Red Light Paradise" closes the album, and is another one of the heavier cuts, and probably the second best song here. Solid main riff.

So there you have it. Three or four good songs and the rest pretty poor and forgettable. I am lucky that this album failed commercially, because if it did, they likely would have had to continue in this direction instead of go back to the old style or progress towards symphonic metal. The result of this album's failure? One year later, they recorded their best old-school album. FFTR is not at all for the casual Savatage listener and only recommended to fans who want a complete collection.

album rating: 5.5/10 points = 54 % on MPV scale = 2/5 stars

point-system: 0 - 3 points = 1 star / 3.5 - 5.5 points = 2 stars / 6 - 7 points = 3 stars / 7.5 - 8.5 points = 4 stars / 9 - 10 points = 5 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Marc Baum (BETA) | Report this review (#27447)
Posted Saturday, May 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
1 stars I hate this album,its when Savatage tried to began to sell out,the toughness has now gone replaced by tracks like ,Day after Day,Wishing Well ?,Yuk..There are only a few good tracks Hyde,and Red Light Paradise,(a song about prostitution),are brillant,the recording is brillant in quality .Not prog rock just a great act attempting to widen its audience,a hopless attempt,very weak stuff.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Heidi (BETA) | Report this review (#27450)
Posted Monday, April 25, 2005 | Review Permalink
The Crow
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars The worst Savatage's album! They went to England trying to record an AOR album, in an obvious attemp to increase their sells... But what a deception! This one was their less sold album with difference, and they lost many fans with it.

The song Fight For The Rock isn't bad, but others like Crying for Your Love or She's only Rock And Roll they aren't worthy of a trajectory like the Savatage's one. Nevertheless, there are a pair of interesant facts here... The song Hyde can be taken like an advance of the Hall of the Mountain King sound, and the presence of keyboards in the whole album it's an indicative of the great capacity of Jon Oliva to play them, although this is something that until Gutter Ballet we will not verify in all its splendor...

Fans only!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to The Crow (BETA) | Report this review (#40646)
Posted Wednesday, July 27, 2005 | Review Permalink
1 stars "Fight for the Rock" is the first album to feature the young and talented Johnny Lee Middleton on bass, however this record is not Savatage's best by any means.

Jon Oliva, a gifted songwriter, himself wrote some music for his tentative solo album and also wrote some songs for another artists from Atlantic Records as well. However the management pushed the band to put those songs on a "Savatage album". The band (still with some lack of experience) agreed to record that material and were somewhat manipulated by the record company. Jon Oliva remember that period as a "learning experience".

Therefore, the songs on "Fight for the Rock" are softer and more AOR oriented, there are even two covers: "Day after Day" by Badfinger and "Wishing Well" by Free, tha later being recorded because it was the favourite song of the president of Atlantic Records! Go figure!

The best songs of this album are Hyde, The Edge of Midnight and the title track, the rest is all easily forgettable.

As I said this is not Savatage best, so sadly I'll give it only one star. In a heavy metal context my rating would be also low. The band's next release will be "the turn of the tide", though.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prosciutto (BETA) | Report this review (#44899)
Posted Tuesday, August 30, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars i can't really understand ratings about this album which is absolutely ok for me. Yes it's hard FM, but really catchy songs and melodies vary alot which is rare in 80s heavy metal... It's really different from other albums of the band, that's a point but songs like "The Edge Of Midnight" and "Hyde" are just great! So even if it's nothing proggy, maybe nor true heavy metal, it deserves some spins and Helloween or 80s Queensryche fans will enjoy it a lot.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to fairyliar (BETA) | Report this review (#82171)
Posted Wednesday, June 28, 2006 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Savatage trying to go comercial after the powerfull Power of the night, in a way they succeded, but the fans were disappointed. Not a bad album but not so good as the late releases. You can still find the Savatage sound in 2 of the best tracks of the album: "The Edge Of Midnight" and "Hyde", are really good and fans of the '80 Queensryche and Crimson Glory will like this, as i do. The rest of the tracks are something between good and mediocre. Savatage will take wings with the next one witch is 100% better. I find Fight for the rock good, but if you want to check Savatage at his best try from the next one Hall of the mountain king till' Wake of Magellan with the strong recomandation to listen Streets from '91. So, here are 2 covers on this album Day after day by Badfinger ( i don't know the original, but here souns good) and Wishing Well by Free again good but aimless in this context. My rate is 3 stars, and if you listen from time to time is quite enjoyble.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#127084)
Posted Friday, June 29, 2007 | Review Permalink
2 stars The nadir of the 'Tage, and why all great bands need at least one terrible album to light a fire under their ass...

This takes all the "bad" ideas from Power Of The Night and makes that the entire focus. I feel this album is a concept one. How to be the perfect glam metal band. No, that is a bit harsh, but they certainly lost a lot of their quality within this record.

Everything is cock rock enraged, and the accessibility turned up to extremes. The clean production and hard rock embellish is very stark from their dank and oh so tasty beginnings. There are a few redeeming points to the album. First off, a lot of the choruses are real catchy, secondly, they still sound pretty good.

The title track is probably the highlight. It rocks heavily, and the band is pretty tight. As good as the best material on Power of the Night. Still, those lyrics are awful. Then you've a strange move. They cover their own song in Out On The Streets, but they...butcher it? Yes, this is a shortened, touched up, and radio formatted version of the excellent Sirens track. They take out most of the emotion, Jon sounds like he doesn't even care, and neither should you. This is not amazing work.

Again, to be fair, the songs are certainly listenable. Everything is at least palpable to the ears. Crying for love has a somewhat diverse sound, in the keyboard effects, but it is just another rip off, er cover of Fighting For Your Love from Dungeons Are Calling, and they leave it fairly unchanged. Day After Day is lush pop rock. This sounds almost nothing like Savatage, and I am alright with that, as the song's central melody is strong enough to keep my interest, and the hooks are fine. This is not the case with the album, in general. The Edge OF Midnight has some of the worst keyboards I've ever heard, and it comes off sounding like a children's cartoon theme song about Halloween. When it begins rocking, it does a fine job, but this is not great material.

Hyde probably has the most real Savatage identity, and that makes it the strongest effort, here. The spitting venom is somewhat revisited, and it is a welcome respite to the lackluster affair of the record's other cuts. Lady In Disguise is more Savatage In Hairspray. Weak and simple. Catchy? Sure, but give me City Beneath The Surface!

She's Only Rock 'N Roll is the third "real" song here. By real, I mean approximately as good as any of the best work on their previous album, and fine listening. Wishing Well is another disappointment. The rhythm section is bland, and the song goes nowhere. The cover songs are banal, and make for very sad days for Savatage. More sex in the form of album closer Red Light Paradise. This is still one of the better songs. I can't help but feel that their vicious strength has been removed, though.

In closing, this is Savatage's worst album, by far. Nothing else they ever did comes close. There are a few nice melodies, but the production either goes from over polished and squeaky clean, to terribly muddy and poor. They never really cook, and nothing is as strong or complex, or even heavy as before. Weak, and it depresses me.

** Tear-filled stars. but even most fans reject this one.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Alitare (BETA) | Report this review (#194968)
Posted Thursday, December 25, 2008 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Fight For The Rock is the third full-length studio album by American power metal act Savatage. After a strong second album in the raw and powerful Power of the Night (1985), I was really looking forward to listening to Fight For The Rock, even though evil tongues had spoken bad things about the album. I´m not happy to admit it, but they were right.

Fight For The Rock is still unmistakably the sound of Savatage, but it´s certainly a watered down and commercial version. There are several pop elements in the songs which didn´t do much to satisfy the fans back when the album was released and unfortunately for Savatage, neither the critics. Fight For The Rock turned out to be both an artistic and a commercial failure. Songs like Crying For Love and Day After Day are simply not worthy of the Savatage name. Even the more rock oriented tracks like Fight For the Rock and She´s Only Rock´n´roll sound pretty lame and uninspired to say the least. Lead vocalist Jon Oliva sounds restrained on many of the songs and he was always best when he bellowed out his lungs IMO. There are some rocking parts on the album that suits my taste but even those are scarred by the weak production on the album. Now you´re welcome to call me old and grumpy but this is just not a good album in my book. The music on the album is still basically traditional heavy metal/ US power metal but for the first time the band experiment with slightly progressive ideas ( very, very few though) and unfortunately fails badly both at the hard rocking and the more pop oriented sections ( and the slightly progressive ones too).

The music on this album sounds like an intentional attempt at creating a commercial succes. Something that is rarely succesful when forced. And thus Savatage arguably created what most fans of the band see as the black sheep in the band´s discography. I can´t say I enjoyed myself one bit either and a 1.5 - 2 star rating is warranted. Quite the disappointment after the strong Power of the Night.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#253734)
Posted Monday, November 30, 2009 | Review Permalink
J-Man
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Fight For The Rock is often considered to be the "thud" in Savatage's discography, and after hearing the album it's not hard to understand why. This is a really weak album. Even the band is upset with the complete artistic failure of this album. I am a pretty big fan of Savatage, and I consider them to be one of my favorite metal bands. Unfortunately, I have a tough time defending any of the material on Fight For The Rock, as most of it is pretty weak.

Fight For The Rock is Savatage's third album. Their first two albums are small classics in the early to mid 80's heavy metal scene, and I must imagine that this was a big disappointment when it was released in 1986. All of intensity and power in Savatage's music isn't present on this album, and instead we have a formulaic pop metal album. There are quite a few parts on Fight For The Rock that are just pure mainstream pop, and most of the album is without any of the metal sounds that Savatage is known for.

One of the biggest flaws of Fight For The Rock is the fact that a good amount of the album is either uninspired cover tracks, and even a rework of a previous song. I like it when things like these are used as bonus tracks, but I often get frustrated when they eat up a good amount of the playing time on an album, especially when the album is a mere 38 minutes. It doesn't really matter though, because the original compositions aren't that good anyway.

The only songs from this album that I actually enjoy is the proggy The Edge of Midnight and heavier Hyde. The rest of the album is passable at best. Songs like Crying For Love, She's Only Rock 'N' Roll, Wishing Well and Day After Day are more than skip-worthy.

The musicianship is much weaker than I'm used to hearing from a great band like Savatage. Most of the album is lackluster and uninspired, and the simple riffs get very trivial by the end of the album. I've heard this band do much better.

The production is a typical 80's heavy metal sound, and it's something that I don't really enjoy very much. It's not terrible, but the entire album sounds like it was just mixed on the whim to sound like a top 10 hit (which, of course, is very true, if you know anything about this album). The annoying drum sound and vocal production doesn't help make this weak album any more appealing.

Conclusion:

Fight For The Rock is always considered the weakest Savatage album, and I must say that I agree. When I first bought this album I was pretty excited since I really do love this band, but I'm afraid to say that I really don't care for Fight For The Rock at all. This is worth a 1.5-2 star rating at most.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to J-Man (BETA) | Report this review (#278755)
Posted Tuesday, April 20, 2010 | Review Permalink
2 stars Riding on so much momentum after 'Power of the Night', Savatage seem to hit a bit of a brick wall with this one. Although not as terrible as some people make it out to be, this is easily the worst album the band has released.

After three releases that made Savatage a force to be reckoned with, they did that unthinkable sin every band does at some point in their career, they changed their sound!!!

It's not quite as bad as it sounds though. The classic Criss Oliva style is still there in the riffs, but it's the songs themselves that ooze of mainstream AOR. And mixed in with the cheesy lyrics and the radio-friendly riffs are some of the most atrocious keyboard effects ever, including trumpet sounds!

But let's be optimistic about this, because any dedicated Savatage fan will no doubt buy this for their collection, and there are a few good songs here. 'Fight for the Rock' has a catchy chorus, and the rerecorded 'Out on the Streets' is a nice treat. 'Crying for Love' is an okay song, and 'The Edge of Midnight' is actually a really great track, if you can tolerate the horrific keyboard intro.

Thankfully this style wouldn't be something they repeated, as the band quickly learn from their mistakes and go on to release some of the best music I've ever heard. This isn't the worst CD I own, but it's definitely one for the collectors.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Valarius (BETA) | Report this review (#308210)
Posted Thursday, November 04, 2010 | Review Permalink
2 stars The short: The 'Tage make a foray into pop as per instructions from Atlantic or else...

I love the 'Tage, but this album is the "so-so" pop effort made by the band at the request of the record company, complete with PMRC type warning stickers... yet there were no curse words in any of the songs to be found. It has 3 strong songs and one good one revamped from the earlier days while the rest is not the best if you would wish to dig and rock out to typical 80's hard rock.

Jon's voice and piano/key playing (though my cassette notes say someone else, *Russian type name forgotten-lost cassette*, played synths, which I doubt) and Chris' guitar work are always top notch. The production is pure 80's metal with lots of "verb". Too much on the snare. It starts to sound like Kweensryche (sic).

The songs that are worth it:

The synth intro of "The Edge Of Midnight" is an obvious yet more complex homage to "Mr. Crowley." It's a good rocker with some more synths thrown in the right spots. It's my fav song here. It's worth the album alone.

"Hyde", which to some is the highlight of this album, is a prog-ish metal horror flick in a song. Kind of like what Alice Cooper would have presented... but Savatage does it much better.

"Lady In Disguise" is an upbeat (reworked song in 'Tage's old song Rolodex) ballad that has some piano and synth work. It's got a killer middle 8 and a nice bit out of the solo.

"Red Light Paradise" is another solid rocker sans the prog. Might be about a bordello.

It's not THAT bad. It's not terrible at all. It's not the Savatage we're used to.

All I know is that Atlantic wanted 'Tage to record the songs Jon Oliva wrote for other artists. These proposed songs weren't bonafide 'Tage songs save for "Midnight", "Hyde" and "Red Light". I'm sure Tina Turner or John Waite could rock some of these. I wasn't heart broken when I listened to it as a kid. I liked some of these alot. The others: a Badfinger and a Free cover, and a re-recorded work ("Out On The Streets") didn't work for me. "She's Only Rock And Roll" is kinda like a rockin'-funky vibe like. "Crying For Love" and the title song isn't very good, though.

This album? It's for the fans to gripe about. It is not like "Power Of The Night" ... not like the Savatage we know and love. They come back, however, with the killer "Hall Of The Mountain King" which is highly recommended.

(RIP Chris Oliva)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Monsterbass74 (BETA) | Report this review (#951300)
Posted Sunday, April 28, 2013 | Review Permalink

SAVATAGE Fight For The Rock ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of SAVATAGE Fight For The Rock


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.20 seconds