Header
Tr3nity - The Cold Light of Darkness CD (album) cover

THE COLD LIGHT OF DARKNESS

Tr3nity

Neo-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
gilles-vyolai
4 stars First album of the band dedicate for a lost friend.The song 1 to 4 just 4 diferent song but 5 to 8 nice song talk about lost friend.The musical keep simple but brillant vocal over this very good album.For fan of Clepsydra. 8/10

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#28202)
Posted Saturday, April 17, 2004 | Review Permalink
hdfisch
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Tr3nity's debut is a concept album about a fictitious girl named Cathy and their experiences with child abuse, drugs and crime. The band website tells that Rob Davenport had been inspired to this album by his own experiences with drug.

Nevertheless the band fails somehow to transpose this quite serious topic into the music. let me try to explain why. The songs are most of the time just too much harmonic and quite catchy, i.e. the refrain in the opener "She sees with the eyes of a child..." is as memorable as one of a pop song. Second and third track are showing a very similar style, in "Into the dark" the keyboard sounds like they would try to cover Richard Wagner in highspeed mode. Then in track 4 which has 3 parts there is some stylistic change, but unfortunately not towards an improvement. In the first part we hear a soft and bluesy guitar and I start trying to remember how it sounds like. And after a while the name Chris Rea comes to my mind, a singer and songwriter being quite popular in the 80's. And exactly this is how it sounds like. Part 2 is very floyd-ish, atmospheric and Part 3 is taking up again the theme of part 1 but much slower with guitar play that is quite Gilmour-esque again. According to their website the last track "The Exposure suite" describes Cathy's personality and is divided into 4 parts. Second one whose title "Help me" reminds immediately to Arena ("Cryin' For Help" suite on "Pride") tells the suicidal trial of the girl and is in fact IMHO the most boring one of the album. It should probably reflect the desperation of the child but the effect is rather soporific. The rest of the music is really not more exciting, it's almost a torture to listen a few times all through this album.

As a conclusion "The cold light of darkness" cannot keep what its title is promising, even the cover art is not done very well, not to speak about the music which is showing more cliches of the subgenre than possible and it represents everything else than a good concept album about a serious topic. Sorry to the band, nice trial, I'm giving 2 stars for the effort of the musicians. But I can recommend it only to die-hard NeoProg fans!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to hdfisch (BETA) | Report this review (#28204)
Posted Wednesday, March 30, 2005 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars The first time I listened to the wonderful intro of "Eyes Of A Child" I was really blown away. Such nice and atmospheric keyboards brought me back to the seventies. And time after time, the same feeling prevails. Great harmony, good and deep vocals convey such a peaceful feeling.

Obvious influences are Floyd (for the intro) and "Genesis" of course for the big chunk of this long song (over fifteen minutes). Not extremely original maybe, but so pleasant.

The acoustic opening part of "The Mask" could have been a "Pendragon" one. Chris Campbell's voice is on the soft mood. A bit similar to Martin Wilson (from "Grey Lady Down"). But the comparison can go beyond the voice only.

There won't be any yelling during this album. Delicate vocal harmonies, at times on the mellowish side like for "Into The Dark" which is probably not the best song from "The Cold Light Of Darkness". But Nick Barrett's shadow is very much present behind the great guitar solo and emotion makes intrinsically part of this song.

Of course these references are not on the complex side of the musical scope available amongst all the bands featured on PA; but they have their fans and utility. The one to release joyful music even if the "déjà vu" feeling can't be ignored.

The first blunder from this album is the funky/soul (!) oriented "Which Way". Rather incomprehensible in the midst of so much symphony. These funky beats are rather inappropriate (as the poor backing vocals). This was completely unexpected to be honest. This song is heading nowhere while the most Floydian and subtle guitar break will highlight this number. But why the hell combining these great and aerial sounds with this awful main theme ??? A mystery.The band should only have kept this part (still clocking at almost seven minutes) since this album is almost seventy minutes long.

The third long song of this album is a suite divided into four sections. Starting with a mostly acoustic opening ("The Film") which will only deviate for some soft electric guitar notes to magnify it. Forgotten these awful vocals from "Which Way". The band has reverted to its melodic style again and the music is slightly better while they perform like this even if, again, the music might sound too mellow. Because the second part "Help Me" is somewhat dull and I am not sure that it was really needed (even if it is a concept album and that there are often parts which are not really strong in these works). But still, over four minutes of this excessively soft ballad is too much.

I must say that the third section "Is There A Paradise" is made of the same mould. This time, vocals are only backed up by some sweet piano notes but some variety would have been needed by now. Almost forteen minutes is way too much and pretty boring unfortunately.

Now, the second blunder. The fourth section of "The Exposure". Gosh! It sounds as bad as "Which Way". I just can't understand that a band releases such a long song with of so little interest.

My conclusion is that half this album is very good while the other half is just poor. Two stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#156712)
Posted Wednesday, December 26, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars After re-visiting Precious seconds, I realised that I had bought BUT NEVER LISTENED TO, The Cold Light of Darkness (Thats what you get when you order dozens of CD's in a period, and get hooked on a specific few, you just forget some purchases). Anyway, I listened tonight and was very pleasantly suprised, this is a hidden gem, a neat exercise in progressive rock, with long tracks and lucious and varied synth sounds. Excellent guitar solos and one VERY FLOYDIAN track (Track 4, which way). I reckon you'll either hate the vocals or like them, I like em, but I think this CD is a very good addition to any collector who is into YES,GENESIS and FLOYD, the band are obviously very influenced by the three giants of symphonic progressive rock, and I reckon this CD stands alongside a lot of contemporary bands trying to produce quality into the the new millennia. I am going to give this a FIVE, too even things up againm it deserves a FOUR anyway....

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to M27Barney (BETA) | Report this review (#184881)
Posted Monday, October 06, 2008 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Very nice debut album from this fine and interesting neo prog band from England. Tr3nity´s music sounds deceptively simple, bland and repetitive on the first hearings, which is quite deceiving. But if you listen to it a few more times, you´re hooked. Unlike some opinions here on PA I find this album to grow on each listening. The more I hear the more I like it and find - just like their second efford - many subtle details that escape the casual listener.

The songs are very melodic, with some great guitar solos (much in the vein of Camel´s Andrew Latimer and Floyd´s David Gilmour), good keyboards (again deceptively simple on first sight) and some nice, emotional vocals. The theme they chose is quite disturbing (child abuse and its consequences), but it is well done in my opinion. Ok, the concept may not always work (the Exposure Suite is a good example), but still the musical side of it is worth, going from good to excellent.

There are some surprising elements and styles changes here and there, like the funky rhythms of Which Way or the bluesy guitar solo in the end, but after some spins I felt they fit in ok and ended up liking them too. There are no sudden and obvious, bombastic, shifting moods or changes, but they are there, and this is part of their charm: you have to pay atention, and then you´ll be rewarded in the end with one of the most interesting and gratifying neo prog albums I heard in the new millenium.

This is not really a masterpiece but it is also excellent. So my rating is 4 stars. The Cold Light Of Darkness is not as refined as their second CD, but the basic formula is here. If you like melodic, subtle, emotional music with some fine keyboards sounds and great guitar a la Camel, you should listen to Tr3nity. Well done, boys! I´m looking forward to hear their next work as soon as it is out. Great find in PA!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Tarcisio Moura (BETA) | Report this review (#189299)
Posted Friday, November 14, 2008 | Review Permalink
progrules
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars I know we, and then especially the prog reviewers, are not allowed to refer to other reviews and reviewers basically because you have to write your own thing and that has nothing to do with what the others are saying about it. I usually stick to the rule and I agree with it but this time I will have to write a little story about it because this is too interesting to ignore. It's a story of 4 prog reviewers (actually 4,5 but we'll leave Chessman out of it) who have been reviewing the two albums by Tr3nity. Two of them (hdfisch and Zowieziggy) gave two stars in both occasions and two others (Tarcisio Maura and yours truly) gave 4 stars for the same albums. And because one of the reasons the prog reviewers are here on this site and the main job they do is to inform readers and visitors about the quality and significance of the bands and albums, this is actually becoming an interesting situation. For if you are a visitor and read these 8 reviews what will have to be your decision ? I mean, four 4 star reviews and four 2 star opinions will leave such a visitor puzzled. I will explain in this review how this all is possible.

Tr3nity happens to be a typical neo progressive band and we all know by now that a band like that is not everybody's favourite ball game so to speak. And that's in a nut shell what the whole thing is about. Those who happen to know more of my reviews will know by now that I'm a true neo progfan and I honestly believe Tr3nity is a high class act in this subgenre. Well, also mr Chessman doesn't hate neo prog and not even mr Zowieziggy so I have to admit I'm quite surprised they disqualify albums by Tr3nity. Am I being too generous with this English band ? I can answer this with a resolute NO ! The only thing I am willing to admit to the 2 starraters is that both albums are no masterpieces and also that Tr3nity is not the very best neo band in history. But still, they are very skilled and they can write great compositions. And if you read the 2 star reviews there is no denial about these facts, even with them. Their major problem with Tr3nity is the lack of originality and significance for prog history. I keep saying: if those are the criterions, we can stop reviewing half of the bands on PA because most of the 4000 bands are not really original and are usually inspired by predecessors.

Now some things about the album: If I compare this debut to the successor I must say this one is more versatile than Precious Seconds. And this is not necessarily a positive thing. I like PS all along, think it's a very consistent album on a high level. This debut on the other hand is an album with two "faces"'. The first half of the album is truly great and even magnificent. The two epical tracks are brilliant with a significant remark about Which Way that appears an odd song for Tr3nity because it's very jazzy whilst all their other songs (incl Precious Seconds) are symphonical neoprog. Another brilliant song amongst the first 4 is the almost 10 minute track Into the Dark. This song is equal to the first epic, Eyes of a Child, a song with a good first vocal part followed by tremendous instrumental stuff in the second half of the songs by both keyboards and guitar. Tr3nity is absolutely excellent with these kind of songs.

On the other hand there's also the second half of the album (The Exposure Suite as they call it) that is slightly disappointing to me. It consists of mainly shorter, ballad like songs, and I have to say this is not the best feature of Tr3nity.

But the first 4 tracks are that great that it's not possible for me anymore to ruin the rating and I think that's also fair because measured in time we are talking of 2/3 of the album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to progrules (BETA) | Report this review (#202645)
Posted Saturday, February 14, 2009 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
3 stars A UK-based modern progressive rock band,TR3NITY were formed in 1998 by musicians Rob Davenport (guitars,bass) and Paul Gath (keyboards,piano).They started TR3NITY as a project,but as the time went by they transformed into a full band with the addition of full-time musicians.Signed by Cyclops Label,they released their debut ''The cold light of darkness'' in 2002.

With such a haunting title,you can expect nothing more than an album strongly based on atmosphere and deep emotions.It tells a story about Cathy,a young girl who have been abused as a child and her life is the main subject of the album.Influenced by the likes of GENESIS,PINK FLOYD as well as neo prog acts like PENDRAGON,''The cold light of darkness'' stays away from complex themes or abstract interplays and leans towards melody and harmony.Three are the main elements of this album:the soaring guitars and the GILMOUR-inspired solos of Davenport,the strong synth work and the ambient-like passages of Gath and the massive vocal attack of the ultra-sensitive voice of Chris Campbell.No interplays,no changing tempos...the album follows a slow/mid-tempo,which allows the listener to enter the story even better.Definitely a grower,''The cold light of darkness'' should be labeled under the most sensitive works of easy-listening prog rock of 2002 and should certainly appeal to a great mass of neo/symphonic/melodic rock fans.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#207949)
Posted Saturday, March 21, 2009 | Review Permalink
kev rowland
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
4 stars This album would be an ambitious undertaking for an established band, let alone a debut. This is the first album by Tr3nity, a four-piece from the UK, and they have started their career with a concept album that is dealing with the hard subject of child abuse and neglect, and the consequences of that. The character, Cathy, gets involved in the drug scene and has children of her own and promises to get herself sorted out but attempts suicide before finding a final solution. Lyrically this is a very strong album, although I did find that I got more out of the album by reading the story that was provided with it (perhaps some of that could have gone into the booklet?), but that is available on the excellent web site at www.tr3nity.com.

The music combines elements of Pendragon with Pink Floyd and can be extremely dramatic and powerful indeed (such as at the end of "Into The Dark"), while the interplay between keyboards and guitar on "Which Way?" is impressive. The music can be very uplifting at times, which initially caused me to have an issue with the album as a whole. How can a subject as dark as this have music that is powerful and bright? But if this were a drone, a drudge to listen to, would anyone play it? The answer to that is no, and Tr3nity have managed to combine the dark storyline with music that is interesting and lyrics that are compelling. Chris Campbell's vocals are very clear, and fit the music well, which can be dramatic yet quiet, atmospheric yet in your face (listen to the epic 'The Exposure Suite' and hear the 'Wish You Were Here' influences shine through).

This is an album that has to be played a great deal, so that the layers of the onion can be peeled away. There are great depths and emotions that come with this work and on the basis of this the band have a great future ahead of them.

Originally appeared in Feedback #69, Aug 02

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to kev rowland (BETA) | Report this review (#978048)
Posted Friday, June 14, 2013 | Review Permalink

TR3NITY The Cold Light of Darkness ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of TR3NITY The Cold Light of Darkness


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.17 seconds