Header
Ozric Tentacles - Spirals In Hyperspace CD (album) cover

SPIRALS IN HYPERSPACE

Ozric Tentacles

Psychedelic/Space Rock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
5 stars Ozric Tentacles is one of the worlds hidden wonders. How a group can sound so "far out" and be as amazing as they are blows my mind away. Their cds are all different and provide the listener with a crazy ride through their music. This album is by no means an exception. Each track starts somewhere and ends up somewhere different and, many times, unexpected. It makes a great addition to any cd collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Hambone (BETA) | Report this review (#29265)
Posted Wednesday, April 07, 2004 | Review Permalink
sngod@yahoo.c
4 stars Finally the ozrics changed somewhat from their usual style. this album is kinda diffrent (in a good way) from the usual ozric stuff - the sound is much more electronic and little less rocky. wonderful album, very recommended !

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29264)
Posted Friday, April 16, 2004 | Review Permalink
Proghead
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars I received this CD one day after it was released, and I have to say the wait for a brand new album was finally over! Back in the fall of 2000, they released their last studio effort, "The Hidden Step". Hard to believe that Rad was still in the group then. Since that time, Rad (in early 2001), and then later on (in late 2002) Zia left. New drummer Schoo (Stuart Fisher) and new bassist Pazza (Paul Godfrey) came in. Through the 2001- 2002 time period, they tied us over with a live EP entitled "Pyramidion" (with the title track being a new studio cut), a fan-club issued single called "Oakum" released in the fall of 2001, and then the "Live at the Pongmasters Ball/ CD (which also became available on DVD).

Well, I guess the band was under financial strain, and although they supposedly mended their relationship with Snapper Music, they apparently couldn't stay with them, so they found a label called Magna Carta (a label that seems to have too many KING CRIMSON side projects, DREAM THEATER clones, and PINK FLOYD and GENESIS tribute albums) to release their new album. Originally to be entitled "Toka Tola", it was retitled "Spirals in Hyperspace" and I'm glad it was released!

I was disappointed that this wasn't going to be an Ed, Seaweed, Pazza, Schoo, and John album, but essentially an Ed solo album (with only the occasional OZRIC member contributing, and Pazza nowhere to be found). But the minute I heard this album, all my suspicions flew out the window. While it's mostly just Ed on guitar, synths, and drum machines, this comes to prove how much of the OZRIC sounds came from him. You got the techno-like "Chewier" (with Schoo and Ed's wife Brandi Wynne helping out), maybe not the best piece on the album. Then you have the totally amazing title track, all Ed here, with many of the passages bearing more of a passing resemblance to "Waterfall Cities". "Slinky" is a mainly laid-back piece with nice spacy synthesizers and lots of simple synth melodies that are quite effective. "Toka Tola" is bound to be a new concert favorite, perhaps the album's real high point, going through different changes. "Oakum" was that 2001 fan-club issued single, now available to the whole public, and given the time of recording, no surprise it Ed, Zia, Schoo, Seaweed, and John all participating.

You might know the version off "Live at the Pongmasters Ball" (which I thought was superior), this studio version is arranged a bit differently, less synth solos, but many of the passages are still recognizable. "Akasha" is a spacy techno-like piece with none other than Steve HILLAGE and Miquette Giraudy helping out! Many people wondered what an OZRIC album would sound like with them on it, now they got their wish! To be honest, I can't tell what is Ed's guitar and synth work, or Steve's guitar work and Miquette's synth work. Then they get in to more experimental territory with "Psychic Chasm" (with the help of EAT STATIC member and ex-OZRIC Merv, which I'm glad to see, since "Arborescence" was their last album with him on it), and "Zoemetra" (where Schoo and John makes an appearance again). It's almost getting tiring reviewing an OZRIC album, since I have not found one album that disappointed me from them. More great stuff certain to keep the fans happy!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Proghead (BETA) | Report this review (#29266)
Posted Thursday, May 06, 2004 | Review Permalink
JCAndersonART
5 stars I can't begin to explain what "SPIRALS IN HYPERSPACE" has done for me. I've been a BIG Ozric fan for only a couple of years and have bought and/or listened to at least half of their recordings, and this one ABSOLUTELY TOPS THEM ALL! I can't get enough! It's like a drug! No kidding! I have a HUGE CD collection with an extemely wide variety of music from past and present, and this recording is currently my #1 favorite! I'm even more thrilled to find that the band is currently touring the U.S. and you can bet, for once, I'm going to be FRONT AND CENTER for the Anaheim, California show on July 22, 2004 ! ! !

Great job, guys . . . I rate this one an: ESSENTIAL MASTERPIECE of Progressive Rock

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29267)
Posted Friday, July 02, 2004 | Review Permalink
SYNTHLOGIC200
4 stars still once more the ozric tentacles are back with a vengeance and are showing that the can more than well keep up with the ever chaning musical scene. and in fact the long awaited spyral in hyperspace cd is the tangible proof of all this. i bought this cd when it came out (some over 2 years later than expected!) and i'm really pleased with it! the album is packed with synth and guitar solos( in songs like chewier) and special guests such steve hillage and miquette giraudi in the celestial akasha and ozrics former member now eat static member merv peple in the really amazing psychic chasm. the latter is the most tangible example of the ozric's always progrssive music style. infact on this one ed the band's leader blends the typical trademark sounds of the zrics with the progressive drum'n'bass beats and bassline of eat static a true futuristic song.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29268)
Posted Wednesday, July 14, 2004 | Review Permalink
olpa@tele2.fr
5 stars ozric is certainly the best thing (with the flower kings) i've ever heard since christian vander's magma.i LOVE this band , the music really change my mind.

it's not a surpsrise to discover that the new cd is a ed' solo effort. Since joie and merv's departure to eat static, he's the leader and plays mainly instruments on studio recordings. i'm sure that's ed who plays synths solos and drums on waterfall cities and hidden step. this new effort is a real pleasure, one of the best with waterfall cities, erpland, curious corn,arborescence and jurassic shift. ozric gets more ambient, more technoid and i'find it's good. some people think that ozric's music is always the same since jurassic, sprirals is a proof it's not true. all tracks are good. chewier is pure ozric rock track with heavy rhytms. spirals is a real journey in space, a pure masterpiece.i like also ed and merv's collaboration , the best techno muisc of the universe. an album to buy ABSOLUTELY olpa

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29269)
Posted Friday, August 13, 2004 | Review Permalink
al@redford73.
5 stars I awaited with trepidition for the new Ozric album and was concerned that what was effectively a 4 year absence (excluding the live releases) was going to mean a radical shift away from the OT ethos but I was wrong. This album is excellent. Chewier is reminiscent of some of the previous harder OT tracks but a nic eintro to the album. The title track is by far the best on the album and blends the modern synth bass with my favourite oriental theme which has appeared in so many of the classic OT tracks. Also reminiscent of Spiral mind but equally as absrorbing. Slinky is a relaxing, bouncy synth number which glides along nicely followed by Toka Tola which will be popular with OT fans. Plasmoid is a funky item which is insistent but rythmically enjoyable and the increasing speed towards the end typifies the group's novel approach to their music. Oakum we all know but must confess I preferred the Pongmaster's Ball version. Akasha is another relaxing ride into the outer regions of the mind followed by the changeable Psychic Chasm which starts slow and blends into a thumping drum n bass which when incorporated into an Ozric track is not out of place and finally Zeometra which is a characteristic OT track which finishes off the album nicely. Top marks for a varied album which makes the most of all the OT sounds we know and love and progresses them that bit further.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29270)
Posted Saturday, August 28, 2004 | Review Permalink
ultimateterro
4 stars I've been an Ozrics fan for some time now, a number of years since a friend of mine introduced me with 'The Hidden Step', a masterpiece of an album. This would be the first release they'd made since i'd been a fan of theirs, and I looked forward to it. It was interesting to see watching the Pongmasters DVD that certain jams became parts of songs (one jam appearing in part of the title track). I was a little dissapointed with that, I'd have liked a song based on that jam, although Spirals is certainly a good track. You can alo hear a bit of Slinky being played at the Nodens Ictus soundcheck. Despite the fact this is one of my favorite ozrics albums, I have to say I'm a little dissapointed the other members are left out (and despite Zia leaving, he's back, leaving Pazza no-where to be heard!) I also thought there was too much sequenced Bass on the album - I like the band for their ability to PLAY their music, not just sit back with a sequencer. Ed Wynne is a clearly accomplished musician so perhaps he should play more rather than sequence ;)

Even so, I still think it's a great album, good to get if your a newbie, but i'd go for The Hidden Step first :D

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29272)
Posted Friday, October 15, 2004 | Review Permalink
3 stars Wow what an amazing but mundane, complex but simple, innovative yet stagnant, and engaging but boring piece of music! How can music contain all of these contradictory qualities? This is Spirals in Hyperspace. I think of this music more as "mood" music that may be interesting or conjur up ones imagination in an inebriated state, but for the sober listener the music has little to offer other than amazing effects. And I mean absolutely amazing. If you are interested in technology, the future of music, and synthesizers, this is a jewel for you, but for others who shy away from techno and repetitive music, this might not be for you. The first few pieces were innovative and interesting sounding, but after the first couple tracks I discovered that the seemingly complex music has a very simple formula. here it is: melodic and not overly complex bass line, either played by a bass or synthesizer( repeat for the entire song) then add a great techno drum beat or a normal drum beat, then add some intermittent synth or guitar solos (which were good by the way) then after the base is established, add tons of crazy space and techno sounds of which the like I've never heard in my life. It seems as if the band was too obsessed with creating the most insane sounds possible rather than concentrating on the form and content of the music itself. Or maybe this is exactly what is supposed to be the result of ozric tentacles, after all they are a space-jam band. If you like aimless space-jamming and techno then this album will be your cup of tea but if you are into traditional prog, you will probably feel the same way I do.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to robertplantowns (BETA) | Report this review (#36936)
Posted Sunday, June 19, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars how many other bands can claim such a vast, changing, unique discography?

Maybe only Queen can, and I everyday wonder why almost noone knows Ozric Tentacles, but their live gigs are always filled of amazed crowds.

Probably because they never did anything to promote themselves, other than producing great music.

This Ed's solo effort has the tipical character of a solo record: it's edgy, extreme and experimental, but I think that most of people would find this enjoyable, if only they would ever open their minds.

Ozric Tentacles are like early Tangerine Dream evolved, and they are the proof that real great musician can make mainstream horrible music (like dub, techno and reggae) sound different and great, much better than any acclaimed genre masters can.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Warholizer (BETA) | Report this review (#48973)
Posted Wednesday, September 28, 2005 | Review Permalink
frodok@lycos.
5 stars It´s a pleasure to hear this new work from Ed Wynne three years later, as this is a piece of work almost done entirely by him. He´s not only the fine guitarist of the Ozrics, but the brain behind most of their themes. He is a real GURU of the synths, a capable musician, reinventing himself in every album and creating always new musical organisms. He also is an excellent producer, as the sound quality and well-balanced music of the ozrics are things that we are always accustomed of. "Chewier" is a killer opener for the album with Schoo´s drums in the vein of the best Rad, very similar to "Neurochasm" from "Become the Other". Later, the jazzy title track with its weird rhythm, a continuous experiment in which one don´t know how will it continue on the next compass. This sort of unexpected music constructed over Ed´s weird rhythm programming, as Afroclonk on Curious Corn, open new ways on organic electronic music, which tend to be too planar or floating in most of the cases. "Toke a Tola" is also a nice experiment, with its Van Halen´s Jump distorted beginning and the floaty and subtle rhythm of "Slinky" and "Zoemetra" also find a place on this great album. Definitely a great album, not for ozric purists, but for those who believe in Ed´s music skills and his broad sense of continuous innovation.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#60273)
Posted Tuesday, December 13, 2005 | Review Permalink
Rivertree
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Psych/Space Team & Band Submissions
4 stars Tentacles in Hyperspace ...

This OZRIC TENTACLES release from 2004 is mainly a solo album from Ed Wynne because the instruments of some tracks seem to be played only by him. The sound is very spacy with many electronic elements and clear transitions to TripHop/House, similar to acts like FILA BRAZILLIA for example. The songs are played with excellent grooves sometimes even in a Chillout mood. But when Ed Wynne plays guitar you are suddenly leaving Cafe Del Mar and it sounds like Jazz Rock (Oakum).

The title song Spirals in Hyperspace combines all these elements in a brillant way. First track Chewier is disappointing in my opinion but the following songs let you forget the false start. Slinky, Akasha and Zoemetra are wonderful atmospheric keyboard and electronic bass driven. Psychic Chasm starts as an ethno world song and then converts to a typical drum&bass piece - absolutely crazy!

Psychedelic/Space Rock meets House - rare and a successful experiment!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Rivertree (BETA) | Report this review (#81508)
Posted Monday, June 19, 2006 | Review Permalink
2 stars i was actually quite disappointed in this album. only two tracks have the whole band playing on them and what an awesome line up it was. what a shame some left after this one may be ed played a little too much on this one to keep the others interested. chewier and oakum are really the only two tracks that are ozrics the rest is really just ed's solo album. the bass on the other tracks besides the before mention sound terrible synth bass if you will. to date this and the floors too far away are by far their worst efforts. i hate that because i love this band but their last two efforts are dudds!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to 007hendrix (BETA) | Report this review (#120455)
Posted Tuesday, May 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars One of their best albums to the date,released in 2004,amazing work,there is no doubt about it.. You can hear the evolution,more progressive, taking some fine momments of waterfall cities album,in a certain way have a lot of tendencies with new age music,but i think that the music on this is not bad..you can listen to it a lot of times and then you will get the pointof the album..the first two songs are agressive,but it is Ok..I will recommend toka tola a nice one,start with a nice keyboard sound,a lot of space you can imagine on This.. Slinky is another,one starts peacefully,with nice acoustic guitar and the song starts to make a change in his evolution on the music..in the last parts we can hear the solo of the guitar very nice.Akasha is another good,in the vein of slinky...another good album by Ozric tentacles,they keep making good albums,so i will continue searching more from this amazing band..

Cheers,keep on the good Work. almost five stars raiting.. 4.4 stars...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to JgX 5 (BETA) | Report this review (#202113)
Posted Sunday, February 08, 2009 | Review Permalink
Epignosis
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Eclectic Prog Team
3 stars Bogged down with such electronic noises and heavy, driving beats, it's very difficult to see what is psychedelic or even spacey about this album. If by "space rock," one means music for an arcade game about intergalactic battles and alien races, then perhaps that label is appropriate. The music is decidedly progressive electronic with a few heavy elements. The greatest constituent of the album for me are the sporadic electric guitar solos, which just rip right through the jumbled fabric of the electronic music. For all its wraithlike creativity in terms of uncanny sounds and spiraling arrangements, the biggest disappointment with this album is that it becomes stale as a whole, and I personally only like to digest the music here in moderate sips.

"Chewier" Thick electronic sounds and pounding drums make up the bulk of this relatively short track. Only distant acoustic guitar and the electric guitar solo offer this piece any organic quality whatsoever, and for me, they are the best thing about this track.

"Spirals in Hyperspace" Layers of sound created by some of the most intriguing tones imaginable build over a static electronic riff in an odd time signature until a power guitar lead comes ripping through. The riffs are fantastic, but the otherworldly solo just over four minutes in is not to be missed. The frenetic guitar soloing in the second half is likewise fantastic.

"Slinky" With a steady beat and various electronic sounds, this belongs in nightclubs, for laidback, late-night partiers to groove too with their drinks in their hands. Otherwise, all I can say is that this is an effects-drenched piece that makes for decent background music.

"Toka Tola" Further video game music ensues (by that, I don't mean 8-bit bloops and beeps, only that this track in particular sounds like something from one of the later Mega Man series games- not necessarily a bad thing, in my opinion). The bass maintains a nice groove, and the drum-programming offers some variety, especially as the crystal-clear acoustic guitar and whistling synthesizer enter in the middle.

"Plasmoid" One of the more grating tracks for me, "Plasmoid" sputters along until the electric guitar solo. Even then, this is a completely passable track; the sounds used throughout are simply displeasing.

"Oakum" Far more atmospheric than any of the previous works, this piece is saturated with New Age flavors. Halfway through, the music takes on a completely different visage, morphing into a rapid wave of descending sounds and feverish guitar soloing, and the keyboard solo is one of the finer moments of the album. Zia's bass work is also exciting to hear. One part of the track, with the vocals interjecting over the fast-paced music calls to my mind the final section of a piece by Kerry Livgren entitled, "And I Saw, As It Were... Konelrad."

"Akasha" This is a lighter piece and does impart some much needed variety to the overall sound, utilizing instrumentation not heard on other tracks (like a harpsichord-like tone). Sleek keyboard sounds and screaming outbursts of guitar are what this track is primarily about. Rhythmically speaking, though, it's really uninteresting.

"Psychic Chasm" Soft, back-and-forth panned sounds introduce this lengthy piece. The guitar parts over the more spacey elements make this track quite exceptional, however. The eerie vocals are a pleasing, if haunting, section, as is the aquatic part that follows.

"Zoemetra" This is a most fluid track, with flowing exotic-sounding guitar and keyboards and faraway percussion and fretless bass. The synthesizer lead invokes a Middle Eastern sound. The bass solo is nothing special, but adds variety along with the plops of yet the more rhythmic synthesizer.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Epignosis (BETA) | Report this review (#210044)
Posted Friday, April 03, 2009 | Review Permalink
3 stars Spirals in hyperspace the last ozric album with,seaweed,john,zia,which is a shame as i think they were important to the ozric sound but things have to change at times well come on a shreading of skin needs to happen,it starts with chewier and starts with synth really starting well and drums come in and the track calms for a second or two then gets going again and this is a track by ozrics i really like alot as when ed s guitar comes in he really goes for it and the synths are really sounding great here and when it calms for a second the synth sounds typucal ozrics psyche like and this played live really sounds great to,when it calms down again eds guitar comes in quitly but really good sound and the synth is really absolutely brilliant here then it gets going again and goesto the end and a brilliant track,next is spirals in hyperspace which is more laid back with bass synth goingand a good sound to and the laid back synth really is so good here although this track is more synth sounding which for me is good some might not like,when eds guitar comes in it does sound good with the track and then synth takes over which is magic sounds really laid back like then eds guitar comes in for a little bit then the synth again and then a flute sound comes in,this then gets eastern like with the synth and eds guitar sound is good again thats this track basicly at 9.51 mins long its got bits what everyone will like i think this could of been a little shorter but its a good track i thinkthe last minute of this track is really great to hear love the last bit eds guitar is great here,and next is slinky at 8.39 minutes starts really laid back with synth and laid back drumming sounds good [the start of this would make a baby go to sleep i think lol]really laid back and nice this is the ozrics at there one most laid back the synth changes in p[arts which is good although the background music stays the same and drumming does to its the main keys that make the track go but the background music drives it i do think this goes on a little to long but i do like it as when eds guitar comes init does make it better for me more interestingso its not a bad track afterall just a bit to much synth driven for me and a little bit long,next is toka tola starts with a synth sound going high for a bit then guitar comes inthis is an ok track but not my favorite track although the bass reminds me of oddentity a little[from curious corn]and when u can hear it you,ll get what i mean i hope,then it gets more going faster and better sounding as eds guitar is just so him for a little bit,then it calms down and a really good sounding synth comes in like it wants to play it self which sounds good to and ed makes his guitar sound good mellow on the strings,thern it ends,plasmoid starts with synth which is like strangling it sound quite and the bass is kind of could of been better but its ok its just this track dont interest me much really as theres not enough guitar in it just to synthy for me but its ok but not the best track by far from the ozrics it could of been better i think,next is oakum and starts mellow and more promisingat 9.03 minutes long to,then it starts to get going a bit where the synth symbol comes in which sounds great i really do like this sound and the flute sound sonds great to and then the track gets going with eds guitar sounding great and the flute is great the last 4 minutes of this is brilliant as it really does get going good and eds guitar here with the synth just goes so well together i think in bits when they play together really great then the last 2 minutes this gets going so well and a mellow bit calms it down with the bass calm to this really is a great track and was on the pongmasters ball to live and sounds better there i think sometimes at 9.03 mins long its just right got bits which are really interesting to me,akasha starts really laid backthen starts to get going although synthy but not to bad as i do like the acoustic guitar or stings bitquite alot then sa guitar sound comes in which is a good sound and the synth sound here sounds great sounds great through headphones,the last minute or so is really nice though love the sound,psychic chasm now this is brilliant i love this one of the best ozric tracks out of loads though,starts like a sound in the universe kind of reminds me of stars at night shining this really should be heard by everyone as when this gets going after the nice start and it gets drum n bassey like and the synth going well and really goes with the drum n bass really well eds guitar here is so good aswell sounding and the drum n bass bit still goingall the way along this really is a great track the last 2 minutes been mainly drum n bass like then the last minute really like the end well its like the whole song just brilliant i think,next is zoemetrais like eastern sounding i do quite like this although it is synth like buty i do like the background synth sound and a synth bit which comes in every 10 serconds or so for a little bit but does come in again after a slight go away this isnt a bad track quite like this and it ends great to with birds singing,this isnt the best ozric album i think so i,ll give it 3 stars although some of you might love it more than me i just think it could of had morte guitar like and not so much synth driven so 3 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to davidsporle (BETA) | Report this review (#213000)
Posted Wednesday, April 29, 2009 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars For my piece of mind, I have left a year to review the last couple of OT albums. I couldn't really enter into their music. I have always found (as some other reviewers) that it was too much of the same and that too little variety was brought into their works. My faves from the band were "Pungent" and more recently "Curious Corn" and "Swirly Termination".

So what about this one?

I was expecting the worse when I listened to the opening number ("Chewier"). I can't really stand these noises (same feel during "Plasmoid") and I could only hope that thing would improve. And it is the case.

The long title track is a remarkable mix between jazz, fusion, and metal music. Well balanced and perfectly interpreted. This track holds even some "Santana" references and gives a breathe of fresh air in terms of variety in their work. My highlight.

The same sort of feeling is brought by "Slinky", that offers some fine and soft keyboard layers, combined by an excellent bass play. It gets more upbeat for the second half. This track sounds fully jazzy (but on the soft side). The last section of this almost nine minutes track holds some brilliant guitar work to be complete. A good piece of music.

"Toke A Tola" starts as a good old ELP extravaganza! Powerful synths for a brilliant opening, but after one minute, the song turns again into a more jazz/funk affair (as a good chunk of this album actually). The song ends on a more soft and spacey beat which is quite elegant.

Some space-rock combined with Oriental mood brilliantly opens "Oakum". After a minute or so, the sound seriously leans on TD (which is not to dislike me of course) and the soft keyboards are quite pleasant. The song gets more upbeat after three minutes and the interplay guitar - keyboards is excellent. Quite dynamic and performing for a good bunch of it, the song reverts to a softer mood for the closing section. Another good moment out of this "Spiral In Hyperspace".

This album is made of several long pieces (between seven and nine minutes); during "Psychic Chasm", one can find the usual OT music: a combination of upbeat space- rock together with some electronic phantasmagoria. Average.

The closing "Zoemetra" introduces fine Oriental flavours again (this is not a new feature from the band). The percussion work is pretty good and it is a nice way to close this good album.

This work should please any jazz-rock fan; it is a good album which combines different influences. The mix could have been more in favour of space-rock than jazz to get a higher score. As such: three stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#242867)
Posted Sunday, October 04, 2009 | Review Permalink
Prog Leviathan
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars The usual mix of spacey jams and kinetic guitar make this Ozric release a predictable yet enjoyable affiar.

"Spirals in Hyperspace" has a different tone than other Ozric albums, focusing more on electronica and rock. The songs here are very sharp, possessing a clinical edge distinct amongst the group's more organic sounding work. Sound effects take the place of world instrumentation, giving "Spirals" a very technicological feel to it, with Ed Wynne's guitar actually taking a a short break giving way to noisy electonic indulgence. There are some very cool moments to be had here, but I found myself wishing for more.

Another reviewer describes this album as "video game music"-- and that's not too far off the mark, although I don't find the term as pejorative as they. "Spirals" has a lot of energy and crispness, but lacks the depth or class that most other Ozric releases have. This is probably due to the fact that Wynne has arranged most of these tunes with little help. Thus, the songs feel somewhat one-dimensional.

Still, be prepared for a journey that lives up to the album's name.

Songwriting: 3 Instrumental Performances: 3 Lyrics/Vocals: NA Style/Emotion/Replay: 3

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Prog Leviathan (BETA) | Report this review (#247546)
Posted Saturday, October 31, 2009 | Review Permalink
3 stars Spirals in Hyperspace is an excellent representation of what Ozric Tentacles are all about as a band. It is a perfect starting point inquiring minds wishing to take them in. They are a talent group of musicians who have created a sound, which I my experience is uniquely attributable to them. They've woven rock, electronic and world music into a listenable and very progressive product.

I'm certainly no authority on the Tentacles, but what I have found so far is that their work really doesn't vary to a wide degree from album to album. On any of the albums I own, you can find a similar selection of meandering electronic passages, wailing guitar solos, mystic acoustic stretches and collisions which defy normal musical classifications but come standard for the band. On the balance Spirals in Hyperspace does tend more towards the electronic.

While I truly enjoy the Ozric Tentacle's music, I do find it difficult to listen to a whole lot of it at once. I'll often go extended periods without listening to them only to comeback after a few months refreshed and ready for another go. I opt to give Spirals in Hyperspace three out of five stars. Not because I think it's a mediocre album, but that it does nothing to stand apart from their other albums that I own. I think it might rank higher in the mind of someone who is more inclined than I am to up tempo space jams.

I'm waiting until I have a few more Ozric albums and then I'll cherry pick myself a playlist of the juiciest fruit from each album. From Spirals in Hyperspace the aptly named Chewier is a must; after that though I find it hard to distinguish the other tracks. The title track or Psychic Chasm are both good examples of the particular feel of the album. I'd probably settle on Psychic Chasm for its grinding solo work which I think is a cut above the rest.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to R-A-N-M-A (BETA) | Report this review (#299784)
Posted Sunday, September 19, 2010 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I consider OZRIC'S 1990's albums to be their best works.This particular record was released in 2004 and comes across as more of an Ed Wynne solo album than it does a band effort.The rest of the band contribute little to this record.The electronics are more prominant than i've ever heard them and we only get real drums on 3 tracks with the rest being programmed. I was surprised to see the band on the Magna Carta label for this album as well. So while the sound might not be as organic as in the past it is cool to hear the legendary Steve Hillage guesting on one track. Now despite my negativity keep in mind that this is a good album and is rated highly by most OZRIC fans as well.

"Chewier" has a driving rhythm to it and it sounds great.The guitar comes in ripping it up before 2 1/2 minutes. A calm before 4 1/2 minutes then it kicks back in. "Spirals In Hyperspace" is more laid back with lots of synths.The guitar starts to solo before 2 1/2 minutes then back to the previous soundscape. A nice throbbing sound here. Check out the percussion 6 minutes in then the guitar returns lighting it up. "Slinky" has a good beat with synth sounds. An enjoyable sound really.Guitar after 6 minutes. "Toka Tola" again has lots of synths and a beat. Some guitar then a calm after 5 minutes.

"Plasmoid" is all about the electronics and we get some voice expressions with that relentless beat.The tempo picks up after 4 minutes. "Oakum" has water sounds to start as an Eastern vibe joins in. An electronic beat follows as the water sounds continue. It's heavier after 3 1/2 minutes and the tempo picks up after 5 minutes. "Akasha" sounds excellent with all those synth sounds. Hillage guests on this one with guitar and as usual sounds amazing. "Psychic Chasm" is synth led and the drums kick in around 3 1/2 minutes. Good track. "Zoemetra" has some intricate guitar early nad plenty of flute later on.

As I said this is a good album but for me it doesn't compare to those nineties albums.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#441053)
Posted Saturday, April 30, 2011 | Review Permalink

OZRIC TENTACLES Spirals In Hyperspace ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of OZRIC TENTACLES Spirals In Hyperspace


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.36 seconds