Header
Mr. Bungle - California CD (album) cover

CALIFORNIA

Mr. Bungle

RIO/Avant-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
vincentfeitsm
4 stars A little different to what Mike Patton & friends did before. First there was the funk & rock influenced "Mr Bungle", afterwards that there was Disco Volante, the chaotic and exceptionally hard-to-listen-to album (if you're a psycho yourself) and then there is this one: California.

This last time (Mr Bungle is said not to make any more record, although they didn't break up officially) Patton and affiliates made a record which raises your eyebrowes in a sence that you don't know if your being mocked this time or not. Whith the previous albums it was easy to hear that the listener was being pulled a leg, but this last abums sound almost serious. still there are a lot of weird but original tunes, but the songs are all very mature and lack the kind of almost childishness humor from the previous albums. this time each song has his own identity.

The Prog in California is not in the odd-meters and dissonant scales, but in the different feel each song has, its almost if you're listening to a compilation of songs from different bands.

This is an album worth listening to, especially for newbies in the universe of Mike Patton (of whom whe know has done a lot more besides Mr Bungle, ea: Faith No More, Tomahawk, Fantomas, Melt banana, and even cooperating with John Zorn's Naked City and math-metalgods The Dillinger Escape Plan )

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#31103)
Posted Monday, May 31, 2004 | Review Permalink
brclk@truceke
4 stars Not knowing what to expect after the enormous mind**** of Disco Volante, I picked this up and took to it immediately. This incarnation of Patton and company once again mash several styles together, though the overall feel is more laid back than the earlier Bungle stuff. Personal favorites include "Pink Cigarette", a pre-suicide lament that gives me chills every time (the ending is downright eerie) and "None Of Them Knew They Were Robots", a winding, horror story of a song. This is the calm after the storm of the previous album, but far from a bland effort.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#31104)
Posted Wednesday, July 28, 2004 | Review Permalink
subassonic@ya
4 stars The first Mr. Bungle song ever permitted to infect my frontal lobes was Ars Moriendi. From the first hearing, I was both shocked and overjoyed that any band could be so irreverent towards the conventions of contemporary music and, at the same time, demonstrate such panache. No-one since Zappa, had managed to pull off a stunt like this and, in the great tradition of the "Mothers", employ a veritable roll-call of personnel to fully realise the madness. To say that California stinks of "cheese" is at once a fair observation and a compliment for it is a fine, fine cheese; mature and robust. This is an album which can be listened to incessantly without fear of the material ever becoming sterile. From the darkly orchestrated Holy Filament to the wind-up-toy intro of Golem II, California is a sometime rollercoaster/sometime ghost-train, psycho-jouney into musical symbolism. Patton is an outstanding vocalist possessing both range and power but even this understates his contribution. A friend once commented that "he uses his voice simply as an additional instrument" and examples of his highly textural approach to vocal parts are scattered all over the album; Goodbye Sober Day being a particularly good example. The production is a thick collage of conventional rock and ethnic instrumentation, diverse samples and super- phat effecting. It is a testament to the album's brilliance that the most aromatic blue-vein on the album, Pink Cigarette, is also my pick for best track. California comes as close to a Heironymus Bosch painting as is musically possible. Music for the asylum of the primative in all of us.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#31105)
Posted Friday, October 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars The most acessible Mr. Bungle album out there. This is not to say that it is a bunch of songs that don't change after a minute or two; it's just not a random and sparatic as "Disco Volante." This album also begins with a beach/surf song. It's very nice for a opener, and the album gets even better as it gores from song to song. "Golem II - The Bionic Vapor Boy" is probably the strangest song on here. It begins with a jazk-in-the-box sound and has song crazy techno/merry-go-round/somthing else music to it, all in less then our minutes might I add. The Vocals are a bit odd too, but what do you expect. This is a great album to get if you are a fan of the group, or you want to be. It's easier to get into then the first two, but that doesn't mean that Mr. Bungle didn't come without a few tricks up his sleeve.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Spanky (BETA) | Report this review (#31106)
Posted Wednesday, December 15, 2004 | Review Permalink
soundsweird
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Prog? No. Great music? Yes. Over the years, I heard so many critics lauding bands for blending styles in a timid, predictable way. "Wow, listen to these guys blending Irish and African music!" or "What brilliant visionaries adding electronic beats to Gregorian Chant!"... None of it seemed like much of a stretch, nor did it seem original. Then I heard this album. Even Zappa didn't take it to this extreme. It makes me sad that there won't be any more Mr. Bungle, by all reports. I went back to the first two albums, but they just didn't have the same impact. If I had heard "Disco Volante" first, I'm sure I would've liked it a lot. However, I think this one takes the same ideas and fine tunes them in a more succinct way. It would be 5 stars except for a couple of missteps here and there.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to soundsweird (BETA) | Report this review (#31107)
Posted Friday, February 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
olimparadis@h
4 stars 4 1/2 stars here. Mr Bungle is the most creative band I ever heard. These guys are simply genious. On this album, you can heat them mixing some african music with heavy disto guitar riff, or enjoy a pretty interlude to the beach before to get into a catchy and very interesting refrain. You can ever hear a kind of song pulled from a musical box... Mr Bungle are using 10 000 of differents sounds and effects to create on each tracks a strange and perfect original environement. What is fun with Mr. Bungle's music, is that you can never expect what is gonna be the next note. You can listen this album a thousand time and always find something new to discover, and enjoy. They are genious. Buy this album for a fresh wind of originnality coming from your stereo.

Oh, I forget to mention that this is actually very good music.

P.S. forgive me my english can bad sometime.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#31109)
Posted Thursday, April 07, 2005 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
3 stars By the time this album was issued, I was not really paying much attention t Bungle anymore!!! So I only discovered some 18 months ago that his bum even existed; And I did not exactly rush out to get an ear on it, I just waited for it to get on the library shelves. However, I find this album a little easier to get into it is more sited for repeated listenings, not that I would play this album even every third semester. May seem harsh words but really, they come from the heart. Actually , I consider recommending this album to prospective progheads wishing to investigate Monsieur Bungle. Mostly because it is the most accessible of their records but also the least aggressive and the least derivative . In this album, Patten and friends seem to explore (a bit) world music influences ranging from Hawaiian to Arab hints , even touching over the twangy guitar sounds of early 60's surf music on a couple occasions (and also some Doo-Wop music if you can believe that!!!). But as I just a said the influences are better assimilated.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#31110)
Posted Tuesday, April 19, 2005 | Review Permalink
innerfaclv@ho
5 stars This is a MUST OWN. Guaranteed to blow your mind with it's vibe-precise production techniques & the most vivid & exciting music arrangements your are likely ever to hear.

I love alot of Patton related stuff, but this to me is the most focused & elevated output of any of his 'projects'.

This band grew out of a buncha smartassed friends who held a common love for music & it's possibilities, their 1st two major label releases ('Mr. Bungle' & the epic, 'Disco Volante') were a great relief to many who were soured at the 1990's musical landscapes' overly safe sensibilities.

'California' retains alot of Mr. Bungles' inspired & experimental approach to material, but with a refinement in all the players' abilities, their increased sensitive approach to using recording/engineering towards realising the vision of each song, Patton's vocal ideas/orchestrations & their songwriting in general.

Staring off with 'Sweet Charity' seems innocent enough, until you realize that the casual surfy attitude of the song is in stark contrast to the lyric which is either an affirmation that the end of the world has begun or an admition of journey into madness, although the two go hand in hand. Sweet spring reverb drenched hawaiian slide guitar & a very thematic feel. The kettle drums opening up their sound more like music composed for orchestra or film.

'None Of Them Knew They Were Robots' is Mr. Bungle showing us quick they didn't go soft on us. The lyric, reading like an laundry list of apocalyptic images while the music boogies & swings like bebop or bigband era music but with a rock intensity, mixing elements of jazz with rockabillly & surf , soap opera & 60's sci-fi soundtracks , lounge, Esquivel-isms & the ability to juggle more than 4 elements at once successfully. An artful & exciting bludgeoning if ever there was one.

'RetroVertigo' has a pop-like feel only to be matched by the songs' dark lyrics, which tend to ask, hasn't it all been done before. Sounding like an epitaph for the human race inability to progress beyond what we know has rarely sounded this alluring.

'The Air Conditioned Nightmare' starts off like an odd metered Beach Boys' vocal acapella piece, only waiting to explode into future robot surf-rock. Again, the lyrics painting a disturbing landscape of madness, but with an attitude of acceptance & a twist happy ending.

'Ars Morendi' is probably the best music made for the craziest Italian cartoon that has never existed, elements of metal sneaking in around the old-world folk-disco musings always engaging the listener, most of my friends' initial responses to this song is simply lots of laughter & profound amazement.

'Pink Cigerette' is a nod to Ennio Morricone & every song Quentin Tarentino has used. A heartbreaking tale of abuse which ends in suicide, but with the victim seeming to relish the discovery of their body by the one that hurt them so bad. It feels like an early 60's guitar ballad but with a lyric that again belies what one would expect.

'Gollem II: The Bionic Vapour Boy' just might be a song sent from the future to warn us about artificial intelligence. Vocoder effected vocals, clavinet, wurlitzer & drums that seem to change their perceived recorded space about every 4 bars. Most people who would attempt such a thing would inevitibly ruin their effort by sinking under the weight of all the ideas, but here again, Bungle seemlessly reinvent funk with a percolating mechanized precision.

'The Holy Filament' is more film music, this time the feature is a new movie about Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteaus' last voyage after death into the oceanic reality of an interconnected infinite multiverse. Indeed I think it's a crime that Patton, Spruence, Dunn, McKinnon, Heifetz (& Winant) aren't asked to make music for film more often if at all.

'Vanity Fair' sounds like a a 50's doo-wop with all of the chord changes 3 steps left of center. the lyrics are a psychedelic stream of consciousness meets primal instinct excursion.

Closing with 'Goodbye Sober Day' which encapsulates almost every Bungle concept up to that point in their existence, this is music of the past twisted incredibly into something new, & made into a music for the future.

'California' covers almost as many genres as music has to offer, melding them together & not reinventing the wheel, but giving it a damn nice new set of rims.

We can only hope that the members of this band one day agree to get together & make more music hopefully as challenging / adventurous & focused as this, if only to amuse eachother.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#41500)
Posted Thursday, August 04, 2005 | Review Permalink
chamberry
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars In California you can see that the band has mellowed down a bit after there superb avant-garde masterpice from 1995, Disco Volante.

This album is much less crazy than there previous efforts so this means that this a very accesible and a great album nonetheless. They have definately matured by the end of the album but they still use some weird sound effects in the songs but more sparsely than in there debut. One can also see a variety of influences and different types of music from twist to surf rock to ethnic music and so on but one of the biggest changes in there music is that in this album they're more restrained than in Disco Volante staying with 1 or 2 genres in one song instead of mixing alot of them like in their previous albums so is kind of a tamed beast. It's also more melodic than their previous albums. Highlights are: Golem 3, Sweet Charity, Goodbye Sober Day and Ars Morendi.

I can easily recommend this album to eveyone who likes music since it's a very accesible album concidering this is Mr. Bungle we're talking about. This is a very fun and enjoyable album the same goes for any of their releases. I find California to be better than their debut, but still if you want to know what Mr. Bungle really is then check out Disco Volante.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to chamberry (BETA) | Report this review (#70240)
Posted Wednesday, February 22, 2006 | Review Permalink
bhikkhu
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Prog Team
4 stars This album is ... well it's ... just what the heck is this anyway? Let's say an insane bioengineer crossed DNA with They Might Be Giants, Reverend Horton Heat, Frank Zappa, any given metal band, and threw in some other random elements. This might explain how this band got together. Then again, it may not. All I know is that it's great fun, and I love it.

These guys blend styles seemingly at a whim. However, that can't be the case, because it works so well. There is a definite sense of humor, but this band takes its music seriously (see Frank Zappa). Whether it is doo-wop, rockabilly, or metal crunch, it is all done with care. You will most likely find all of this in the same song too.

Need a diversion from the grandeur of your latest prog opus? This could very well be what you are looking for. You will still be comfortably close to your old standbys so don't worry about losing any progressive cred. I highly recommend this to everyone. It's not pure prog, but enough to get it four stars.

H.T. Riekels

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to bhikkhu (BETA) | Report this review (#88288)
Posted Sunday, August 27, 2006 | Review Permalink
Cygnus X-2
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Mr. Bungle's third and final studio album would be their most restrained, and ultimately most accessible release. The insanity of Disco Volante is now replaced with melodic, catchy, and ultimately fun music that takes cues from surf rock, bubble gum pop, and light jazz. However, there's still some bits and pieces of insanity here and there, they are just spread apart more and they aren't nearly as crazy as previous albums. Despite that, California remains a great last effort from the group, although it doesn't reach the greatness of the previous two albums.

Favorites of mine on this album are the first piece, Sweet Charity, which takes many cues from surf rock and pop of the 60s with lush vocals and a twangy guitar sound that is more addictive than anything else. In fact, most of the songs on this album are in this vein, although you'll find bits and pieces of other drastically different styles here to counteract this one. Other favorites are Pink Cigarette (which makes nods to Ennio Morricone and to a lesser extent John Zorn's nods to Ennio Morricone), and the incomparable None of Them Knew they were Robots, which explores 60s sci-fi soundtrack music with surf rock and quasi-doo wop. Whatever it is, the first two songs on the album are ultimately my favorite pieces, although every song has a magic to it.

In the end, I can't really say that this is the best or most representative Mr. Bungle album. However, it's their lightest most accessible, which may make it a good starting point. Saying that, if you do get this album first, don't expect this to be anything similar to the previous two albums, those albums are much much much more out there and are a lot more experimental than this album. California is a good album, but I'd say it's my least favorite in the Bungle catalog (although I still really enjoy it).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Cygnus X-2 (BETA) | Report this review (#110576)
Posted Saturday, February 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
Slartibartfast
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars I think I know why these guys broke up after 2000 and only three formal studio albums. They must have run out of any interesting musical styles known to humanity to incorporate into their music. Some tunes have a fairly consistent style throughout, but most put you on a bit of a roller coaster ride of musical style. Some styles are not even necessarily progressive except for the simple fact of the quality musicianship and just the audacity of the mixture. Just on the strength with which this one hooked me, I had to put in an order for the other two, sound unseen.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Slartibartfast (BETA) | Report this review (#128042)
Posted Tuesday, July 10, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars Mr. Bungle are even more insane, over-the-top, hilarious, and crude than most of the any earlier RIO or Avant-garde groups. This, however, is not as crude as their previous two releases. The band, known for flowing from countless styles of music within mere 5 minute songs, have eased up on the genre-shifting on this release (but haven't abandoned the concept by any means). Instead of being a vulgar, mildly-insulting, unrealistically-animated band filled to the brim with zeal (an adequate description of their self-titled), their crazed, aggressive musical explorations have been toned down, the metal-edge has been all but erased, and the absolutely absurd, obnoxious, unthinkable, incomprehensible, indescribable experimental ramblings ŕ la Moonchild of their previous release (odd enough, their currently most revered output on this here website) have been watered down to the point that the band are threatening to sound unrecognizable. I always appreciate a band that evolves thoroughly with each release, but this specific specimen requires a double - nay, a triple take to identify.

Much to the delight of many a "prog rock purist" (a dying race whose enemy is the over-produced, over-thought, over-achieving arrogant and victorious sharp and precise modern prog musicians) the raw death metal that so many times shone its unavoidable mug in the time-line of Mr. Bungle's debut release has been violently slaughtered. With its only living heir herein being the Eastern-flavoured Ars Moriendi, and the electric and playful None of Them Knew They Were Robots, Mr. Bungle have proved they have a healthy diet of tasty musical variety away from metal. Exploring through numerous unorthodox western genres, crossed, sometimes simultaneously, with very basic contemporary styles, the band creates a musical journey hitherto firmly unmatched.

Among the hodge-podge collection of styles and genres appearing, sometimes famously briefly, are western country, eastern traditional, surfer-boy-swing, music-box music, and even simple, and - daresay - touching acoustical pieces. Gladly, this unthinkable level of creativity requires a minimal amount of musicianship to pull off (though these are certainly no Weezer imitators), and the complexity of the compositions and the swift progress of the atmosphere is where the magic lies - not in the maddened solos, the drug-induced effects, the over-production, the "pretty" lyrics, but in the creativity, where I deem it should lie. Though all others aspects of album-making carry import, the focus is always in the music, and by extension, the originality of the music.

Mike Patton and friends have essentially managed to form something of supreme novelty, something altogether new. Its refreshing waves of individuality and of ingenuity beat endlessly against the inner ear of the listener, stirring the craving for more. But alack, no more will ever come form this refreshing band, as, shortly after the recording of this album, they disbanded and left us their trilogy of releases, each distinct and worth its price. This album, of the three, is "swingier" and likely the most accessible, but still with all the attitudes and philosophies of the previous two woven into its fabric. With its massive range of styles, this album never ceases to entertain, and is really worth a listen.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Shakespeare (BETA) | Report this review (#132112)
Posted Monday, August 06, 2007 | Review Permalink
FruMp
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars An interesting concept but still MR. BUNGLE's weakest effort.

California (which was to be called Californication but after a long running feud with the Red Hot Chili Peppers they allegedly stole the name) shows a very tame Bungle, reminiscent of 60's surf rock and beach boys type music, it's very stylish and done very well (Guitarist Trey Spruance spent a year mastering it on analog tape) it does convey images of sipping cocktails on a beach but on the whole it isn't nearly as good as the other 2 bungle full lengths and doesn't contain enough good songs to make it a great album.

That said the album does contain some very good songs, None of them knew they were robots is a fantastic song, reminiscent of Dick Dale and showing flashes of Bungles experimental side as well. Air conditioned nightmare is another fantastic song showing some beach boys moments and featuring an amazing chorus with some great tremolo picked surf guitar. 'Ars Moriendi' is the best song on the album, and is something of a throwback to 'Desert search for techno Allah' from their previous album Disco Volante, it features the same middle eastern theme with elements of techno and middle eastern instrumentation, a fantastic song and as I said before easily the best on the album.

The instrumentation on this album is fairly bland for a Bungle album but guitarist Trey Spruance provides some amazing moments with his surf guitar and general versatility and originality, the miscellaneous studio musicians provide most of the other highlights and considering how many of them there are it's something of a shame that they are so under-utilized.

Overall California is a decent and worthwhile album with a handful of great songs worth 3.5 stars (rounded down) but it's a big letdown (or should I say comedown?) compared to the schizophrenic madness of MR. BUNGLES other 2 albums and a lot of the songs are fairly boring and lacklustre. I'd recommend this to anyone who finds early Bungle a bit intimidating and impenetrable, or even anyone into 60's music and surf rock - otherwise I'd say it's better off sticking to Bungle's earlier works.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to FruMp (BETA) | Report this review (#141697)
Posted Wednesday, October 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Where's my halo? There's my halo!

There are some albums that are a blast to listen to. This is one of them. There is no need to focus on the intricate details of any meaning of this album because knowing the track record of Mr. Bungle, there probably isn't one. This is a delightful compilation of songs. Consequently, each song is like a delightful compilation of...well... whatever Patton & co. feel like. This album is a diverse romp of genres, influences, instruments, it really is so interesting to just listen to it. Now I'm not the biggest fan of Bungle's earlier work, but I find this to be an exception because it's very musical. Patton's vocals actually get the chance to shine instead of being just another piece of noise contributing to the whole. However, its the band as a whole that gets this album really going. The best example thereof is the phenomenal combination of jazz, swing, and metal known as None of Them Knew They Were Robots. The Air Conditioned Nightmare is another highlight, bringing back the surf rock that is so desperately missing in modern times but with the general light-hearted weirdness that makes the band so appealing, mixed with what seems to be some seriously depressing lyrics. Of course, the focus shifts right to the wacky and zany melodies and it says there throughout the album. This album features truly experimental songwriting, but it's not overbearingly avant-garde to the point where it's beyond recognition as melody, atonality, or any other musical combinations of sound. Bungle strikes a happy medium this time, releasing their unique, genre-bending creativity to form a CD that is pure entertainment, fun, and enjoyment. Really pushes the envelope, but not too hard that the letter inside it gets damaged.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to moreitsythanyou (BETA) | Report this review (#162082)
Posted Monday, February 18, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars There's only a few albums that always works; whatever mood you're in. This is one of those albums. The unquestionable joy it expresses when you uplifted. And the wierdness and variety of feelings, when you feel blue.

The album kicks of with seaguls and the flowing of water which is Sweet Charity. A perfect example of an intriging introduction. And the ending of the record, the freaked out soundscape that fades out Goodbye Sober day is antoher example of the musical talent and composingskill of this band (by which i mean Mike Patton).

I usually look at records as a whole, and this is no exeption. Though it doesn't have a single song like the other, the variety of styles is in every aspect admireable. In my consideration there isn't a single weak track on the album. At some points the songs has some dull moments, prehaps. But! as a whole it is a flawless album that perhaps mirrors the very essens of Prog, not to fear to include all kinds of styles, the variation of the music.

California is without a doubt Mr. Bungle most overlooked album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to meetmehere (BETA) | Report this review (#171145)
Posted Friday, May 16, 2008 | Review Permalink
horsewithteeth11
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars I know some people have tried to figure out what influences one can hear in listening to this album or any of the other two Mr. Bungle albums, but I think it'll take a team of nuclear engineers (or a team of several dozen music fanatics) several years to figure that out. Yes, this is probably the most accessible album of the three, but it's still a very good album. It's still chock full of various types of influences, from Zappa to avant-garde to metal, and this album seems to be more focused on vocals than the other 2. It still has the "carnival gone completely insane" fell to it, but to me it lacks some of the punch from...something. It just doesn't feel quite as energized as it has in past with other Mr. Bungle albums. However, for someone new to the group who isn't used to a whole lot of zaniness in their music, this is a good place to start, as it's the most accessible Bungle album. A very solid and tightly composed, but for me it lacks some of the punch that's found in Disco Volante. 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to horsewithteeth11 (BETA) | Report this review (#188728)
Posted Monday, November 10, 2008 | Review Permalink
MovingPictures07
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This is such an enjoyable album. If you're in a bad mood, try not smiling at some of these! That is, of course, if you enjoy listening to music that would make you appear insane to most people.

1. Sweet Charity- Wonderful atmosphere here with a very demented surf-relaxing feel to it. I really like the opening, particularly when the vocals and keyboards kick in. Patton's accentuated bah-bum vocals also set the ironic, humorous tone to this song. SWEET CHAAAAARIIITYY! Great song. 8/10

2. None of Them Knew They Were Robots- Haunting opening, then breaking into another odd song (But what do you expect from these guys?). This is another really good one and I like the twisted dance feel to it. It again has elements of several genres, including surf, dance, and others turned upside down to create something new and enjoyable. The keyboards here almost remind me of a ghostly type. 9/10

3. Retrovertigo- Ballad in the terms of Patton and the crew. It's a pretty good song, and has more of the bizarre, haunting ironic mood to it. I can feel quite a bit of emotions in this song as well, and the vocals are interesting despite being sung somewhat more conventionally. Patton's vocal noises in this one are absolutely fitting and set an intriguing tone. 8/10

4. The Air Conditioned Nightmare- My favorite track. This song is simply so awesome, from the beginning to end. The vocals range from soulful to downright bizarre, and the mood drastically shifts several times throughout this one. This really conveys the atmosphere of a nightmare and I absolutely love the way this song is structured, the uniqueness it brings with influences of many genres, and it succinctly shows you what this band is all about. And, of course, the lyrics have the word suicide in them. 10/10

5. Ars Moriendi- The art of dieing. Yeah, I can definitely see that. From the bizarre Middle-Eastern intro, this song certainly is a strange one. There's nothing wrong with it, but it is one of my least favorites on the entire album. Typical genius Bungle uniqueness and the songwriting is good. 6/10

6. Pink Cigarette- This is a funny one and quite enjoyable at that. More of a slower track here, this has a demented ballad feel to it, except it's not all that similar to Retrovertigo. It almost has a desert feel (similar to last track) combined with an extremely odd piano-driven pop song in Bungle style. I find this song incredibly difficult to describe. Nonetheless, it's enjoyable and interesting. The female-esque vocals in it are very odd. 8/10

7. Golem II: The Bionic Vapour Boy- This one is one of my favorites. From the opening robot-like toy windup all throughout, this track is more upbeat and has a robotic feel to it. Heavily enjoyable and crafted pretty well! 9/10

8. The Holy Filament- Awesome song once again. This is quite a spooky song, and the piano parts are beautiful. The vocals are ghost-like and are hard to describe. 8/10

9. Vanity Fair- The most hilarious track on here. The whole track comes across as entirely satiric. Patton's vocal noises again here are PERFECT and the mood of this song perfectly fits the concept of it. 9/10

10. Goodbye Sober Day- A very fantastic closer to this album. GOODBYE SOBER DAY! I love the instrumentation on this one especially and the mood changes are intriguing and enjoyable. 9/10

Overall, I hesitate between 4 and 5 stars for this one. In the end, 4 is more fitting, as it is not really an essential masterpiece of progressive music that is for everyone, but it is definitely an excellent addition to any prog music collection. Heavily weird and enjoyable, especially if you're in the mood for it!

Only for the open-minded and insane.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to MovingPictures07 (BETA) | Report this review (#189679)
Posted Monday, November 17, 2008 | Review Permalink
5 stars Mr Bungle: Prog? No; progressive? a most emphatic yes. Whilst not as boundary breaking and sonically experimental as their 2nd release, 'Disco Volante', 'California' stands out as an incredibly solid piece of work that draws inspiration from many sources. It would be easy to dismiss this album based on the apparent lightness of some of the tracks, these being some of the most aurally pleasing and chillingly beautiful tracks I've heard - 'Retrovertigo', 'Pink Cigarette' & 'The Holy Filament', but surely the strength of an album is in it's diversity and they don't come much more diverse than this. This album is packed with so much ear-friendly experimentation, from the unusual dissonance of 'Vanity Fair' to the Middle Eastern tinged 'Ars Moriendi' (with hints of thrash) and the Hawaiian twangs of 'Sweet Charity'. And it ends with an absolute belter ('Goodbye Sober Day') packed with so much musical goodness that it made me play the CD all over again immediately when I first bought it (and I still have that urge to this day) - few albums have achieved this since my youth.

Always a contender for my top 10 albums of all time (alongside the likes of Sgt Pepper', 'Kid A', Kate Bush's 'Dreaming', and Floyds 'Animals'), I recently was forced to make a choice and at the moment I would rate it as my favourite album of all time - a definite 5 stars.

Footnote: Mike Patton is an example of properly progressive musical force and should be cited alongside the likes of Fripp, Eno & Gabriel. Is Experimental Music the new Prog?

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Paul T (BETA) | Report this review (#191594)
Posted Wednesday, December 03, 2008 | Review Permalink
EatThatPhonebook
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars 7/10

"California" is one of the funnest albums in a long time.

if there's an adjective that can perfectly describes this album, that would be FUN. Because that's what it is, and what it was meant for, having fun. Mike Patton's third effort with his band Mr. Bungle is very different from all the other previous albums. it's a lot more melodic, and less weird than Disco Volante and the debut. For some this might have been a bad thing, in fact this album isn't too loved, but I think this change of theirs was excellent. So, all the Mr. Bungle albums are different from each other. "California" is a very nostalgic piece of work musically, but it's also an incredibly fresh and original album, and has such an unusual sound, even though, like I said, it's the least experimental album of the band.

Many influences are noticeable: surf music, metal, big band, bluegrass, blues, jazz, avant garde, and some arabic music, but much less than the amount in their previous effort. Mike Patton's distinctive way of singing is indeed in evidence, since he sings many of the songs (he didn't sing That much in "Disco Volante"). As a consequence to all this, "California" might just be Mr. Bungle's most accessible album, so it is pretty much for anyone. some songs are really amazing, they really crab you in a way that the band never really did in this type of way, using melody mixed with some experimentation and avant garde. Honorable mentions are the first track, "Sweet Charity", very nostalgic and melancholic, "The Air Conditioned Nightmare", especially in the middle part, where their external influences are most highlighted."Ars Moriendi", the heaviest song of the album, and has some arabic music influences; in fact, this track can easily be an excerpt from "Disco Volante". Not to forget "The Holy Filament", the most fascinating song off this album. Mysterious and calm in some moments, while in others it's more enlivened. But the medloy, especially in the singed part, always grabs my attention.

Such a fun and fine album overall, I recommend it to whoever likes to have a blast only by listening to music.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to EatThatPhonebook (BETA) | Report this review (#284025)
Posted Saturday, May 29, 2010 | Review Permalink
Starhammer
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Saving the best till last...

The third and final outing from perhaps the most unusual band to ever be signed to a major record label.

The Good: Four years after Disco Volante the vocal maverick and his experimental collective return with their finest work to date. Whilst the craziness is still there, the song writing is more refined, structured, and ultimately, enjoyable. Despite California's avant tenancies, the overall effect is strangely accessible. This juxtaposition continues further as the quirky, yet aptly named songs seem somewhat at odds with the world's most generic album title.

The menagerie of styles on show would probably just sound like a forced attempt at eclecticism in the hands of a lesser band, but Mr Bungle manage to integrate each musical approach so seemlessly that it's feels like they're conjuring up a unique yet familiar soundscape with every twist and turn. Picking a standout track is a near impossible task as this album is just overflowing with character, but the face-melting breakdown of Goodbye Sober Day edges it for me.

The Bad: Too short, if anything.

The Verdict: Brilliantly weird and weirdly brilliant.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Starhammer (BETA) | Report this review (#511099)
Posted Monday, August 29, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars California combines the comparatively conventional song structures and occasional mainstream leanings of Mr. Bungle's self-titled debut album with the bizarre laundry list of musical genres brought to bear on Disco Volante (and the two Secret Chiefs 3 albums which had been released in the meantime) in order to craft this delicious conclusion to the Mr. Bungle three-course meal. Songs like Sweet Charity and Retrovertigo lean towards smooth, slick lounge rock, but just when you think you're safe an avant-garde tidal wave like The Air- Conditioned Nightmare surges forth. Perhaps their least metal-focused album, California is still a good listen for anyone interested in a genuinely avant-garde conception of rock music.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#636347)
Posted Sunday, February 19, 2012 | Review Permalink
Negoba
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Going Out with a Raised Eyebrow and Big Clown Feet

Mr. Bungle was simply the most important progressive rock band of the 90's. Despite a solid group of direct descendents and innumerable artists that have drawn from Bungle's genre-bending, no one has matched their colossal achievement. CALIFORNIA was the final installment in a trilogy of completely different but simultaneously brilliant albums. Gone is the potty mouth of the debut. Absent is the complete avant-garde aesthetic of DISCO VOLANTE. Instead, we get a more mature and accessible album of (gasp) - songs!!!

While lead singer Mike Patton does not have the prettiest voice in rock, he may have the most versatile instrument of all time. And never is he more melodic than on CALIFORNIA. The bombastic opener "Sweet Charity" has a hummable chorus along with vocal percussion accents. Show music, surf guitars, and even klezmer ideas infuse the album and push the metal of previous albums a bit to the side. As a result, this is the "lightest" of the Bungle albums. Rest assured, there are still sections of pure chaos. "None of Them Knew They Were Robots" takes us from a peyote trip in the desert to a night club in Vegas to the Cantina on Tatooine within the space of 30 seconds. Though there are very heavy parts, most of the song is free of guitar distortion. The closer "Goodbye Sober Day" is one of the best pure music tracks I've ever heard. It literally has almost everything. If some asked me "what song do you wish you had written" I would either say "Dancing with the Moonlit Knight" or "Goodbye Sober Day." It's that good.

The extreme eclecticism of this album makes it yet another shock to those who came to Bungle from the metal route via Faith No More. Most casual fans would have jumped ship after DISCO VOLANTE, but even this silly fanboy took awhile to really get into this album. The theatrics and non-rock ethic take awhile. I could also see some coming a jazz / avant angle feeling that sections are simply too "straight." Listening to the full album would destroy that notion, but again this album deceptively listener-friendly in relationship to the band's larger body of work.

I've written more extensively on Bungle in my other two reviews, but the bottom line is that all 3 are essential to understanding the progression of metal and experimental music in general in the 90's. 5/5.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Negoba (BETA) | Report this review (#640252)
Posted Friday, February 24, 2012 | Review Permalink
5 stars After listening to this album for 5 years, I can safely say that it most definitely a masterpiece of experimental/progressive rock. It took me a year to fully appreciate as when I first listened to this, I was a huge metalhead. But something about Mr Bungle clicked with me, and I definitely feel it changed my life. Lets go down the cliched route of a track-by-track review. It's easy to follow so why the hell not...

Sweet Charity.

Before hearing this, I had already become acclimatized with songs like Platypus and Squeeze Me Macaroni, so when this kicked off I thought 'hang on, it's a bit soft!'. I felt kinda disappointed and bored so i skipped to the next track, None Of Them Knew They Were Robots. Naturally I fell in love with this song instantly as it is more like your typical Bungle craziness. Feeling slightly guilty for dismissing Sweet Charity so quickly, I thought, why not give it another go, this time with an open mind. Oooh... why doesn't this sound pretty! There's seagulls, whistling and pretty slide-guitars oh and some lovely violins, how nice! Then the chorus kicks in... SWEET CHARUH-TAYYYY bom ba da HAAAH etc... YESSS I'm hooked instantly. I find myself in a world of sun, sand and cocktails until..........

None of Them Knew They Were Robots.

........POOF. Sunshine and sambuca no more. Instead, a jagged landscape of evil clowns, haunted merry-go-rounds and those weird mirror things. A real cracker melting such styles as swing, rockabilly and jazz, NOTKTWR really crams everything possible inside 6 schizophrenic minutes. You have saxophones and horns in between odd surf guitar licks, demented swing drums and Patton crrooning, yelping and screaming all in the blink of an eye. You'll find yourself wearing a murderous grin 2 minutes in and if you're like me, imitating Patton's crazy HAR-HIP HAR-HIP J-J-J-JOE while slapping your thighs maniacally. A song that fans of old Bungle will appreciate.

Retrovertigo.

What's this? A normal sounding Mr Bungle song? Never! No weird cartoon noises or funky slap-bass? Yet instead we're given a straight-laced pop ballad. I say this as if it's a bad thing. It really isn't.... Retrovertigo contains possibly Mike Patton's most gorgeous vocal performance ever. Just listen to that chorus, you will realise that the guy can really sing! And sing to the heavens too! It gets real crunchy at the end when the guitars and drums kick in for the last chorus finale. If you have a heart in there, this will take your breath away. Well done Trevor Dunn for writing such a brilliant pop song, why it didn't make number 1 I will never know.....

The Air-Conditioned Nightmare.

This is the first song I ever heard by Mr Bungle, and still is a favourite of mine. How can anyone not love this song??? It has everything you could possibly want to hear in just under 4 minutes. A steaming cauldron of surf rock, metal, doo-wop and bats testicles... it makes you wonder, how can anyone write music like this? Oh, and if you think it sounds awesome on CD, wait til you hear it live. Yes. It's even better. Don't be surprised if you have BA BA BA BA stuck in your head for days. Bungle can sure compose the catchiest tunes since Barbie Girl. Go on. Give it a try!

Ars Moriendi.

What happened when Slayer got into a fight with a Hungarian klezmer band? Thats right. This did. Again, another song that displays Mr Bungle's trademark genre-blending. We have accordions, speed metal guitars, polka drums, and some odd middle-eastern instrumentation with a sprinkling of techno. How can this be possible.. you ask yourself as you read this.. well just you wait and see. Whats great is that Bungle can blend such unassuming and opposing styles without ever sounding contrived or cliched. Another classic dose of insanity.

Pink Cigarette.

There is not one other song on this earth which I hold so dear to my heart. I dare not even justify it by describing it. You need to listen with an open mind and hopefully fall in love the way I did. Again, Mr Bungle have crafted a perfect pop song, as memorable as your first kiss, and just as precious. If your heart doesn't melt by time Patton utters the words 'I...found...a...pink cigarette...' then I'm afraid you don't have a heart. Pure and simple.

Golem II: The Bionic Vapour Boy.

Back to the Bungle everyone knows. Brimming with bleeps and bloops, disco beats, robotic vocal effects and evil glockenspiels, it's impossible not to enjoy yourself as you go through the songs many twists and turns. Ending with a spooky, distant piano melody, Golem II is the true meaning of odd. I love it!

The Holy Filament.

Its hard for me to believe now, but it took me almost a year to appreciate this song. I would always skip straight to Vanity Fair and not really give it the time of day. I finally gave it a chance, and just like Sweet Charity did, it wormed its way under my skin and stayed there. Mike Patton's harmonies are truly astounding on this one. I would have to describe it as a sort of psychedelic/ambient style. Their are lovely violins, piano melodies and strange noises. The only way to fully understand is simply to listen to it and make your own judgement. In a word: beautiful.

Vanity Fair.

Easily the most uplifting track on California. Featuring a doo-wop style, some sexual saxophones and a FLAWLESS performance by King Patton himself, it's an instant winner. Along with Retrovertigo, this is Patton's best vocals by a country mile. Vanity Fair features lyricss about self-castration, but considering other Bungle songs are themed on food-porn, eggs and child-abuse, it's not surprising that they chose song an odd topic to write about. But hey, after all, this is Mr Bungle, so onto the finale..............

Goodbye Sober Day.

What a way to end a perfect album! A tour-de-force of jazz trumpets, crunching metal guitar, futuristic synths before Mike Patton rips your head off with CHAKCHAKCHAKCHAKACHAKA. By the very last seconds of cacophony that end California, you will most likely be left completely astounded and wonder what the hell you've been doing for the past hour.

Once the bug bites it will never let go. An essential album for EVERY music fans collection. Well worth any amount of money you happen to spend after reading this. Oh, you WILL buy it. Don't think you won't. I will come find you otherwise.....

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to rustytheginge (BETA) | Report this review (#719519)
Posted Monday, April 09, 2012 | Review Permalink

MR. BUNGLE California ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of MR. BUNGLE California


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.47 seconds