Header
Aphrodite's Child - It's Five O'Clock CD (album) cover

IT'S FIVE O'CLOCK

Aphrodite's Child

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Proghead
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars "666" this is not, in fact it's not too far off to compare this album to GENESIS' "From Genesis to Revelation". Mostly the music here is late '60s pop with some psych touches. There are a couple songs that point to the direction of" 666", but comparing "It's Five O'Clock" with "666", well, there's no comparison, "666" is easily their best. This one is basically for completists. Not a bad album, but not essential, either.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Proghead (BETA) | Report this review (#31533)
Posted Thursday, June 24, 2004 | Review Permalink
Eetu Pellonpää
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars The opening track here is a totally marvelous song, which can be easily compared to PROCOL HARUM's "A Whiter Shade of Pale", but the rest of the album is a weird mix of totally different songs in both style AND quality. Actually this album is quite similar with the forthcoming solo albums of the singing tent, and fans of DEMIS ROUSSOS should check this out. I bought this LP, as I haven't find the title tune as a single, and I don't care about the dozens of compilations made out of this band. There's a funny film moving around from the song "It's Five O'Clock" too, and it's worth of watching if you spot it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Eetu Pellonpää (BETA) | Report this review (#38756)
Posted Thursday, July 07, 2005 | Review Permalink
Seyo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars APHRODITE'S CHILD second album is much in the vein of the debut, but it fails to progress any further. Apart from two nice ballads, the title track and "Annabella", and a good guitar work on a "acid rock" number "Let Me Love, Let Me Live", "It's Five O'clock" remains largely a minor work probably interesting for AC fans only, or for people who want to hear a broad spectrum of the late 1960s psychedelic pop.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Seyo (BETA) | Report this review (#67312)
Posted Sunday, January 29, 2006 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Let's put things into perspective.

In May 1970, I was offered my first pick up and the first singles I purchased were : Eloïse (Barry Ryan), Cecilia (Simon & Garfunkel), Let It Be and Something (from The Beatles) and finally It's Five O'clock from Aphrodite's Child.

I was really in love with this beautiful song (fully Fab four oriented). I can't tell how many spins I may have given to this single. Such a beautiful melody (but the band wrote several ones of this calibre), great and symphonic keys. A jewel of a pop song and a major commercial success for the band. Almost forty years later, I can't have enough of it, and I listen to it once in a while with the same pleasure (as most of their popular songs).

Needless to say that Wake Up which backed up the single was little played. Press next. But what to say about the completely useless Take Your Time?

The second pleasant moment is the nice ballad Annabella even if the background sound of the waves are quite cliché.

Two other songs from this album will also be released as single. Let Me Love, Let Me Live backed up with Marie Jolie. The former is fully psychedelic; very much Sgt Pepper's oriented. It has nothing to do with their catchy pop songs which were chosen as single songs. This one is more complex and features no melody. A straight forward psychedelic rock song ending rather chaotically. Below average IMO.

Marie Jolie, the B-side is a more melancholic song. Childish and very much of its era. Pleasant tambourine work. Nothing extraordinary. Just an average B-side single.

Funky Mary is another psyche song, totally uninteresting. Press next. Absolutely. At least Good Time, So Fine is more bearable (but not any good either). The closing number is another childish and insipid song. Press next to get rid of this work.

This album is poor. If it wasn't for the title track and the emotion I feel while listening to it, I would have rated this effort with one star. I will upgrade it to two. But I told you why.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#158415)
Posted Saturday, January 12, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars This one is not as prog as the first album, it has been recorded at the trident studio in LONDON ,it displays various kind of styles because VANGELIS asked the guis to renew themselve.VANGELIS plays more piano and added flute and vibe,DEMIS plays a little ac guitar and brings his first song,very romantic of course ,ANNABELLA and LUCAS starts singing and writing with LET ME LOVE LET ME LIVE that will bee a hit in europe he sings throught several other tracks and that will lead to dissensions in the band because DEMIS din't agree.Of course this album contains another pure pop single by VANGELIS,IT'FIVE O CLOCK that would bee a smash hit in europe,DEMIS recalls us he is a trumpet player too on GOOD TIME SO FINE .In fact this recording displays various kind of styles (country,greek folk,psyche rock,pop) because VANGELIS tried to satisfy record company demand but keeping the band creative,but he was allready thinking about a more avantgardiste work (666).I give four stars because of IT'S FIVE O CLOCK;LET ME LOVE,WAKE UP and MARIE JOLIE .

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to jean-marie (BETA) | Report this review (#292482)
Posted Thursday, July 29, 2010 | Review Permalink
3 stars The band's second album isn't quite as good as the first one, but it's still interesting and even more diverse. This time, they took it a little easier on the psychedelic vibe and explored some different styles.There are lots of unpredictable twists and some classy songwriting here. For me, a bunch of classically-educated young Greek men taking on genres like funk and country is also certainly worth admiring.

The title track is gorgeous. Another reviewer said that "It's Five 0'Clock" is in the same vein as "A Whiter Shade Of Pale", which I'd agree, yet this doesn't prevent the song from having cool hooklines of its own, and thanks to Roussos' vocal power, the refrain is stunning. The song was a big hit in Europe and is one of the best on the album.

"Wake Up" is a bluesy song which features acoustic guitar as well as piano. The verses are actually more in the psycho-folk vein, where I could draw comparisons with the early Bee Gees. 'Take Your Time' introduces some country-westernish guitars and harmonicas. I didn't expect that! It's catchy and quirky.There's also a nice 'goofy drunken fun' bit at the end.

There are a couple of Rousso's ballads here too, which I like a lot, especially 'Annabella'. Vangelis was there to create some visionary organ/Mellotron landscape. The song is quite atmospheric with some sounds of the ocean. "Marie Jolie" is a very cliched European hit of the late sixties, but I also really like it and the vocals are great.

The main single from the album, 'Let Me Love Let Me Live' starts out pretty decently, with a ferocious beat, tasty wah-wah licks and good melody.The ending is a bit too long though. My least favourite is 'Funky Mary' which shows the band's interest in some weird and wild percussive effects. The style is funk but there's next to no guitar. There are phased drums, backwards drums, marimbas, and finally some electric piano. An interesting experimentation.

'Good Times So Fine' is basically catchy cheesy pop. The vocals in the chorus remind me of Micky Dolenz from The Monkees. 'Such A Funny Night' ends the day with a slice of (presumably Greek-influenced) pop, thoroughly irresistible guitar melodies and lots of corny 'la-la-la's. Although this album does suffer from cheesiness sometimes, I do find much of it quite enjoyable and Aphrodite's Child often made it up with a one-of-a-kind approach. Granted, this can be witnessed much better on the band's last - and decisive - recording ("666"). Three and a half stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Frankie Flowers (BETA) | Report this review (#396410)
Posted Monday, February 07, 2011 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars It's one before 666

A year after the release of their début album, Aphrodite's Child followed it up with this set. "It's five O'clock" does not represent any progression as such, the nine pop based tracks here running to around 35 minutes in total. By the time of these recordings, the band were already down to a trio with Anargyros Koulouris having been conscripted in Greece. Interestingly, it is Demous Rousos who therefore plays the guitar parts. Once again, the song-writing is almost exclusively in the hands of Vangelis, this time in partnership with Richard Francis. Demis Roussos does write one track ("Annabella") with Richard Adams.

The opening title track is one of the highlights of the album, with Rousos delivering a fine vocal performance, and Vangelis adding some excellent keyboards. The song was released as a single, backed by the second album track "Wake up". If the title track represents the band at their commercial best, "Wake up" is its antithesis, being pure euro- pop. "Take Your Time" is equally dismissal, but this time the band infuse a country barn dance element into the music.

The ballads are generally the songs which work best here, the aforementioned "Annabella" being another of the better songs. Unfortunately, there are not that many ballads, with songs such as the awful hippy chant "Let me love, let me live" being afforded far more space that they warrant.

Aphrodite's Child are highly respected in prog circles. The simple fact is though that the respect is entirely due to their third and final album "666". On their own, the two albums which precede "666", would probably not even qualify for addition to this site under the proto-prog category. While they contain well performed music with a clear level of sophistication and ambition, they are by and large collections of 60's pop. They can still make for an enjoyable listen though.

The recently released CD version of the album includes 6 further tracks, all of which were non-album singles and their B sides.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#417933)
Posted Friday, March 18, 2011 | Review Permalink
1 stars Symphonic prog? Of course not. It's Five O'Clock is the second album by Aphrodite's Child, and it's a poor Country Folk spin-off work, with some psychedelic rock influences IMO. It's tiresome, boring melodies and the whole album have that "I have heard it before" feeling. Even the keyboards by Vangelis sounds annoying here. Almost every track here seems to be a pop ballad, but without innovation or even outstanding creativity. I don't know what drives anyone to buy such an album after listen to any song. Totally uninteresting. I don't have any track to highlight here. I'm sorry. That's my honest opinion.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to VOTOMS (BETA) | Report this review (#975370)
Posted Monday, June 10, 2013 | Review Permalink
octopus-4
COLLABORATOR
RIO/Avant/Zeuhl Team
3 stars A melodic pop song. One of the most successfull of the end of the 60s. Based on the organ of Vangelis and the splendid high pitched voice of Demis Roussous whose bass playing justifies a comparison with Procol Harum's A Whiter Shade Of Pales.

The band is in a sort of exile. The "colonel's" regime is ruling Greece and even if Aphrodite's Child don't put too much politics in their songs, they are not much loved by the fascists as their "Rain and Tears", an arrangement from the Pachelbel's Canon in D major (another remind to Procol Harum) was become a sort of anthem of the "French May".

"It's Five O'Clock" finished to be one of the most successful singles of the period, but it was an exception, not the standard. The rest of the album is quite different. Too psychedelic for the mainstream public who loved the single, and unfortunately for us, too "proto" respect to the postumous masterpiece (as published after they disbanded) "666".

What comes next is vey different.

"Wake Up" is a kind of flower/power song of a kind which reminds me to "Antoine", a French singer of the same period and his Dylan's cover about throwing stones...the only remarkable things are that it's an ascending canon in the first half of the song and acquires a Beatles influence in the second half.

"Take your time" is a country-rock song. Very 60s as well. The bad is that Demis doesn't use his falsetto and Vangelis doesn't play organ. The two bigger strength of the band are not used.

They are used on "Annabella" instead. This is the first song of the album with a progressive appeal (consider that we are more into the "proto" zone). The seashore in the back could have been limited to the beginning and the end of the song. There's too much of it, but it's not so relevant.

"Let Me Love, Let Me Live" is a psychedelic song with flower/power lyrics. Like the psychedelic period of Beatles. Personally, I like the genre. The "let me love"crescendo takes too much, anyway.

"Funky Mary" contains hints of what they'll experiment better on "666". it's a percussion based song with bluesy vocals and almost no chords. A very interesting song closed by a nice piano contribute by Vangelis.

"Good Time So Fine" sounds East-Coast with a Broadway like female choir and a trumpet which adds an easy-jazz touch. Demis singing appears mimic of Louis Armstrong. Nota song to skip but surely not a highlight.

"Marie Jolie" is at least a song which takes advantage of Demis' high pitches. It's a melodic song with folk elements. One on which the Greek roots are evident. Instead of a 12-string guitar they could have used a bouzuki. Too melodic for my tastes but not a bad song at all. A curiosity: For many years I have thought that the song title was "Sometimes", the word with which it starts.

Finally it's likely a bouzuki that opens "Such A Funny Thing". A folky song on which Demis uses his highest pitches alternated to flute and piano.

It's not properly a progressive album, but I can suggest to listen to it because it's very "dated". It means that you can have an idea of how the late 60s were. Apart of the obvious Beatles King Crimson and Pink Floyd in 1969 were already on a different level. This is how the more artistic pop was sounding.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to octopus-4 (BETA) | Report this review (#1056233)
Posted Tuesday, October 08, 2013 | Review Permalink

APHRODITE'S CHILD It's Five O'Clock ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of APHRODITE'S CHILD It's Five O'Clock


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.39 seconds