Header
Hidria Spacefolk - HDRSF-01 (EP) CD (album) cover

HDRSF-01 (EP)

Hidria Spacefolk

Psychedelic/Space Rock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Syzygy
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars 3.5 stars really, but I rounded it up because this enjoyable e.p. is available as a free download from the band's excellent website.

As the band bio mentions, there is an obvious similarity to Ozric tentacles here - take the blueprint for Gong's Master Builder, add in some reggae bass lines and world music influences et voila! Another CD for stoners to groove to. What makes this particular bunch worthy of attention is that they add their own unique charm to the formula. Acoustic instruments are far more prominent than in Ozric's work, including some rather tasteful acoustic guitar. Hidria Spacefolk are also more likely to take unexpected twists and turns than Ozric Tentacles, who generally stick with a particular groove for the duration of a piece - a space rock jam will suddenly morph into dub reggae, with suitably squelchy analog synth sounds.

Subsequent releases have seen them develop an identity of their own. Hidria Spacefolk are well worth checking out, and downloading this ep is the perfect way to begin.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Syzygy (BETA) | Report this review (#37131)
Posted Tuesday, June 21, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars It may be a surprise to many prog lovers but there happen to be some people who not only like prog but also techno / dance (to some extent). Well, my friends, if you share this feeling with me, than try Hidria Spacefolk. This album contains 5 numbers from 4 up to 9 minutes a fine psychedelic prog which could also be played on techno / dance occasions. As this album is free to get as a download, why waiting for budget. Go for it and feel the trancy grooves.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Hermanes (BETA) | Report this review (#57779)
Posted Friday, November 25, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars I downloaded this from the bands website and would encourage anyone interested in psychadelic/space rock to do the same. They have some techno and reggae stuff like ozric tentacles but overall it is more rockish than the ozrics. They sourt of sound like a jamband but more composed which fortuantly takes away the nodling tendancies such bands usually fall into, an excellent debut!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to walrus333 (BETA) | Report this review (#62277)
Posted Thursday, December 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars There are certain bands that define genres of music to such a degree that you just can't help comparing other bands to them. Most prog-metal bands are instantly compared to Dream Theater. Such is the case with the Ozric Tentacles. They so define their segment of space prog that bands like Hidria Spacefolk are immediately recognized as being similar. And similar they are, but they do have a very distinct style that also lets you know these guys aren't the Ozrics.

I, like the others here, downloaded this EP from their site to check them out. And I must say that I'm very impressed with what I've heard. I now want to go out and buy their other albums. The sound is similar to the Ozrics without Ed Wynne's blazing guitar lines. The guitar on these tracks are more atmospheric and textural. The synths are more bass heavy and throbbing. Like Hawkwind's early period, they make great use of the twiddly, fiddly, bubbling synth sounds. They also make use of more exotic acoustic instruments like on the track "Gnomen" complete with tribal drumming themes on bongos. Actually it sounds like Nik Turner going Australian!

Honestly, since the band has been so generous to post mp3's (192k bps) of this EP; you owe it to yourself to check them out. If you're a fan of the Ozrics, you'd be hard pressed not to like these guys. They change their songs up a lot and rarely stay in the same groove too long before moving on to a new or revised groove.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to adigitaldan (BETA) | Report this review (#74335)
Posted Friday, April 07, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Remember that scene from 2001: A Space Odyssey where Dave is propelled through a wormhole, and we're left to observe the shifting nebulas and kaleidoscope of colors present all around him? This is the musical equivalent of that. These spacey excursions cover more territory than most bands can muster in their careers. They combine middle eastern/world music into psychedelic-esque jams breeding an entirely new beast full of vibrant energy.

The throbbing bass and accompanying drums create an almost danceable beat and give the song an entrancing groove. Meanwhile, the atmospheric guitars and synths add layers and layers of color and emotion to lull you into an almost euphoric state of drifting.

An obvious Ozirc Tentacles influence is present, but these men are by no stretch of the imagination imitators. They developed a completely unique sound for themselves which works to much greater success than the sometimes repetitive Ozrics.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Equality 7-2521 (BETA) | Report this review (#86607)
Posted Friday, August 11, 2006 | Review Permalink
memowakeman
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Awesome music from Finland!

Okay, as the other reviewers i discovered this album which actually is an EP from their website, yes, i downloaded it and i keep it in my PC, and since then i enjoy it sooo much, is that kind of music that you can hear and never get tired of , i mean no matter my humor i could put this music forever and be happier and happier when i play it, it`s also excellent that we can introduce their music to ourselves going to the site and listening to this EP, and also some Live stuff which is also stunning.

It has 5 songs, and something like 35 minutes of lenght, so it`s long enough to have a nice trip to their music, you will notice from the very first moment what kind of music do they play, let me tell you that it`s instrumental without vocals, space music with a mix of electric guitars, bass and drums as the "usual" insturments with those synthesizers and electronic things ,i know the others have pointed that the music here is comparable to Ozric Tentacles, but i have to tell you again because it`s nothign but the truth, but wait a minute, this band is NOT a clone of Ozric, this band has it`s own and great sound which goes from space and electronic to also some reggae tones.

1. Amosame : okay let`s start with the review, after all there are only 5 songs, so i wont bore you with so many songs, this first song let us a clear example of what Hidria Spacefolk is about, what kind of music will we listen, im not saying that all the songs are the same, but obviously they follow the same path, this song starts with those electronic sounds and a nice guitar sound, also if im not wrong this is the only one which contains flute, another extra point in their work, the flute as usual is not always in the song, but appers simply when it has to appear and sounds great, after some minutes, the song turns slower and with an acoustic guitar, that`s only a little passage of the song, then you will notice a good guitar work throughout it, also this is the longest song

2. Kafari: This is my personal favorite song of this EP, actually i could tell you that i always repeat it when the album ends, or even in some of my random playlists i have included it, it starts with again a some space sounds and then a guitar work which is pretty similar to the first song, i can say that the sound is repetitive, but i like it and i could stand it being as repetitive as it could, we can notice some guitar solos during the song, but they are not that kind of outstanding solos that you will notice immediately and are the centre of focus, here you will listen synth, guitars and the guitar solo somewhere, the song turns faster in the minute 5 and its greater.

3. Sindran: It`s another long song , something about 9 minutes, but again an excellent sound, very spacey and electronic, i think in this song in particular the work of drums is more noticeable as in the other songs, despite again it could be repetitive ,and also it happened once to me that i didn`t notice when the song 2 finished and changed to the 3rd it is worth of listen, here i have found the quality of the band, as a creative band, there are lots of sounds in the middle of nowhere which are very well placed, here we have finished with the long songs.

4. Gnomen is the shortest song, and the first which starts with a different sound, here percussion is the first instrument that we can hear, very catchy and experimental since the synths join to the percussion, and the bass sound gives it yet more atmospherical sound, but anyway the worst song here i think.

5. Marastro: The last song of this excellent EP, i couldn`t have known this band better , i mean, this was my intro to the band and im glad for it because it`s nothing but quality and good music, this song is a great finish to the album, it has some sounds like water gouts falling, and some weird noises, this is until the first minute and a half of the song when it starts to progress with the other instruments, it is not alike to the other songs, so the term repetitive could be easily omitted here, despite this song is only of 5 minutes, it has various changes throug it, great!

Well after all i think my review is bigger than i was expecting, but hopefully it may get you into this band, at least you could give a try to this EP and deliverate if its for your taste or not.

Never a masterpiece because it`s repetitiveness (which i like) and because after all it doesn`t fill me as a masterpiece does. 4 stars, easily!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to memowakeman (BETA) | Report this review (#95600)
Posted Tuesday, October 24, 2006 | Review Permalink
obiter
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars My first introduction to Hidria was through this EP which is downloadable from their website: which I discovered by following a link from the Ozric site. I've now purchased the CD since that's what supports more music. Comparisons with Ozrics abound, and rightly so: there's a clear similarity in their music.

Hidira a far from a clone of the Ozrics. They have a fundamentally different vibe which is instantly recognisable. Gnomen is based around ethnic drums and synth. The bass, and this may just be me, reminds me of the original theme tune to Dr Who. Mastronaut has an ambient intro before an Om Riff threatens to take over. This is interesting because the Hidria take on this spacerock anthem remains controlled and subtle. Ozrics take it by the scruff of the neck and Ed Wynne lets fly.

Amos Ame mesmerised me the first time I heard it. A simple folky line on guitar supported by bass and drums and featuring flute (quite Ian Anderson). However, any similarity to Tull is lost in the synth bubbles.

Kafar-I is another simply awesome track. Bass and drums provide a high tempo background over which is overlain by guitar chords that somehow give the impression of slowing the whole feel of the song despite the fast background. A dramatic change to wah-wah backing guitar chords and a clean lead. The whole band engages the higher tempo.

Sindran-Rastafan has a beautiful swirling trippy reggae feel. Unmistakably Hidria. My favourite track.

With hindsight it is often in the first albums that bands produce their most innovative or distinctive works. HDRSF-1 is an insight into the first few years of Hidria Spacefolk. A seperate identity is established (in a genre which is often criticised for being samey). Added to the fact that this is available free, this has to be an essential addition to prog collection. Does that make it a 4.5 stars ? I've found I listen to this EP again and again. It gets the benefit of the doubt from me: 5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to obiter (BETA) | Report this review (#97280)
Posted Sunday, November 05, 2006 | Review Permalink
Modrigue
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars IF YOU'RE INTO SPACE / PSYCHEDELIC MUSIC, YOU MUST HEAR THIS EP FROM THE BAND'S WEBSITE ! All tracks of HDRSF-01 can be downloaded legally !

The instrumental music of Hidria Spacefolk features a wide palette of instruments and styles, creating a genuine sonic ambient jungle. Although one can inevitably compare them to Ozric Tentacles, their point of view and playing are completely different. They are less agressive, less heavy metal and trance driven than the english band, nonetheless Hidria Spacefolk manages to create soundscapes quite innovative and trippy by mixing many genres like psychedelic, folk, world and reggae music. Pieces of music here evolve fluidly, progressively and harmiously. The tunes contains many changes, but are flawless and prevent the listener from losing his attention... And now, back to the record itself.

HDRSF-01 is the first effort from the finnish band and really impress in many ways. The overture track, Amos Ame, is a perfect example of the band's fluid and soft sound. Its pleasant electronic introduction goes on with a pretty guitar evolving melody with more and more psychedelic folk instrumental waves. The tune will offer spanish guitar and reggae passages with a bass quite reminiscent of Eloy' Dawn. Beautiful and flawless. Kafar-I is carved in the same stone, in a more jazzy and spacey way. You will heard wah-wah guitars fighting in the skies ! The enchantment goes on with Sindran Rastafan and its powerful electronic rock middle-oriental feel. This tune reminds a lot ok Kingston Wall's II. Gnomen is the first pure electronic track featured on the EP. Its introduction ressembles to Hallucinogen's Horrogram with digeridoo an percussions. Very catchy ! The disc ends with the calm Marastronaut, maybe the most mysterious and ambient track here. At first glance, the song is really relaxing and trippy, but suddenly becomes angrier and ends in an unknown tribal place. For that, it is nearly as Steve Hillage played the final guitar part !

Hidria Spacefolk is truely an original band to discover, especially if you're into Hawkwind, Gong and Ozric Tentacles ! Highly recommended 21th century psychedelic music ! 4,5 stars !

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Modrigue (BETA) | Report this review (#110558)
Posted Saturday, February 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
Rivertree
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Psych/Space Team & Band Submissions
3 stars Finnish Spacefolk ...

With this debut release HIDRIA SPACEFOLK is already acting nearly on the same level as the TENTACLES. The basis of the five tracks is Psychedelic/Space Rock - often with a tremendous groove and mixed up with various electronic styles and some folk elements. So you can find songs which have the the emphasis on dub themes - for example the last third of 'Amos ame' (excellent fender piano). Another reference is 'Sindran Rastafan' which has some oriental moments - a good song with much variety. 'Kafar-I' is a groovy space rocker - the guitar playing sometimes remembers me at NEKTAR. 'Gnomen' on the other hand consists of an intensive house/downbeat flavour and for me is not very inspiring. 'Marastronaut' begins (and closes) with some soundscapes and developes into another good space rock song.

'HDRSF-01' contains songs with some new and innovative ideas - I recommend to download this EP from their homepage ...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Rivertree (BETA) | Report this review (#115306)
Posted Thursday, March 15, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Hailing from Finland, Hidria Spacefolk plays excellent instrumental psychedelic space rock. They combine a lot of world music influence into their rhythms and use a variety of instruments like flutes, post horns, didgeridoos, Jew's harp and all sorts of percussion. The band tastefully combines these two styles into a pretty unique trippy world music adventure. The music is very energetic but never becomes repetitive, heavy or overbearing. I see a lot of people name dropping the Ozric Tentacles as another band that sounds like these guys (or rather, these guys sound like Ozric Tentacles), but I'm not very familiar with the Ozrics, but if you are, here you go.

"Amos Ame" opens the EP and soon swirling guitars and keys come in and set the psychedelic mood. A flute solo appears before thick and heavy synths lay down pulsating beats. A short acoustic passage in the middle of the songs breaks it up a bit before the band repeats main themes in the song, except reggae-like until the end. This is really one of the best songs on the EP and gives a good overview of the band's sound. "Kafar-I" is a straightforward and less varied song than "Amos Ame" but still great in its own right. It's very energetic and almost trance-inducing at times, but they manage to keep things varied and it never gets repetitive or boring. "Sindran Rastafan" is my other favorite song here. This is a very psychedelic song with lots of pulsating beats and a wonderful guitar part. The instruments are less varied here, but the band creates excellent spacey landscapes. "Gnomen" is a shorter song, dominated by percussion instruments. The song starts out with just the drums and gradually the song builds up with a synth rhythm line, jew's harp and another keyboard, playing a techno-like lead part. The EP closes with "Marastronaut". The first half is very calm and atmospheric until the guitar and drums come in playing a repetitive riff and ends softly with a few drums playing.

I highly recommend anyone interested in spacey rock music to check out Hidria Spacefolk. They definitely have their own very unique style of trippy space rock. I got this EP free off of the band's website (and was instantly converted), which is very generous, to say the least! Since it's free (as of now), there's no excuse not to listen to this amazing band.

Standout songs: "Amos Ame", "Sindran Rastafan"

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Arsillus (BETA) | Report this review (#126744)
Posted Monday, June 25, 2007 | Review Permalink
Kotro
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars PROGRESSIVE SUMMER RAMBLINGS 5

Almost 20 years after its invention, just over 10 years since its definite implementation, the World Wide Web is still a strange setting. There is always new content to be found, that can shed some light into our knowledge - but there are also dark figures lurking in the corners of the Web. We are still mostly unaware of this beastly tool. Yet there is some sunlight shining over the tides of this cybernautical sea. Music, and especially the knowledge of it, has increased enormously. You can have access to the most obscure music imaginable out there, all the distance of one click. Music that, at times, we would never have dreamed of knowing or expected to find. And yet, this proliferation of music on the web can have its pitfalls. Steve Wilson, at one of the several interviews he gave while promoting Fear of Blank Planet, criticized how kids (and some adults, too!) these days consider theirselves "fans" of a certain band, and when asked what their favourite album is, they reply: "Album? Don't know any, but I got these 5 killer tunes in my I-Pod!" Poor kids, they're only deceiving theirselves.

An acquaintance of mine, an old-fashioned CD shop owner, also criticized this. When I replied that the Internet had its advantages in the divulging of music, he answered me with this folk tale of how he used to get the same knowlege through tapeswapping (his term, as it is) with other people all around Europe. How pre-historic that system appeared to me, a child of the 80's, completely immersed in the Internet fora culture. Then a certain feeling of nostalgia (for something I had never lived myself) hit me. When I thought about it, it seemed a fun system. You correspond with fellow melomaniacs, who send you tapes of "who knows what" that might surprise you or might not, but that still makes you eagerly wait for the mailman, along with the comments on the tape you yourself had previously sent. Yes, such a system, how ever "Mini Cooper-like" it might seem in this "Ferrari" world of ours, certainly appeared FUN. I reckon that quite a few good friendships might have been forged on that system, too. Looking at the PA forum, I can't say I have made any "friends". A few acquaintances, surely, but nothing more. I never even asked or followed recommendations from any member in particular. Suddenly, tapeswapping doesn't seem such a barbaric system after all. I suppose some of the old proggers in this forum might still do it somehow. In a way, such a system hasn't disappeared. The Internet reveals more new music than ever, most of which offered by the bands theirselves. Musical experimentation is no longer confined to the small space of a garage and the length of a tape. It is out there, waiting to be picked, heard and globalized. Such was the case with Hidria Spacefolk, who, imbibed in this spirit, have made their first work available for free in their website.

Most of the songs on this EP sound alike, mostly with a slower intro and progressively speeding up in the form of longish jams. And I guess space-folky would indeed be the best way to describe them. My knowledge of Finnish folk is non-existent, so it stroke me as odd that the beginning of Amos Ame sounded like North African folk-rock (Tinariwen, for instance) although with a certain dance vibe to it. Of course, that impression lasts only while the band does not turn the electricity on - the sound then becomes heavier and faster, with a panoply of instrumentation, of which percussion, flute and a funky guitar are the most recognizable. Kafar-I is more of the same - a very strong south and and southeastern vibe, with the addition of some electronically distorted vocals from which I can't really make sense. It does feature great guitar work. Sindran Rastafan has some great keyboard passages and effects a la Hawkwind, always accompanied by unimpressive yet tasteful electric guitar soloing. The smaller tracks Gnomen and Marastronaut both have a less folky, more electronic feel to it, despite use of percussion resembling tribal drums and even what appears to be a didgeridoo in the first.

All in all, it is an extremely interesting and fresh semi-psych, semi-space-rock project, made ever more desirable by it's free distribution online. The band even available for download the templates for printing front and back cover - thus you can add the album to your material collection, not just your digital one. What, still reading? What are you waiting for? Go get it!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Kotro (BETA) | Report this review (#132039)
Posted Monday, August 06, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars Hidria Spacefolk: five self taught Finnish musicians whose aim is to carve psychedelic visions within their listeners' minds. And they do that well: but unfortunately, they do little else. As far as debut EPs go, the quality here is fantastic (both musically and production-wise). Putting this as a free download on their website was a smart move, and certainly got them lots of attention on this website. Their spacey excursions are not one hundred percent unique, and aren't overly fresh, and neither are they absolutely transcending. But they're very fun, and when on very strong pain killers for wisdom teeth removal, and half asleep, the experiences is actually quite extraordinary. But in the end, it turns out to be a fun album, not overly meaningful or lingering. It's a fantastic start, though, and you psychedelic nuts will love this one.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Shakespeare (BETA) | Report this review (#132204)
Posted Tuesday, August 07, 2007 | Review Permalink
clarke2001
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Not bad, but not really demanding neither. Personally, I think it sounds a bit hermetic. I'm not surprised this EP is available for free download in its entirety on www.hidriaspacefolk.st/index.php?id=5

The first track contains a pleasant riff, and the entire song is just a development of that groove. The same could be said about the second track, but this one is less catchy, and guitar is repeating the same two chords for on and on, plus, it's too high in the mix annoying. Everything else are noodlings and spacey sounds. The third track starts in the same vein, and I'm dangerously close to boredom here. However, the second part of the song contains some nice , although not very original middle-eastern melodies that are saving the song. But still the song is more than 8 minutes long without anything special going on. The fourth track starts with some ethnic percussion, and everything else are digital spacey sounds. The last song show more things going on: it starts with some hiss an ambient sounds that goes for too long, then continues in typical building up of layers; keyboards and guitars melted in a spacey spleen. Guitars are rising until they reach GONG-ish riff ,then we have some more middle - eastern melodies, and some sounds for the end. The end.

No , it doesn't sound terribly good. No matter how an EP "thematic" might be, this is just running out of ideas. I'm not quite sure why the tracks have names - they all sound more or less the same. Progressive rock should be all about pushing the boundaries; these guys are just playing safe. I certainly hope other albums are better than this. Progressive rock? Space rock? Who are they trying to fool?

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to clarke2001 (BETA) | Report this review (#154083)
Posted Tuesday, December 04, 2007 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Hidria Spacefolk ( Into the Hidria) is the debut studio album from Finland´s Hidria Spacefolk. As you can probably guess by looking at the name of the band this is psychadelic space rock. The album is only 35:13 minutes long and was actually released as a mini LP on the initial release.

The music is fully instrumental. Spacy keyboard sounds floating over a repetitive but pleasant beat and a slight techno influence is how I would describe the music. There are also some nice guitar playing and occasional flute. My favorite is the opener Amos Ame while I´m not very excited about the ambient Gnomen.

The musicianship is very good. Precise playing and a good interplay between the musicians.

The production is warm and pleasant.

I think this is a good album, but not much more. This is the kind of music that can both be enjoyed as background music but also be used for more serious listening sessions even though there´s really nothing challenging here. I enjoy the album but it´s not the kind of album that I will put on very often. It´s simply too insignificant and without edge to suit my general taste. Hidria Spacefolk ( Into the Hidria) does deserve a 3 star rating though for being a high quality product. People into easy listening psychadelic space rock with a soft and pleasant sound should take a listen here.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#185091)
Posted Thursday, October 09, 2008 | Review Permalink
aapatsos
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal and Heavy Prog Teams
4 stars Into the Hidria...

...is the title of HIDRIA SPACEFOLK's first ever release, an EP consisting of more than 35 (!) minutes of instrumental psychedelic/space rock music. Without prolonging too much, the first thoughts that came to mind were that this is like listening to some of the best tunes that bands like Ozric Tentacles have ever produced... and I was not mistaken.

The opening track Amos Ame really caught my attention from the first minute. A beautiful 'dreamy' mid-tempo initial melody with fantastic drumwork was the best thing I could have expected from such an album. While the melody evolves with slightly distorted electric guitars, flutes and keyboards are discreetly used to give more colour to the track that is getting more and more adventurous... several 'smart' breaks and guitar solos add to the magic until the tracks turns to a freestyle 'reggae' tune, accompanied by flute solos and creative jazzy soloing that flow through until the end. Overall, a delightful experience and by far the highlight of this debut release.

Kafar-I sets off in a similar trend as its predecessor but with a more 'eastern' rhythm section and spacey sounds and samples before it turns to more funky/fusion progressive melodies midway through. A few more changes in the mood occur before the track concludes whilst a few charming riffs in the vein of 'Pulp Fiction' soundtrack (!) add to the overall quality. Influences from Ozric Tentacles become more obvious in Sindran Rastafan which flows in even more spacey and oriental roads. For the first time, strong keyboard sounds in the vein of Kraftwerk appear, but the underlying guitar melody still maintains the personal stigma of HIDRIA SPACEFOLK. As the track progresses, it becomes even darker and weirder, ultimately turning into an obscure electro rock piece.

A new surprise awaited me in Gnomen, as tribal percussion mixes with electronica to produce a short-in-length but utterly interesting result. This track will definitely appeal more to fans of progressive electronic. Marastronaut concludes this enjoyable EP with obscure sounds opening, followed by a relaxed atmosphere and changing again to harder 'a-la Porcupine Tree' riffs. Eventually these dark sounds return to sum up the story.

I have given this EP many 'spins' and I am still convinced that is a fantastic piece of music. Given the fact that is available at the band's website for free download, this is something that should not be missed. I bet that Ozric Tentacles (and the like) fans will be highly interested. Overall, this is a very enjoyable experience and is worth not less than 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to aapatsos (BETA) | Report this review (#219668)
Posted Wednesday, June 03, 2009 | Review Permalink
Matti
COLLABORATOR
Neo-Prog Team
3 stars In Finland there has been a strong scene of instrumentally oriented Psychedelic / Space Rock since the nineties; I would even guess that category to be the biggest one, concerning PA's Finnish artists. The Helsinki-based HIDRIA SPACEFOLK is already one of the most productive of our newer space bands, and this EP was their debut recording in front of international prog audience, spread also as a free download - which explains the relatively big number of reviews here.

The 9½-minute opening track 'Amos Ame' is simply gorgeous. The playing is lively and fresh, actually approaching jazz / fusion in some way. The flute and acoustic guitar are perfect additions into the OZRIC-reminding trippy sound. 'Kafar-I' also works well even though it's more repetitive than jazzy. 'Sindran Rastafan' sounds very much like OZRIC TENTACLES. Is that a fault, especially on a debut? And in fact, in closer listening, one can hear some differences in the sounds of these bands. Still I wouldn't pick this track among my favourites.

'Gnomen' (4:02) is probably HIDRIA at the shortest. Starting with hand drums it grows into more electronic, JARRE-like soundscape, accompanied by jawharp and didgeridoo to give a world music flavour. Hmm, this track doesn't quite flow, easily the weakest one here. 'Marastronaut' is another track I'm not fond of, its edgier sound is slightly unpleasant and it lacks the freshness of the CD's first half. Though there are one or two tracks worth of high rating in their own rights, this 35-minute CD falls short of four stars. I also would have loved to hear more of the flute, but Teemu Väisänen was only a guest musician. A promising start anyway!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Matti (BETA) | Report this review (#1172548)
Posted Thursday, May 08, 2014 | Review Permalink

HIDRIA SPACEFOLK HDRSF-01 (EP) ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of HIDRIA SPACEFOLK HDRSF-01 (EP)


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.28 seconds