Header
Nightwish - Century Child CD (album) cover

CENTURY CHILD

Nightwish

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
hengky@bates.
5 stars "Century Child" is the best progressive metal album after "Once". From the beginning the track "Bless the Child" kicks you right away. Continuously, track after track bombarded your stereo with high speed and melodious compositions. What a joyride! It feels like you riding a storm and never want to go back. I swear you won't put this cd out of your player right after the first spin. Highly recommended for progressive METAL diehard fans!! Jakarta, Dec 13, 2004 - 02:37 pm

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#33356)
Posted Monday, December 13, 2004 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars A night at the opera

"Century's child" is Nightwish's fourth studio album, excluding compilations and "interim" releases. It has a slightly harder edge than their previous works. The orchestration is generally less up front, replaced in part at least by some excellent guitar.

There's still the usual mix of symphonic prog metal and softer ballads. Tarja Turanen's sensational operatic vocals are still here of course, and there still plenty of orchestrated pomposity. In many ways, the album is constantly building towards its wonderful climactic conclusion. That conclusion starts with the penultimate track, a magical reworking of Lloyd-Webber/Rice's "Phantom of the opera" (no really!). Those who know the music of Nightwish will appreciate just how appropriate this track is for the band, and will be able to create a mental vision of the track even before hearing it. It is slightly speeded up from the stage show version, but otherwise faithful, including a fine male/female vocal duet.

The final track, "Beauty of the beast" is where it all comes together. The song is a 10 minute masterpiece in three parts. Those three parts fit together seamlessly to form a complete piece. The extra space offered by the track allows Emppu Vuorinen to slip in some fine guitar work. There still plenty of orchestration, and dramatic vocalisations, which cumulate in the fading refrain.

As ever with Nightwish, the sleeve design is imaginative and beautiful, I would probably have been lured into buying the album whether or not the music was worthy! As it happens, the music is more than worthy, completing a highly recommended package.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#33357)
Posted Friday, December 17, 2004 | Review Permalink
semismart
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars From an AMERICAN perspective, the most widely known and loved of the symphonic and other variations of Progressive music practitioners from EUROPE, is Finnish band, Nightwish

Born in 1997 in Kitee, Finland, Nightwish was the brainchild of Tiomas Holopainen. Initially an acoustic format was planned, however after adding the inimitable operatic style vocalist, Tarja Turunen a new direction was needed. He decided on following in the footsteps of the Gathering and Lacuna Coil (goth- influenced "symphonic" metal bands with female vocalists) and soon added full metal- band instrumentation in the persons of guitarist Emppo Vuorinen, bassist Sami Vänskä, and drummer Jukka Nevalainen.

This has turned out to be a recipe for success and fame as Nightwish quickly turned out four excellent albums; Angels Fall First, Oceanborn, Wishmaster and Century Child

"Bless The Child"

"I was born amidst the purple waterfalls. I was weak, yet not unblessed. Dead to the world. Alive for the journey. One night I dreamt a white rose withering, a newborn drowning a lifetime loneliness. I dreamt all my future. Relived my past. And witnessed the beauty of the beast"

"Bless the Child", 6:12, Very symphonic and orchestral, along with crunchy guitars and Tarja's powerful vocals , the structure of the song is difficult to put into words, atmospheric, symphonic, heavy, melodic, fabulous, majestic. "End Of All Hope"

"It is the end of all hope To lose the child, the faith To end all the innocence To be someone like me This is the birth of all hope To have what I once had This life unforgiven It will end with a birth"

"End of all Hope", 3:55, is a typical NIGHTWISH-track, symphonic and Power Metallic, similar to music on Wishmaster or Oceanborn

"Dead To The World", 4:19, the first song with Marco Hietala's voice. Takes a little to get used to, but Marco has a very pleasing voice, rather mid-pitched, contrasting and complimenting with the voice of Tarja. The music on this song is lush orchestral, grandiose, and complex.

"Ever Dream", 4:44, begins with Nightwishe's patented intro and refrain. reminds one of songs on previous albums but they were good, so this is good

"Slaying The Dreamer"

"I'm a priest for the poorest sacrifice I'm but a raft in a sea of sorrow and greed You bathed in my wine Drank from my cup, mocked my rhyme Your slit tongues licked my aching wounds"

"Slaying the Dreamer", 4:31, for the first thity seconds you'd think you were listening to Megadeth. Even when Tarja starts singing the similarities remain. This is heavy metal with symphonic passages, very, very interesting.

"Forever Yours"

"Fare thee well, little broken heart Downcast eyes, lifetime loneliness

Whatever walks in my heart will walk alone

Constant longing for the perfect soul Unwashed scenery forever gone

No love left in me No eyes to see the heaven beside me My time is yet to come So I'll be forever yours"

"Forever Yours", 3:50, is a pretty ballad that many people would like but I found, soupy.

"Ocean Soul"

"One more night To bear this nightmare What more do I have to say

Crying for me was never worth a tear My lonely soul is only filled with fear"

"Ocean Soul", 4:14, picks up the pace a little but I'm afraid not the interest level much.

"Feel For You"

"You were my first love The earth moving under me Bedroom scent, beauty ardent Distant shiver, heaven sent"

"Feel For You", 3:54, a medium to medium slow number with a great Nightwish feel and dramatic structure, with brilliant vocals of Tarja and Marco, excellent orchestration, exceptional!

"Phantom of the Opera", 4:10, a very nice version of "Phantom Of The Opera". If Nightwish was going to do a cover, this is a great choice, for this song almost seems to have been written for this band, Tarja and Marco duel themselves vocally that it is pure ecstasy.

"Beauty Of The Beast"

"Long Lost Love

Trees have dropped their leaves, Clouds their waters All this burden is killing me

Distance is covering your way, Tears your memory All this beauty is killing me"

"Beauty and the Beast", 10:21, oh, how I like long epic songs and this is a dandy. This song is highly bombastic and symphonic, with lush orchestration, just a grandiose masterpiece!

Conclusion

Nightwish is probably the most well known and loved femme fronted symphonic metal band in America, despite the fact they are from Finland. Although they are not my ultimate personal favorite in this Sub-genre, there is no dispute in my mind that this group is the top such group around. They are a prodigious and prolific talent that I cannot help but admire.

If you enjoy any form of progressive rock / metal including Gothique, you must give them a try. Also if you enjoy. Enya, Yanni, Loreena McKennitt, I would recommend Nightwish.

Similar Artists

Therion, Within Temptation, Edenbridge, Visions of Atlantis, Artrosis

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to semismart (BETA) | Report this review (#33358)
Posted Monday, January 17, 2005 | Review Permalink
FloydWright
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars NIGHTWISH is one of those bands that is best described as a combination of several influences. Think of SYMPHONY X with more realistic-sounding synths and real backing choirs played by a keyboardist who at times does resemble MIKE PINNELLA in style, but with more of a Stratovarius-like power-metal bent. Vocalist TARJA TURUNEN reminds me most of singers like Loreena McKennitt. The drummer's kit sounds rather like ED WARBY of AYREON, and there are also some similarities in playing style.this occasionally gives it the Flight of the Migrator feel. A male vocalist tries at times to sound like Timo Kotipelto of Stratovarius and at other times like RUSSELL ALLEN of SYMPHONY X...but accomplishes neither and is the main drag on this album. The guitarist is nothing special; I occasionally expect him to take off like a ROMEO or PETRUCCI, but he doesn't. As for the lyrics, they're rather depressing and teenage-angsty but at least passable. The overall production is decent, except that the bass drum seems to clip in places (such as on "Ever Dream".

The opening song is very evocative of the opening from Stratovarius' album Destiny--in fact, they're very easy to confuse. Once you get into "Bless the Child," though, it does take on a distinctive style of its own.

The SYMPHONY X resemblance comes in heavy on "Dead to the World" with TUOMAS HOLOPAINEN taking on a keyboard stule that sounds a lot like PINNELLA and I keep expecting MICHAEL J. ROMEO to lay down some rapid-fire riffs here. The male vocalist (MARCO HIETALA?) shows up here. He's OK high-pitched, such as in the high part of the chorus where he sounds the most like Timo Kotipelto...I find myself thinking again of Destiny, most particularly the song Four Thousand Rainy Nights" . He also does decently on "Ever Dream".

"Slaying the Dreamer" is probably the best song on the album, and also the heaviest. In the middle section the "RUSSELL ALLEN" side of the male vocalist comes out, and he tries to do gruff, Odyssey-style vocals, but needs a lot of computer processing to pull it off. Still, it does work out well here, and this song is a clear success.

Unfortunately what comes after it is absolutely atrocious: "Forever Yours". GAG ME. This is NOT metal.and I should NOT hear a riff that resembles the Titanic theme song "My Heart Will Go On" so closely that one suspects plagiarism. Right down to the damn pennywhistle.

Things get better for the next songs, "Ocean Soul" and "Feel for You", where again the keyboards take on the pseudo-PINNELLA sound. I am trying to figure out exactly which song it is "Ocean Soul" reminds me so heavily of-it's either on The Divine Wings of Tragedy or Twilight on Olympus. It is extremely close to SYMPHONY X, though without the complexities, and more distinctly its own in the choruses. On "Feel for You", TARJA TURUNEN does much more delicate vocals, lending some variety to her technique not heretofore heard. Also, the distorted bassline makes the song distinctive. Unfortunately, the male vocalist mars this one some. However, that doesn't compare to the mess he makes of the next track...

On the cover of "The Phantom of the Opera," the male vocalist screws up badly and utterly wrecks a song I love--he tries to make his voice sound menacing and savage when he simply should not be singing in such a low register. Still, I must admit that musically-speaking, this is a pretty faithful cover, given how hard-edged the original is. I give credit to TURUNEN for understanding what's going on in the song better than some Broadway actors have--the final vocal exercise has a much creepier sound than I've heard on the Broadway versions, which fits considering that the character is being hypnotized at the time. Besides faithfully duplicating the organ, HOLOPAINEN does add a nice touch of his own in the second verse.

The album does end well, with "Beauty of the Beast". This song has a rich sound to the opening. Its bassline even starts to remind me of a slower version of something that DREAM THEATER's JOHN MYUNG did on their early album Images and Words. The album concludes with a satisfying reprise of the opening theme from "Bless the Child."

Still, the overall feeling I get after finishing this is that there are so many things it could have been, yet it falls short. It could have been more epically symphonic like SYMPHONY X or even the S & M collaboration between Metallica and Michael Kamen. It could have been straight power-metal like Stratovarius with Timo Kotipelto handling the male vocals and sticking to the ranges he sings in best. But for all of these, there were parts of the album where it got close but simply did not live up to quite that standard. I may give the band one more chance sometime since I've been told by NIGHTWISH fans that Century Child is not their strongest effort. Still, it's not high on my priority list; I was a bit disappointed. But since the good outweighs the bad, I give it 3 stars...but still, some of the other albums I've given 3 stars I consider better than Century Child.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to FloydWright (BETA) | Report this review (#52186)
Posted Monday, October 17, 2005 | Review Permalink
gothic_dude_1
5 stars Century Child what can be said? it is a stunning album and it was the first album i ever bought of nightwish's in 2002and then other people bought it only because Once! most people would class Once as the best album but arguably i would have to say the best album is hands down Century Child. Just from the opener Bless the child you know its gunna be good. then on comes End of all hope which sounds like a typical nightwish song that has you mad. then Dead to the world comes in with simply Marco and Tarja singing the lines "All the same take me away we're dead to the dead" and then just explodes. Ever dream leads you into a full sense of security by makeing you think its going to be a slow piano ballad untill it becomes heavier. Then Slaying the dreamer which it just an amazing song, and is the only song that Nightwish have ever written that has a swear word in it. the line being "you bastards, tainted my soul, raped my word, played me a fool, leave me be!". Then comes Forever yours most people will slag this song off because it sounds like the titanic song and because its to soft. Well in my opinion it is the best song Nightwish have ever writen and i love the song. The comes Ocean soul which takes up the pace of the album a bit more prepairing for whats to come as Forever yours is bacicly giving you a breack and then they come back to take you to what else is to come and this song does it the best. Feel for you is a great song and has a very odd bass intro but the way the vocals are use are great. Phantom of the opera is an amazing song! i love the way Tarja and Marco entwine their vocals together its great and a very memorable moment from the album. Beauty of the beast is a 10 minute long extravagant and is the closer for the album and what a better way to do that with 3 songs thrown into one! their is a song like this on Once that every one will know called Ghost love score but just so you know this album had a 10 minute song on it way before Once. so all in all an amazing and although i am sad to hear that Tarja has been fired from nightwish now we still have these albums to remember their old sound before this new singer comes in.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#55620)
Posted Wednesday, November 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
3 stars After the outstanding album "Wishmaster", I was expecting for the next Nightwish album another masterpiece. Knowing that Marco Hietala (from Tarot - a great straightforward metal band) had joined the band, I was even more confident. But what a disappointment! Half of the songs are still great, but the other half are very poor.

The album starts with "Bless The Child". I don't know, but this song seems to lack the "spirit" of the usual Nightwish compositions. Fortunately, the following song "End Of All Hope" brings back the full power of the band's music. "Dead To The World" is the first song with Marco's voice but again it sounds flat. "Ever Dream" is the total opposite: here Marco's voice completes perfectly Tarja's voice and the music is very melodic again. "Slaying The Dreamer" is another heavy song, and another low moment. As usual with Nightwish, the second part of the album is the best part. Here it starts with the beautiful ballad "Forever Yours" (really emotional, the most mellow track the band ever wrote), a nice relaxing moment followed by the great song "Ocean Soul", a Therion-like operatic moment. "The Phantom Of The Opera" is a real classic opera song redone with the Nightwish style. But the centerpiece of the album is surely the last song, "Beauty Of The Beast": a 10+ minute epic song in three parts, with a lot of mood changes.

Rating: 79/100

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to zaxx (BETA) | Report this review (#65748)
Posted Friday, January 20, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars This is Nightwish's fourth studio record and is the best album IMO but best is too overused!!!. Unlike the previous I have heard this album is more harder sounding, Orchestra is less of a role here and is stepped aside with some good guitar work.

A mix of Prog Metal, Symphonic and softer rock tunes, Tarja Turanen's operatic singing and orchestration still gives it that symphonic sound.

Lloyd- Webber/Rice's "Phantom of the opera" is covered and is a very good cover too, also my favourite, 5/5!!!.

"Bless the Child" A brilliant symphonic track and feature hard rocking guitars and powerful singing , a brilliant melodic symphonic metal track and scores 4/5!!!

"End of all Hope" My favourite power symphonic track, with attitude, absolutely stunning, 5/5!!!

"Dead To The World" A different vocalist add the role here and he is very good, extremelt talented singer mixes well eith the main lead vocalists voice, the music as usual has good orchestral compositions and complexity, is a excellent track, 4/5!!!.

"Ever Dream" Nightwish use their own unique intro and is an excellent track, 4/5!!!

"Slaying the Dreamer" I agree with the reviwer who said this song at some parts sounds like Megadeth, I know this as I like their music, excellent symphonic metal, and has the resembalance to my 80s metal heroes Megadeth, 5/5!!!

"Forever Yours"

Forever Yours is 4 minutes long and a ballad song (I am not a big fan of ballads!!!), to whimpy for me, a poor track, and it is awful for Nightwish to have a poor track as they are so good, shame, 2/5!!!

"Ocean Soul"

Ocean Soul will make up for Forever Yours, as it is a bit more upbeat, a bit more upbeat but not much, an average slump, 2/5!!!

"Feel For You"

Feel For You again is 4 minutes long, a slow song but not offputting at all, very dramatic and Tarja and Marco sing very well, orchestration thrown in for good cause, very good but not excellent, 4/5!!!

"Phantom of the Opera" a good cover version and is my favourite track on the album, much better from some of those soppy tracks and make up well for that matter, Nightwish has done the right move covering this, be terrible if they covered "Barbie Girl" (joke aside!!!), again Tarja and Marco do a brilliant effort with the vocals, 5/5!!!, errie organ intro (but I like it!!!)

"Beauty Of The Beast"

10 minutes long, now were getting into 70s Prog territory now (the long timings I mean!!!), this is an interesting epic track, very symphonic and lovely orchestrated (only in progmetal I do orchestras) , a magnifique creme de le creme song, 5/5!!!

Album cover design is lush and progressive, prog to the eye, it tempts you to buy this and so it should!!!.

FINAL VERDICT:

A fantasic LP and is recommended 99%!!!

A total score of 10 / 10!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to craig4 (BETA) | Report this review (#66699)
Posted Wednesday, January 25, 2006 | Review Permalink
1 stars I never considered Nightwish prog, and I probably never will. I also can't admit that their operatic metal style really impressed me all too much. However, I was drawn into the band by the beautiful vocals of Tarja and became a moderate fan. However, excluding the impressive closing effort, "Beauty Of The Beast," the Nightwish style is diluted on Century Child in favor of a more commercial, aggressive metal approach. Many of the operatic elements are downplayed and the keyboards get pushed into a backing role.

This is the heaviest Nightwish album I've run across and the most Metallica-esque. The album consists of a mix of heavy songs with chugging guitars and sing-a-long choruses and softer ballads that are pretty bland. Then the album closes with a fantastic 10 min epic melding all the trademarks of Nightwish beautifully together. The closer is the only reason that I ever put this album on for a spin. Even so while I adore the closing track I would not call it prog. I see little interest in this album even for Nightwish fans and much less for people looking for some solid prog-metal.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Equality 7-2521 (BETA) | Report this review (#129139)
Posted Wednesday, July 18, 2007 | Review Permalink
2 stars Why do I get the impression that I heard this before? Because "Century Child" is an "Onceanborn" - remastered version. Unlike the 1998 release this album has a far better production:loud guitar riffs, more natural keys and true drums. However the melodies don't seem to match the level of production. I am very disappointed by the heavy metal guitars that roam around the acoustic area:no complexity, no solos, no nothing. The vocals of Tarja prove her proficiency in operatic singing but I do not enjoy the way it practically makes a lot of references to the new age soundtrack of Lord of The Rings. In fact Toumas admits he is very influenced by this film to whom I don't particularly give credit that much. In spite of this fact, people still consider Nightwish a band with a symphonic atmosphere. Their entire discography, and this album as well, is not symphonic because firstly, musically, nothing reaches the complexity of symphony, secondly, no album (except "Once") was recorded using a orchestra and thirdly, the samplers are way to synthetic to be called symphonic. Actually, the style tends to be more power than gothic, because of the "happy" keyboard work by Tuomas Holopainen. There are some nice tracks thou, like "Slaying the Dreamer" (a true demonic, nasty, power/goth metal piece of music), "The Phantom of the Opera" (an adaptation of the theme used in the film). In conclusion, eh, way to happy for me this album... and undoubtedly NOT prog !!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Zarec (BETA) | Report this review (#140844)
Posted Friday, September 28, 2007 | Review Permalink
russellk
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars The welcome addition of MARCO HIETALA on bass (and occasional vocals) reinvigorated NIGHTWISH. Their previous studio album, 'Wishmaster', was less than it ought to have been, and they compounded this error by trying to capitalise on the admittedly excellent song 'Over The Hills and Far Away' by packaging it with live material and flogging it as a full album. What they needed was some strong material, and HIETALA helped them provide it.

Simply put, this album contains songs that are sonically larger than those of their peers. Enormous, in fact. The louder you play them the better they get. Their brand of symphonic metal relied much less on ridiculous soloing or cheesy power chords and much more on melody and restraint (well, in the context of the genre, anyway). Their meticulous production gives the music tremendous depth: just listen to the exhilarating opening to 'End of All Hope': they exploit the limitless possibilities of TURUNEN's voice, supporting it with solid playing and majestic stabbing chords that suggest DVORAK or MAHLER as much as anything from the metal pantheon. Not for a moment do they sound like they are making noise for the sake of it.

Of course, I'm not for a moment comparing NIGHTWISH to the masters of nineteenth century classical music. I'm merely giving you an idea of how this music is flavoured.

As with all NIGHTWISH albums, the songs are of variable quality. There are tracks of such quality that, were they all of this level, 'Century Child' would be a five-star album - or, taking other tracks (such as 'Dead To The World'), a two-star album. HIETALA is feeling his way throughout the album; it seems that the band doesn't yet know what to do with his voice, employing him mainly as a 'clean' vocalist.

The treat here is the conclusion to the album. NIGHTWISH do a splendid, menacing rendition of 'Phantom of the Opera', which acts as a prelude to their first true epic, 'Beauty of the Beast'. While the fans may not agree, this is what they were born to do: longer tracks with a 'soundtrack' feel.

A good album, building towards something great.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to russellk (BETA) | Report this review (#143742)
Posted Thursday, October 11, 2007 | Review Permalink
Finnforest
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Stick with the live shows unless a certified fan

Nightwish is one of those guilty pleasure bands that is almost impossible not to like even if you question their inclusion as progressive..anything. Occasionally the cheese factor can be very high but once hooked by the unique vocals, like a car crash it can be hard to look away. I came to know Nightwish by watching their live DVDs before listening to their studio albums. After watching their very good live act, the studio album becomes quite a deflating experience. In the live setting this band is extremely engaging and entertaining, their considerable power is breathtaking to behold. Those attributes do not transfer adequately to "Century Child." The songs here seem to suffer death by production. The album is so over-produced that it sounds almost mechanical, the guitar/bass/drums fused into a single wall of sound. Impressive in one way as Russell mentioned, by the fact that this album does sound better the louder you play it. But the real spark in the individual's personal performances are all but drowned. It's really difficult for me to appreciate the material in the confines of this production, the sameness of the sound, the relative coldness. I would like to hear more of an organic warmth like that which comes through live. Even Tarja's passionate singing seems oddly constricted by the album's sound, except on tracks like "Forever Yours" where the band is toned way down. The keyboard sound is dreadfully sugary. The best moment is the long closer "Beauty of the Beast" which is undeniably effective with its wider variety of sound.interesting parts, orchestration, thematic drama. If only the whole album were at that level it would help overcome the homogeneous sound. I would suggest that the two live DVDs are where the real mojo of Nightwish resides and that you should check them out even if you are a bit underwhelmed by the studio albums. They are fun whether you consider them progressive or not. 2 stars and mostly of interest to fans.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Finnforest (BETA) | Report this review (#166933)
Posted Monday, April 14, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars Great Nightwish album, maybe their best effort. Heavier and much more complex Most prog elements than Wishmaster, and so much variety of sounds.. Good symphonic keyboards, and nice operatic Mezzo-Soprano voice by Tarja

Maybe is not too progressive, but this album have great instrumental passages, tempo changes and odd time signatures.

Best songs are End of all Hope, Bless the Child and Beauty of the Beast

Recomendable for all who like great operatic voices, Doble bass drums, heavy guitars and amazing keyboards.

4,5 Stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Kurpij (BETA) | Report this review (#172058)
Posted Friday, May 23, 2008 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars The more I listen to "Nightwish", the more I feel that their music is closely related to "Ayreon". While the latter is probably more guitar oriented, the former is using more keyboards sounds, which probably can suggest a proggier approach (to be determined).

The daunting voice from Tarja Turunen is definitely a distinctive characteristic. Very little band (if any) can count on such a special "organ". Still, if one listens to several "Nightwish" albums in a row, this superb asset can become somewhat monochord.

The songs featured on this album, are close to the rock-opera sounds; and I have more the impression to listen to a (metal?rock) musical than a standard album. Don't get me wrong: the music is well crafted and powerful, the band is quite well surrounded by the orchestra. But too few songs really appeal to me. Very few moments do I have to say: gosh!

The heavy parts of a song like "Slaying The Dreamer" just leave me totally cold and alien to this type of music. Pure heavy metal for most of the song; press next to avoid indigestion. The weak "Feel For You" is not a great moment either. Flat and predictable.

The contrast with "Forever Yours" is quite brutal: this one is a soft folk rock composition closer to the sweet "Mostly Autumn" and I have to admit that this is not to dislike me. "Ocean Soul" is another bombastic rock ballad. Fine to break the global atmosphere for sure.

Most of the compositions are on the short edge (except a couple of songs). One of my fave is their interpretation of the title track of the West End / Broadway musical "Phantom Of The Opera". Powerful rendition (no wonder) but is this what we should expect from this sort of band? A cover of a musical?

The mini epic and closing track saves the bill and brings the album into good territories (from average). Some more passion, a deep bombastic feel, theme changes and not too many metal lines. A very good combination after all.

Three stars for this album. An improvement in comparison with their prior "Wishmaster".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#241568)
Posted Saturday, September 26, 2009 | Review Permalink
2 stars With the departure of "Sami Vänskä," the bassist for the arrival of "Marco Hietala," which would also have stakes in the vocals, the first perception was that the band had become heavier, at least this was the first impression last song on the album, "Bless the child". The music itself does not say much.

With "End of all hope" it is confirmed what initially was just an impression, the band's sound had become heavier in fact. "Tarja Turunen" slightly reduces the opera singing. The band becomes heavier than any previous album but the tracks so far have been more direct, losing some of the variations used in "Oceanborn" and "Wishmaster".

The voice of "Marco Hietala" with "Tarja Turunen" not excited face, at least not on the track "Dead to the world." There is nothing to say about the instrumental part, impeccable.Although in general the sum range is reasonable.

With "Ever Dream" the band's sound is a bit cloying, a little embarrassed. The impression one gets is that they lost something in his tone. While the instrumental part individually shown to be more competent the community seems to go wrong.

If in "Wishmaster" There is anxiety on each track, here is the opposite desire. No matter how heavy the band has become with their riffs, double pedals, aggressive bass, screaming vocals ... "Slaying the dreamer" in certain parts is more audible, but not save the album.

A moment's peace with "Forever yours." What seemed to be a beautiful ballad becomes something boring.

"Ocean Soul" is another average song on an album also average.

The band try to be different and want to overcome is a respectful attitude, however you must have humility to admit mistakes and try to improve. For those who like the album, "Feel for You", is to consecrate the sound of "Century Child", for those who did not appreciate, "Feel for You" serves to symbolize the sameness of "Century Child".

The best track on the album is not authored by the band ... "The Phantom of the Opera."

"Beauty of the Beast" closes the album. Perhaps there is some injustice in saying that "The Phantom of the Opera" is the best on the album, there is also space for "Beauty of the Beast."

It is clear that the musicians and the voice of "Tarja" evolved greatly, however the impression here is that they failed to reconcile technical, creativity and emotion.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Vobiscum (BETA) | Report this review (#745259)
Posted Friday, April 27, 2012 | Review Permalink

NIGHTWISH Century Child ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of NIGHTWISH Century Child


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.30 seconds