Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Buldozer Nova vremena - Izbor pjesama 1975-1983  album cover
3.00 | 3 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1989

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Novo vrijeme
2. Smrt Morisona Dzima
3. Djevojcice
4. Okrutni bogovi Istoka
5. Slovenija
6. Zene i muskarci
7. Bluz gnjus
8. Slovinjak punk
9. Mrtvaci
10. Helga
11. Odmah kazi da
12. Yes My Baby, No

Line-up / Musicians

- Boris Bele / guitar, vocal
- Borut Cinc / keyboards
- Andrej Veble / bass, vocal
- Dusan Vran / drums
- Janez Zmazek / guitar
- Uros Lovsin / guitar

Releases information

CD Helidon 6.751005 (1989 Yugoslavia)

Thanks to seyo for the addition
and to seyo for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BULDOZER Nova vremena - Izbor pjesama 1975-1983 Music

No release results - showing artist results instead

More places to buy BULDOZER music online Buy BULDOZER & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

BULDOZER Nova vremena - Izbor pjesama 1975-1983 ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BULDOZER Nova vremena - Izbor pjesama 1975-1983 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Seyo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars This issue of BULDOZER is more of a historical merit, since it was the very first domestic CD release in the former Yugoslavia, published by a domestic label and representing a domestic artist. It is a compilation, sort of "greatest hits", of some better and more popular works by BULDOZER. But, it is far from being definitive - only two tracks from their debut masterpiece "Pljuni istini u oci" and even three tracks from the disastrous "Nevino srce". For the first time listeners of BULDOZER, it can act as a brief introduction and overview of their capabilities.
Review by clarke2001
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Maybe not the best possible compilation of this band, but nice start for those who are absolutely clueless. This compilation includes few gems, such are "Smrt Morisona Dzima" (Death of Jim Morrison), "Djevojcice" (Girls), "Yes My Baby, No" and "Okrutni Bogovi Istoka" (Cruel Gods of East). The rest of material is punky, or just mainstream, but always with sharp satirical lyrics. Their unique sound is some combination of psychedelia and new wave, with slightly darkish mood, so typical for Slovenian bands.

1. Novo Vrijeme (New Time) New Wave tune with lyrics criticising political environment. Few nice solos and bridges are placing this song out of new wave cliche.

2. Smrt Morisona Dzima (The Death Of Jim Morrison) This tune is difficult to describe; it's based on Balkan folk chants that are usually accompanied only with gusle, one-string folk instrument. These chants usually contains verses made of 10 syllables, therefore this track is written in 5/4 time measure, with slight touch of psych Manzarek-like organ. 3. Djevojcice (Girls) Nice multipart song with wicked (almost paedophile?) sense of humour. However, careful listener can conclude that this is more criticism on government and society than perv's desire.

4. Okrutni Bogovi Istoka (Cruel Gods Of East) Brilliant, mad psychedelic track with nice sitar solo and quite scary atmosphere. There is no singing, only recital explaining how drugs affects young man's brain.

5. Slovenija (Slovenia) Simple but nice rock tune, hommage to BULDOZER's native country. A touch of humour is omnipresent, as well as implicit sex allusions. Sung in Croatian, not Slovenian.

6. Zene i Muskarci (Men and Women) Ha! Disco-reggae. Strong satirical comment about relationship between a men and a women in society, again spiced with quirky humour.

7. Bluz gnjus (Disgusting Blues) Musically, this is just another blues. Lyrically, I won't even try to translate or describe it. It is really disgusting. 8. Slovinjak Punk (Slovenian Punk) Nice mixture of punk and polka. Lyrics about booze, booze and some more booze. The only song on this compilation sung in Slovenian language.

9. Mrtvaci (Dead Men) Darkish tune with nice, almost Science-Fiction lyrics. Not prog, but brilliant.

10. Helga One of the weaker tracks, and not very progressive at all.

11. Odmah Kazi Da (Say Yes Immediately) Same here.

12. Yes My Baby, No A masterpiece. However it is really hard task to describe it, with it's multiparts structure and absolute lyrical nonsense.

At the end of the day, this is an excellent compilation of an excellent band, but if you do not understand the language, you are missing most of it; especially if you consider the fact that they were stepping into new wave/punk waters more often than your average late 70s prog rock band. However, they have nice, dark atmospheres, songs are developed nicely and usually the consists in more different parts; and they have nice psychedelic guitar solos and Hammond/synths layers thrown in.

Final rating should be 4/5, but considering the fact that most of the people won't understand the lyrics, I'm going for 3/5.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BULDOZER "Nova vremena - Izbor pjesama 1975-1983 "

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives