Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Progressive Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Adagio Dominate album cover
3.57 | 65 ratings | 12 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

Buy ADAGIO Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Dominate (5:59)
2. Fire Forever (4:11)
3. Terror Jungle (5:16)
4. Children Of The Dead Lake (6:04)
5. R'Lyeh The Dead (8:25)
6. The Darkitecht (6:19)
7. Kissing The Crow (2:28)
8. Fame (4:02)

Total time 42:44

Line-up / Musicians

- Gus Monsanto / vocals
- Stéphan Forté / guitar, vocals, composer, co-producer
- Kevin Codfert / keyboards, co-producer
- Franck Hermanny / bass
- Eric Lebailly / drums

Releases information

Artwork: Anthony De Souza

CD Double Vision ‎- 70022640622 (2006, France)

Thanks to vaiccoco for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ADAGIO Dominate Music

More places to buy ADAGIO music online

ADAGIO Dominate ratings distribution

(65 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(34%)
Good, but non-essential (37%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)

ADAGIO Dominate reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by b_olariu
3 stars My second review on this band named Adagio. I find myself not enjoing so much this album in comparation with the great Underworld. Something is not working here, and i don't know what, is it the new voice, is the lack of great ideas of Stéphan Forté / guitars, piano and Kevin Codfert / keyboards, the result is a 3 star album, not bad, but not their best. I think Underworl is the best they ever done. Even if this relese is only a 3 star album, i can recommended, if only for the tracks R'Lyeh The Dead and The Darkitecht the best from here and maybe the most inventive tracks. 3 stars

Latest members reviews

2 stars I am the first one to admit that just the thought of power metal fills me with dread. It is one of my least favorite music styles from this planet & further afield. This album really plays on all the strings I do not like. Pompeous, over inflated sound is what this album brings my speakers and ... (read more)

Report this review (#441284) | Posted by toroddfuglesteg | Sunday, May 1, 2011 | Review Permanlink

3 stars When I talk about the combination of metal, classical music influences and progressive, I always take in mind Adagio's music. I would say that Stephan Forté and his band were a particular experience for my hearings when I listened the debut album (Sanctus Ignis) by first time a few years ago. Yea ... (read more)

Report this review (#216653) | Posted by Epsilon | Tuesday, May 19, 2009 | Review Permanlink

5 stars The third work of the French metal band progressive in which Mr. Forté is the host of the total composition of the disc, in general a great production that although does not have the impressive symphonic sound of "Underworld" if it tastes aggressive but, the virtuosity this present and the cha ... (read more)

Report this review (#88552) | Posted by Shelket | Wednesday, August 30, 2006 | Review Permanlink

4 stars After the first album, SANCTUS IGNIS, which was a slightly unfinished attempt at Symphonic Metal mixed with some Hard Rock Influences, and UNDERWORLD, an incredibly gripping album with a sound lacking some finish on especially the guitar sound, french Progressive Symphonic Metal Band Adagio tends ... (read more)

Report this review (#84557) | Posted by Dark Revelation | Saturday, July 22, 2006 | Review Permanlink

5 stars This is a brilliant metal album, for progressive metal fans. They play a style of neo-classical metal, with lots of piano parts in it. Imagine Beethoven mixed with heavy metal. They've got a new vocalist who hsa great singing voice - quite rough as opposed to the cheesy vocal of say, Stratova ... (read more)

Report this review (#80257) | Posted by | Saturday, June 3, 2006 | Review Permanlink

3 stars I'm about to review for me the biggest disappointing album for the beginning of 2006, so it is gonna be a bit longer than usual. If I had to review this album after only one listen, I would have given only one star - really felt the inspiration was gone. But listen after listen I changed my mi ... (read more)

Report this review (#77508) | Posted by zaxx | Monday, May 8, 2006 | Review Permanlink

3 stars This was a much anticipated release for me. I truly have enjoyed the previous Adagio releases and the addition of Gus Monsanto to replace David Readman is most note worthy and worth the wait. Super voice Gus! However, I was quite surprised (taken back actually) at the departure from their ... (read more)

Report this review (#68350) | Posted by progman55 | Saturday, February 4, 2006 | Review Permanlink

4 stars If I were to rate this album on songs 2-7 it would receive 6 stars, these songs are that great! I love to hear music that captures many different styles. In this case I hear progressive metal, power metal, progressive rock and extreme prog metal. What a great disc (or 3/4 of a disc)! The f ... (read more)

Report this review (#65271) | Posted by | Tuesday, January 17, 2006 | Review Permanlink

4 stars This is a great album. It is different then thier other two albums. I wouldn't say this sounds like Symphony X because they are more progressive then this adagio album. Great Solo's and guitar work. I wish there were more keyboard work esp. the piano work like there was on underworld. I t ... (read more)

Report this review (#64690) | Posted by | Saturday, January 14, 2006 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Still Listining ... I Received it from Japan because I'm a Hudge Fan of Underworld And Sanctus Ignis. Where Are You Stephan ? What I'd Like in the other albums was the quality of the Neo-classical construction of the music ... but this time it sounds more like Symphony X Than Adagio ... This is ... (read more)

Report this review (#63347) | Posted by | Friday, January 6, 2006 | Review Permanlink

4 stars This album comes across very differently in comparison to Underworld and Sanctus Ignis. The Underworld album introduced Adagio fans to an interesting cross between symphonic progressive metal and dark vocals, with occasional growling and screaming. Yet, on Dominate, the vocals have taken on bot ... (read more)

Report this review (#62602) | Posted by kashedguy | Saturday, December 31, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ADAGIO "Dominate"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.