Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Electric Light Orchestra

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Electric Light Orchestra Zoom Tour Live album cover
3.70 | 22 ratings | 2 reviews | 36% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Program Start: Do Ya
2. Evil Woman
3. Shodown
4. Strange Magic
5. Livin' Thing
6. Alright
7. Lonesome Lullabye
8. Telephone Line
9. Turn To Stone
10. Just For Love
11. Easy Money
12. Mr. Blue Sky
13. Ma-Ma-Ma Belle
14. One Summer Dream
15. Tightrope
16. State Of Mind
17. Can't Get It Out Of My Head
18. Moment In Paradise
19. 10538 Overture
20. Ordinary Dream
21. Shine A Little Love
22. Don't Bring Me Down
23. Roll Over Beethoven
24. End Credits

Total time 98 min

Bonus features:
1. Interview with Jeff Lynne

Line-up / Musicians

- Jeff Lynne / lead vocals, electric guitars, acoustic Guitars
- Richard Tandy / piano, keyboards
- Rosie Vela / vocals
- Marc Mann / keyboards, guitars, vocals, cello arrangements
- Gregg Bissonette / drums, vocals
- Matt Bissonette / bass, vocals
- Peggy Baldwin / cello
- Sarah O'Brian / cello

Releases information

DVD Image Entertainment ID1334DDVD (2001)

Thanks to dark_mustaine for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry


More places to buy ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA music online

ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA Zoom Tour Live ratings distribution

(22 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(36%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(41%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Guillermo
3 stars There really wasn`t a "Zoom Tour". Due to lack of ticket sales, the tour to promote the "Zoom" album with this new line-up of ELO was canceled. So, this concert was recorded for a TV programme.

The musicians in the band are very good, of course, but the main musicians, IMO, are Lynne and keyboard player Richard Tandy, the other oldest member (with Lynne too) in the band. Lynne still has a very good voice and Tandy plays very well the keyboard parts. Tandy is also assisted in some keyboard parts by additional keyboards played by the other guitarist in the band, Marc Mann. The band plays mainly the hits, and some songs from the "Zoom" album. While I still consider it as a good concert, it still shows, like the DVD of the "Out of the Blue Tour", why Lynne didn`t like very much to release live albums or videos from the band: the studio recordings were very good productions, with a lot of sound effects and overdubs which were difficult to reproduce in concert. So, despite having a big band on stage, the songs still don`t sound as good as the studio versions. But I still consider this DVD as a good offer from Lynne to ELO`s Fans.

Review by Ivan_Melgar_M
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Symphonic Prog Specialist
4 stars 3.5 Would be more accurate

Yesterday came early from work and the pool I bought for my nephews was empty, so decided to combat the heat with music, went to my room, checked my oldest DVD's, (specially those that I rarely watch) and something made me take "Zoom" which I saw from start to end with nostalgia and pleasure.

Lets start from the beginning so nobody feels cheated, this is not ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA, it's more "Jeff Lynne", "Richard Tandy" & Friends, play ELO music, but despite this fact, it's an excellent DVD that I enjoyed a lot.

As ELO did in they're heyday, the band combines efficiently Rock and Orchestral elements and every musician does his/her job, Jeff sings with that emotion and charisma he can only provide, the Bissonette brothers and Marc Mann add the Rock element, while Richard Tandy and the two cellists (Peggy Baldwin & Sarah O'Brian) take care of the orchestral arrangements.

It's also necesary to mention the beautiful "Rosie Vela" who perfectly supports Jeff with the higher ranges he can't reach any more.

The song selection covers from the first ELO album to a couple of "Zoom" tracks, all performed more than correctly with a excellent image and sound.

Even though it's not the band I grew listening, I enjoyed listening classics as "Evil Woman", "Livin' Thing" and "10538 Overture" in the unique style of Jeff Lynne plus an incredible work by "Richard Tandy", "Peggy Baldwin" and "Sarah O'Brian" making the job of at least six or seven musicians in the classical/orchestral component, so important in ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA'S music.

Normally I wouldn't rate this DVD with more than 3 stars, but being that it's the only visual document with "Jeff Lynne" that has an excellent sound and image it's essential for any ELO fan, so four stars is the closer I can get to the rating of 3.5 that I would had chosen if possible.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA "Zoom Tour Live"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.