Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Mother Gong

Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mother Gong Robot Woman 2 album cover
2.32 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 11% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1982

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Suggestive Station (3:28)
2. This Train (4:47)
3. I Wanna Be With You (4:43)
4. The Moving Walkway (1:55)
5. The Upwardly Mobile Song (1:27)
6. Tigers or Elephants (3:21)
7. Mirror (2:53)
8. You Can Touch the Sky (All Work No Play) (4:37)
9. 1999 (4:41)
10. Crazy Town (3:05)
11. The Angry Song (4:27)
12. My Life (2:08)
13. Leotards (3:12)

Total Time: 44:44

Line-up / Musicians

- Gilli Smyth / vocals
- Harry Williamson / guitar, synth, bass (6-8,10,12), bells & windchimes (6), piano (1,12), lead (1-3,10) & backing (1,2,9,11) vocals
- Didier Malherbe / saxophone (1-3,8,9), flute (2,6,8,11)
- Dane Kronenberg / bass
- Guy Evans / drums, timpani (1,8), scraper (6), Flexitone (6,9), tube drums (7), percussion & Fx (8), paper drum (9,13), Chinese cymbal (13)

- Giles Perring / guitar & vocals (2,9), Fx (9)
- Mo Vicarage / synth (4)
- Andy Anderson / drums (4)
- Ermanno Ghizio-Erba / drums (4)
- Sadak / drums (4)
- Dave The Wave / vocals (5)
- Paul Sanchez / bass (5)
- Chris Kerridge / lead guitar (10,11), conch (6)
- Hugo The Gander / performer (6)
- Claire Jones / backing vocals (7,11)
- Toni / vocals (8,12)
- Dave Sawyer / percussion (10), paper drum (13)

Releases information

Artwork: Pete Woolley

LP Shanghai ‎- HAI 100 (1982, UK)

Thanks to BaldJean for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MOTHER GONG Robot Woman 2 Music

More places to buy MOTHER GONG music online

MOTHER GONG Robot Woman 2 ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(11%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(11%)
Good, but non-essential (22%)
Collectors/fans only (11%)
Poor. Only for completionists (44%)

MOTHER GONG Robot Woman 2 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Tom Ozric
3 stars The original GONG, featuring Daevid Allen and his partner Gilli Smyth fragmented by the mid-70's, with drummer/percussionist Pierre Moerlen taking the band into jazzier realms. By the end of the decade, Gilli had formed a close relationship with another fellow musician, Harry Williamson, resulting in her parting with Daevid for some time. After cutting a solo album 'Mother' (which I haven't heard) she put together Mother Gong, a band continuing in a similar, quirky vein to Gong. Perhaps in reaction to the famed 'Radio Gnome' Trilogy, Smyth had constructed the 'Robot Woman' trilogy, stating her feminist viewpoints and response to all that 'Women's Lib' stuff. Musically speaking, the band featured such free-thinking, progressive musicians as Guy Evans (VDGG) on drums/perc., and Didier Malherbe (Gong) on flutes and saxes, with guests such as Steve Hillage and Hugh Hopper passing through the ranks.

Robot Woman 2 became increasingly 'new-wave' sounding, but still highly creative and fun, the music being more of a back-drop to Gilli's ranting, although if one has the patience to hear what is going on and how certain results are achieved, the music can strike you as being quite colourful and psychedelic. This is, of course, my perception - it has taken me many years to fully appreciate what this album has to offer The original vinyl LP contains a big fold-out poster which may be assembled into a comic book, explaining the story and concept in visual form. Whilst losing the edge off the first Robot Woman release, this 2nd installment is still a fine album which flows along smoothly and should appeal to the psych/space crowd nicely.

Latest members reviews

1 stars 75 words is just to many to say awful with. The presence of Guy evens made this an essential purchase for me, all those years ago. However I have played it on a few times since. If the aim was to follow a poor album like Robot woman with a worse one then the band achieved that here. Mother Go ... (read more)

Report this review (#92965) | Posted by burgersoft777 | Monday, October 2, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MOTHER GONG "Robot Woman 2"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.