Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Sonus Umbra

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Sonus Umbra Digging For Zeroes  album cover
3.41 | 39 ratings | 3 reviews | 13% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2005

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Zero (2:03)
2. Scream (2:53)
3. Sleepwalkers (2:16)
4. Children Of Cain (0:53)
5. The Laughter Of The Dead (2:08)
6. Foreshadows (2:16)
7. Invisible World (4:44)
8. Serial Grounds (1:46)
9. Infestation (7:09)
10. Spleen (2:54)
11. Bloodstains In Paradise (5:59)
12. Meme Puppet Waltz (3:12)
13. Dead Numbers (1:53)
14. Devil's Promise (1:52)
15. Aleph (3:28)
16. The Great Fall Inwards (4:57)
17. The Music Of The Primes (4:26)
18. From The Ashes (0:54)
19. Pariah (3:26)
20. Infinity (2:10)

Total Time: 61:18

Line-up / Musicians

- Luis Nasser / bass, acoustic & crunch guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
- Ricardo Gomez / electric & acoustic guitars
- Jeff Laramee / percussion, vocals
- Pablo Garcia / keyboards & vocals
- Andy Tillotson / acoustic & electric guitars, backing vocals
- Lisa Francis / vocals

- Adam Zygmunt / French horn (20)

Releases information

CD Independent (2005)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy SONUS UMBRA Digging For Zeroes Music

More places to buy SONUS UMBRA music online

SONUS UMBRA Digging For Zeroes ratings distribution

(39 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(13%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(44%)
Good, but non-essential (41%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SONUS UMBRA Digging For Zeroes reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by erik neuteboom
3 stars Sonus Umbra is a Mexican six piece band (with additional guest musicians) that has released their third album late 2005. The running time is at about one hour and this CD contains 20 melodic, tasteful and very varied compositions: an electronic atmosphere with wonderful interplay by acoustic - and electric guitar along pleasant sounding keyboards in Zero, lots of shifting moods (from dreamy with twanging guitars to mid-tempo with a fat guitar riff or sultry with swinging piano) in Invisible World, first propulsive, then mellow and in the end fiery guitar with howling licks in Infestation, prog metal with raw vocals and biting guitar in Aleph and dreamy with piano arpeggio's and ... English horn in Infinity. My highlight is The Great Fall Inwards: first dreamy, then a mid-tempo with fiery guitar and flashy synthesizer flights and a final part featuring a bombastic climate with propulsive drums. If you are up to varied and melodic prog, this album is fine one to checkout.

Review by Mellotron Storm
3 stars This is SONUS UMBRA's third studio recording,and like the last one it is a concept album. Their vocalist has left so Lisa from KURGAN'S BANE has gone form a guest on the last album to a full time member. The male vocals are performed by the new drummer Jeff laramee. This album is more dynamic than the last one with more highs, but also more lows. Tough to pick a favourite between the two. There are 20 tracks over the 61 minutes of music but some of them blend into one another.

"Zero" opens with atmosphere as the guitar comes in sounding great. A beat follows then vocals come and go. It blends into "Scream" and kicks into gear. "Sleepwalkers" features a guitar melody and female vocals. It's fuller when it blends into "Children Of Cain". "The Laughter Of The Dead" opens with bass and marching styled drums. Synths then female vocals follow. It's heavier 2 minutes in. "Foreshadows" is filled with some cool samples. "Invisible World" opens with acoustic guitar as vocals join in. Great sound when it kicks in. Contrasts continue. "Serial Grounds" is atmospheric with spoken words. "Infestation" is a big low for me. Don't like this one at all especially the chorus. "Spleen" has a beat with guitar and reserved vocals. It does get fuller.

"Bloodstains In Paradise" opens with female vocals, drums and atmosphere. Guitar 1 1/2 minutes in. The tempo picks up after 3 minutes. It blends into "Meme Puppet Waltz" has lots of drums and acoustic guitar. "Dead Numbers" has female vocals and piano early. Synths, drums and male vocals follow as it blends into "Devil's Promise". "Aleph" has a nice heavy sound as vocals join in. Chunky bass too. "The Great Fall Inwards" has female vocals, acoustic guitar and is quite mellow before it kicks in. "The Music Of The Palms" opens with bass as vocals and acoustic guitar join in. It blends into "From The Ashes". "Pariah" features dual vocals and it gets heavier. "Infinity" opens with piano and builds slightly.

3.5 stars. I really think this band is worth taking a chance on.

Latest members reviews

4 stars What a wonderful album!After a first audition of this trully amazing album,all I can say is that I discovered indeed something exceptional and so well done that I am more than impressed! This album is the third of this so talented band and I must confess that I didn't had for a long time such ... (read more)

Report this review (#273022) | Posted by Ovidiu | Friday, March 19, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of SONUS UMBRA "Digging For Zeroes "

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.