Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Interference Sardines


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Interference Sardines Mare Crisium album cover
3.27 | 11 ratings | 1 reviews | 18% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1998

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Omar Crisium (8:15)
2. ... (0:15)
3. Apothéose (3:11)
4. ... (0:17)
5. Langoustine danse ou le vol de la sardine (5:26)
6. ... (0:32)
7. Ego Sum π (3:35)
8. La tasse vide (0:46)
9. Fsuite (4:26)
10. Soleil noir (2:13)
11. Petit royaume (2:12)
12. ... (0:12)
13. Mon tang rustre (2:15)
14. ... (0:27)
15. Mon mouton (4:14)
16. ... (1:10)
17. Danse rustre (3:19)
18. ... (0:12)
19. I wanna be a cocomber (17:20)

Total Time: 61:47

Line-up / Musicians

- Philippe Venne / guitars
- Frédéric Lebrasseur / drums
- Andrée Bilodeau / violin
- Jimmie LeBlanc / bass, acoustic guitar, vocals
- Lyne Goulet / saxophone, vocals

Guest musicians:
- Jean Archambault / synthesizers
- Nicolas Bonenfant / trombone
- Bernard Grondin & Patricia Higgins / Alto
- Nicolas Isabelle / trumpet
- Inti Manzi / violin
- Simon Lapointe / violoncello
- James Partaik / Soprano saxophone
- Andrée Bilodeau, Patrick Brown, Stéphane Dorval, Lyne Goulet, Serge Gravel, Lili Jodoin, Jean-Philippe Laflamme, Simon Lapointe, Marika Tousignant, Julie Tremblay, Marjolaine Verville & Maude Viens / chorus

Thanks to Sean Trane for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry


INTERFERENCE SARDINES Mare Crisium ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(18%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(45%)
Good, but non-essential (27%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars Second album (but impossible to date from the disc or its artwork) from these crazy Québecois, and a second strike at the bowling alley. They still have the same formula than on their debut album, hovering between countrymen Miriodor and Belgian Julverne

Lenghty (8 min+) opener and its Arab influences are a perfect intro to their crazy adventures never far away from chamber music, while the short untitled interlude leads onto a rather inaptly titled Apothéose. Fifth track Langoustine is gypsy-jazz dominated and seventh Ego Sum is a rather quiet affair approaching contemporary classical music (it might just be the highlight of the album). F Suite is much closer to Crimson improv from the Wetton-Bruford era and is a bit startling with its electric guitar and violin (the vast majority of instruments are acoustic on the album). Petit Royaume is the second of three sung tracks, and it is very similar to Nescalier on their debut while surprisingly loud Mon Tang Rustre and Mon Mouton are both notable tracks. Closing track is ending the album in a highly unusual and eclectic fashion and sung in English. Very bizarre and demented track ending after some roughly 10 mins, but ensues two minute of silence before a hidden track (a free form improv) takes over for some six more minutes

Both albums hold a bunch of short (and sometimes untitled) interludes that separate the main tracks with strange humorous ideas. Personally I prefer Zucchini (especially for the crazy closer Fuite), but it is a very tiny difference as both albums are absolutely worthy avant-prog albums.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of INTERFERENCE SARDINES "Mare Crisium"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.