Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Plackband Visions (DVD + CD) album cover
4.07 | 11 ratings | 1 reviews | 55% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

Tracklist DVD (recorded November 19th, 2004 at De Boerderij in Zoetermeer, The Netherlands):
1. The Battle/After The Battle
2. See The Dwarf
3. Little minds
4. Death And Lost Glory/Hunchback
5. The Good Earth
6. Pillow
7. Red Rain
8. Carpet Crawlers
9. Blues Flashes (In The Red Light District)
10. Seventy Warriors

Extra dvd features:
1. Visions Of Another Life (Lead vocals Kees Bik)
2. L'Enfant Du 92ème (Lead vocals Koos Sekrève)
3. The Making Of Visions Of A Concert (Special Audio Mix Of Little Minds)
4. Guests (Visions Of The Early Buyers)

Track list CD (same as DVD):
1. The Battle/After The Battle
2. See The Dwarf
3. Little minds
4. Death And Lost Glory/Hunchback
5. The Good Earth
6. Pillow
7. Red Rain
8. Carpet Crawlers
9. Blues Flashes (In The Red Light District)
10. Seventy Warriors

Line-up / Musicians

- Tom Van Der Meulen / drums, percussion
- Albert De Keijzer / bass, Moog Taurus bass pedals
- Ronald Brautigam / guitars, backing vocals
- Michel Van Wassem / keyboards, backing vocals
- Karel Messemaker / lead vocals, keyboards, guitar, percussion
- Gillis Nienhuis / didgeridoo on "Rain"
- Koos Sekrève / lead vocals on "L'Enfant Du 92ème"
- Kees Bik / lead vocals, keyboards on "Visions Of Another Life"

Releases information

Plackband PBDVD 200601 PBCD 200602
Sound format DVD: Dolby Digital 5.1 and 2.0/Picture format: PAL 4.3/Running time 122 minutes/Disc format DVD-9.
Also included a CD with the same track list as the 2004 concert in De Boerderij.

Thanks to erik neuteboom for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PLACKBAND Visions (DVD + CD) Music

More places to buy PLACKBAND music online Buy PLACKBAND & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

PLACKBAND Visions (DVD + CD) ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(55%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(27%)
Good, but non-essential (9%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (9%)

PLACKBAND Visions (DVD + CD) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by erik neuteboom
4 stars The first line-up from Plackband existed between 1977 and 1981, then they disbanded due to the usual problems like musical disputes and lack of money and interest from record companies. While other Dutch symphonic rock bands like Differences, Taurus, Ywis, Cirkel and Arkus succeeded to release a LP in those days, Plackband only managed to release the single Seventy Warriors. But in the late Nineties the band members started to meet each other again, everybody was super enthousiastic and one decided to re-found Plackband. And what a contrast: during their early years Plackband released only that single and now, after their re- union, the band has released the CD The Lost Tapes (a concert from 1981) in 2000, a CD-single entitled Remember Forever in 2001, a new CD After The Battle (with some re-recodings) in 2002 and this week the eagerly awaited DVD/CD entitled Visions, how prolific in comparison with the poor early years!

The lion share of the DVD contains a concert recorded in November 2004 featuring new singer Karel Messemaker. Plackband showcases their huge potential, what a professional and inspired band! We can enjoy their wonderful mid-Genesis inspired symphonic rock sound. But Plackband was more than a copycat, at some moments they added distinctive elements like the pleasant vocal harmonies, a jazzy flavor by keyboard player Michel Van Wassem and a rocky approach by guitarist Ronald Brautigam. Especially in the long first track The Battle/After The Battle delivering a great solo on the ARP Pro Solist synthesizer, a powerful and catchy guitar riff and a fiery wah- wah drenched solo on guitar. Drummer Tom Van Der Meulen does a decent job and the bass work by Albert De Keijzer is very flowing, he is a very underrated musician. Singer Karel Messemaker his voice is very similar to Peter Gabriel (he even has that hoarse 'timbre'), in the covers Red Rain and Carpet Crawlers he sounds excellent! Almost 1,5 hour Plackband treats us on strong renditions of their 'classics' See The Dwarf and Hunchback with great Mellotron samples, fat Moog Taurus bass pedals notes, sensitive electric guitar and fluent synthesizer runs. In The Good Earth is a captivating instrumental jam in which Ronald (subtle build-up solo) and Michel (exciting pitchbend driven synthesizer soli) show their skills. Way more than Genesis, their heroes, Plackband on stage played a lot of improvisations, extended soli and sursprising musical ideas, you can witness these distinctive elements on this DVD/CD. Plackband also delivered some less known songs like Little Minds, Pillow and Blue Flashes In The Red Light District but the 'total chemistry' is during the final song, 'stage favorite' Seventy Warriors: Michel plays a flashy synthesizer solo, Ronald a very compelling guitar solo and both gentlemen deliver exciting improvised interplay, their combination of skills and pleasure reminds me of Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson from Rush, almost emotional to watch this!

The extra's on the DVD are the tracks Visions Of Another Life (featuring the distinctive voice of Kees Bik and dia-images of the young died fan Paul Jeczek) and L'Enfant Du 92ème (with beautiful vocals from the recent singer Koos Sekrève), the docu The Making Of Visions Of A Concert and the 'collage' Guests that contains pictures from Plackband die-hard fans like Jan Vrolijk and Jerry Van Kooten. This set also includes a CD that contains the concert from 2004 in De Boerderij and a 16-page booklet with wonderful, often nostalgic pictures.


Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PLACKBAND "Visions (DVD + CD)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives