Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Nucleus Direct Hits album cover
4.08 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1976

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Song for the Bearded Lady (7:28)
2. Crude Blues, Pt. 1 (0:54)
3. Crude Blues, Pt. 2 (2:41)
4. Suspension (6:18)
5. Torso (4:54)
6. Bull Dance (8:22)
7. Taste of Sasparilla (0:39)
8. Roots (6:50)
9. Untitled Track (9:26)

Total Time: 50:33

Line-up / Musicians

- Roy Babbington / bass
- Gordon Beck / electric piano
- Bob Bertles / saxophone
- Ian Carr / trumpet, flugelhorn
- Jeff Clyne / bass
- Tony Coe / wind
- Aureo DeSouza / percussion
- Allan Holdsworth / guitar
- Karl Jenkins / keyboards, saxophones
- Chris Karan / percussion
- Tony Levin / drums
- Dave Macrae / electric piano
- John Marshall / drums
- Ron Matthewson / bass
- Jocelyn Pitchen / guitar
- Tony Roberts / wind
- Ken Shaw / guitar
- Brian Smith / Tenor & Soprano Saxophone, Alto & Bamboo flute
- Chris Spedding / guitar
- Bryan Spring / drums
- Roger Sutton / bass
- Clive Thacker / drums
- Trevor Tomkins / percussion
- Kenny Wheeler / trumpet
- Norma Winstone / vocals

Releases information

Compilation 'Best of Nucleus' album
Vertigo 9286 019
Reissued on BGOCD565

Thanks to avestin for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy NUCLEUS Direct Hits Music

Alleycat / Direct HitsAlleycat / Direct Hits
Bgo - Beat Goes on 2004
$9.95 (used)

More places to buy NUCLEUS music online Buy NUCLEUS & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

NUCLEUS Direct Hits ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(80%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

NUCLEUS Direct Hits reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Mellotron Storm
4 stars When NUCLUES left the Vertigo label after the studio album "Alley Cat" , Vertigo decided to release a retrospective album giving us one track from each of their first seven albums. A taste of the band as it were from over those years. So not really a greatest hits album at all but an overview of this legendary band. I should mention that the only way to get "Direct Hits" or "Alley Cat" new, is to get them together as a double cd package.

"Song For The Bearded Lady" is classic NUCLEUS from the "We'll Talk About It Later" album. This is all so intense until before 2 minutes when it calms down. It kicks back in after 6 minutes to the end. Not worthy ! "Crude Blues Pt. 1 & 2" is from "Elastic Rock" and it opens with Karl Jenkins on the aboe with gentle guitar helping out before it kicks in at part 2. Marshall leads on the drums before a full sound joins in fast.The horns (Carr & Smith) sound great on this one. "Suspension" is from "Belladonna" and features Alan Holdsworth on guitar while Babbington plays bass. Brian Smith opens with bamboo flute as electric piano joins in then bass. A beat and flugelhorn (Carr) follows.This is a relaxing and interesting ride.

"Torso" is from "Solar Plexus".This is uptempo and intricate with percussion and horns over top. So good. "Bull Dance" is from "Labyrinth".The bass and percussion create a great sounding rhythm as the horns join in.Vocal meldoies come and go. Fantasic sound here. We get a bass clarinet solo and a trumpet solo on this one. "Taste Of Sarsaparilla" is a short pastoral piece from "Under The Sun".

"Roots" is the title tracks from the "Roots" album.This is uptempo with some great sounding drum and horn work. It calms right down before 2 minutes then kicks back in with drums, bass and electric piano. Horns follow. "Untitled Track" isn't mentioned at all in the liner notes but i'm going to try to find out where it's from because it sounds incredible and has to be from one of their studio albums. A beat with electric piano and bass as the horns join in.They create a cool mood here.This is laid back with atmosphere. It does pick up at times. Just a killer track. 4 stars from this fanboy.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NUCLEUS "Direct Hits"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives