Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jefferson Airplane


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jefferson Airplane The Worst Of Jeffreson Airplane album cover
3.10 | 14 ratings | 4 reviews | 21% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1970

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. It's No Secret (2:40)
2. Blues From An Airplane (2:13)
3. Somebody To Love (2:57)
4. Today (3:00)
5. White Rabbit (2:32)
6. Embryonic Journey (1:52)
7. Martha (3:26)
8. The Ballad Of You & Me & Pooneil (4:29)
9. Crown Of Creation (2:53)
10. Chushingura (1:16)
11. Lather (2:55)
12. Plastic Fantastic Lover (3:44)
13. Good Shepherd (4:21)
14. We Can Be Together (5:48)
15. Volunteers (2:02)

In remastered edition, there are two more tracks, being them tracks 9 and 10. In this release, the original track 9 is 11 and so on:
9. Watch Her Ride* (3:15)
10. Greasy Heart* (3:28)

Line-up / Musicians

- Signe Anderson / vocals
- Marty Balin / guitar, vocals
- Jack Casady / bass, guitar
- Joey Covington / percussion, vocals
- Spencer Dryden / percussion
- Paul Kantner / guitar, vocals
- Jorma Kaukonen / guitar, vocals
- Grace Slick / piano, organ, recorder, vocals
- Skip Spence / drums

Additional musicians:

- Jerry Garcia / guitar (on Today)
- Nicky Hopkins / piano

Releases information

RCA 4459 November 1970
RCA B000FDFS5E June 6, 2006 Remastered with bonus tracks noted with*

Thanks to akin for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JEFFERSON AIRPLANE The Worst Of Jeffreson Airplane Music

JEFFERSON AIRPLANE The Worst Of Jeffreson Airplane ratings distribution

(14 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(21%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(21%)
Good, but non-essential (43%)
Collectors/fans only (14%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JEFFERSON AIRPLANE The Worst Of Jeffreson Airplane reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by ZowieZiggy
4 stars Jefferson Airplane brilliant performance at Woodstock brought a lot of new fans to the band (at least in Europe where they were far from being very popular). It was my case at least. I had never heard of them before (but I was only eleven years old when the "Soundtrack" was released).

This compilation, concentrates mainly on three albums almost skipping their first release (which is fine with me). All but one of their anthems are present. I really can not figure why "Won'T You Try" and "Saturday Afternoon" are not featured but it is the only blunder of this compilation. It should have replaced "Embryonic Journey" which does not really fit on a compilation effort.

The remastered version of this compilation is very well balanced and proposes two songs from "Take Off" with "It's No Secret" and "Blues From An Airplane". Five songs from "Pillow" with "Somebody to Love", "Today", the fabulous and hypnotic "White Rabbit", "Embryonic Journey" and "Plastic Fantastic Lover"

Three songs from "Baxter's" : "Martha", "The Ballad Of You And Me And Pooneil" and "Watch Her Ride". Four from "Crown" : the title track of course, "Greasy Heart", "Chushingura" and "Lather". And finally three from their latest and very good album "Volunteers" : "Good Shepherd", "We Can Be Together" and the title track again of course.

I would definitely recommend this work. It will give you a very good idea of their early works and will avoid maybe too many numbers of minor interest should you buy all their respective albums.

Jefferson Airplane was a very influent band on the Psyche Frisco scene during the second half of the sixties. Some songs though did not really aged well. Grace Slick is just a fabulous vocalist and this band definitely deserves a try.

This compilation is also well presented in the sense that the numbers are listed in their chronological order (except "Plastic Fantastic Lover") which makes it easier for the newcomer to follow the evolution of the band.

Four stars.

Review by zravkapt
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
2 stars "The Worst Of" is a funny title. But I think the Mothers Of Invention had a "Worst Of The Mothers" a year before. You generally get the band's more well-known and accessible songs here. But there are two oddities here for a 'best of': "Embryonic Journey" and "Chushingura". The former is a short acoustic guitar instrumental, while the latter is a trippy sound effects piece.

Two of the best songs here are from the band's first album without Grace Slick: "It's No Secret" and "Blues From An Airplane". Of course you get the band's two most famous songs ("Somebody To Love", "White Rabbit"). Other highlights include "Lather" and "Good Shepherd". There are some 2-CD compilations that give you more of an idea of what this band sounded like. If you want to know why this band got added to PA, listen to their two albums After Bathing At Baxter's and Crown Of Creation.

This is some groovy music, but what you hear on those two albums is even groovier. A nice introduction but could have been better. 2 stars.

Latest members reviews

3 stars This could be a nice introduction record to Jefferson Airplane, which is one of the bands associated with the west coast psychedelic movement together with the Grateful Dead, Quicksilver Messenger Service, United States of America, The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band, Love and It's a Beauti ... (read more)

Report this review (#912808) | Posted by the philosopher | Tuesday, February 12, 2013 | Review Permanlink

3 stars Hard to make a greatest hit collection for Jefferson Airplane that oinly covers a single disc, but this is not too bad. Of course White Rabbit, Somebody to Love, and Volunteers are here, as well as other enjoyable tunes. It would have been nice to include a few more songs fromn the pre-Grace Sli ... (read more)

Report this review (#628329) | Posted by mohaveman | Tuesday, February 7, 2012 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JEFFERSON AIRPLANE "The Worst Of Jeffreson Airplane"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.