Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Various Artists (Label Samplers)

Various Genres

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Various Artists (Label Samplers) El Pea album cover
2.29 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1971

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Empty Pages by Traffic
2. Late November by Sandy Denny
3. Thru The Night by Alan Bown
4. Song For Suzie by Heads Hand & Feat
5. Lord Marlborough by Fairport Convention

6. Mother Goose by Jethro Tull
7. Dive Deep by Quintessence
8. Spring Season by Amazing Blondel
9. Extract from Tomorrow's People - The Children Of Today by McDonald & Giles
10. Our Love Will Not Decay by Tir Na Nog
11. Don't Look Around by Mountain

12. Highway Song by Free
13. Waiting For You by Incredible String Band
14. Wild World by Cat Stevens
15. Sudden Street by Bronco
16. Feast Of Stephen by Mike Heron

17. Knife Edge by Emerson, Lake & Palmer
18. One Of These Things First by Nick Drake
19. Original Mixed-Up Kid by Mott The Hoople
20. Can't Stop Worrying, Can't Stop Loving by Jimmy Cliff
21. Greyhound Bus by Mick Abrahams

Line-up / Musicians

See track list

Releases information

UK (2-LP) Island Records IDLP-1 (1971)
Europe (2-LP) Island Records (Ariola - Eurodisc Benelux NV) STEREO 85 378 XT (1971)
(on Europe releases, Aunty Aviator by John & Beverley Martyn replaced the Heads Hands and Feet track

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
Edit this entry


More places to buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) music online Buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) El Pea ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(60%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (20%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
2 stars El Pea on Pee Aye

Released in 1971, "El Pea" was another fine double LP sampler (compilation) by Island records. Once again, while the bands featured now read like a who's who of early '70s prog and rock, at the time many of the artists were still paying their dues.

Side one consists of five tracks, starting with Traffic's "Empty Pages" which, like the track on the Island sampler "Bumpers" is also taken from their "John Barleycorn" album. Sandy Denny appears on this side as a solo artist, but is absent from Fairport Convention's "Lord Marlborough" taken from "Angel delight". As the album was recorded after her departure it features Dave Swarbrick's vocals. The rather under appreciated Heads Hands and Feet contribute a rather out of character ballad in "Song for Suzie", which features some wonderful guitar work by Albert Lee. Strangely, this track was dropped from Dutch and German versions of El Pea, to be replaced by a John and Beverley Martyn offering.

Side two moves further into prog territory. It starts with the strange choice of "Mother goose" from Jethro Tull's "Aqualung", not an obvious selection to represent this classic album. Quintessence's "Dive deep" is fairly typical of their music, but also is representative of the generally understated nature of the tracks selected for this compilation. Nice guitar again though. Amazing Blondel's "Spring season" is an acoustic, folky song, with Crosby, Stills and Nash like harmonies. King Crimson offshoot McDonald and Giles appear with an extract from "Tomorrow's People - The children of today", a sparse, echo laden slightly "Schizoid man" like number. Tir Na Nog's "Our love will not decay" is a typically soft acoustic piece. The side closes with "Don't look around" the rollocking opening track to Mountain's "Nantucket sleighride", one of the classic prog related albums of the early '70's.

The third side is generally the softest, with Cat Stevens (the lovely "Wild world"), an amusing ditty by the Incredible String Band (sounding suspiciously like the Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band), Mike Heron (of the aforementioned ISB), Jess Roden's Bronco, and a track from Free's "Highway" album.

Side four opens with ELP's wonderful "Knife edge" from their first album, and closes with ex-Jethro Tull bassist Mick Abrahams' "Greyhound Bus". In between we have contributions by the late Nick Drake, Mott the Hoople before they went glam, and cross over reggae artist Jimmy Cliff. The Jimmy Cliff track is actually far removed from reggae, being a blues/gospel inspired song. Even the Mott track is out of character, comprising of a downbeat Sutherland Brothers like song.

In all, a fine collection of artists, but a rather disappointing selection of tracks make this a desirable collection from a historical perspective only.

The sleeve was rather original, and clearly part of the marketing ploy. It has a giant pea on the front cover (a play on the phrase LP of course). Inside are two clear plastic sleeves for each of the LPs. There are sketches of each of the bands or artists featured, although names are not added, leaving it to the buyer to identify them.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives