Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography

10 OUT OF 10


Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

10cc 10 Out Of 10 album cover
2.89 | 50 ratings | 3 reviews | 4% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

Buy 10CC Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 1981

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Don't Ask (4:02)
2. Overdraft In Overdrive (3:24)
3. Don't Turn Me Away (5:03)
4. Memories (4:31)
5. Notell Hotel (4:56)
6. Les Nouveaux Riches (5:11)
7. Action Man In Motown Suit (4:45)
8. Listen With Your Eyes (3:10)
9. Lying Here With You (3:22)
10. Survivor (5:46)

Total time 44:10

Track list from 1982 US edition:
1. Don't Ask (4:01)
2. The Power Of Love (4:14) *
3. Les Nouveaux Riches (5:12)
4. Memories (4:27)
5. We've Heard It All Before (3:48) *
6. Don't Turn Me Away (5:03)
7. Notell Hotel (4:56)
8. Overdraft In Overdrive (3:22)
9. Tomorrow's World Today (3:14) *
10. Run Away (4:07) *

* New tracks on this edition

Total time 42:24

Bonus tracks on 2014 remaster:
11. The Power Of Love (4:11)
12. Memories (USA Mix) (4:28)
13. We've Heard It All Before (3:37)
14. Tomorrow's World Today (3:10)
15. Runaway (4:02)
16. Les Nouveaux Riches (Single mix) (4:47)
17. You're Coming Home Again (Single B-side) (4:29)

Total time 72:54

Line-up / Musicians

- Eric Stewart / piano (2,3,5), electric piano (4,5,12), synths (1-6,8,11-13,15,16), lead (2-4,6-8,10-13,15,16) & slide (11) guitars, bass (11), snare (8), percussion (2,4,6,12,13,16), lead (3-6,8,9,11-13,15,16) & backing vocals, co-producer
- Rick Fenn / electric (1,7) & acoustic (7) guitars, fretless bass & backing vocals (7)
- Vic Emerson / Synclavier (1), piano (9,14), electric piano (10), synth (9,10,14), brass (14)
- Graham Gouldman / bass, double bass (6,16), lead (1,5,7,10,11,13-15) & rhythm (2-4,6,12,16) & acoustic (1,7,9,10,13) guitars, sitar (8), percussion (2,14), lead (1,2,7,10,11,13,14) & backing vocals, co-producer
- Paul Burgess / drums, percussion

- Andrew Gold / bass (13), piano (11,13), electric piano & synthesiser (15), vocoder (11), percussion (13,15), backing vocals (11,13,15)
- Marc Jordan / organ (1,7), piano & backing vocals (1), electric piano (7)
- Lenni Crookes / sax (3) - not confirmed
- Simon Phillips / drums (10,14)
- Keith Bessey / maracas (10)

Releases information

Artwork: Visible Ink Ltd. with John Shaw (photo)

LP Mercury ‎- 6359 048 (1981, UK)
LP Warner Bros. Records ‎- BSK 3575 (1982, US) With 4 tracks from UK edition (#7-#10) exchanged with new ones, in different order; "Memories" has a new mix

CD Mercury ‎- 800 039-2 (1983, Germany)
CD Mercury ‎- 3793143 (2014, Europe) Remastered by Andy Pearce with 7 bonus tracks including US 1982 LP four exclusive songs

Thanks to PROGMAN for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy 10CC 10 Out Of 10 Music

More places to buy 10CC music online

10CC 10 Out Of 10 ratings distribution

(50 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(4%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(16%)
Good, but non-essential (40%)
Collectors/fans only (34%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

10CC 10 Out Of 10 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by ZowieZiggy
3 stars At this time of their career, 10CC won't produce any sublime albums nor songs. But this album is definitely better than "Look Hear". That's obvious.

The duet Stewart - Gouldman reviving forces and writing catchy and pleasant songs again. Needless to say that the same great vocal harmonies are present on this album. Each song holds them. Their reagge-ish style being also present (but this is the case since "Bloody Tourists"). "Overdraft In Overdrive" is here to sustain this fact.

The beatles-esque sound could not be forgotten of course. The best one in this genre is probably "Don't Turn Me Away". No wonder that McCartney asked Stewart to collaborate on some of his works. "Memories" is another one of these. Some reggae flavour can also be noticed during the last minute. A bit strange a combination though.But the band remains on the good track with "Notell Hotel". A truly "10CC" song.

The duo is even writing a great satiric song. Same sort of five minutes "rock opera" like in the good old days. A vitriolic critic of this type of social class. Mixing some French words (always classy) in this serious attack : "Les nouveaux riches, when they très fatigué they fly, off to the sunshine, they set jet away, they don't get a kick, they don't get a buzz man, they talk in circles, they not for us".

I would just say that this does not only apply to "les nouveaux riches". The whole bunch of jet-setters are described in here.

It is amazing how these two guys managed to pursue with their so typical song writing (don't forget that these two wrote "I'm Not In Love"). This album has of course NOTHING to do with prog. Related or not. No wonder that this album (or this band in general) did get so little reviews on a prog site to which they don't belong. But I like them an awful lot.

"Ten Out Of Ten" is a good pop album with great vocal arrangements and powerful melodies. That's what you'll get. Just name it! : "Action Man In Motown Suit" another good pop / melodic song. "Listen With Your Eyes" : just another jewel of a melody (OK, on the mellow side). And the closing "Survivor" is only just behind.

Don't expect anything else than a good pop album.. You won't get it. The band is just" producing another good album. Remember, this was released in 1981.

This is of course not worth "Ten Out Of Ten" but still three stars is my rating.

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
3 stars This album is a step up from the dismal "Look Hear?". Eric Stewart and Graham Gouldman have dumped their entire band, and have brought in only Andrew Gold on keyboard, percussion and some backing vocals. And the album is somewhat of a success.

The 10CC sound is back to a point. The guitar and keyboard sounds are very familiar, although I do get somewhat bored with the reliance on reggae rhythms (something they have used as a crutch since their success with the song Dreadlock Holiday).

Lyrically, the album is better than the previous one, as well. There are puns ("I got a message from my broker. he said he broker than me"), self depreciating humor ("I started with nothing, and worked my way down"), and even a steamy vignette (No tell Motel).

This album is by no means up to par with the records they made before the band split, but it shows that Stewart and Gouldman still had some life left.

Latest members reviews

3 stars What happened 1981, thirty-four years ago, you may question. Then I'll tell you: that what the year of the release of 10cc's eighth studio album "Ten out of 10". It had passed one year since their last effort "Look hear" from 1980 and on this occasion the line up of the band was Graham Gouldman, ... (read more)

Report this review (#1398052) | Posted by DrömmarenAdrian | Monday, April 13, 2015 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of 10CC "10 Out Of 10"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.