Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Frank Zappa


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Frank Zappa You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler album cover
4.12 | 22 ratings | 2 reviews | 41% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1988

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Plastic People (4:38)
2. The Torture Never Stops (15:51)
3. Montana (Whipping-Floss) (10:15)
4. The Evil Prince (7:12)
5. You Call That Music? (3:07)
6. Sharleena (8:53)
7. Nanook Rubs It (11:19)
8. The Florida Airport Tape (1:03)
9. Once Upon A Time (4:38)
10. King Kong (3:11)
11. Dickie's Such An Asshole (6:48)
12. Cosmic Debris (4:45)

Total Time: 81:42

Line-up / Musicians

- Frank Zappa / lead guitar, vocals
- Lowell George / guitar, vocals
- Roy Estrada / bass,vocals
- Don Preston / keyboards, electronics
- Buzz Gardner / trumpet
- Ian Underwood / alto saxophone, keyboards
- Bunk Gardner / tenor saxophone
- Motorhead Sherwood / baritone saxophone
- Jimmy Carl Black / drums
- Arthur Dyer Tripp III / drums
- Adrian Belew / guitar, vocals
- Tommy Mars / keyboards
- Peter Wolf / keyboards
- Ed Mann / percussion
- Patrick O'Hearn / bass, vocals
- Terry Bozzio / drums, vocals
- Napoleon Murphy Brock / saxophone, vocals
- George Duke / keyboards,vocals
- Ruth Underwood / percussion
- Tom Fowler / bass
- Ralph Humphrey / drums
- Chester Thompson / drums
- Ike Willis / guitar, vocals
- Ray White / guitar, vocals
- Bobby Martin / keyboards, saxophone, vocals
- Alan Zavod / keyboards
- Scott Thunes / bass
- Chad Wackerman / drums
- Arthur Barrow / bass
- Vinnie Colaiuta / drums
- Warren Cuccurullo / guitar
- Mark Volman / vocals
- Howard Kaylan / vocals
- Jim Pons / bass, vocals

Releases information

LP/US Barking Pumpkin D1 74213 (1988)
LP/UK Zappa ZAPPA 7 (1988)

Thanks to RichardW for the addition
and to Joren for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy FRANK ZAPPA You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler Music

You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore (Sampler)You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore (Sampler)
Barking Pumpkin
$27.98 (used)

More places to buy FRANK ZAPPA music online Buy FRANK ZAPPA & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

FRANK ZAPPA You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler ratings distribution

(22 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(41%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(45%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FRANK ZAPPA You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler" is a compilation album by US experimental rock artist Frank Zappa. The album was released through Barking Pumpkin/Zappa Records in April 1988 on double vinyl and cassette tape. As of now (August 2014) it has not yet been released on CD.

The album features 12 tracks that would later appear on the "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 1-4" live albums. "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 5 and 6" are not represented on this release. There are some lengthy versions of "The Torture Never Stops" and "Montana (Whipping-Floss)" on this sampler but to my ears the real treat are the live version of "The Evil Prince" which would later be featured on "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 4 (1991)". This version of the track features Ray White on lead vocals. Another track here that deserves a mention is "Dickieīs Such An Asshole" which would later be featured on "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 3 (1989)". The lo-fi live sound quality is really charming and authentic, and I can almost picture how the small venue must have looked and felt like on that particular night. "Nanook Rubs It" appears here in an edited version compared to the version on "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 1 (1988)". Itīs a minor issue because edits are seldom a good solution and that also applies here. But keeping in mind that this is a sampler with limited space and running time, I guess the edit choice makes sense.

Upon conclusion "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler" is above all a collectorīs item as there is nothing new here if you already own "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 1-4" (...and of course you do). The quality of the material is so high though that a 4 star (80%) rating is still warranted, but you should of course purchase the "real" albums instead.

Latest members reviews

4 stars As along time FZ fan (since DC 101 in Northern Virginia aired a 2-hour special just after Joe's Garage Act I was released one Sunday evening), I feel compelled to offer my concurrance with UMUR. The Evil Prince is one of Frank's greatest tunes, and this live version is a different version fro ... (read more)

Report this review (#808557) | Posted by Feebola | Wednesday, August 22, 2012 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of FRANK ZAPPA "You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Sampler"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives