Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Fred Frith


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Fred Frith Step Across the Border album cover
4.12 | 7 ratings | 1 reviews | 43% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1990

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Sparrow Song (1:31)
2. Voice of America, Part III (4:26)
3. Selluloid Restaurant (3:12)
4. After Dinner (1:49)
5. Houston Street (2:56)
6. Drum Factory (2:04)
7. Regardless of Rain (3:07)
8. Candy Machine (3:02)
9. Romanisches Café (6:22)
10. The Border (3:31)
11. Nirvana Again (1:55)
12. Scottish Roppongi (1:50)
13. Norrgĺrden Nyvla (2:59)
14. Birds (2:21)
15. The As Usual Dance towards the Other Flight to What Is Not, Part 3 (1:50)
16. Williamsburg Bridge (1:56)
17. Same Old Me (4:13)
18. The As Usual Dance towards the Other Flight to What Is Not, Part 7 (2:28)
19. Lost and Found (3:20)
20. Nine by Nine (5:54)
21. Evolution (3:23)
22. Union Square (1:44)
23. Morning Song (2:03)
24. Voice of America, Part IV (2:05)
25. Too Much Too Little (2:09)
26. Too Late (2:25)

Total Time: 73:71

Line-up / Musicians

- Fred Frith / guitar, violin, bass, home-mades, DX7, Casio, voice, percussion, bottles, trumpet, etc.
- Tom Cora / cello, drum, voice
- Zeena Parkins / keyboards, drum, voice
- Bob Ostertag / Serge synthesizer, tapes, samples
- Bill Laswell / bass
- Fred Maher / drums
- John Zorn / alto saxophone
- Daihachi Oguchi / factory sound
- Jean Derome / alto saxophone
- René Lussier / bass
- Kevin Norton / drums
- Eino Haapala / guitar
- Marc Hollander / alto saxophone
- Lars Hollmer / keyboards
- Hans Bruniusson / drums
- Tim Hodgkinson / bass clarinet
- Iva Bittová / violin
- Pavel Fajt / beer cans, guitar, voice
- Eitetsu Hayashi / taiko
- Tina Curran / bass
- Haco / piano, voice

Releases information

2 x LP/CD RecRec Music RecRec 30 (Switzerland)

CD East Side Digital ESD 80462 (US),

Music for the film by Nicolas Humbert and Werner Penzel

Thanks to Palamabron for the addition
and to snobb for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy FRED FRITH Step Across the Border Music

More places to buy FRED FRITH music online

FRED FRITH Step Across the Border ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(43%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(57%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FRED FRITH Step Across the Border reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
4 stars I'm not familiar enough with most of Fred Frith's albums to know if this is really a compilation, but this is actually the soundtrack to a movie, a documentary about the great inventive guitarist. However, Norrgĺrden Nyvla except for some sound effects at the beginning, does sound like the version on Gravity, not that that's a bad thing.

The collection itself is wonderful, showing all sides of Frith's skillful and innovative playing and composition. The songs range from sounds similar to The Residents, whose Commercial Album featured Frith as a sideman, to early Zappa, and even one song Evolution, with high pitched vocals and a reggae influenced beat, that sounds sort of like a deranged version of The Police.

This is a gem in my collection. Highly recommended for the ROI fan.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of FRED FRITH "Step Across the Border"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.