Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Stackridge Mr Mick album cover
3.22 | 17 ratings | 1 reviews | 18% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1976

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Hold Me Tight (3.34)
2. Breakfast With Werner Von Braun (4.07)
3. Steam Radio Song (3.35)
4. The Dump (1.47)
5. Save A Red Face (3.35)
6. The Slater's Waltz (4.36)
7. Coniston Water (5.40)
8. Hey Good Looking (4.17)
9. Fish In A Glass (7.19)

Total Time: 38:30

Track Listing of Angel Air re-issue (2007):

CD1: Original Unreleased Version (45:45)
1. Hey Good Looking (4:30)
2. Breakfast With Werner Von Braun (3:45)
3. Mr Micks Walk (3:55)
4. Mr Micks Dream (2:10)
5. The Cotton-Reel Song (3:25)
6. The Stream Radio Song (3:20)
7. The Slater's Waltz (4:10)
8. Hazy Dazy Holiday (2:05)
9. Coniston Water (4:50)
10. Can Inspiration Save The Nation? (2:15)
11. Mr Micks New Home (3:30)
12. Fish In A Glass (7:50)

The material on CD1 originally released in 2000 as 'The Original Mr Mick'.

CD2: LP Version (38:30)
1. Hold Me Tight (3.34)
2. Breakfast With Werner Von Braun (4.07)
3. Steam Radio Song (3.35)
4. The Dump (1.47)
5. Save A Red Face (3.35)
6. The Slater's Waltz (4.36)
7. Coniston Water (5.40)
8. Hey Good Looking (4.17)
9. Fish In A Glass (7.19)

Line-up / Musicians

- Andy Davis / guitar, keyboards, vocals
- Mutter Slater / flute, keyboards, vocals
- Keith Gemmel / saxophones, clarinet
- Crun Walter / bass
- Pete Van Hooke / drums
- Dave Lawson / keyboards
- Joanna Karlin / vocals

Releases information

LP MCA / Rocket ROLL3 (1976)
2CD Angel Air SJPCD 234 (2007)

Thanks to Sean Trane for the addition
and to Joolz for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STACKRIDGE Mr Mick Music

More places to buy STACKRIDGE music online

STACKRIDGE Mr Mick ratings distribution

(17 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(18%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(24%)
Good, but non-essential (47%)
Collectors/fans only (12%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STACKRIDGE Mr Mick reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars After the highly contrasted Extravaganza album, Stackridge returned with a full-blown concept album (it could range as a rock opera) that should please most fans of the genre. With the return of Crun Walker on bass (unfortunately eclipsing the talented Karas) and Bowkett (the main songwriter in the previous Extravaganza album) having left but being replaced by old acquaintance Dave Lawson (ex Web/Samurai and also in Greenslade, but I am not sure he was a full-time member), the album has no more links with the debut album's bizarre folk prog, but this remains prog nevertheless.

The album concept follows Mr Mick (I suppose the old buzzer on the artwork, but if you look next to him, a nurse like that one is a good medication anytime) lost thoughts in boredom, as he is a lonely forgotten old man. In some ways, this reminds me of the Pretty Thing's PF Sorrow or the Cheerful Insanities from GG&F.

After a reggae-opening version of the Beatles's Hold Me Tight, the album veers into more serious business with the superb Breakfast With Von Braun under a slight Arabic feel. Mutter Slater does the recitation between the tracks but the interesting thing is more in the tracks themselves, as Steal Radio Song is a very interesting intricate arrangement. Dump is yet another instrumental taking Stackridge in unexplored territories and Davis' mellotron used to great effects. Save A Red Face is another weirdly rhythmed track that recalls Procol Harum's debut album's craziest and zaniest psych deliriums, but here Stackridge makes a Tony Banks bridge.

Guest vocalist Karlin sings on Slater's Waltz but overall this might be the second side's weakest track until Gemmel's suave clarinet saves the day. The mellotron fest Coniston Water is simply awesome and probably worth the price alone of the record, especially after the atonal piano passage when Gemmel's alto sax is simply heavenly (this is as good as anything he'd done with Audience). Du grand art, Monsieur!! Ensuing is a semi- reggae-ish Hey Good Looking which after the first surprise enthrals as much as the previous with Gemmell pulling in the stars to himself again. The lengthy closer Fish In A Glass is again another great

Mr Mick is hardly a flawless album, but he sure contains some of Stackridge's best moments and is yet another must-have for those wishing to discover this great quintessential British band. Alas, this would the final record in the classic 70's and much later, they would reconvene (two decades later, though) for more albums. But nothing I have heard.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of STACKRIDGE "Mr Mick"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.