Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Man And in the Beginning (The Complete Early Man 1968-69) album cover
3.10 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy MAN Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1
1. And In The Beginning.....
2. Sudden Life
3. Empty Room
4. Puella! Puella! (Woman! Woman!)
5. Love
6. Erotica
7. Blind Man
8. And Castles Rise In Children's Eyes
9. Don't Just Stand There (Come In Out Of The Rain)
10. The Missing Pieces
11. The Future Hides Its Face
12. Sudden Life (mono single mix)
13. Love (mono single mix)
14. Erotica (mono single mix)

CD 2

1. Prelude / The Storm
2. It Is As It Must Be
3. Spunk Box
4. My Name Is Jesus Smith
5. Parchment And Candles
6. Brother Arnold's Red And White Striped Tent
7. A Sad Song
8. Walking The Dogma
9. My Name Is Jesus Smith (extended instrumental version)
10. My Name Is Jesus Smith (extended vocal version)

Line-up / Musicians

- Micky Jones / Guitar, Vocals
- Deke Leonard / Guitar, Vocals, Harp, Piano, Percussion
- Clive John / Organ, Piano, Guitar, Vocals
- Ray Williams / Bass
- Jeff Jones / Drums, Percussion

Releases information

Castle Music - CMDDD921

Thanks to memowakeman for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy MAN And in the Beginning (The Complete Early Man 1968-69) Music

MAN And in the Beginning (The Complete Early Man 1968-69) ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MAN And in the Beginning (The Complete Early Man 1968-69) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Bystanders no more

This is a straightforward compilation of Man's first and second albums (Recorded for Pye records) , plus a number of interesting bonus tracks. Each album ("Revelation" and "2oz of plastic with a hole in the middle") is given its own disc, the bonus tracks being appended as appropriate.

"Revelations" is a transitional album where The Bystanders attempt to metamorphose into something more serious. The band try hard to disguise the underlying pop influences through sound effects and lavish arrangements, but with varying success. The three bonus tracks on disc one are simply mono single mixes of tracks from the album.

"2Ozs of plastic with a hole in the middle" saw the band starting to find their way, with tracks such as "Spunk box (rock)" and "It is as it must be" demonstrating how Man would increasingly rely on extended jams and strong heavy riffs.

The bonus tracks for this album are more interesting, consisting of an early version of "Spunk rock" and two extended versions of "My name is Jesus Smith". We also have an unreleased number "A sad song", a decent if rather lightweight instrumental.

In all, a cost effective way to obtain the first two Man albums plus some relevant bonus material.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MAN "And in the Beginning (The Complete Early Man 1968-69)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.