Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Magna Carta

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Magna Carta Ages And Seasons album cover
3.02 | 3 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (76:20)
1. Seasons (22:14)
- Prologue
- Winter Song
- Spring Poem
- Spring Song
- Summer Poem
- Summer Song
- Autumn Song
- Epilogue
- Winter Song (reprise)
2. Going my Way (2:55)
3. Elizabethan (2:38)
4. Give me no Goodbye (3:10)
5. Ring of Stones (3:49)
6. Scarecrow (2:17)
7. Airport Song (3:41)

Songs From Wasties Orchard
1. Time for Leaving (4:01)
2. Beyond the Isle of Skye (2:54)
3. Sponge (instrumental) (2:24)
4. Sunday on the River (3:32)
5. Good Morning Sun (2:42)
6. Home Groan (2:23)
7. The Bridge at Knaresborough Town (4:56)
8. White Show Dove (2:09)
9. Parliament Hill (2:45)
10. Wayfaring (3:48)
11. Down Along Up (2:09)
12. Country Jam (1:53)

CD 2 (72:36)
Lord Of the Ages
1. Wish It Was (3:33)
2. Two Old Friends (3:31)
3. Lord of the Ages (9:58)
4. Isn't It Funny (And Not a Little Bit Strange) (2:35)
5. Song of the Evening (3:43)
6. Father John (6:41)
7. That Was Yesterday (3:23)
8. Falkland Grene (2:49)

Martin's Café
9. Easy If You Try (3:14)
10. Tomorrow's Up for Sale (3:00)
11. Mixed Up Sensations (3:28)
12. Old Man (2:16)
13. All Part of the Game (3:15)
14. Roll On (3:11)
15. You Are Only What You Are (3:45)
16. People's Friend (4:11)
17. Won't Set the World on Fire (3:35)
18. I'm Gonna Take You Down (3:23)
19. Martin's Cafe (3:12)

Total Time: 148:56

Line-up / Musicians

CD 1
Seasons (1970)
- Chris Simpson / guitar, vocals
- Lyell Tranter / guitars
- Glenn stuart / vocals

Guest Musicians
- Tony Carr / drums
- Spike Heatley / bass, accoustic bass
- Derek Grossmith / flute
- davey johnstone / guitar, vocals
- Barry Morgan / drums
- Tony Visconti / bass, percussion and recorder
- Rick Wakeman / organ, piano and keyboards
- Tim Renwick / recorder
- Peter Willison / cello
- London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Gus Dudgeon

Songs From Wasties Orchard (1971)
- Chris Simpson / guitars, vocals, percussion
- Glenn Stuart / vocals
- Davey Johnstone / guitar, vocals

Guest Musicians
- Ron Chesterman / bass
- Heather Corbett / percussion
- Chris Laurence / bass
- Nic Potter / bass
- Danny thompson / bass
- Johnnie van Derrick / violin
- Tony Visconti / bass, percussion
- Rick wakeman / keyboards

CD 2
Lord Of The Ages (1973)
- Chris Simpson / guitar, vocals
- Glenn Stuart / vocals
- Stan Gordon / guitar, vocals

Guest Musicians
- Gerry Conway / drums
- Gordon Huntley / steel guitar
- Graham Smith / bass
- Danny Thompson / bass

Martin's Café (1977)
- Chris Simpson / guitars, vocals
- Graham Smith / bass harmonica, vocals
- Glenn Stuart / vocals
- Tony Carr / drums
- Stan Gordon / guitar, vocals
- Davey Johnstone / guitar, vocals
- Dave Mattacks / drums
- John Mealing / keyboards

Releases information

Snapper Music Label SMDCD481
2 disc containing 4 complete albums
Cd 1: "Seasons" & "Songs From Wasties Orchard"
Cd 2: "Lord of the Ages" & "Martin's Cafe"

Thanks to tuxon for the addition
and to easy livin for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MAGNA CARTA Ages And Seasons Music

Ages & SeasonsAges & Seasons
Recall Records UK 2003
$4.98 (used)

More places to buy MAGNA CARTA music online Buy MAGNA CARTA & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

MAGNA CARTA Ages And Seasons ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (67%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MAGNA CARTA Ages And Seasons reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Four complete Magna Carta albums on two CDs

Ages and Seasons is an excellent double CD collection of four of Magna Carta's early albums. Their very first album "Times of change" is omitted, presumably because it was released prior to their signing for Vertigo records, the story starting here with their second album "Seasons". This means that this collection starts in quite stunning fashion, with the 22 minute "Seasons suite". This acoustic masterpiece features many fine guest musicians including Davey Johnstone (Elton John) and Rick Wakeman. The album was produced by Elton's producer Gus Dudgeon.

"Songs from Wasties orchard", the band's third album, completes the first disc here. This was something of a disappointment being a collection of short songs in the folk vein, with a couple of country inspired numbers thrown in. By this album, Davey Johnstone had officially joined the band but his membership would be short lived. Wakeman also appeared on this album, but his contribution is far harder to spot this time.

Things improved again with what for many is Magna Carta's finest album, "Lord of the ages". The title track stands as an epic of prog folk, taking its inspiration from the Book of Revelation and the prophecies of Nostrodamus. The final album of this quartet, "Martin's café" was put on ice for three years before being released in 1977. It is by far the runt of the litter here, with some ill advised pop rock songs intermingled with some pleasant but prosaic softer folk.

The four albums fit comfortably onto two discs, the music flowing well throughout. The presentation is rather shoddy though, with no original sleeve images, and a sketchy biography which skims the surface all to quickly It completely omits any information on "Martin's Café" and spends too much time on the subsequent activities of Chris Simpson.

In terms of the music though, this is an excellent way to acquire Magna Carta's two finest albums.

Review by kenethlevine
3 stars

For a group that has not released an original studio album since the late 1970s, Magna Carta has been busily churning out compilations and live testaments to their generally subdued harmonic and occasionally countrified folk. It's a tough call whether to spring for this 4 LP on 2 CD set in order to obtain 2 good Magna Carta albums and a mere couple of good tracks from the other 2, and largely depends on the costs involved and on how much of a completist you want to be. Unfortunately, the other 2 compilations produced along the bloodlines of the original LPs also divide more or less evenly along quality lines. The two albums worth owning are "Seasons" and "Lord of the Ages", both of which are contained herein. The booklet also contains a reasonable group history, but I assume that the original CD reissues would have done the same, so they might represent a more satisfying and uniform purchase.

Magna Carta's loyal fan base and not insignificant sales figures from their heyday are both somewhat surprising for such an unassuming group and sound. For my part as a fan of folk, folk rock, and prog folk especially of the British variety, I consider them to be in the second league, with the potential to have left a more distinctive legacy than that with which they may be remembered. But that's one for the ages. Just over the 2.5 star threshold.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MAGNA CARTA "Ages And Seasons"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives