Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Mahavishnu Project

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mahavishnu Project Return To The Emerald Beyond album cover
3.93 | 7 ratings | 4 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc One:
1. Eternity's Breath (14:30)
2. Lila's Dance (9:00)
3. Can't Stand Your Funk (6:56)
4. Pastoral (10:58)
5. Faith (2:55)
6. Cosmic Strut (5:42)
7. If I Could See (1:51)
8. Be Happy (6:59)

Disc Two:
1. Earth Ship (11:59)
2. Pegasus (3:40)
3. Opus 1 (2:09)
4. On The Way Home To Earth (8:58)

Bonus tracks:
5. Smile of the Beyond (5:00)
6. Vital Transformation (11:25)
7. Sister Andrea (11:11)

Total Time: 119:09

Line-up / Musicians

- Gregg Bendian / drums & dumbeq
- Glenn Alexander / electric & acoustic guitars
- Rob Thomas / electric & baritone violins
- Adam Holzman / keyboards
- David Johnsen / bass
- Premik Russell Tubbs / saxophones & flute
- Katherine Fong / 1st violin
- Zach Brock / 2nd violin
- Nicole Federici / viola
- Leigh Stuart / cello
- Maria Neckham / voice

Releases information

2CDs Cuneiform Records RUNE 242/243 (2007)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Joolz for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MAHAVISHNU PROJECT Return To The Emerald Beyond Music

Return To The Emerald BeyondReturn To The Emerald Beyond
$12.18 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy MAHAVISHNU PROJECT music online Buy MAHAVISHNU PROJECT & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

MAHAVISHNU PROJECT Return To The Emerald Beyond ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(29%)
Good, but non-essential (57%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MAHAVISHNU PROJECT Return To The Emerald Beyond reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

3 stars So, what's in a name? Is it a tribute band, or clones? Probably a combination of both. I've had this album for years, an album that was put far, far away after the first listen. Recently I dug it up again and came to the same conclusion as for the first time. It leaves me frustrated, irritat ... (read more)

Report this review (#951428) | Posted by BORA | Monday, April 29, 2013 | Review Permanlink

4 stars I had to look twice when I came across the Mahavishnu Project`s debut disc , Live Bootleg, in the just arrived bin a local second hand music shop. Disbelievingly, with guarded skepticism I snatched it up. Almost devoid of liner notes I had no idea what to expect and thought to myself, "this, I go ... (read more)

Report this review (#215155) | Posted by Vibrationbaby | Tuesday, May 12, 2009 | Review Permanlink

4 stars A nice tribute to my personal favorite fusion-jazz album, Mahavishnu Orchestra's "Vision of the Emerald Beyond, this rednition takes the essence of the original recording (plus a track or two from ...Orchestra's "Apocolypse") and strrrrrretches the songs out to swaying, funky, rockin, and tri ... (read more)

Report this review (#122790) | Posted by beebs | Saturday, May 19, 2007 | Review Permanlink

5 stars As a big McLaughlin's Mahavishnu Orchestra, when I heard that there were a tribute band of this extra ordinary fusion band of the 70's I was very surprised, because these days most tribute bands are dedicated to play only rock band's music. That where the money is!! Also at the same times I th ... (read more)

Report this review (#114939) | Posted by darksideof | Monday, March 12, 2007 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MAHAVISHNU PROJECT "Return To The Emerald Beyond"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives