Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Peter Hammill

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Peter Hammill The Fall Of The House Of Usher (New Version) album cover
3.93 | 93 ratings | 1 reviews | 35% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1999

Songs / Tracks Listing

- Act One (The road to the House of Usher)
1. An unenviable role (2:29)
2. That must be the House (4:56)
- Act Two (Within the House of Usher)
3. Architecture (3:40)
4. The Sleeper (3:19)
5. One thing at a time (2:50)
6. I shun the light (3:46)
7. Leave this House (5:05)
- Act Three (Immediately following)
8. Dreaming (3:30)
9. A chronic catalepsy (3:16)
10. The Herbalist (3:32)
11. The evil that is done (3:47)
- Act Four (The Following Morning)
12. Five years ago (3:51)
13. It's over now (3:32)
14. An influence (3:18)
15. No rot (2:27)
- Act Five (Dawn the Next Day)
16. She is dead (6:44)
- Act Six (Three Days Later)
17. Beating of the heart (5:20)
18. The Haunted Palace (4:22)
19. I Dared not speak (2:57)
20. She comes towards the Door (1:07)
21. The Fall (3:20)

Total Time: 77:09

Line-up / Musicians

- Peter Hammill / vocals ("Roderick Usher", "The Voices of the House"), guitars, keyboards, percussions (only on 1991 recording), arranger & producer

- Sarah-Jane Morris / vocals "The Chorus"
- Andy Bell / vocals "Montresor"
- Lene Lovich / vocals "Madeleine Usher"
- Herbert Grönemeyer / vocals "The Herbalist"
- Stuart Gordon / violins (only on 1999 re-recording)

Releases information

Opera by Peter Hammill / Libretto by Chris Judge Smith / Based on the novel by Edgar Allan Poe

This version, sub-titled 'Deconstructed & Rebuilt' , is an instrumental partial re-recording and remix of the 1991 original (has its own page here on PA); on vocals only PH's were updated

Artwork: Paul Ridout (Ridart)

CD Fie! Records ‎- FIE 9121 (1999, UK)

Thanks to Fassbinder for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PETER HAMMILL The Fall Of The House Of Usher (New Version) Music

More places to buy PETER HAMMILL music online

PETER HAMMILL The Fall Of The House Of Usher (New Version) ratings distribution

(93 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(35%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(36%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)

PETER HAMMILL The Fall Of The House Of Usher (New Version) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

5 stars I made friends with this is opera in a rather spooky way. I had mail ordered the album, but didn't recall it ever arriving in the mail. So one night, 3am in the morning, I was quite surprised to find it lying on my table, still wrapped in cardboard. Somehow I had forgot it ever arrived (of which I ... (read more)

Report this review (#165292) | Posted by kaibe | Saturday, March 29, 2008 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of PETER HAMMILL "The Fall Of The House Of Usher (New Version)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.