Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Blue Öyster Cult

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Blue Öyster Cult Workshop of the Telescopes album cover
3.46 | 12 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1995

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: 77:06
1. Cities on Flame With Rock and Roll (4:03)
2. Transmaniacon MC (3:21)
3. Before the Kiss, a Redcap (4:59)
4. Stairway to the Stars (3:43)
5. Buck's Boogie (live) (5:19)
6. Workshop of the Telescopes (live) (3:47)
7. The Red and the Black (live) (4:35)
8. 7 Screaming Diz-Busters (7:00)
9. Career of Evil (4:08)
10. Flaming Telepaths (5:23)
11. Astronomy (6:15)
12. Subhuman (live) (7:30)
13. Harvester of Eyes (live) (4:59)
14. M.E. 262 (live) (8:17)
15. Born to Be Wild (studio) (3:38)

Disc 2: 77:38
1. (Don't Fear) The Reaper (5:09)
2. This Ain't the Summer of Love (2:22)
3. E.T.I. (Extra Terrestrial Intelligence) (3:43)
4. Godzilla (3:42)
5. Goin' Through the Motions (3:13)
6. Golden Age of Leather (5:53)
7. Kick Out the Jams (live) (3:12)
8. We Gotta Get Out of This Place (live) (4:34)
9. In Thee (3:49)
10. The Marshall Plan (5:24)
11. Veteran of the Psychic Wars (4:49)
12. Burnin' for You (4:31)
13. Dominance and Submission (live) (5:57)
14. Take Me Away (4:31)
15. Shooting Shark (7:10)
16. Dancin' in the Ruins (4:01)
17. Perfect Water (5:29)

Total Time 154:44

Line-up / Musicians

- Eric Bloom / vocals, guitars, keyboards
- Donald (Buck Dharma) Roeser / vocals, guitars
- Allen Lanier / guitars, keyboards
- Joe Bouchard / bass, vocals, keyboards
- Albert Bouchard / vocals, drums

Releases information

2CD Legacy/Columbia C2K 64163

Thanks to mellotronman for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy BLUE ÖYSTER CULT Workshop of the Telescopes Music

More places to buy BLUE ÖYSTER CULT music online

BLUE ÖYSTER CULT Workshop of the Telescopes ratings distribution

(12 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (42%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (8%)

BLUE ÖYSTER CULT Workshop of the Telescopes reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Heptade
3 stars This is an excellent comp for BOC newbies, which I was when I bought it. Obviously, disk 1 is superior, containing tracks from the first few classic albums, as well as some live stuff. It doesn't go back to Stalk Forrest Group days, but that's no problem. All the greats are here, Astronomy, the Reaper, Stairway to the Stars, Career of Evil etc. In order to give a complete career overview, disk two covers the band's career from Agents of Fortune onwards, which means a lot of 80s stuff. I don't mind tracks like Perfect Water and Burnin' for You, which are decent AOR, but some of the later stuff is pretty weak. For some reason, Imaginos didn't make the cut, but I'm not a fan of that album, so I don't mind. And it was downright stupid to include cover versions of Kick out the Jams, We Gotta Get Out of This Place and Born to be Wild when there are so many great BOC originals to choose from. That alone bumps my rating from four to three. The booklet contains a decent essay and some photos of memorabilia. If you want to get into the BOC, this is a good introduction that shows the band's development from biker boogie to slick adult rock, with plenty of proggy, spooky moments in between. Now that I have all the albums, it still makes for a great comp to bring in the car on road trips. On your feet or on your knees!

Review by Andrea Cortese
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars I think this is the most complete compilation for anyone's looking toward this band for the first time. A double cd boxset for over 150 minutes all. The whole disc 1 is dedicated to the so called "black and white" period (1972-1975) featuring many tracks from the three studio albums plus very inspired live tracks from the superb "On Your Feet or on Your Knees" album. Highly recommended.

Disc 2 is also great but obviously shows a more commercial side of the band that started off from 1976 on, with the famous album Agents of Fortune and its memorable track "(Don't Fear) The Reaper". Unfortunately 1979 album Mirrors is only represented by the Lanier's pop tune (very good by the way) "In Thee". The most interesting tracks from that album are completely missing ("The Great Sun Jester", "The Vigil"). Two live albums as Some Enchanted Evening and Extra Terrestrial Live (this one criminally represented by one track, the explosive and hardest "Dominance and Submission" originally released on Secret Treaties). Disc 2 ends with 1986 album Club Ninja.

Ok some of the most interesting tracks are really missing on both the discs: for disc 1 "Wings Wetted Down" for example. Obviously is the second disc to be miss the most due to the larger period of years (1976-1986).

Unfortunately Imaginos was not included with any of its songs. I don't know the reason why but it was certainly a bad decision.

All in all, a very useful starting point for newcomers. I recommend you to look for the recent excellent Columbia remasters.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BLUE ÖYSTER CULT "Workshop of the Telescopes"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.